Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Jamaica Hotels

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort Spa and Conference Centre

  • Main St. Map It
  • Clubby Atmosphere

Pros

  • Pool complex
  • Good location for exploring Ocho Rios
  • Good sunset views from some rooms

Cons

  • Mix of leisure and convention clientele
  • Some restaurants feel crowded
  • Some rooms are small and basic

Updated 03/13/2014

Fodor's Review

Jamaica's largest conference hotel, which is right in the center of Ocho Rios bustles with groups thanks to an expansive conference center (but also welcomes leisure travelers). Rooms, brightened with tropical colors, are divided between two high-rise towers; the best views are found in the north tower. A nice pool complex includes a meandering river and a lighthouse slide. Kids are kept busy in the complimentary Club Mongoose activity program, and parents can play in

an 80-machine slot and video-blackjack room. Teens can head to the Jamrock Teen Club. Romantic under the stars dining option available.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Main St., Ocho Rios, Jamaica

Map It

Phone:

876-974–2200

Hotel Details:

  • 720 rooms, 12 suites
  • All-inclusive

Updated 03/13/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Jamaica

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2005

Renassiance Jamaica Grande

We went here for out honeymoon under a recommendation from a friend.. Very nice place with lots to do.. only down falls were it was under renovation and lots of drug dealers around.. I was told that they do not approach you in the hotel.. but they were everywhere, although once you said no they always left you alone

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2004

Good Experience - Twice!!

Went twice in 2002. Loved it both times, can't wait to go back. Planning next trip there now.

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2003

"Grande" Experience at Jamaica Grande

Stayed at the Renaissance, Jamaica Grande Resort in Ocho Rios for six days. This was my first trip to Jamaica and my first exprerience with an all inclusive resort. Jamaica is a wonderful island and the people make it even more enjoyable. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definately go back and stay at the Jamaica Grande. Great food and a great staff made for a very pleasant vacation.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2003

Main pool makes resort

Food is good. Spent most of our stay at the main pool. Best prices on tours is in the lower lobby of the South tower. Go into town in the morning hours to avoid drug dealers. Best prices on rum and spices is at the Island way plaza at coconut Joe's. Best place to get Blue Mountain coffee and cigars is at the Taj Mahal plaza..

By Vincent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2001

Just Married

Got Married There 4/20/01. Staff Did a very good job coordinating everything. All we had to do was show up. Very Inexpensive after you paid for the trip. Had a Great Time Planning my next trip already.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2001

If you're one of the herd, expect the buffet

This hotel is beautiful, but very busy. The employees are warm, friendly and just terrific, it's the management that causes problems here. they don't provide enough employees! They constantly run out of pool and beach towels. They expect that everyone will go to the entertainment presented on a particular evening. And, if you go, expect the buffet. We found that we could just as easily stay in, order room service for an extra $8 surcharge, eat

like a king and queen and view the lights going down with our partial ocean/island view. Just great, once you get the hang of it.

Read More

By Miranda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2000

Missing Jamaica Grande

We went in May & had a great time! We were already planning a return trip while still there! Any questions, feel free to email me.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement