Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Jamaica Hotels

Couples Tower Isle

  • Bridge in Manset

  • Incredible Sunrise at 4:45 am.

  • Kayaks in Bar Harbor

  • Speedbump!

  • Bass Harbor Lighthouse - Snow Covered with Crashing Waves

Pros

  • Some free weddings
  • Excellent beach facilities
  • Reciprocal arrangement with Couples Sans Souci on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday

Cons

  • Long distance from Montego Bay airport

Updated 03/13/2014

Fodor's Review

This all-inclusive resort has beautiful contemporary decor. Connected by long hallways, the rooms are a short walk from the beach; a handful of villa suites are tucked back in the gardens with private plunge pools or hot tubs. The resort is on a nice stretch of beach, and there's also a private island where you can sunbathe in the buff if you want. Some wedding deals are included in the package, as are several off-site excursions including shopping in Ocho Rios and a visit

to Dunn's River Falls.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Tower Isle, Rte. A1, 5 miles (8 km) east of Ocho Rios, St. Mary, Jamaica

Map It

Phone:

876-975–4271

Website: www.couples.com

Hotel Details:

  • 280 rooms, 14 suites
  • All-inclusive

Updated 03/13/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2006

Hanggin' Au Natural

Service and amenities awesome! Take free excursions...older but clean and VERY nice...weather and beach great! We would go again in a minute!!!

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2004

So-so resort

Returned from Couples in March 2003. I thought that I knew what to expect as I read other comments about the resort showing its age. The rooms were definitely old and dirty. I tried twice to upgrade as it was my second visit to Couples, but was told that they were full (the cleaning staff told me that they were only 80% full). The weather turned windy which meant no water sports the last 3 days of our trip. Not the resorts fault, but limited our

activities. The on-site entertainment was mediocre. The food was ok, even at the two nicer restaurants. The breakfast buffet was certainly getting old by day 5. Notes for future travelers: 1. The resort is old, but you can't beat the weather. 2. I would suggest bug spray or anti-itch stick - was bit 3 times by spiders or nats. 3. The cab to town costs $10 per person roundtrip - keep in mind there is absolutely nothing open on Sundays because there are no cruise ships in port and it's church day. 4. Take advantage of all the free excursions: Dunn's River, horseback riding, catamaran trip. In conclusion, if you go to a Couples resort, I much preferred Couples Negril. Would not return to Couples Ocho Rios.

Read More

By Donald

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2002

Please don't go here

I just returned and had a horrible time. Tropical storm Lili was partially to blame. However, as soon as the hotel was informed that the storm "may' arrive everything was shut down. Even though it was still nice out. There was absolutely nothing to do. Worse, the service, the food and the attitude of the hotel was poor. On our final night, we booked a reservation at the hotel's "fancy" restauraunt for 8:30 p.m. We requested a wake up call for

7:45 and took a nap at five p.m. (because there was nothing to do). I woke up at 11:30 p.m., we never received our wake up call. When we called the front desk the manager basically told us "tough luck" and suggested that we go try to grab a hamburger. This is just an example of the attitude, I could provide numerous other examples. Please do not go here.

Read More

By Kristy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2002

Everything I Hoped For

We were there in late October 2001. I can't say enough nice things about the place. The staff was the BEST. Excellent food and drinks, private island, private hot tubs, nice tropical atmosphere. Lots to do there. Entertainment was always good. The included excursions add value. If I had to come up some negatives, I'd say mainly the age of the resort. But to me, that added alot of charm. Beach is nice and private and not small by any means,

but not the wide expanse you get in Negril. We can't wait to go back to this hotel.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2002

You get what you pay for

For the price, I would recommend this resort for a nice relaxing vacation to lay around and relax (and of course eat and drink). Please remember you are not paying top dollar, don't expect to be treated like you are.

By Sheryl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2002

Wonderful Honeymoon Memories

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Couples Ocho Rios last May, and it was the paradise we expected it to be, for the most part. Although we knew that it was touted as the first all-inclusive resort, it looked older than we had expected, but was extremely well-maintained. We had a beautiful room in a newer wing overlooking the ocean. The service was outstanding, and the staff certainly kept us entertained. My only complaint was that although

there were tons of activities, most of the bigger activities (ex., going to Dunn's River Falls) were held in the morning, leaving only smaller activities in the afternoon. We'll always remember our fun-filled honeymoon at Couples!

Read More

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2000

Skip this one and go to Couples Negril

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Couples Negril and Ocho Rios. Couples O.R. can't hold a candle to Negril. Problems included: trash in the water and on the beach-food not that good-service doesn't compare to Negril. My wife and I ended up carrying our luggage out-rooms near our 1 bedroom suite (which was relatively nice) were being renovated which made alot of racket. The jacuzzi that they advertise put out a smell like someone died in it.

The t.v. remotes didn't have batteries in them. Overall, I was extremely disappointed. People who keep coming back here do so because they don't know the difference.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement