Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Jamaica Hotels

Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

  • Courtesy of Jamaica Inn

Pros

  • Elegant accommodations
  • Exceptional service
  • Good spa
  • All-inclusive plans available

Cons

  • No in-room TV

Updated 03/13/2014

Fodor's Review

The Jamaica Inn is a link to the heyday of tourism in Jamaica that exemplified elegance, luxury, and exquisite service, attracting such luminaries as Marilyn Monroe, who honeymooned here with playwright Arthur Miller. Winston Churchill also visited; his name is on a plaque on the door of the white suite, one of four deluxe luxury suites. All rooms have views of the beach, and the friendly staff minds delightful details such as filling the rooms with fragrant flower bouquets. This refined hotel is not one to rest on its laurels. The newly reopened Ocean Spa with local natural products and expanded services continues the tradition of excellence that has brought accolades.

Hotel Information

Address:

North Coast Hwy., 2 miles (3 km) east of Ocho Rios, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

Map It

Phone:

876-974–2514

Hotel Details:

  • 48 suites, 4 two-bedroom cottages
  • All-inclusive; Some meals

Updated 03/13/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Jamaica

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2004

Been there nine years in a row!!!

Already booked for next year. What else can we say!!!!

By Harry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2002

Deserves the accolades...if it's for you

The Jamaica Inn and its founder each have a reputation on the island--the Inn for its service, beauty and the rooms' verandas, the founder for his eccentricity and hospitality. The founder's sons, Eric and Peter Morrow have ensured that this landmark property is impeccably groomed (the grounds are beautiful; it's 250-yard beach rivals the nearby superclub beaches in size); and the staff are unfailingly polite and helpful. My only reservation is

that I believe that the hotel's food does not warrant the premium prices the Inn charges. And although we were invited repeatedly to have meals served in our room, we were never told that there is a $10 charge for that service. One caveat about the Inn: Be prepared for a moderately regimented and fairly formal experience (meals are served on a specific schedule, and I found the summertime requirement for long slacks in the evening unattractive) and be prepared to be a bit isolated from the world around. For the other guests that we met, that experience was exactly what that wanted; it was a bit limiting for me. Overall, you could not find a more gracious hotel, stateside or abroad. And the huge verandas attached to each room were heaven in and of themselves.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2002

Defines Classic

A positively magical step back in time. The attention to detail combined with the warmth of the staff makes for a splendid holiday.

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2002

Beware!

I travel frequently, and the worst hotel experience of my life was with the Jamaica Inn. The owner was cordial on the phone when I called to book a room, but when I had to cancel my reservation a full six days before my scheduled arrival, I learned that my credit card had been charged more than $1000. I was never told that my card would be charged (or informed of a cancellation policy. Suddenly, the once sweet owner, became nasty, telling me that

if I had a problem with being charged I would have to "take it up with the credit card company." There are several great hotels in Jamaica. This isn't one of them.

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2002

Paradise Found

My fiance and I spent a delightful 8 nights at the Jamaica Inn. Midway through the trip we were trying to rearrange our schedule to stay longer. Jamaica Inn is paradise on earth. Upon arrival we were greated by the general manager who took our bags (including my purse) -- stating that we would need no cash whilst at their resort. One touch of the room service button was all it took to order any kind of fresh fruit frozen drink (we'd recommend

the banana daquiri's made with fresh bananas). The veranda to our suite was located directly on the beach. There was always a fresh basin of water and fresh towels to rinse the sand from your feet upon your return. The entertainment was delightful, and the food exceptional -- especially when served on your veranda. A server would bring the food to your veranda and set the table beautifully with crisp linens and fine silver and china (he would even polish the silver piece by piece as he arranged it on the table). My fiance and I will be married this summer, and may go to Jamaica Inn for our honeymoon as we have been unable to find a resort that appears to rival the Jamaica Inn's service, privacy, and experience.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2001

If this is heaven, I'm ready now, God!!

There are few finer, more civilized, more restful havens in the Caribbean than the wonderful Jamaica Inn. We've been three times, with a several year break between the 2nd and 3rd visit. All is as we remembered it. Many of the staff have been with JI for years, and a few of them remembered my wife and I from our last visit. The service is impeccable, the food excellent, the entertainment delightfully old-style Jamaican, much like what I imagine

the Caribbean was before it was 'discovered.' And anyplace that makes tourists from New York want to leave after 1 night is tops in my book. I can't wait to get back and sink into my chintz-covered sofa on my veranda, Planter's Punch in hand, and let my eyes rest once more on that gorgeous half-moon of sand that makes up the JI beach. Aaaaaahhhhhhhh.......perfect.

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2001

There's gonna be a show tonite. A big show for you...

Ladies and Gents are expected to dress for Dinner on the veranda; or you can dine upon your own balcony. Dancing each evening if you wish. This is a very civilized destination. Diversions are limited to sun, sand, water with a bit of reading thrown in for peacefulness. NO small children allowed provides an extremely relaxing environment! Beautiful gardens with fragrant night blooming jasmine. Exquisite! We shall return soon.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement