Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Jamaica Hotels

Couples Sans Souci Resort and Spa

Pros

  • Excellent spa
  • Free weddings and expansive all-inclusive package
  • Complimentary round-trip airport shuttle from Montego Bay airport
  • Trips to Dunn's River Falls and shopping in Ocho Rios are included

Cons

  • Some rooms are very isolated and a long walk from public areas
  • Beaches are not as good as others in area

Updated 03/13/2014

Fodor's Review

This classy all-inclusive encourages its guests to check their cares at the entrance and indulge in some soul-nurturing pampering. Rooms—all of which are suites—are soothing, with tile floors, plush linens, large balconies, and a style more Mediterranean than Caribbean. Bathrooms are particularly large and luxurious. Romantic oceanfront suites have oversize whirlpool tubs. Guests have their choice of beaches (one clothing-optional), though both have pebbly sand, and

neither is as appealing as the pools. Though the resort is open to couples only, they do not have to be male-female couples.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

North Coast Hwy., 2 mi (3 km) east of Ocho Rios, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

Map It

Phone:

876-994–1206

Website: www.couples.com

Hotel Details:

  • 150 suites
  • All-inclusive

Updated 03/13/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Jamaica

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By rnphd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2009

unusual all inclusive

Nice property in need of a facelift, or more serious surgery. Missing many of the "extra" touches of luxury. NOT for anyone with any kind of limits to mobility, due to large number of unavoidable steps. Beaches limited - not the resort for you if you want long walks along the beach. Be sure to plan ahead on the food front - small number of options, almost all of which require booking ahead.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2005

The Ultimate Destination

We just returned from San Souci and were overwhelmed with the attention and service we received from the staff, as well as the beauty of the hotel views. The property is well maintained, the food is delicious and the employees delight in catering to your every whim. Prepare to be spoiled!

By KJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2004

Jewel of Jamaica

We spent a week in June 2003 and are heading back to this paradise. This is by far the best resort we have ever been to. The food was fabulous, the staff was wonderful, the weather was perfect. Our favorite place was the clothing optional beach and pool.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2004

Ditto

Just returned from 4 nights at Sans Souci after a 4 years' hiatus.Life after SuperClubs is even better...rooms are brighter, food is tops, grounds and pools are well manicured, spa is awesome, staff is great etc etc so splurge..you are worth it!!!

By April

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2004

Absolute Paradise

We just came back from a 5 night stay. The resort is one of the prettiest, most romantic, that we have ever stayed in, in the carribean. Truly stunning!!!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only complaint was that the bed was a little too hard. The food was okay, but not fantastic. After talking to other couples, they claimed that the food was better than most all-inclusives. Since it was the first we have ever stayed at, we

really didn't have anything to compare it to. They did do a great job of making every meal romantic with music. Overall, one of the best vacation we have ever taken!!!!

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2003

Vacation "Without Worries"

We just returned from a one week stay at the Sans Souci (no longer part of the Grand Lido chain) and thorougly enjoyed it. Nice accommodations, excellent food, friendly service (no tipping allowed), beautiful resort, this is the perfect place for a quiet vacation. The complementary spa treatments are wonderful and all of the equipment for watersports is in excellent condition. We benefitted from the current low occupancy (due to the loss of the

Grand Lido connection) and recent renovation. If you are looking for loud parties, big/crowded beaches etc. this is NOT the place; if you want a very romantic, restful place to pamper yourself and enjoy the sun and the ocean, you cannot go wrong with the Sans Souci.

Read More

By Miranda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2002

LOVE THIS PLACE

My husband and I spent three nights here as the second leg of our trip (spent the other four nights at Grand Lido Negril). This hotel is fantastic! We were given an oceanview suite and our balcony was huge complete with a table and loungechairs. The beach area is also very nice and has a wide variety of water sports available. The hotel has a number of mineral pools and hot tubs hidden away -very romantic. The clientele seems to be a little older,

however we (twenty-somethings) had a great time. Suggestions: Take the interisland air via TimAir instead of the bus - it's about 25 minutes instead of several hours on the bus. Also take a lot of U.S. currency - ones and fives - because the hotel can't ever make change and you'll need it for airport personnel, taxi drivers etc - all the ATMs seem to dispense only Jamaican currency. Try to make spa and dinner reservations before you arrive at the hotel. We were told that you could not make reservations in advance but many other people we met at the hotel had done so.

Read More

By Renee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2001

Life is Grand at Grand Lido Sans Souci

My husband & I stayed at Sans Souci in July 2001. We felt like we were in a tropical paradise. From the moment you walk in to the moment you leave Sans Souci, you will receive the most excellent service, food, and accomodations. There are many romantic places to be alone - hammocks, mineral grottos, massage rooms! We will definitely return in the future.

By lauren

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2001

it's ON even during the off-season

i had the hands-down best time of my life at sans souci, grand lido, even during the rainy season! it was all about the incredible scenery and the fabulous staff.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2001

Rooms Need Some Updates

Overall the experience at the Sans Souci was good. Our biggest complaint was the rooms. Beds were uncomfortable and the showers were moldy and had mildew in spots. Food and service was good but, rooms need update to receive higher rating.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2001

A terrific cruise on land!

One of the jewels of the Grand Lido group, this hotel speaks of luxury and service. The staff is very attentive, and make sure to avail yourself of the oceanview massage. If you're comfortable "au natural", the swimup bar and pool on the nude beach are the best on the property.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2001

San Souci...

My wife and I visited the resort and found it to be outstanding. The trip to OchoRios from the airport was a bit disturbing and before arriving at SanSouci I began to wonder if the decision to vacation in OchoRios was a good one. However, once we rolled into SanSouci it was truely wonderful. The food, facilities and staff were excellent. The staff was on-call and available 24/7 and took care of us perfectly, the spa alone is reason enough to visit.

I highly recommend SanSouci to anyone looking to relax and take a break from the ordinary.

Read More

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 6, 2000

Natural Beauty Abounds Sans Souchi

Recently returned. Was overwhelmed by the natural beauty of the place. Meals were excellent. Ordered room service only three times but got what I ordered each time. Service was friendly if a little slow in typical island style. After purchasing package deal, only spent $100 for meals and tips at airports. Did not do any extra "excursions" as being there for 5 nights/6 days had too much other stuff to do. Would highly recommend as romantic getaway

for couples with no children.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement