Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Punta Cana Hotels

Meliá Caribe Tropical

Pros

  • Ten à la carte restaurants but you need reservations
  • The YHI Wellness Center has two spas, a thermal circuit and gym
  • Buildings 35 and 36 are closest to the beach, but more expensive and far from the lobby

Cons

  • Most rooms far from the beach
  • No booze, even beer, in the minibar of standard rooms
  • When quoted in Euro, prices seem moderate, but once calculated to dollars are high for an older mega-property

Updated 03/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Impressive grounds, inviting lobbies in the twin hotels that make up the complex, and eye-catching adornments are hallmarks of this popular, American-friendly resort. First-rate meeting and banquet facilities make this a good choice for conventions and weddings, which account for much of the business. There are various levels of accommodations and service here including The Level, VIP Royal Service, and Romance Suites and guests paying these supplements generally have

a most enjoyable stay, whereas those in the older, original rooms, and the non-renovated family rooms, have definite complaints. Restaurants are many but the standout is Gabi, yet, it is exclusive to Level guests. The Flintstones-themed kids' clubs is a creative concept, but some mothers are not pleased with the babies’ area.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Bávaro, Dominican Republic

Phone:

809-221–1290; 888-741–5600

Website: www.melia.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 1,200 rooms
  • All-inclusive

Updated 03/12/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Punta Cana

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2012

Caution...hotel management not concerned with safety and well being of their guests. Our son received a strong electrical shock from a beach side restaurant hand dryer...this resulted in a stay at the area hospital. Management's response was that it was our son's fault for having wet feet...then they said they inspected the dryer and found it to be correctly wired...then they denied that they replaced the suspect dryer with a new dryer. Management

told us that they would not pay for the medical attention nor reimburse us for our lost time. We have tried to speak with the corporate ownership and cannot speak with anyone directly....they just give us various email adresses to customer service which either get returned to us as a delivery failure or go unresponded to...if you try to call them and then press option for customer service, either no one answers or they say that option is not available. We will keep all you travelers and booking agents up to date on our request for an apology, reimbursement for medical treatment, and refund of hotel stay. In summation, we caution booking a stay at this particular resort as well as any other resort/property in the Melia chain based upon our experience to date with customer service and reasonable settlement of our issue.

Read More

By cdobric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2008

Disappointing

My husband & I stayed at the Melia Caribe Tropical in Dominican Republic for our honeymoon. We got a suite with royal service. The service was very nice, the accomodations were beautiful as well as the grounds. The food was an extreme disappointment. It was just horrible ut it usually is in all inclusives. So 4 months later we came back with another couple. We didn't get royal service this time but the accomodations were still very nice as well as

the staff. Melia hotels are a little pricey but they are also all inclusive. So 1 bad feature is the food. Don't waste your time spending all this money if you want ti enjoy good food your vacation. My husband and I can deal with the buffets. The French restaurant was terrible. I ordered consume and it was suppose to come with a quail egg. Of course it came with a chicken egg and the consume was not home made. It was from a soup base or bouillon. Everything we ordered was just not the way it was descried on the menu. The Chinese restaurant tasted terrible as well and supposedly they have a chef who trained in that country. Every restaurant used soup bases or boullions in the food. It was so obvious that everything was made with short cuts. Stick to the buffets. You'll get a variety of options. In the restaurants it feels like the staff including the kitchen is playing "make believe". It just really p$sses me off when they advertise award winning chefs! My a$$! My husband and I are in the restaurant business and we just expect to get what we read. Then my friends and I checked out 3 1/2 hrs before our flight was leaving. Our luggage made it to the lobby theirs didn't. Turns out they brought it to another part of the resort. In turn we missed our flight and couldn't leave until the next day. Sol Melia did nothing!!! They said it was our fault that we didn't leave in time and wouldn't accommodate us for the night. F them. There are other all inclusive resorts that are just as nice. After our honeymoon, regardless of the food, we wanted to make Melia resorts our place to stay for all inclusive vacations. But there is too much competition and you only have to p#$$ me off once. Don't Settle For Melia Hotels!!!

Read More

By celias

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2008

Great for families

Great resort for children and families. Terrific activities for chlidren every day, including a mini-disco every night. Great suite, caring service. For the two weeks we were there, this place seemed to draw an older crowd -- people with kids and 40 plus. I was glad to have the Royal Service ammenities -- transportation on call and room service were a real plus, as was the food in the Gabi restaurant and restaurants where reservations were required.

The long walk to the beach, and the monster buffet (off the tropical lobby) were less satisfactory. Service was exceptional the first week we were there, the second week the place seemed a little too busy and the staff had trouble keeping up. Terrific beach, good food - book the restaurants and avoid the buffet. Friendly guests who tip (even modestly) get better service. I would not have had as much fun there if I was still 25 and looking for a party but if you've got kids, it's super. I reccomend this spot with the Royal Service upgrade for families.

Read More

By CL3421

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2007

Would not go again

The Melia Caribe Tropical is a beautiful resort, but does not strive to cater to its customers. My fiance and I found ourselves in the unfortunate situation of a cancelled flight from New York to Punta Cana due to mechanical problems. We were not able to land in Punta Cana until the next day. Our travel agent told us most hotels would not charge you for the day you missed in a situtation like this one. The Melia Caribe Tropical did. This did

not bother me as much as the fact that when we did finally arrive at the hotel our room was not ready, and we would be forced to wait for three hours before we could go into our room. Since we were being charged for the night that we were not there I didn't and still don't see why our room was not ready. Later, I would find that the hotel overbooked and our room was given to someone else. Waiting for three hours for the room to be ready was even worse because the airline left our luggage in Miami. Once the luggage arrived at the hotel we waited in our room for over an hour, until finally I went to the lobby and walked all of the luggage back to my room, so that I can begin to enjoy my vacation. Looking past the first two dreadful days, another thing bothered me in the drinks being served at this all-inclusive resort. While we paid for all-inclusive, I was forced to drink beer and wine all week because the alcohol they serve does not have alcohol. Either that or it is really watered down. Finally, there were a few men wearing Sol Melia shirts constantly in the Lobby or walking around hounding my fiance and I to go for the "Welcome Package", which we later found to be a sales pitch to get us to buy a time share. We were offered a ten minute massage for free which we never received. All in all, the beautiful scenery provided by the Melia Caribe Tropical is not enough to make up for all these downfalls of Sol Melia.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2006

VIP Treatment was unbelievable!

My wife and I just got back from this resort on 5/23/06. We stayed for 6 days. While we were there, we had the "Service Royale" or VIP service. This included access to the private part of the resort as well as the private restaurant. This side of the resort was less crowded and folks tended to be a little more reserved than the "normal" side. We enjoyed both pools on each side. The staff in the entire resort was very friendly, attentive and helpful.

The facilities/grounds were beautiful and well kept... almost like paradise. The food was less than desirable and we are not picky folks. I read most of the reviews here before we came down and dismissed it to folks that were expecting "americanized" foods. I think the best piece of advice I can give is to make sure you order your meals freshly prepared. By this I mean hot. The buffets all seemed (even on the VIP side) to have cold food that should have been hot. It took us several days to figure out where and what to eat. Specifically the Japanese, Mexican and "Capri" restaurants were good as the meals were prepared to order. We also REALLY enjoyed the poolside grill on the VIP side. We ate lunch there almost everyday! Our room was amazing. More of a suite than anything that was beautiful and spacious. We did not encounter any bugs as some of the other reviewers did. Again, our room was not the run of the mill. But one thing I would suggest is to make sure you get a room not close to the main road/walkway as it can be a bit noisy. Management was extremely helpful as well. My wife ended up getting so dehydrated we had to visit the local hospital (bad idea anyway you look at it). The hotel management called to check on us and picked us up when we were finished. Lastly I will say that if you visit the Dominican Republic, give this place a try! It is well worth the extra money to upgrade!

Read More

By Rhonda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2005

The swim-up bar is the best

I loved this all-inclusive resort! 11 resturants and 8 bars to choose from. El Guarapo (Dominican) resturant was the BEST!! Nice clean beach, HUGE pool and a lovely spa. There's a casino that showed ESPN so were able to watch Sunday NFL football.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2004

An honest review of the Melia Caribe

The grounds are beautiful as everyone says-but until you've experienced the food situation-you won't really understand how terrible it can be. We didn't even worry about the food thinking how bad can it be? It was by far the worst food I've ever had...And awful is being nice. Other people from all different places-around the USA and other places agreed the food was so.. bad. Some people were sick-other people just said they didn't feel right, and

others took imodium or pepto.. if you don't want to eat on your vacation-it's beatiful and the people were nice. But-there are so many other places to try-I wouldn't waste your time with this island at all. Other people who stayed at various places hated this island... I didn't hate it-but I wouldn't go back.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2003

Be ware only 2 A la carte Restaurants per week

I really in like the property but didn't like the dining. Paying that much to stay at a property, it's not my idea od a nice vacation when I have to eat at buffets for a week. PS:slip the counter a $5.00 bill and they will set you up w/an extra nite.

By b

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2003

GREAT TIME!

I went there in summer of 2002-It was so very beautifal-The grounds and the staff were great! Food was really good at all the restaurants. This place even has a little disco/bar where we went almost everynight to pass the time. You can go topless on the beach if you like to and there are always plenty of chairs avaliable. The pool was HUGE and Also very clean. I would highly recommend this resort. I hope to return very soon. --Don't forget to

tip the room service staff-this will assure that you room will be tended to daily.

Read More

By Tanya

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2002

Heaven on Earth

the resort far exceeded my expectations. Although our a/c broke down on the first night and it took them 5 hours to finally show up to fix it. Other than that, the place is fantastic and we are looking forward to another visit next year. Word of caution, if you have kids, you might wanna be careful with all the topless women sunbathing. Not appropriate for kids.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement