Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cayman Islands Restaurants

The Wharf

  • 43 West Bay Rd. Map It
  • Seafood

Updated 07/18/2014

Fodor's Review

The popularity of this large restaurant often leads to impersonal service and mediocre food. But the location, a series of elevated decks and Victorian-style gazebos in blue and white hugging the sea, is enviable and helps to explain its enduring appeal (wedding parties have their own pavilion, but celebrations of all sorts can overrun the place, including Salsa Tuesdays with lessons). The Ports of Call bar is a splendid place for sunset fanciers, and tarpon feeding off

the deck is a nightly (9 pm) spectacle. Stick to simpler fare (creole-style marinated conch fritters with homemade tartar sauce, lobster baked with truffled Parmesan in champagne) and avoid anything sounding too pretentious. Chef Christian Reiter is Austrian and patriotic, so save room for dessert: warm toffee banana pudding, apple strudel, or the house version of a napoleon don't disappoint.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

43 West Bay Rd., Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman, KY1-1204, Cayman Islands

Map It

Phone:

345-949–2231; 345-814–0179

Website: www.wharf.ky

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 07/18/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Cayman Islands

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2008

Perfect!!!!

We love Grand Cayman and visit several times a year. The Wharf is one of our favorite restaurants. In fact, we had our wedding reception there. The Wharf offers a beautiful ambience and fantastic food! The sea bass and the lamb are our absolute favorites. It would be hard to go wrong with anything you choose. The service is great and the view is unbeatable!

By Johnny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 12, 2006

Not Like we Remember It

We have had such great dinners here in the past that our expectations were high (to match the cost here). We were disappointed that the meal was good but not great. There were Kid-tollerant but not particularly Kid-friendly. A good experience but not the great experience we had in the past.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2006

A tad bit Touristy...

Everyone is drawn to the 9pm feeding of the Tarpon... no big deal and the food was Fair. The view was gorgeous.

By Gerard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2005

Make this your final night

My wife and I went here our final night and loved it. She loved her basil and pistachio encrusted sea bass and the lobster in my surf and turf was possibly the best lobster I ever had. The location overlooking the sea is phenomenal especially if there is a breeze. The wine list is a bit pricey, but this restaurant is worth it for a special occasion.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2005

A Restaurant in Paradise

Eating delicious food in a scenic paradise, especially at sunset.NO complaints about food,service,nor atmosphere. This would be my choice for "my last supper".

By Deana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2004

Go for dessert, drinks and the tarpon show

It really is amazing watching the tarpon swim back and forth - they are huge. Also saw a turtle and a sting ray. We went for the 9 PM daily feeding just for drinks and dessert - had a great time. Sit at a table next to where they feed the fish.

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2003

Great Service...If you're a Tarpon!

My wife and I visited The Warf to cap off our vacation last week. We had heard rants and raves about the service, incredible food, and wonderful atmosphere. I am a pretty easy going guy who can enjoy everything from wings at a sportsbar to complex lobster dishes at 5 star restaurants. This background is what enables me to accurately say that the service we had at The Wharf was sub-par to many Pizza Hut visits I have enjoyed. I suffered dehydration

as my glass sat empty most of the meal. On several occasions my server checked on our meal by practically jogging by while blurting our "everything Okay??" My wife ventured several inquiries about the entree choices, only to be answered by annoyed one to two word answers. We were very disappointed in the portions and lack of presentation. Then, when all the fellow diners ran from their tables to watch one of the servers throw raw sea creatures to fish off the dock...and ringing a bell like it was a great novelty. I was very confused. What is the huge attraction? By this time I was very annoyed as the servers were completely gone during the fish feeding. I was once again saddened to see the bill included an obligatory $18 tip for the horrible service. We paid less for more enjoyable meals at several other locations on the island. Maybe I hit the restaurant on a particularly bad night...but it happened to be the last night of my vacation and we were greatly disappointed!!!

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2002

The Best Food

We were very happy with food, wine and service. The Best Restaurant on this Island

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2002

The BEST Restaurant in Cayman

Very Very outsthanding Food, Try the Lobster Brulee, Bisque,Crab Salad, my Favourite is Turtle Pie, also the Skate which is Stingray like the waiter explaint us is to die for. The Desserts also a must!!

By Jackie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2002

Those who dump on this place must be missing something

We almost didn't go here because of all the negative comments. We thought it was great. Food was wonderful; beautiful atmosphere even though it was raining and we had to sit upstairs under the roof; service was the most professional on the island. Very good place.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 24, 2001

Must eat there!!!

The BEST FOOD on the Island. Better than Westin, Papagallo, Grand Old house or any one else in Grand Cayman. The Best Lobster, Not Cheap but outstanding. Go there and see your self

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2001

THE BEST

I went there with an open mind. Than I saw what thay can do. Everthing is possible in this Resaurant there is no"NO". We ask for special preperation of some Fish and Seafood dishes, They came out as we ordered them SUPERB. Very Good Sea Bass, Lobster Pork and Desserts to die for. Go there an experiece your self. Every dollar is well spend

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2001

Poor food - poor value

really bad food which is really expensive, the location is nice, but that's about it. Give it a miss !!!

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2001

Good for drinks or Happy Hour

The food here is way overrated and not worth the money. However, the atmosphere is nice with a great view. Go for happy hour or for a few drinks.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2000

Wonderful

We'd heard mixed things but finally went and were VERY glad we did! The setting is beautiful, the food was delicious and the service was excellent (it was not at all crowded when we went). Pricey, as is everything in Cayman! But well worth it.

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2000

There are other places that are better.

Food was average and the service less than average. Go to the bar for a view, and skip dinner there.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2000

Waiters jump on you like the trapon during feeding

This was an excellent dining experience. The atmosphere was very romatic. The seating was outside under the stars. A harp was being played and stopped by most of the tables. The tarpon feeding was interesting. The wait staff was superb. It seemed that right before my last sip of wine, the wait staff would come by to fill it up. The food was very tasty. The prices are high, but worth every penny. It was our best dinner on the Island.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement