Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cayman Islands Hotels

Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

  • West Bay Rd. Map It
  • Casual Chic
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Terrific children's programs
  • Superb beach (the largest resort stretch at 800 feet)
  • Better than advertised ocean views

Cons

  • Occasionally bustling and impersonal when large groups book
  • Daily $35 resort fee

Updated 07/18/2014

Fodor's Review

The Westin offers something for everyone, from conventioneers to honeymooners to families, not to mention what the hospitality industry calls "location location location." You can walk a perfect beach or luxuriate in the new cabanas, enjoy the sumptuous spa, sweat in the state-of-the-art fitness club, get wet with a Red Sail Sports branch, dine at the estimable Beach House, lounge in Grand Cayman's largest freshwater pool (with an ocean view to boot), or loll in the suave

piano lounge after dark. New management lavished the property with a multi-million-dollar renovation in 2013, freshening every aspect of the resort. The sophisticated room decor includes rich hardwood furnishings and granite-clad bathrooms with pampering showers. The Westin-brand signatures have been subtly tailored to the tropics: local rum cakes are the turndown treats, a "run concierge" leads jogs at cooler times of day, craft demonstrations from glassblowing to thatch-weaving are offered, and the kids' club includes piratical skits and scavenger hunts teaching Cayman history.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

West Bay Rd., Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman, KY1-1203, Cayman Islands

Map It

Phone:

345-945–3800; 800-937–8461

Hotel Details:

  • 339 rooms, 8 suites
  • No meals

Updated 07/18/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Cayman Islands

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2011

Westin Casuarina Resort and Spa Review

My spouse and I stayed at the Westin Grand Cayman for three nights in early July 2011 for the Independence Day holiday weekend. Up until three days before our departure, we were scheduled to stay at the Ritz; then we found an offer for the Westin that ended up saving us more than $500 over what it would have cost to stay at the Ritz. We had booked the least expensive room at the Ritz (which we knew would be far from the beach), but were able to book

a more preferred oceanview room at the Westin and still save some money. After seeing the two properties, we aren’t sorry about making the change. Yes, the Ritz was lovely and classy and sophisticated, and the Westin was more family-oriented and casual, but the savings allowed us to cover some of our incidental costs. We felt the beach at the Westin was preferable to the Ritz, with much space to spread out and chairs that could be easily moved for privacy. (At the Ritz, the chairs are lined up side-by-side, and the beachfront area isn’t really large enough to move the chairs away from other people.) The quality of the water and sand was the same at both resorts, because they are nearly adjacent. Both hotels have cabanas that guests can rent for a secure and more comfortable place to relax; the Westin only had one type of cabana, directly on the beach but near the entrance to the property; the Ritz had three cabana levels from which to choose, some of which came with drinks and snacks and personal butlers. The Westin rooms were fine; not the newest but certainly not in disrepair. There was a nice balcony with space for two chairs and a table, another small table and two chairs inside the room, a king-sized bed, and a spacious bathroom with a separate water closet. Maid service was very spotty, one day not getting service until late afternoon (even though we were out of our room by 8:00 am every day), and another day not getting service at all until we called down to the front desk. Often, we were missing towels of various sizes. We requested a refrigerator, both on our reservation and again at check-in, but we were informed that it wasn’t possible and that we should just use the minibar in our room to store our self-purchased drinks. For future guests, beware of booking the lowest-category rooms facing the street, and don’t expect to check in early (it seems that this never happens to anyone). Lines at check-in and at check-out were long, so be prepared to wait. (Everyone is arriving and leaving on the same few flights.) The hotel has plenty of chairs on the beach, but fewer chairs by the pool; however, we saw people bring the beach chairs (metal and plastic) to the pool (where there were teak chairs with chair pads). Towels were plentiful, and the ladies providing drink and food service around the pool and on the beach came around often to inquire whether we needed anything. We had terrible and surly service at the lobby bar, but the service in the three restaurants (Casa Havana, Tortugas, Ferdinands) was good. The hotel location was favorable, making it possible to walk to a few other hotels, restaurants, and shops. There is a souvenir shop and a liquor store just across the street, so it’s possible to buy your own supplies and save a few bucks. The hotel also has a few shops for souvenir items, as well as a counter-service cafe to buy drinks and snacks (primarily breakfast items. The fitness center is small, but has all the necessary equipment and faces the pool. The pool area is lovely and expansive and able to accommodate many guests at one time; there are also two hot tubs, although they were tepid in my opinion. Red Sail Watersports is on-site, making it easy to book excursions. This hotel was certainly worth what we paid, but if the rates were higher, I might choose the Ritz or a condo-hotel instead.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2011

Westin Casuarina Resort and Spa Review

I stayed at this resort from March 22nd - 26th. My iPad 2 and a watch were stolen from my room while I was out to dinner with my wife. While the resort insists that their keying shows no one entered the room, our de was turned down when we came back from dinner and the iPad and watch were gone. Management was rude in dealing with our claim and has been unresponsive ever since. Hide your valuables or better yet, stay somewhere else. They won't

pay me back for the items their employee stole (and they covered it up), so don't give them your money.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 16, 2006

Going Back Soon

OMG... I don't know where to start! This was the best vacation I have ever taken and it was all due to the pleasant, clean, and friendly atmosphere. It was so AWESOME! From the time I walked through the doors (which I might add.. always a bellperson there) I was treated like a human by everyone. The staff always smiled, spoke and was eager to help with anything! All of the staff were great but I did have a few favorites! Just unbelievable! I am planning

on returning soon! The beach and pool were so beautiful, the beds are heavenly, and the food was excellent! And yes it is very expensive but it is well worth it!

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2005

Hotel Manager not very service oriented

4th visit to Cayman; 1st to this hotel. It helped that we were Westin frequent stayers (room upgrade), although I doubt I will ever stay at this hotel again. Lobby area - not particularly impressive but typical of a beach setting hotel. Good service at front desk. Beach - georgous Pool - Very nice pool although no umbrellas available & therefore no shade. Variable service at best in pool area. Room - typical Westin & very nice. Room service

was great. Spa - beautiful - definately treat yourself. Hurricane Policy: I was particularly upset with the hotel manager who informed us that even though a hurricane was scheduled to hit Grand Cayman in 2 days, that if we left early (to go home) we would still be charged. She was particularly rude and really left a sour taste in our mouths. As it turns out, when we did leave they ended up not charging us for the remainder of the stay because it looked like the airport would be closed down which then brings on their hurricane policy. BEWARE that the only way they will honor their hurricane policy is if it hits Cayman and the airport is closed down as a result.

Read More

By RM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2004

absolutely wonderfull

A CLASS ACT ALL AROUND....

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2004

High Priced, but worthy

Resort was very nice, with clean rooms, great pools and the best stretch of beach on Grand Cayman. Drinks were plentiful, but came at a price(they were strong though). Service was excellent with all needs being met. We would return!

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2004

Excellent Beach - Decent Hotel

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the hotel in January-February using Starwood points to get away from the cold in the Northeast. Being a Starwood member is the best way to ensure that you get a room with an ocean view. The bottom line is that you choose this hotel, because it has the best beach of any hotel on the island along with the best water activities on-site (the nearby Ritz-Carlton is not finished yet). I travel a lot for work and stay almost

exclusively at Starwood Hotels. This hotel is more like a mid-level Sheraton Hotel than a Westin Resort. The Hotel's rooms, gym, and pool are a little small but perfectly adequate. The service is friendly and not pushy. Hotel food and drinks are expensive, although the breakfast buffet is a good value. A good way to save money is to go across the street where there are relatively inexpensive restaurants, liquor stores, and food marts.

Read More

By Susanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2002

Beautiful, Clean, and Restful!

We are having a baby in two months, and opted for the pricey Westin as our last get-a-way, and were NOT disappointed. The rooms are not huge, but are lovely. The bathroom is large enough for two people, and is well appointed. The hotel itself has the best spot on the island, and after travelling around extensively, we thought we had the best stretch of beach that we saw. The staff at the Westin were MUCH friendlier and much more helpful than other

island resorts in the Caribbean, and the property itself is immaculate. Don't stay here if you want a swinging nightlife -- it is picturesque, quiet, and naturally beautiful, and the onsite services of RedSail Sports are top-notch if you are a diver. The spa is also quite nice. We loved it, and will definitely return with our expanded family!

Read More

By Rhonda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2002

If you want a luxury resort --wait for the Ritz

This resort bills itself as a luxury property -- it is anything but. It is a Ramada with sand. Rooms are very small. If you are a diver with equipment, forget about it. There will be hardly enough room to turn around. The only word to describe the concierge service is AWFUL. As for the front desk staff -- when I asked to be moved to a larger room here is the response verbatim "we have nothing available, perhaps you should spend less time

in your room" at $560 per night -- how about some customer service !! My advice, if luxury is what you want skip the Westin and wait for the Ritz.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 25, 2002

Good Hotel

This was a nice hotel on the best part of 7 mile beach but it was too expensive. However, considering how expensive Grand Cayman is, it was probably priced correctly. Food is Casa Havana was over rated. However, the Westin is better than the Hyatt (most rooms across the street from beach) and Marriot (no beach). The pool area is large and on the beach. It is a great view from your lounge chair. Enjoy.

By Julia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2001

too crowded

The hotel is fine and the beach is pretty. When we were there is was so crowded there weren't enough chairs on the beach for everyone. So the staff would accept tips to remove your towels and move your chairs to give to someone else. Tacky. Not what you'd expect at this high priced resort.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2001

Best beach location

The rooms are very average however the beach certainly makes up for it. Nothing much to do in the hotel although the beauty salon has some nice therapies. The Gym is not even worth thinking about, it rates as the worst- equipped gym I have ever come across !!! But nothing can beat the location, it certainly has the best hotel location on 7 mile beach, and a good beach service also.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2001

CAN'T BEAT THE BEACH!!!

The rooms here are not outstanding...however, the beach/pool area more than make up for it. Also, great food and excellent service.

By Connie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2001

Not Worth the Money !!

Nothing at all to do for vacationers in the hotel. Expensive drinks and on the weak side. Rooms nothing to brag about. Could stay in Aruba for 2 wks for what it cost for 1 wk at The Westin. Felt like a "fill-in" compared to the business functions going on everyday. Events made you feel "not allowed" in certain areas. Wouldn't go back.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2001

Walk right up to the PERFECT Cayman Beach!

Best beachfront hotel we'ev been to (5 years in a row). You'll pay for Ocean FRONT or deluxe front rooms, but you'll have full ocean and sunset view. Conceirge is helpful, but doesn't pay attention to many of the great Cayman restaurants. (Still) nothing happening at night. Good cable TV. Great but pricey drinks at the beach bar. The exercise room has been enlarged with new equipment. This is still a great place if you CAN afford it.

By Candice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2001

Skip it!

The rooms were big and roomy but nothing to them. The hotel was boring and there was nothing special to warrant the outrageous price. When it rains there is NOTHING to do. Partial ocean view= when you walk onto your balcony and lean over to the left you might see the ocean

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2000

Service here is like the view..Excellent

We were treated like queens here and we had a wonderful time. It was one of the more expensive places on the island but well worth it. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

By Buffy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 12, 2000

Why stay anywhere else!

The Westin on 7 mile beach is beautiful, well serviced, and offers a variety of activities at reasonable prices for the Caymans. You don't even have to leave the hotel- the food in each of the three restuarants is excellent! The other hotels pale in comparison to this gem.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement