Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bermuda Restaurants

Frog & Onion Pub

Updated 11/04/2013

Fodor's Review

This is a pub lover's dream, with everything on the menu named after old English pubs. The food is good, as are the ale and the atmosphere. With its vaulted limestone ceilings and thick walls, the former Royal Naval Dockyard warehouse is a fitting place for this nautically decorated restaurant and large arcade game room. The selection caters to every palate and includes hearty house-made shepard's pie, chicken curry, and a selection of fresh local fish plates. Fodors.com

users love the bangers and mash, the Argus Bank fish sandwich, panfried local rockfish or tuna, and the Frog & Onion burger. There's also a gift shop where you can purchase your hot toddy mix.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

The Cooperage, 4 Freeport Rd., Dockyard, MA01, Bermuda

Map It

Phone:

441-234–2900

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 11/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Bermuda

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2012

Frog & Onion Pub Review

This place was very crowded, so when my friends and I walked past it, it seemed like a great bet. Plus we were coming off the cruise ship and figured we'd get some non-cruise ship food. Big mistake. We both ordered the hamburger. The meat was filled with bone and muscle, and it tasted disgusting. And it was $17.00 for the burger with overcooked fries. The coke was flat and watered down. If I could give this place a ZERO, I would. Definitely

not recommended. GROSS! Skip this place, and spend your money somewhere else. You will NOT enjoy this.

Read More

By dannak

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2009

Just say no

This place looks so cool - we were expecting to really enjoy our meal there. The staff was very unfriendly, and the food was terrible. My husband had their grouper with fries. I think the oil was rancid - how can you mess up fries? Their microbrew was so-so. I would highly recommend that you not eat here!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2008

Ok Food at a high price

We had dined there a few years back and I guess we forgot how expensive the place was for what you get. But we were out at the Dockyard and tried it - for our last time ! The hamburger was dry and the bun was twice the size of the meat ! The waiter was very nice and service was quick. The fish part of the fish & chips was good. Just an OK place - nothing special.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2007

Better ambience than food

Our group went for a quick lunch at the "Frog and Onion" while at the Navy Dockyard. We ordered a variety of food including Caesar salad, onion soup, onion rings, and fish and chips. The real winner at lunch however, was my daughter who ordered the seafood sandwich. It was spicy, but definitely delicious. The rest of the food was average at best. However, the restaurant had a real "pub" feel which was great. The best part of the "Frog and Onion" was

the gift shop. It sold great hats and bags and also a hot toddy mix that was unbelievably good.

Read More

By Peggy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2004

Very English

I loved this restaurant...very cool...loved the little gift shop. Food was good too.

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2000

Atmosphere Blows Food Out of the Water

The place looks fantastic. If only the food and Rum Swizzles measured up. Lots of tourists from the cruse ships. It's not bad - still worth a stop. But for pub food and drinks, Hog Penny and Swizzle Inn are best bets.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement