Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bermuda Hotels

Cambridge Beaches Resort and Spa

  • Bedroom at Cove Suite

  • Cedars Suite

  • Turtle Cove, one of the small private beaches

  • View from Breezes

  • View from Cedars Suite

Pros

  • Private
  • Gamut of activities and beaches to choose from
  • Beautiful grounds and beaches

Cons

  • Far removed from rest of island
  • Very expensive

Updated 11/04/2013

Fodor's Review

No other Bermuda resort uses its privileged setting better—its 30 acres on a peninsula near the western end of the island creates a sense of meandering expansiveness. Cambridge Beaches has a coat of arms that reads "Prima Et Optima", or First and Best. The First? Yes—it's the island's oldest cottage colony. The Best? Well, if you want a pervasive sense of tranquillity and relaxed refinement, then that's a fact, too. Many large properties on the island are centered on one main beach, but Cambridge has four, including beautiful Long Bay Beach and tiny Turtle Cove (backed by a chic infinity pool). The complimentary daily tea service is a civilized affair, set in the Port of Call bar overlooking Mangrove Bay. The varying sizes, styles, and locations of the cottages and rooms make for a wide range of prices. Less-expensive rooms open onto lawns and gardens, but overlook the same wide ocean. Want the best? Three pool suites have very private terraces with plunge pools facing the ocean. Cambridge also offers the Ocean Spa, one of the very best in Bermuda.

Hotel Information

Address:

30 King's Point Rd., Somerset, Sandys Parish, MA 02, Bermuda

Map It

Phone:

441-234–0331; 800-468–7300-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 66 rooms, 25 suites, 3 2-bedroom cottages
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Bermuda

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2008

Inconsistent service detracts from beautiful grounds and facilities

The facilities are great. The grounds are very well maintained on a quiet,secluded location in the western part of the island. The room was large, well appointed and clean. Great marina view from our patio. The service left much to be desired for a resort at this price range. We had to shlep our bags from the room to the main house upon check-out because the bellman doesn't start until 8:30am. Room service messed up several items on the only

order we placed. More importantly the main dining room was a fiasco. The service was inconsistent at best, but more often incompetent. They frequently got orders wrong. One night, the bill only included charges for our wine and drinks, no food. When I brought this to the attention of the wait staff, they returned 10 minutes later with a corrected bill, but no gratitude for pointing out that they had initially undercharged me. The food quality was mediocre. For some, this may not be important, but be advised that the resort is in the remote western portion of the island, with few surrounding restaurants. Hamilton is a long, expensive cab ride. In summary, the facilities are great, but the food and service leave much to be desired.

Read More

By Marcia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2005

Run don't walk away from Cambridge Beaches

My family of 4 stayed at Cambridge Beaches for a week July 2004. The hotel was TIRED and had that musty old hotel needs new carpet smell to the lobby. The front desk staff was MOST unhelpful when we made them aware of the fact that the ceiling to our bedroom (we had a one bedroom suite) was leaking on to our bed. They suggested putting the garbage pail under the leak. Our carpet was musty and water stained. There were NEVER enough chairs at the

beach. When asked to provide more, they did oblige after a 45 minute wait. Yes, we had to carry the beach chairs oursleves to our spot on the beach. The beach was beautiful as was the pool. Food was fair (we were on the meal plan and did not actually pay for our meals). There was a lot of grumbling by guests that this place provided NO value for money. If I can dissuade even one person from booking at Cambridge Beaches, I will be very happy.

Read More

By Maggie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2005

Bermuda Island Retreat

Room rating: "5" Well thought out design and layout offer ample room to breathe with large separate living room, divided by french doors leading into the MBR Suite. Bathroom had 2 dual sinks, w/bidet and whirlpool tub. A 10'X10' terrace with 2 chaise and round glass dining for 4 overlooks the ocean. Atmosphere rating: "4" Friendliness abound, but privacy and peace are paramount to these wary travelers, common pathways lacked appropriate lighting,

and other visitors conversations could be heard. Relaxation was still achieved. Service rating: "+3" Service, we believe is EVERYTHING. It can make or break a hotel, simply by word of mouth. Surprisingly, Cambridge Beaches, despite its larger size, manages the property well, but there were some compromises to note. Tranportation via third party was somewhat disorganized due either to poor communication or volume. Greetings by staff were not consistently genuine or attentive - some were very cordial and pleasing, while others lacked interest altogether. Breakfast orders were not carefully taken, but should note staff was willing to change and resend requested dishes, however, the negative impression was already made. Service at their signature, Ocean Spa was top-notch, 5 stars, however and would still recommend this property over others on the island. Value rating: "5" Cambridge Beaches is truly unmatched - the Royal Navy dockyard is a shorter distance away compared to Hamilton, even if you were to take the ferry (a 20 minute sojourn on the new SeaExpress ferry) from the Dockyard. If you are a regular to the island, this is an ideal property to stay whether for business or leisure - they can handle small or large groups well and it's location alone is worth the effort, given privacy and peace were our main characteristics for a relaxing extended weekend away. Give Cambridge Beaches a try - it is ranked as part of the exclusive Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report.

Read More

By EMM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2004

Save your $ and don't eat here

I just came back from a long weekend in Bermuda with my boyfriend. We did not stay at CB but since it was part of the Reefs dine around program we ate dinner at CB on Sat. night. In the end we wished that we didn't waste money on the cab ride out to this hotel. The atmosphere of the restaurant was stuffy and stodgey and the food was horrible. The menu seemed interesting, but was nothing like we expected. The food was plain, and dry without any taste.

The hotel in general looked nice enough, but seemed like it could use some rennovations. The service was rushed and pretty rude as well. I read reviews of this hotel prior to going to Bermuda and after visiting CB, the reviews are very, very over-rated. I would not recommend staying at CB if you plan on visiting other areas of the island, it is very far from everything.

Read More

By Louise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2004

Great view, but that's about it

CB is VERY far from Hamilton and after November, ferry schedules are reduced, and nonexistent in the evening, resulting in a $30 taxi ride back to the property. The ocean views are really spectacular, and made up for the fact that the rooms are practical but not elegant. In fact, they are a bit outdated and somewhat musty. The property seems to be oriented toward families or repeat guests. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful, unless

they are very busy, then things turn rather impersonal and hurried. Further, most of the staff are former cruise ship staffers and have the same attitude as such, which is often impersonal. The dining room requires a jacket for dinner, and if you do not have one, be prepared to be harrassed. The food is only average, so I would not even bother investing in a dinner jacket for this place. Go to L'Oriental instead...best sushi on the island and very casual and friendly. CB is also losing their beaches, as most beaches are only accessible during low tide. The shopping in Hamilton is not high-end...so if you are looking for New York style at discount prices, you will be disappointed. Most importantly, the coffee all over is terrible and one has to hunt for cream, as they only serve milk with coffee. The whole island is in desperate need of a Starbucks or something comparable. If you are travelling to Bermuda during the winter months, my suggestion is to stay in Hamilton at one of the larger hotels for access to the best the city has to offer. One more note, I did wake early one morning with an insect crawling on me while sleeping at CB...most unpleasant.

Read More

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2003

North American Sandy Got It Wrong

Just returned yesterday. My wife and I had not been to Bermuda since our honeymoon 26 years ago. Not only is the island the nicest we've been to, but the best part was our stay at CB. The property is beautiful, the accomodations luxurious, the views incredible, the service personal and outstanding, and the food delicious(considering breakfast and dinner is included, and they have no reason to make it any better than average, we were surprised about

the food). We understood, by the time we left, why they have plaques on the wall listing the names of repeat guests, starting with 5 visits, and continuing in increments of 5 up to an astounding 75 visits. We've already made our reservation for next year. Do your self a favor and give CB a try. You won't regret it.

Read More

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2003

Bad management

Just returned from a disappointing experience at CB. Be very careful in the room that you reserve because we ended up with a very different room from what was described to us. Upon complaining to the manager he gave us a take it or leave it option. Richard, the manager, was extremely condescending and unhelpful; certainly not what you would expect from a manager at a supposedly top rated hotel. He even insinuated thta I was lieing about what

was described to me by reservations. Very overpriced for the accomodations received. Food was OK but has dropped in quality from last year. When the new Rosewood hotel opens I expect CB will lose alot of its clientele.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2002

Alisandro and I say "Loverly"

Just returned from Cambridge with my husband and 17 yr. old son. We loved every minute. Beaches are not the best on island but didn't keep us from total enjoyment. Yes, it is pricey but we felt it was worth it. Staff was extremely helpful, but stayed out of your way. Dinners ( great french chef Marc) were superb, especially the souffles! Donna, Kelly, Stephan and the rest of the front desk staff were so helpful, even the turn down staff had

hugs for us when we left! We will be back. Only mistake was dinng at the Reefs - only the stuffy indoor restaurant was included in the Dine Around plan and it was not worth the cab ride.

Read More

By Troy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2001

Isolated with average beach/ food, stuffy atmosphere

Lovely manor house surrounded by quaint cottages -- ours had no view for $440 per night. The patio was not swept. Our constant requests for softer pillows were never honored. Dinner service was ruined with rushed service, canned chitchat and ingenuine smiles that made us feel like we were at a retirement home. The food was unremarkable at best. There are about four feet of beach (the worst we saw on the island) and it never gets deep enough for

a proper swim. For an island surrounded by reefs -- the water here is murky and filled with seaweed. The restaurant on the beach looks terrible and has marginal food. The man at the scooter rental shop at the hotel told my wife she could not rent her own scooter because he could tell that she would crash. The hotel management backed him up! (my wife is a 5.0 tennis player and grew driving Ferraris and motorcycles). So we left and went to the Ariel Sands -- better food, fresher room with a great view and fabulous beach. The Relais and Chateaux property on the island was by far the most beautiful but it is not on the beach -- the food there is wonderful. Even better -- go to the Royal Pavillion on Barbados.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement