Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bermuda Hotels

Pompano Beach Club

  • 36 Pompano Beach Rd. Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • Private and intimate resort
  • Three hot tubs
  • Three bars

Cons

  • Expensive
  • Food not quite on-par with price

Updated 11/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Pompano, which is passionately run by an American family, understands its customers—and those customers return year after year for the casual atmosphere and beachfront location. A dining room with two-story glass windows overlooking the ocean makes it one of the most dramatic dining spots on the island, and there's also a popular game room with two PlayStation video game consoles, pool, foosball, and Ping-Pong. Of three hot tubs, two enjoy a privileged cliff-side perch

overlooking the beach. Most memorable, however, the water here is clear and shallow—you can wade out through 400 yards of waist-high, crystal clear liquid to one of two floating platforms. A shuttle to and from the Port Royal Gold Course, and also the Hamilton ferry, is offered.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

36 Pompano Beach Rd., Southampton Parish, SB 03, Bermuda

Map It

Phone:

441-234–0222; 800-343–4155-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 75 rooms
  • Some meals

Updated 11/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels

See all hotels in Bermuda

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2008

A Big Disappointment

We just returned from six nights at this hotel. First of all, the Pompano Beach Club is a misnomer. I would not call a tiny, tiny stretch of sand a beach! Our room was damp all the time and therefore so were our clothes when we put them on. The bathroom is nice enough, but our water was rusty. The lobby and public areas are worn. The food was average to good (depending on the night), but the desserts were excellent. The staff was friendly and

tried their best. However, this place is definitely not worth the price.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2007

Pompano Beach Club Review

Just got back from Pompano our 3rd year !Things haven't changed much - but they need to ! The rooms are still outdated and need a major make-over. The bedding/drapes/linens are very worn ! The first time the food was OK then it got better - now...it was barely OK. My husband said the bisquits could cause damage they were so hard and stale. The management is great and will do anything for you but please ..... do something about the food and rooms !!

We love Bermuda and the beach at Pompano and the lovely staff but.....they need a make-over badly !!

Read More

By cmoran

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2007

Pricey but perfect

I couldn't have asked for more. They answered every issue (all minor) immediately. Food: folks - Bermuda is not a foodie spot. Pompano locally is a desired spot. The service is not what we expect elsewhere but the food was good and we definitely found our favorites. Lunch was definitely a great value. If you get a chance - use your meal plan to check out the Reefs or Cambridge Beaches. Also Make reservations early for the Ocean Grill as it

books up. Pretty sunset while dining. All atmosphere. Rooms: they are comfortable and all have perfect views. They are cleaned twice a day. Bermuda is humid and I have seen other sights complain about the mustiness of rooms. We found everything clean. Ants were not a problem - nor any other bugs. Atmosphere: it can have a bit of a kitshy feel to it. The staff was wonderful and made you happy. Every one of them. They go out of their way to shuttle you everywhere - to the golf course, bus, ferry, dockyard for boating. EXCELLENT! It is expensive - we traveled with our two kids. We were happy with the meal plan as it is easy after a long day boating or on the beach and we didn't want to get into a cab. We would definitely go back

Read More

By Cherie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 13, 2006

Not Pompas Pompano

The service and friendly atmosphere was a delight. Anytime we had a question or needed something - they were right there. The food was definately gormet and the beach was wonderful. I would go back again and again even though it's a little pricey.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2004

Pompano Keeps Getting Better.....

My wife and I just returned from our 5th trip to Pompano and every year, no matter how many times we have visited, I am instantly beathtaken by the view. In each of the last 5 years we have also returned to new and improved surroundings as well, which excites me to see what they will come up with next. This year they remodeled their watersports center, added a massage theropy room, and have continued to update the decor of the rooms and common areas.

We stayed in their new building that was just built called Wahoo. We like the set back view on the hill. We have stayed in all 3 types of rooms over the years but we liked the one room style Superior or Deluxe rooms the best. Food is top notch as well. Food is another aspect that I always remember to be great from previous trips then I am still blown away when I return. Jorge the pastry chef is the absolute best. I just can not say no to anything he creates. Special thanks to Larry, Tim, Rob, Steve and Brendan for another wonderful trip. See you in 2005, if not sooner!!!

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2003

Great Romantic Spot

We spent our honeymoon at Pompano Beach in mid-June. The property is lovely, the location is great and the people are friendly. The food is terrific, especially the five-course dinners. The breakfast (on buffet days) tended to be a little sparse - but there was always enough to choose from. Occasionally the service seemed a little slow (especially when the kitchen backed-up), but we really didn't care - we weren't there to rush through our meals!

We learned to avoid the peak times, which seemed to make a big difference. The location of the resort, although a little out of the way, is such that there are several easy alternatives for convenient transportation to and from other areas of the island. We greatly enjoyed our stay, and would definately consider a return trip.

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2003

First Class...Casually

Spectacular views, great food, friendly service, and attention to detail made the Pompano Beach Club one of the most enjoyable places my wife and I have ever stayed. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff and given a tour of the resort which ended at our room (where our luggage and a bottle of champagne on ice were waiting for us). Our Deluxe room was right on the ocean with a large private balcony, a spectacular view, and a large

bathroom with a double-sink and a separate tub and shower. While lying on the private, sandy, beach, a waiter came around to take our drink orders. The water was crystal clear and so shallow, you could swim several hundred feet off shore before the water got much deeper than 5 feet. There’s a waterspouts rental area on the premises that supplies everything from snorkeling equipment to motorized lounge chairs. The food (and view) at dinner was first rate, the atmosphere was casual, and the service could not have been friendlier. We’d return to our room each night to find our bed turned down (with chocolate on the pillows) and our towels replenished. A pretty ferry ride to Hamilton is just a short drive away and the hotel staff was more than happy to drive us to the dock and pick us up upon our return. As we were checking out, I noticed other couples that were checking out were already making their reservations for next year. I can’t imagine returning to Bermuda and staying anyplace other than Pompano.

Read More

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2003

Best Vacation Ever!!!!!!!

My husband and I stayed at the Pompano in June of 2002 for 7 nights. It was the best vacation I have EVER had, and my husband, who has traveled around the world, agreed with me. The staff was friendly and helpful--not over the top--and our room was clean and comfortable. We felt as though we were staying with family friends. We booked a deluxe room with a gorgeous view from the balcony and often fell asleep under the stars on one of the lounge

chairs. We can't say enough about the delicious food we had every night and the breakfasts we ate outside each morning overlooking the beach. We took the ferry (Pompano will drop you off at the dock)several times and were pleasantly surprised when locals stopped to offer us rides home from the dock when we returned. We also rented a motor scooter for several days and zoomed around very happily. We returned relaxed and thrilled with our experience. We plan to return as soon as we can!

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2003

Absolutely wonderful!

My husband and I stayed at Pompano for our honeymoon the week of the 19th of May. Everything was perfect! The meals were great. Everyone who worked there from the owner Larry to the chambermaids we extremely accomodating. We had a deluxe room above the beach and could sit out on the balcony and view the beautiful water. They would drive us the the ferry dock and pick us up as soon as we arrived back at the dock. We enjoyed banana sombrero's at the

pool but could have ordered them right at the beach from a waiter. Unbelievable personaled service. We can't wait to go back.

Read More

By ABB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2003

Overrated

We checked in to the newly renovated room and were not impressed at all. It looked to be a glorified Holiday Inn with a view. Normally I wouldn't mind, or be so picky, but for $400. a night I thought it was a totally out of line. The food was fair to decent. Breakfast really wasnt that great. We had the buffet one morning and service the next...both were mediocre at very best. Dinner was decent, though not gourmet by any stretch, as they advertise.

The views are very beautiful, but the whole resort was so dirty during the day. Around 3 pm the lunch room/ bar was so filthy. Ketchup packets on the floor, dirty dishes all over the place....it was really disgusting. The mattress, pillows, sheets and towels were Motel 6 quality. The pool was overrun by kiddies and the hottubs were so small that you couldnt get in because they were full already. Not very romantic. The game room and work out room, while having nice views are really ill equipped. The place is informal which I know is supposed to be its charm, but for those prices it is a sham!

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2002

Almost Perfect

My wife and I recently celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Pompano. It was a great choice. The Pompano is a beautiful, well-maintained, smaller hotel in an absolutely gorgeous location on Bermuda. The staff at the hotel, from Larry the General Manager to the ladies who keep the rooms spotless, are always friendly and cheerful. Our room was well-appointed and had a great view. The only complaint that we had was that the food did not seem up-to-par

with some other places in Bermuda (we were not on the MAP). Upon reflection as we were leaving, however, we decided that it was pretty good value for the money, in the very expensive world that is Bermuda. If you're a golfer, the Pompano is the place to stay as well -- the Port Royal course next door is a great track.

Read More

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2002

Pompano First Rate Dining and Ocean Vistas

We just got back from 5 nights at the Pompano Beach Club celebrating our 10th anniversary. The extremely friendly staff, accomodations and hotel overall met all our expectations. The food was fantastic and on par with the Stonington Beach (we stayed there for our 1st anniversary), the Reefs( we dined there on our 4th night) and with the dine around plan you have the opportunity to never tire of the same setting if that was a possibility. The hotel

staff knew us if not by name or by room number and face almost always. Larry the owner and his brother Tom were quick to help us with any request. Clermont the bus man or Steve took us down to the Rockaway ferry or bus and picked us up almost instantly by request. Our room had absolutely fantastic ocean views. The beach although small was more than adequate and very private accessed by our hotel only. Lots to do with watersports galore and you can snorkle out on the sandbar- very shallow water about 2-300 yards out. The new fitness center wing had 3 treadmills weights and a circuit weight system and t.v. had just beautiful views of the ocean. The equiptment worked well but could have been a little more up to date. We worked out every day at 5:30 and had the gym to ourselves. We were never there in the a.m. to see what that was like. The sunsets were absolutely spectacular and very romantic. Would definately go back due to the friendly staff and management, views and room and food.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2002

Best Vacation Ever

My husband and I spent the most relaxing comfortable and luxurious vacation at "Pompano." Our room was wonderful, the staff is incredibly helpful and the food was fantastic. The views are beautiful, and the resort is clean and quiet. The resort is family owned and this can really be seen in the attention to detail and the friendly staff. We would definitely stay at "Pompano" again.

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2002

Pompano is the ONLY place to stay!!

Could write a book about how wonderful our trip was. From the reservationist who talked us through our reservation (and answered dozens of questions) to check-in where we were greeted by name and taken on a welcome tour, to the room (spectacular views), food (never eaten so good), atmosphere (relaxed), facilities, and even the other guests who were there at the same time. We found that a number of guests had been traveling to Pompano for years,

and it showed in their family-like interaction with the staff. Everyone was wonderful, and so helpful. Making friends with the staff was second nature, in fact, my wife and I even went out with a few of the managers at night to some of the local hot spots!!! Used the "dine around"....but Pompano's food was so good we almost wished we just would have stayed at "home" for dinner!! Looking forward to our next trip that is already tentitivly booked for next year!!

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2002

Lose Yourself Here in Bermuda

My wife and I visited the island resort and had a wonderful time! Best tropical vacation yet. The staff, Larry and Rob make for a wonderful getaway from the monotony of every day life. There is golfing, tennis, fishing, a private beach, 5 star cuisine served overseeing the ocean and outside(! a must), and simply the best time we have ever had. We recommend for families, couples, honeymooners and businesses. There could not be a better place to

stay. The rooms are very comfortable and the location is SIMPLY THE BEST ON BERMUDA!!! Enjoy!

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2002

Romantic Honeymoon!

After much research we booked Pompano for our honeymoon. What a wonderful choice! Unlike the other reader, we saw no sign of construction. The entire staff from the man who takes your bags to the manager, Larry, are as personable as can be. The resort has such a warm, special feel to it. The beach, whicle small, is beautiful. And while you are secluded somewhat, here are 2 ferries walking distance away and the bus is at the corner of the hotel and

can take you anywhere. Our room (superior) while not "luxurious," was certainly spacious, with goregous ocean front views. The food was great - 5 course meals every nite with a dining staff that was very pleasant. We ate at the Reefs one nite on the dine around plan. It was ok but we didnt like that it is right off the main road. Pompano's main building has amazing views, the fitness center has gorgeous views - and the dining room has beautiful views as well. Yes we did a bit of walking to our room up the cliff, but after eating 5 course dinners every nite we were more than happy to get a little exercise. We can't wait to go back to Bermuda, and when we do, we'll stay here.

Read More

By Stuart

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2002

Nice hotel, but.......

I would have to agree with some of what others have said. Members of the staff were friendly for the most part, the atmosphere was informal, the food was above average, and the views are spectacular. The beach is small but pretty.The rooms are not luxurious,and although some of the rooms are quite average, there are other rooms that are above average and quite comfortable. The hotel is away from the action, and visitors should keep this in mind.

Now for the problem. The goal of our vacation was to obtain peace, quiet, and solitude in a pretty place with water views, and we stated this to the reservationist. We booked a superior room with ocean view, but we were not warned that we would be placed in the middle of a construction zone. There were construction materials all around the outside of our room and the noise and visuals at times were quite irritating,certainly not relaxing and not what we were led to expect. Sometimes the construction went on until late in the evening. We did complain and we were given a choice of far inferior rooms at the same price. We could tell that the staff knew there would be a problem with the room and that we might complain. This situation truly marred what might have been a nice vacation, and we can truly say we were happy to leave. We called in a complaint when we returned home, but we never received a response or an apology, and thus we were left with a feeling of dissatisfaction. Certainly hotels periodically undergo construction or remodeling, but the hotel has an obligation, in my opinion, to warn potential guests. My rating was low in some areas based on my own unfortunate experience.

Read More

By Honey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2002

Pompano is Pleasing

We've just returned from our first trip to Bermuda, and were very happy with the Pompano Beach Club. After being warned that Bermuda can be on the stuffy/formal side, we were pleased to find a relaxed and casual atmosphere, with warm service (we were greeted by name upon arrival). We stayed in a superior room that was decent sized and comfortable (though not luxurious), with a separate sitting room and lovely view. The only drawback was that it

was located at the top of the resort, and involved quite a lot of climbing to get to--good thing we did not bring our toddler, as a stroller is out of the question. The beach is small, but the fortuitously located sand-bar literally allows you to walk out to the surrounding reefs during low-tide for snorkeling--it is rather awesome to look back at the resort to see how far you've gone. The restaurant fare varied from average to very good, as did service--we would have explored other restaurants if we'd had the time. All in all, a very lovely place to spend a long weekend.

Read More

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2002

Great Ocean views and food

Just got back and had a great time. Super service and friendly staff. Stayed in a Deluxe room with a great view of the ocean. Small beach area. Room was just redone and has a great balcony area. Has a dine around program but we stayed at the hotel because the food was so good and they varied the menu nightly. Hotel is on the west side of the island which has a slower pace and less traffic. Hotel had a good number of families with children staying

there.

Read More

By Kelli

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2002

If we each choose our heaven I will spend my eternity at the Pompano Beach Club.

The staff at Pompano take care of each guest as if they were the only one. The food and service were fabulous. The view from our room (an all the other rooms) was awesome. The beach was perfect. We had the best vacation of our lives.

By Lynda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2001

What a Beautiful Honeymoon!

We had a perfect honeymoon at Pompano this October. It was beautiful and reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels on Bermuda. It was a long ride from the airport but we were welcomed to the hotel by name. Pompano isn’t modern but has character and a warm feel. The views of the water are breathtaking. Our room wasn’t very large (#8) but clean and we had two huge windows that overlooked the ocean, a king bed, a wonderful bathtub, a shower

big enough for two, and a wonderful, large veranda off to the side with picture perfect water views. Breakfast and dinner were included and outstanding. Only three nights were formal and we were allowed to decide what formal was. It was small enough that we knew most of the guests and staff by name, but our privacy was never invaded. The pool was never crowded and we had the hot tub to ourselves. Both are open 24 hours so we were drinking pina-coladas in the hot tub late into the night! We were so relaxed and we saw no reason to leave the hotel but I would have liked to moped. We did go to Hamilton one day. They arranged a taxi for us but we arrived at the ferry about 45 mins. too early and had to wait which was a pain. We also had to call a cab in the rain on the way back. Other than that only three things could have been better: 1. breakfast is 8-10 and dinner is 7-9 – you snooze you lose but they will give you a cold platter to have in your room, 2. the electric went out for about an hour one afternoon which wasn’t a big deal but if the weather was warmer we wouldn’t have been able to stay in the room, and 2. I always woke up later than my husband so he got the first shower AND the hot water. The shower absolutely poured water (which is wasteful) and I never took more than a 10 minute shower without the water getting progressively cooler. My advice? Go snorkeling if the electric goes out and share a shower with someone but don’t miss Pompano. What a wonderful honeymoon memory we have!

Read More

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2001

Rooms have great views

I went to Pompano beach for my honeymoon and had the best time. I do not think you can beat the view, our balcony was right over the water. The food was great (We did use the dinearound program so we could experience other restaurants too)!

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2001

The best, friendliest service on the island

Exceptional oceanfront views, the friendliest staff. A great operation, peaceful and relaxing. The week we were there there were lots of children, and we had a wonderful hour or so of dancing at night in the lobby to live music--both adults and children joining in. A very special place.

By KT

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2000

Top of the List

What a wonderful resort!! The views, beach, and service at the Pompano have no comparison. This resort is now at the top of my list of places to stay--trying to figure out when I can return!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement