Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bermuda Hotels

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

  • 11 Blue Hole Hill Map It
  • $$$
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Kids' program in summer
  • On-site aquatic activities
  • Caves

Cons

  • Small beach
  • Big complex
  • Rooms unexciting

Updated 11/04/2013

Fodor's Review

The ocean is never far from sight at this popular resort best known for its two on-site caves; you can treat yourself to a spa treatment in one, then go for a relaxing swim in the other. The 21-acre hillside resort is pleasant, although it overlooks the airport directly across Castle Harbour, a sad and noisy reminder that you can't stay on this beautiful island forever. The resort is quite commercialized by Bermuda standards and it can get crowded with packaged tour groups.

The beach is small, but you also have the resort pool which is the the center of the action, next to an outdoor restaurant, hot tub, shuffleboard, and tennis courts. Kids can watch fish being fed from a small lagoon off the beach and try out the waterslide for size. For adults, sightseeing, scuba diving, and snorkeling cruises depart regularly from the on-site deepwater dock.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

11 Blue Hole Hill, Bailey's Bay, Hamilton Parish, CR 04, Bermuda

Map It

Phone:

441-293–8333; 800-582–3190

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 198 rooms, 3 suites
  • All-inclusive; Breakfast; No meals

Updated 11/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Bermuda

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 4, 2013

Fantastic Place

I notice the reviews are bad, but they are old also. I have been there multiple times since march 2012. I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful and the service 5 star. My only single complaint is they do not have carlsburg beer at the bar. The pool is great, teh caves are great and the swizzle inn and jamaican grill are a short walk. Grotto bay has a great feel to it and is unlike the corporate feel at so many other places on the island.

Although pricey, the food is great and the grounds are beautiful.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2008

Not impressed

We stayed at the Grotto Bay for a family member's wedding, where we were a group of over 30 family and friends. I know the Bride had gone done to Bermuda on at least two previous occasions to make all the arrangements and put quite a lot of effort in to ensure her guests would be comfortable. I had heard that Bermuda is lovely, which it was and the people were so friendly, which at this Hotel they were not. The Bar Staff were amongst the rudest

people I had ever encountered, where with all inclusive 17% gratuity is already included in the price. The entire staff should have training on customer service. The only staff that was nice was the breakfast staff. One dinner which was previously arranged as far as seating,etc., was not what was expected and the dining room was virtually empty. The renovated rooms were nice, except the dressers were old where the drawers were falling off and there isn't enough space to place toiletries in the bathroom, unless you want your things falling into the toilet. Air conditioning wasn't consistent, where members of our group didn't have any and they didn't tend to them in a reasonable amount of time. They ran out of towels, as well. Members of our group were also given disgusting, substandard rooms and where they had to complain in order to have their rooms changed. There was a musty smell and often a sulfer-type smell, where in areas of high humidity more cleaning is required to ward off mold and mildew. The food was average, and for the price I'd expect a lot better. Staff at buffets was minimal, where unless you tracked someone down, you were not sure what you were eating. Coffee must be a premium item, for it is only offered at breakfast and you have to ask for your cup to be refilled. The coffee bar should be open 24 hours a day and stocked with fresh coffee. Some nights at dinner, it appeared we were served old coffee. Though you get a coffee maker in the room, the creamer is as hard as rocks and should be stored differently. I'd recommend using the safe in the room, though, I prefer the combination type over a key. A member of our group had money missing from her purse and the fiasco that ensued with the staff over the course of action(s) to be taken was ridiculous. I almost felt as if I were being made to feel stupid or incompetent in explaining the "story." The matter was not handled in a satisfactory manner, where staff communications were not clear and fortunately for the Hotel, we had to leave before we completely straightened out the situation. For the price, I would not return to this Hotel, though it is a matter of minutes from the Airport and on a lovely stretch of property on the bay. The water is beautiful and the beach is private though a little small. Given a family wedding, if it were not for the delightful company of family and friends who maintained a good attitude over all that occurred, this probably would have been a horrible vacation.

Read More

By mrRon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2008

Grotto Bay Resort is awful. Horrible Service. Nice Beaches.

I just got back from a wedding in Bermuda where well over 30 guests all stayed at the Grotto Bay Resort. I was shocked by the incredibly rude and aggressive behavior the hotel obviously tolerates from their employees as I was one of a dozen guests with similar complaints. I am not talking about minor altercations here. We all were stunned by the straight up, in your face rudeness that at least a 1/3 of the staff displayed over a 4 day period. Hostile,

impatient, dismissive and confrontational would describe a portion of the hotel staff. Basically a motel painted pink, dropped into a nice location of the island is how I would describe this establishment. The rooms were comparable to a motel 6 as they couldn't even bother to put a thin diffuse curtain liner on big sliding glass doors(we were ground level), so we could not enjoy the sunlight and privacy at the same time. Soda machine in our building-out of service. Hot tub near pool-lukewarm almost the entire stay Coffee-horrible. $6 gets you a cappuccino from an automated machine and a server who is annoyed you want it dry. Internet is not free and is not in your room. Like I said, this is a motel painted pink with a nice location. Run, do not walk to another resort if you are heading to Bermuda.

Read More

By RCowart

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2006

Be very careful!!

Checked in 8PM on friday the 8th of Dec. Excellent value,$155/night. I noticed the room was very musty smelling.I opened the window to air the room out and being very tired went to bed. I woke up the next AM with a scratchy nose and throat. Realizing I had a mold/mildew problem and certainly not the first time in nice hotels I immediately pulled the air conditioner filter and found it very dirty. I put it outside on the balcony and within minutes

after airing the room out the musty smell was gone. This time of year in Bermuda you do not need an air conditioner so I did not use it at all the whole three days I was there. My condition continued to deteriorate and I am just now getting back to normal after one week. I had not been sick in years prior to this event. Mold spores are not to be taken lightly. They devestated New Orleans after Katrina. When I checked out Monday AM the lady in front of me overheard my conversation with the front desk and told me she had to move her room because of the musty smell. She told me later at the aitport she told customs of her experience and they told her that that was not uncommon at that hotel. This is a beautiful property. It is sad that this condition has to exist. I hope this helps some poor soul with a weaker immune system than mine. The desk clerk apoligised and said he would take care of the problem. As you can see from my rating this is only a service problem. Good luck, Bob Cowart

Read More

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2005

F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S

This place is absolutely the best value in the Bermuda. The private beach was great and away from all of the congestion of the larger hotels. The food was delicious, and the service was fantastic, especially for an all-inclusive resort. Book it!!!

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2004

Great place to stay!

The grotto bay was great. The food was excellent and the staff was VERY friendly! Tell Lawrence the bellman Rob sent you he is the best!

By Shannon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2002

What a Great Bang for the Buck!

Just spent a week in Bermuda and really lucked out with the weather. Never knew that flowers are in bloom all year round! Grotto Bay has to be the absolute best value in Bermuda. Wonderful for short visits as it's close to the airport (but airplanes are not a nuisance). And only a 5 minute walk to Swizzle Inn which is a must! The renovations have made quite a positive impact and are still not done. I mentioned getting new mats for under the beds

b/c they hurt your bare feet, hooks on the bathroom doors, and maybe wooden or wicker trash cans for the rooms. The room safe was free and the fridge acutally worked! Dining was wonderful with great selection. The all-inclusive plan is a great value if you don't want to leave the property too often. Top shelf brands of liquer (which is unusual). The caves were really neat but a little to chilly to go swimming in it! Hard to believe there was once a disco in there! Service was what you'd except from a 5 star luxury hotel or maybe it's just because it's Bermuda and everyone seems nicer there. I work in the travel industry and have no problem booking this resort!

Read More

By Corin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2002

Better than expected!

We visited Grotto Bay in October, 2001. We purchased the All Inclusive Plan, which proved to be a good move. We throroughly enjoyed our stay here- We stayed in an oceanfront room, with a lovely balcony. We were looking for a resort that was not "stuffy" and Grotto bay turned out to be perfect. We spent most of our time on the beach, and found it to be lovely. Of course, it does not compare to the more popular beaches, but it sure beat no beach at

all! The drinks were top quality- the food was excellent in our opinion. With the All Inclusive plan, we got unlimited drinks, and all of our meals. Given the prices to eat and drink in Bermuda, this saved us lots of $$. I would highly recommend Grotto Bay, and look forward to getting back thre soon!

Read More

By Roger

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2002

Skip it

We stayed here in 2001. The beach is lousy, which is a rarity in Bermuda. The food was mediocre and the waitress worse. Only good points are easy availability of bus service and short walk to Swizzle Inn.

By lynn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2001

Bermuda style all the way

We stayed at the Grotto Bay. When we first got there, it was not what we expected, for the price of bermuda, you would think you were staying in more luxury. We could have stayed at the fairmount princess for the same price. However, the charm of the grotto really grew on us. We traveled by scooter over the entire island and decided we would stay at the grotto bay again. The concierge was not all that helpful, nor was the hotel desk clerk.

He gave us many wrong answers and was not very nice either. Others there were very nice. Definately, take the scooters around the island, if you can handle the skinny roads and driving on the opposite side of the road. That was part of the best times we had. I went prepared with Ant and Roach spray and did not have any problem with bugs.

Read More

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2001

Grotto Bay, the Scourge of Bermuda

We were thrown into a ground floor smoking room with no carpet and two double beds that felt as if they would collapse if we rolled over (this was considered an upgrade). And, yes the rooms were infested with roaches. Even though a smelly refridgerator was included with the room, I would not store any food in it. The pool is not heated in winter and the bar there was closed as well. The beach was littered with fast food containers and the rest

of the facilities were in disrepair (i.e., a clothes washer full of rusty water, and broken exercise equipment). The restaurant boasts fresh fruit on the menu, but the buffet only included a sorry looking bowl of canned peaches and a bowl of luke warm, runny yogurt. Service was minimal as gratuity is included in the price and they have no incentive to do more than the bare minimum. Menu prices are about 50% more than you would pay in a four star hotel in the US. I would not recommend eating there.

Read More

By Romeo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2000

A good value and beautiful atmosphere

We had an all-inclusive package, which saved us quite a bit, Bermuda being a fairly expensive place to dine out. The grounds were beautiful, and we found it very easy to get around the rest of the island. My only complaint was the concierge, who, while very nice, didn't follow through on any of our special requests.

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2000

Spend extra $ to stay at a better location

The people are friendly and service is good, but this hotel is just too far from Hamilton (30-45 minutes on winding roads) and the nice beaches. The hotel lobby is like a Holiday Inn, the rooms are ok but the air conditioning units are as loud as jet engines. The pool is absurdly small and the beach is nothing to write home about. I would definitely spend an extra $1,000 and stay on the south shore beaches. Proximity to the airport wasn't as bad

as I thought it might be, but you could see airplanes on the runway if you looked in that direction. Also, the causeway right off the beach is not a pretty sight.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2000

Easy to See the Island

Nice place, close to St. Geroge's. Rooms OK, grounds beautiful. Best part, beside cost, is that the property is on 4 bus lines - wait less than 15 minutes.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement