Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bermuda Hotels

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Pros

  • Reliable first-rate rooms
  • Only full-service resort in the capital
  • Attractive harbor-front location

Cons

  • Mainly corporate guests
  • Ferry or cab necessary to reach beaches

Updated 11/04/2013

Fodor's Review

The reigning royalty of Bermuda lodging, the Princess boasts some of the most comfortable rooms on the island and caters to its mainly business guests like no one else. It's the only full-service resort in Hamilton and is located right on the Harbour, just steps away from the liveliness of Front Street. Classy, contemporary rooms and suites have elegant hardwood furnishings and marble bathrooms. Fairmont Gold, the chain's exclusive boutique hotel within the larger property,

is memorable for its regal lounge, set in the former ballroom. Take posh afternoon tea here complete with silver pots and fine china. Although at the Princess, as in all Hamilton hotels, there's no beach, you can walk off the dock onto a ferry (followed by a shuttle ride) to Fairmont's south shore beach. Because it caters to business, prices are lower on weekends.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

76 Pitts Bay Rd., Hamilton, HM11, Bermuda

Map It

Phone:

441-295–3000; 800-441–1414

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 368 rooms, 42 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Bermuda

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2010

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Review

We stayed here for 3 nights during the July Fourth Independence Day holiday weekend (Saturday to Tuesday). Our stay was a bit disappointing, and not representative of the Fairmont brand. Our main issue was with a request that we made several times prior to arrival and at arrival, but never received. Both my President's Club account and my spouse's indicate a request for a refrigerator. When we made our reservation, we reiterated that request. We e-mailed

the concierge two weeks prior to arrival to verify our request, and were assured that an alert was placed on our account for the refrigerator. At check-in, while we were given the room type that we booked (Bermudiana House), we did not receive the ground-level room that we requested, nor did we receive the refrigerator. (We checked in around 12:00 noon on a Saturday.) The desk clerk indicated that the refrigerator would be delivered later that afternoon. Several hours later, when it did not arrive, we went to inquire at the front desk. The same clerk indicated that all refrigerators were now gone, but that we could call housekeeping to empty our mini-bar. We did contact housekeeping, who never arrived to empty the mini-bar. We just wish they hadn't publicized the availability of refrigerators, and then basically lied to me multiple times about getting one. There was also a lack of lounge chairs at both the saltwater and freshwater pools on the Saturday of our stay. Guests were lying on towels on the grass. Again, I booked the Fairmont brand because I expected a minimum standard of what to expect. If we wanted to fight for pool lounge chairs, we might as well have gone to some all-inclusive party resort on a nearby island. Now for the good parts! The location was excellent for us, because it was an easy walk to town for shopping, sightseeing, and eating. The property is attractive and well-maintained for an older property, and the rooms in the Bermudiana House were nicely renovated, with pretty fabrics, flat-screen TVs, and nice bathrooms. (As a previous poster said, there is a frosted panel to the bathroom door, and although it does a good job of providing privacy, it does not lock, so I found that it would slowly inch open if my spouse was walking around in the room.) The weather was so lovely during our weekend, that we just lounged by the pool and relaxed, so I can't comment on the ferry to the other Southampton property. I believe it ran back and forth three times per day - TO Southampton at 10:00, 1:30, 5:30, and 6:30 or thereabouts and TO Hamilton approximately one hour earlier than those time (but don't quote me on that, my memory is bad!). There is a fair amount of green, grassy space at the hotel property, including a small putting green, an area with a fire pit and chimneas, Adirondack chairs, gazebos/pergolas, fish pond/waterfalls, etc. The view of the harbor is excellent, and it is fun to watch the boat traffic as well as to be able to see across the harbor to other houses and hotels. The town of Hamilton was very quiet on most days and nights, with the exception of Tuesday when a cruise ship was in port. It took about 30 minutes to reach the airport from this hotel, and it cost approximately $25 (plus 50 cents per bag/suitcase). The hotel could also arrange a shared shuttle for $10 per person, but we felt that the convenience of not making additional stops to pick up other guests was worth spending the extra $5. Smoking is allowed in outdoor areas of the property, including around the pool, which could bother to some guests. There is food and drink service around the pool, but it was better at the freshwater pool and more spotty at the saltwater, probably due to proximity to the bar/restaurant. I expected this hotel brand to offer more in the way of general pool service, similar to what other 5-star hotels do - someone to help you locate a chair, someone who walks around and mists guests, free ice water - but it was not to be. Miles Market is practically right next door (although out-of-sight), so it's possible to buy some drinks (alcoholic and nonalcoholic) and snacks for your room. We ate at Hog Penny, Barracuda, Bolero, Pearl, and Harbourfront, as well as at Harley's at the Fairmont. While food and drinks were expensive, they didn't really cost more than any nice lunch or dinner in any big city. (A few things were really pricey, though - for example, we paid $20 for a case of water at Miles Market, something that would have cost $5 in our hometown, and that was still a huge savings over what it would have cost at the hotel.) An automatic gratuity was added to every bill, but it varied from 15% to 18%. Service was fine everywhere, as was the food; perhaps my expectations were unreasonably high, but I had greater hopes for more inspired and creative meals. Dress for dinner was rather casual: Bermuda-length shorts and a collared golf shirts for men was acceptable. All-in-all, we enjoyed our trip to Bermuda, and we think we'll go back someday. I might even stay at the Hamilton Princess again because it was so convenient to the city, but I might try another location on the island so that I could explore a bit more. It was only a 2-hour flight from the US (which is less time than it takes us to fly to southern Florida), and we liked that we cleared U.S. customs before leaving Bermuda, so that it was as if our returning flight were a domestic one. The Bermuda airport is fairly small; there's a duty-free shop (outside of security), a restaurant/sports bar, coffee bar, two or three shops, a smoking lounge, and a first-class lounge. Most airlines have self-service kiosks for checking in. In summary, the people of Bermuda were friendly, the weather was perfect, and the island was gorgeous.

Read More

By lukea

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2009

Not as nice as Southampton

We stayed here the last two days of our honeymoon after spending the first 5 at the Fairmont In Southampton. In comparison, the staff is much less attentive, kind, and helpful. No one offered directions to our room (which were in a completely different building!) and staff was not very friendly. If you are looking for beaches- stay at the Southampton! The only reason to stay here is to shop in the city.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2007

Old - but staff was really nice !

We had to stay at this hotel due to a flight being cancelled - I would definitely not stay here - no beach ! and the rooms are old ! The bathroom was very clean but so small - reminds me of an old motel ! I think Fairmont could do better ! The air conditioner was leaking all over the floor and noisy. Too many nicer places to stay. Sorry :(

By Cali

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2006

July 2006 Visit

Overall, it was a nice stay. We were on the 3rd floor with an oversized balcony. On the plus side: fabulous beds, good service, two lovely pools, proximity to town, great outside luncheon dining and fabulous bar. Minuses: lack of a gourmet restaurant, mediocre bathrooms, and small stains on the carpet. I'd go back, but I'd be happier if their head chef went back to cooking school.

By JJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 4, 2006

An hour of Paradise wasted.

Although the staff is extremely helpful and pleasant, the hassle of taking the ferry to the shuttle to the beach is a complete waste of time. It takes approx. an hour to get to the beach. The pool is situtated nicely on the property, but is way too cold due to the wind and constant breeze. If you must stay at the sister hotel, Fairmount Southhampton.

By Howard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2004

Gold Glitters

We just returned from a one week stay at the Princess Hamilton. We booked the three room suite 291& 294 with balcony for three couples and three small children. Although a bit pricey the Gold level is fantastic, superb service with Peter, the butler on site, leading the way. The gold lounge is beautiful and having the pool just off of the balcony was very convenient for our little ones. The only issue we had was the lack of a first class restaurant,

Harley's is SW Tex Mex, not exactly what we had in mind for Bermuda. We found that room service ordered onto the balcony was reasonably priced...and Waterloo is down the road if a "Formal Bermudian" meal is desired. Our room was beautiful, but not traditional British Colonial Decor associated with Bermuda. Lack of a beach is another consideration, although we did taxi out to the Princess Hamilton Beach twice. But my wife, mother-in-law and sister in-law really enjoyed the proximity to Hamilton for shopping. We have stayed at Newstead (now closed), Horizons and Cambridge, (too intimate for our little ones), but would recommend the Hamilton Princess for those with children under 5. I would ONLY recommend the GOLD LEVEL. Do not stay in the hotel if you cannot afford the Gold Level or it is not available.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2004

Home from Home

Have stayed that the Hamilton Princess twice this past year and have nothing but good things to say. March and October 2003. First stay had a balcony but the view was nothing to brag about, but it was wonderful to sit there at night and enjoy listening to the tree frogs. The service in the hotel is nothing less than perfection! Every night we had a nightcap at the hotel bar and the bartenders were wonderful. Maid service was great. Some people

find it slow but I think they forget they are on an Island and people are more relaxed. They might request special service if they must have their rooms done at a certain time! The hotel also has an adorable tiger stripped cat that is well cared for!

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2003

Renovated Deluxe Rooms Are Nice

The new renovated deluxe rooms were very nice. The decorating is tops! There are new draperies, bedding, sleeper love seat and carpeting. The bathrooms are small but complete with granite and marble and Kohler products. Considering that this hotel was built in 1885, Fairmont has done an excellent job making these rooms feel like new. The harbor view from the deluxe rooms is outstanding.(Ask for a high floor). The service is polite although swift.

The staff takes good care of you but it is a business hotel and the front desk does not "chat" with you. The pools were nice with plenty of seating area. If you want a space to yourself, you can find it. The ferry service to Southhampton is a nice perk. The location to Hamilton is perfect. Our two teenage girls were in heaven! When the clouds rolled in (as they often do in Bermuda), they were off to the shops. We had walkie talkies which worked nicely. Bermuda is so safe, I was not worried about them shopping without us. This is a good choice for business, families or couples. The food at Harley's was good buy pricey. We opted for Monty's (one block away) for breakfast. Dinner in Hamilton beats most of the food at the cottage colonies. Try Lobster Pot and Hog Penny!

Read More

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2003

beautiful hotel without friendly Bermudian service

Hamilton Princess is a beautiful hotel in a great location but the service is not of the usual friendly Bermudian style. The reception staff were not friendly or helpful and with the cost of the hotel I would expect a smile. The resturants on site and their service were great. I guess I expected more from a Fairmont hotel located in Bermuda!

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2003

Hamilton Princess Deluxe Room

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Hamilton Princess - based on the reviews from this site, we opted for a renovated deluxe room (the hotel noted that the standard Fairmont rooms were in the process of being renovated, but could not confirm we would receive a renovated room if we booked the standard room). We received a beautifully renovated room on the 6th floor overlooking the harbor with a balcony. I believe we were in the Gazebo wing.

The balcony was wonderful - I am not sure if we would have enjoyed our stay as much if our room did not have one. The only negatives were at the main restaurant, Harley's (very slow service and very expensive), maid service was generally very good except one day our room was not made up until 6pm. We also enjoyed dinner on our balcony at sunset several evenings which was very relaxing. Depending on what you are looking for this may be a positive or a negative. On Friday nights the hotel hosts a happy hour, with a band, on the patio overlooking the harbor. It is very crowded as many locals also come to the happy hour after work and the band was extremely loud - it lasted from 5 - 9:30. It was so loud in our room, even with the windows closed, we had to leave until it was over. The hotel staff first said the band would play until 8pm, then they said said 9pm - the music ended at 9:30. They also confirmed it was a weekly event and had been growing in popularity.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2002

Suite Dreams

Got back from a wonderful three-night stay at the Princess. The hotel was booked solid and I was most fortunate to receive an upgrade to a corner suite in the Pool Wing. The room was huge with a balcony on each side, separate living room and large marble bathroom. Watching the sunset over Hamilton Harbour every night was great. There are two pools, with the seawater pool being my favorite. It is surrounded by neatly manicured lawns and plenty

of cushioned chaise lounges, all with a harborview. The hotel is well situated to enjoy dozens of restaurants without the hassle (or expense) of a cab. The hotel staff was very nice and the doorman's recommendations were always right on the money. The only thing that could be improved is the lack of restaurant choices (only one) in the hotel itself.

Read More

By Alice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2001

The princess needs to be de-throwned

I have stayed her twice. THE first time was part of a package deal and the room was in the pool wing. THE room was small and lacked any type of view. The services were ok, except there are surcharges for everything. The second room was in the main tower. It was much larger, quieter, and more comfortable. The restaurants are way too pricey, especially the $30 breakfast for two. At the time that I was staying here the was construction that overtook

almost the entire lobby and the noises could be heard throughout the hotel.

Read More

By Winston

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2001

Great Location For Business, But For a Vacation?

If you are working in Hamilton, or don't want to take a taxi into Hamilton (as you have to everywhere in Bermuda - no rental cars!) to hit the stores or restaurants, this is a good hotel. The rooms are clean and functional, but not lavish, and the common areas in the hotel are showing their age. There is a nice collection of stores in the hotel. The two pools are small but modern, with a great view of the harbor. There is a shuttle to the Southhampton

Princess (1/2 hour), which has one of the best beaches on the island. The kids got a little bored travelling back and forth. Finally, the restaurant in the hotel is outstanding. You can do better in Bermuda (e.g., Elbow Beach), but the Hamilton overall is pretty good.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement