Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bermuda Hotels

The Fairmont Southampton Resort

Pros

  • All-year kids' camp with arcade
  • Full-service resort with golf course
  • Great selection of restaurants
  • Private beach

Cons

  • Hotel building is unattractive and older
  • Bit of a walk to beach

Updated 11/04/2013

Fodor's Review

This is the island's most inclusive resort, with the best restaurants, the best kids' club, the biggest spa, the best hotel golf course, lobby, shops—and so on. If the lodgings, based in an older ¼-mi-long hotel, sat on a fine beach, and were a little less of a clunky high-rise, the Fairmont Southampton would be the unchallenged island favorite. It does have a private beach—one of the very best in Bermuda—but it takes a quick shuttle or a five-minute walk to reach

it from the vast grounds that stretch over 100 acres. The Willow Stream Spa has 15 treatment rooms, three lounges, two hot tubs overlooking the ocean, and an indoor heated pool with waterfalls. Ask to see a room before checking in—views vary—and avoid ones on the first three floors of the west and north wings, as they overlook a rooftop.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

101 South Shore Rd., Southampton Parish, SN02, Bermuda

Map It

Phone:

441-238–8000; 800-441–1414

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 593 rooms, 37 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Bermuda

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 5, 2010

The Fairmont Southampton Review

We are dedicated Fairmont guests - repeating our stays in many of their hotels however, the Fairmont Southampton was a huge disappointment. Although off season, the service was poor (except for the bar area), upgraded room was dated, inadequately staffed at front desk. This Fairmont location requies an overhaul on many fronts.

By lukea

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2009

Perfect Honeymoon Spot

We just got home from our honeymoon in Bermuda- we loved the Southhampton Princess! The staff was attentive and courteous. We even had a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us when we got to our room. The trolleys to the beach are quaint and you never had to wait more than 5 minutes for one. Gorgeous views from the hotel. We LOVED it!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2007

Don't Stay Here!

We hated this hotel. Bermuda is a charming island with many charming small hotels. This is a chain convention hotel. Skip it! The staff is rude. A thrid of the rooms oveelook a roof and most do not have king size beds. The beach is a 15 minute walk down a mountain. You could wait for the tram if you had all day. Yuck, Yuck, Yuck!!! Plus, it is very expensive.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2007

Might try the Hamilton Princess on the Next Trip

Beautiful hotel. For the most part, attentive, helpful and friendly staff. Arrived just after 1 pm on Good Friday...room not available. Front desk staff advised that check out wasn't until 3 pm (very usual and not true according to the hotel's printed literature, which lists check out as 12 pm). Did not receive access to room until 4:15 pm and only after checking with the front desk staff on three occasions, and remaining in the front lobby where

staff could see us and not forget about us. All luggage is stored outside in front of the hotel, until the rooms are available. Our room (Fairmont Room) was large and had a beautiful view of the sea. Good size bathroom and lots of towels. Unfortunately our friends' room (also a Fairmont Room) had a view of the restuarant roof!). Very family oriented hotel...LOTS of kids and lots of activities to keep kids entertained. Hotel is about a 30 mins ferry ride away from the City of Hamilton. Very limited choice of restaurants (excluding hotel restaurants) within walking distance of hotel. Expensive taxis, buses or mopeds are the transportation option. For this reason we will likely stay at the Hamilton Princess (which has many restaurants and activities with walking distance) our next visit to Bermuda.

Read More

By Sloane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2005

Looks good, but isn't!!

We stayed there over 4th of July weekend 2005. The hotel is striking. It has all the makings of a grand hotel. The loby, the pool, the beach, even the rooms are all fabulous. One MAJOR flaw --- BAD SERVICE!!! The service we received during our two night stay was horrific. Starting with the front desk -- so rude. Everything is WAY over priced. We paid $14 for a rum/coke and $18 for a ceasar salad!! They're just ripping off the tourist and doing it

with bad service. I won't return again.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2005

Hurricane in Bermuda

Fodor's was correct. Do not stay on the first 3 floors. Service from housekeeping to the spa was very poor. The room was barely cleaned for my entire week stay plus the amenities were not replenshed in the room. For example, on one day my room was cleaned at 5:15pm. The only positive that this hotel has to offer is the spa pool area, Newport room restaurant, the 6th floor gold room and the view (which you could get anywhere on the island). I would

never recommend this hotel to anyone. I was amazed by the rating of 4 1/2 star for this hotel. Since, I only stay in 5 and 4 1/2 star hotels. I would have thought I was in a Motel 6 for the week. The employees that you dealt with were either very friendly or they were extremely impolite. But, it seemed as though everyone had a hand out for a tip. You never new what to expect.

Read More

By Gee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2005

Too Aloof and Reserved

Bermuda is a beautiful group of islands, but be ready for the aloof, haughty and sometimes cool reception from islanders. The Southampton is a beautiful property, with well appointed rooms. The reception staff can do a better job of being more friendly and less curt. The food and atmosphere at the Whaler Inn were great value as everything is very expensive.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement