Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barbados Restaurants

The Cliff

  • Hwy. 1 Map It
  • $$$$
  • Eclectic
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 02/27/2014

Fodor's Review

Chef Paul Owens's mastery is the foundation of one of the finest dining experiences in the Caribbean, with prices to match. Steep steps hug the cliff on which the restaurant sits to accommodate those arriving by yacht, and every candlelit table has a sea view. Starter suggestions include smoked salmon ravioli with garlic sauce or grilled portobello mushroom on greens with truffle vinaigrette; for the main course, try char-grilled swordfish with Thai yellow curry sauce,

seared tuna with saffron caper sauce and tomato coulis, or Cajun salmon with pesto cream sauce. Dessert falls into the sinful category, and service is impeccable. The prix-fixe menu will set you back $125 per person for a two-course meal or $145 per person for a three-course meal. Reserve days or even weeks in advance to snag a table at the front of the terrace for the best view.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Hwy. 1, Derricks, St. James, BB24110, Barbados

Map It

Phone:

246-432–1922

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sun. Apr. 15–Dec. 15. No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/27/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Barbados

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By lorig39

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2014

A magical night... or at least it could have been!!! 1.Let's start with the constant reminders that I must vacate my seat by 8:30. I understand this when I am booking, I do not understand nor appreciate a whole night of reminders. 2. My ticket number for my reservations was not high enough to get a seat closer to the water, even though we were the first ones seated that night and many tables remained empty. 3. When asked the Sommelier for some

recommendations of wine the response was: It's all good. 4. Not one of the 4-5 different servers we had ever asked if we would like anything else. Perhaps another glass of wine would have been nice. 5. Reminding me half way through my meal that the eject hour was now 8:15 not 8:30 was not magical at all. I have wined and dined in many 5 star restaurants and I have never been made to feel that I am less than worthy of a table and a dining experience. I was prepared to spend a ridiculous amount of money that night however I decided to follow the many 'Cliff' imposed rules and did not! Ultimatley with the less than class act way we were treated as customers my overall experience that night was Poor.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2011

The Cliff Review

I just wanted to warn others that we found this restaurant very over-priced and underwhelming. We were astonished that this restaurant was a Fodor's Choice and wrote to Fodor's about it. If you go and see your bill, you will know why.

By sbrasny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2010

The Cliff Review

It's impossible not to have an evening you'll remember for a lifetime at The Cliff - especially if you have the veal chop and the perfect wine. Not a thing to criticize. We had cocktails up top, and the staff had no problem letting us take our time with drinks before sitting down. Spectacularly lit from below, there is not a bad seat in the house. The most romantic evening ever. I live in NYC and am in a business where going to the finest restaurants

is part of my job and would not praise The Cliff so highly if I didn't know any better. You must make this part of your trip. Of course, all of the food in Barbados was terrific. Be sure to have some chicken at Just Grillin too!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2007

Fabulous place, fabulous price

This is a very enjoyable restaurant, great architecture, lovely view of the sea, excellent service. There's a buzz. People are enjoying themselves. I heard someone say "And what's your next movie going to be?". The food is quite good and the prices are high. Go anyway.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2007

Worth a trip to Barbados

One of our favorite restaurants in the world. The setting , professional service and most importantly the food and its presentation make for a must visit when in Barbados.Try late evening drinks in the lounge on the cliff above the dining room for a romantic interlude.

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2006

Divine and fabulous!

Absolutely fabulous and very reasonably priced. All the waiters were very friendly and chatted freely if approached. The food was glorious and very substantial. The atmosphere and ambiance is heavenly.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2006

WOW! Unforgettable!

We were introduced to the Cliff by a very young chap named Ellis, but that is another story. All we can say is the setting was beautiful. After champagne cocktails on the terrace, we were ushered into dinner in a magnificent ocean side setting. An outstandingly delicious meal and friendly, not over-bearing service made for a very special evening. We can hardly wait for our return trip this February. Reading some of the negative reviews, makes one

me wonder if they are ever happy.

Read More

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2005

Style before substance.

I really have to question whether any of the other reviews actually go to Michelin starred restaurants. This restaurant looks the part, in a beautiful bay on a cliff edge with the water floodlight, flaming torches and candles but that is the only thing to recommend it. The waiters were indifferent verging on the rude. There were no canapés, no appetisers just straight into starters and main course. The bread rolls were merely average. I had a foie

gras/ chicken liver terrine for starter which considering the meal cost (£170/US$290 for 2) had very little foie gras and lots of the cheaper chicken liver. It was served with toast!!! isn't brioche traditional! A main course of barracuda on mash potato tasted like fish pie. Acceptable but way short of historic. Desert of lemon tart with sorbet was nothing like the French classic and inferior to a descent supermarket. Unsurprisingly coffee was extra but unbelievably petit forts were an additional charge on top of this. Maybe this was once a good restaurant but success (it is often full) has corrupted it to becoming lazy and greedy. Unfortunately this restaurant is all style and little substance. I doubt it would merit a single Michelin star let alone 3 which the prices it charges suggest it should be capable of.

Read More

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2005

Spent the rest of the night sick.

Typical potsie restuarant in that servings are very small (hit McDonalds on the way home), prices are ridiculous, and both of us spent the night sick and throwing up. Over $200 down the john.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2005

...and if you are a romantic !

Great food, great service, but best of all, the location and ambience of the place. It's absolutely wonderful and guaranteed to bring out the romantic in you. It is expensive, but from the Bellini champagne cocktails at the start to the banana scented panna cotta at the end, it was worth every penny. As the taxi driver said to us on the way back to our hotel " You are only on this earth for a short time and so if you can afford it you should do it"

Too true my Bajan friend.

Read More

By Laurel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2005

The cliff was fantastic!

WE celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at The Cliff. Even though it was 4 years ago, I still remember how fabulous the experiance was! The food was the best I've ever eaten, and I am very picky about food. Very romantic setting. It was worth the $250.00 we spent!

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2005

On the Edge. . .

The Cliff is in danger of drowing in self praise. It sees itself as the high point in eating on the island and thinks itslef to be way above the rest. Hah! My food was dissapointing considering the extortionate price of it and the service was indifferent. The toilets were disgraceful and only the lovely setting saves this from being s disaster.

By Tracey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2004

Great View!

Beautiful restaurant on a small cliff overlooking the ocean outside. Make sure your reservation has a seaside table. Food was very good and service was excellent. Warning, this is a Pri Fixe 2 Course menu and is expensive. It's worth the experience!

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2003

Elegant and peaceful attentiveness

Unbelievable service. The desserts by the new chef from France (Yannick) are superb! Martinis are some of the best in Barbados as well...

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2002

A Must on the West Coast

The raves for this place are justified. A beautiful, jaw-dropping setting with huge torches surrounding the romantic dining area. The extensive menu is price fixed at $60 US for an appetizer and entree. Everything was beautifully presented and delicious. Service was efficient and attentive.

By Irene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2001

Scots think Nicky is the bees knees

Nicky has got a fan club starting up among the Highlanders of Scotland for her impressive dancing on stage at various venues across the Caribbean. She has also got a real talent for fiddling and all visitors are advised to ask for her in person.

By Lois

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2001

Romance in the Caribbean

A restaurant that will live on in memory forever. Gourmet food, service fit for royalty, unique cliff-side setting with torches and canopies....and tree frogs to seranade. Worth the price. Truly "lifestyles of the rich and famous".

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement