Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barbados Hotels

The Crane

Pros

  • Enchanting view
  • Lovely beach
  • Fabulous suites
  • Great restaurants

Cons

  • Remote location
  • Rental car recommended
  • Villas are considerably more expensive than historic rooms

Updated 02/27/2014

Fodor's Review

Hugging a seaside bluff on the southeast coast, The Crane incorporates the island's oldest hotel in continuous operation; the original coral-stone hotel building (1887) is the centerpiece of a luxurious, 40-acre villa complex. The property encompasses private residences, numerous pools, restaurants, bars, and even a little village. Historic hotel rooms and apartments are decorated with original antiques, and corner suites have walls of windows and wraparound patios or

balconies with panoramic views. The upscale private residences—in a half-dozen modern high-rise buildings—are spacious, individually owned condos with hardwood floors, hand-carved four-poster beds, multiple bathrooms with spa showers, fully equipped kitchens, and private plunge pools; some have rooftop terraces. The Crane's huge pool complex closer to the villas includes a spa pool, built in a cliff-top ruin with a 360-degree view, and a half-dozen connecting pools and other water features. Reef-protected Crane Beach is 98 steps (or a glass-walled elevator ride) down the cliff. You'll need to rent a car if you expect to spend much time away from the resort grounds. The minimum stay is seven nights in high season, three nights during the rest of the year.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Crane Bay, St. Philip, Barbados

Phone:

246-423–6220

Website: www.thecrane.com

Hotel Details:

  • 4 rooms, 14 suites, 202 villas
  • No meals; Breakfast; Some meals

Updated 02/27/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Barbados

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2012

The Crane Review

We had heard much about the beach; instead of descending 100 steps from the public road we decided to have drinks at their restaurant and enjoy the beach view from above. But my husband and I had the most horrid experience here on the 9th of August this year. We decided to relax with drinks and snacks and enjoy the view of the beach below from their L'azure restaurant. Unfortunately for us there was a photoshoot of a local Barbados tourism mascot

taking place on the 'public beach' below. Imagine to our shock and surprise when we were accosted by a surly security manager for taking pictures of the scene, while patronizing their restaurant. They had to send a security manager to treat our personal photography of a public beach like a criminal offence. He rudely demanded to know if we were house guests first and when we explained we were guests of the restaurant, he threatened us with dire consequences if we did not put our camera away as we were not permitted to use their 'vantage point ' for photography. After the substandard 'afternoon tea' and rum punches we had there, it was alarming that restaurant patrons who weren't house guests could be treated with such shabbiness and disrespect. For all matter of intent, the Crane beach is owned by the Crane resort and the security of the Crane, exercise full control over what the public can do on their beach. Also, the resort owns the 'atmospheric rights' to the beach. We have demanded an explanation from the general manager, Michael Phillips , who has not had the courtesy to apologize yet.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2011

The Crane Review

Worst place to stay in Barbados. Large rooms but horrible service. At over $300 a night stay at Hilton instead. Service is horrible, denied a 1hr extension on checkout when it was clearly empty, construction ongoing, and unfriendly attitudes at the front desk. The only good thing about this place is the beach.

By kjanes

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2010

The Crane Review

It is located on the Southeast part of the island, east of the airport, on Crane Beach. At first sight the beach, from above looking down, the view is truly picture perfect. The sand is a soft white baby powder, perhaps not that soft but as sand goes this is pretty smooth. The water is a beautiful teal blue. It's warm with waves making it a great place to boogie board and body surf. The hotel has an elevator that takes you down to the beach where

comfy chairs await your arrival. As for the amenities, cleanliness, type of hotel we were looking for this was probably the least expensive at $307 a night during high season. (Including the tax that you usually forget to figure in when booking a hotel in Barbados) The Employees are fantastic, friendly and helpful, especially Dwayne from the front desk! He was always making sure we were having an issue free stay. If you like to sit by a pool and look at the sea there are 4 pools to choice from. Whoever built this place knew exactly what they were doing. There’s a town square with a bar, shops and the location of the Italian restaurant. The restaurants were ok. There are 4 on property and we ate at 3. The Italian place at 7pm was out of the Marsala Sauce, which was all over the menu, and when the chef was asked to make Chicken Parm instead he said he couldn’t, yet it was on the lunch menu. The restaurant only had a few tables occupied. I was surprised ingredients couldn’t be found at the other restaurants since they are all run by the hotel. So we only had pizza here and it was ok. Zen, the Thai/Japanese restaurant has fantastic sushi. It over looks the water and is just beautiful. Make sure you have reservations!!! You can’t go wrong with the steak sandwich from Azure for lunch! There is nowhere to walk to off property, except maybe Cutters a good deli just outside the hotel’s main gate to the right. There is a market on property that sells pasta, rice and other food so you can cook in your room. If you have a car there is a supermarket about 10 minutes from the property, you would have passed in when driving in from the airport. I highly recommend getting a car if you are staying here!! There are great beaches and restaurants just minutes away.

Read More

By hch1492

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2010

The Crane Review

nightmare-our stay there was so bad I don't know where to begin. no a/c ,no phones,no internet,plunge pool was 1/3 full and not working,no elevator. on top of that we lost power for 24 hrs. I was denied a room change. Door locks broken,beach elevator broken,main pool closed. My kids and wife came home cover in bug bites. Seems like they just don't care whether or not they stay in business. It truly is a beautiful spot but save the money and go somewhere

else.

Read More

By eman202

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2010

The Crane Review

I stayed at the crane in September 2010. The resort was beautiful and many of the staff were quite attentive. However, shortly after arriving I wandered to the beach. We were harassed by someone dealing drugs - once we turned them down and asked them to leave us alone, I was threatened while he was carrying a knife. We reported it to the resort who told us that it was a public beach and they couldn't control who was on it. The called the police

for us and we made a statement - they arrested him, however he was back on the beach the next day. I of course couldn't use the beach the rest of the time - which really ruined the stay for me. I mean, I can have a pool anywhere. I approached the Crane afterward and they said again there was nothing they could do to ensure this person didn't use the beach - no security posted on the beach or anything, even though they have an elevator directly from the resort to the beach. I wouldn't go back. No one should go on vacation and be afraid of threats by a drug dealer at a high-dollar resort.

Read More

By kerryh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2010

The Crane Review

Horrible hotel -- would never stay again No air conditioning in the room despite a switch that is labelled air conditioning, rude or disinterested staff, no management around at all to listen to any issues, staff lie, not four diamond by any stretch of the imagination -- beat up rooms -- too bad as it's a gorgeous location and has a great beach -Just terrible all around

By kmw1211

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2009

Just don't!

From a letter sent to The Crane regarding our stay in 2008 To the Senior Staff at The Crane Resort Barbados Dear Sir or Madam, For years we have relied on "The Fodor Guide" to help us choose our vacation destinations. We planned our first visit to "The Crane Resort" using Fodors in July 2006. We had a great time, loved the resort and returned in July 2007, upgraded our room and again had a great time. For our July 2008 vacation we returned

to The Crane once again, upgraded our room again and left extremely disappointed. Here's Why: Accommodations: Beautiful Suite, privacy and view from our deck spectacular, spa did not work, not enough hot/warm water to fill the tub making it unusable for even a regular bath. The refrigerator and gas grille on the deck also did not work. As these issues could not be addressed to our satisfaction we requested a room change. Unfortunately we were told no other penthouse suites were available nor was a room in the "old Resort". We moved to a room in the same building (#5) one floor down. At first glance this appeared to be a nice option for us. But then our next and worst problem arose! Accommodations and Insects: Minutes after moving to this room we began finding insects. Large and small roaches, bugs in the kitchen cabinets, on the cookware, dinnerware, in drawers, on silverware, cups, glasses and serving utensils even in the zip lock bag containing the coffee filters! We had to wash each item we used from the kitchen before using them. The insect problem was reported immediately and often to the cleaning staff, reception staff, and maintenance staff and management just minutes after arriving in room 544A. We reported these same problems to all of the previously mentioned staff and upper management without response. For three days in a row! Our housekeeper provided a can of bug spray for our use but it did not alleviate the situation. Our concern of the possibility of insects getting into our luggage aside this was totally unacceptable. After the third day of complaints, (Lance) was sent to spray for us, he did a thorough job and was very apologetic, however this just brought out more bugs and roaches, including now finding them in our bedding! Meals: Before our arrival I arranged via E-mail to procure a discounted breakfast plan at $21.00 per day per person. This reduction was never applied to our breakfast bills even after many inquiries and the fact that we noted, "breakfast plan" on each bill as advised by the reservation and restaurant staff. For our first breakfast on Sunday we were (finally) afforded a table in the "function room" at L'Azure, however, we were advised to be finished with our meal by 10:00 am so as not to interfere with the Sunday "Gospel Show". This was at approximately 9:40 am but we managed to oblige this request, we were then presented with our breakfast bill of over $100.00. We did not attend the Gospel Show, and we left before 10 am as requested yet we were apparently still charged for the Gospel show. Accommodation and the Outcome: This was an entirely untenable situation and served to make our stay less than spectacular. None of our issues was resolved to our satisfaction. It seemed that none of the staff cared about our problems and could not or would not help correct the situation. We were not offered any type compensation for our discomfort, inconvenience or horror at being placed in an insect infested room. We asked to be moved to another room, and though we had moved to room 544A on the third day of our eight-day stay and could easily have moved again this request was refused. July is low season many rooms were available. No adjustments were made to our bill for the restaurant charges, for the breakfast rate we had arranged or the Gospel Show we had been charged for on Sunday. We left "The Crane" with a large bill and a very bad third impression of your establishment. On our previous visits we literally "gushed" with praise to friends, family and acquaintances of the wonderful accommodations and beauty of The Crane and it's gorgeous beach! Some have vacationed at The Crane based upon our recommendations. Customer Satisfaction: We were thoroughly unsatisfied and disappointed, your staff was very aware of this as we reported this many times during our stay. I have sent e-mails and letters from home as well without response. Update: I finally (through subterfuge) got to speak with management in May 2009, (Michael) assured me he would personally guarantee a most wonderful experience if we returned to The Crane once more. Great except that he would not be specific. Nothing of substance was offered, free breakfast? No. Room upgrade? No. Was any type of compensation offered at all? No. Roughly equivalent to someone saying “come over anytime”! If someone really wants you to "come over" they name a day and time!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2007

Highly recommend

Great hotel, make sure you ask for a sea view or pool room. Construction is on going but it doesnt ruin your stay. Rooms are lovely, huge and complete with kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer and balcony. 4 pools are in use and the beach is stunning. Yes the hotel is quiet and out of the way but taxis are available and its advisable to hire a car for a couple of days to explore the island and pop to the local supermarket. There is no shop

on site. All in all a fantastic hotel, very relaxed.Sit back relax with a rum cocktail and go with the flow

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2007

RipOff!!!

Staff is rude, service is bad, food is a ripoff, and the room is too hot. It's way too much money for 2 star hotel in my opinion.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2005

A good place to go if you want to get robbed

My husband and I had bought a time-share at The Crane. On our second night there, someone broke into our second-floor room (probably through the balcony) while we were asleep, and stole my pocketbook and my husband's wallet, containing all of our travel documents, tickets, cash, credit cards, etc. The hotel manager's response was to tell us to go out and enjoy the beach! No attempt was made to relocate us to a different, safer room or to reimburse

us for our losses. No attempt was made to address the fact that our lives had been put in danger. We left the following day, and never returned. The management of the Crane is completely irresponsible, and clearly doesn't care if people are harmed, as long as they sell their time-shares. Oh, and by the way, the service was awful. We waited for 45 minutes to get the waiter's attention for a bad continental breakfast, while the dining room manager fauned all over some visiting models who were on a photo shoot.

Read More

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2005

Amzing dream hotel

We have been twice to the crane the last time being Easter 2004 owning a 2 bedroom appartment with plunge pool it was amazing as was the previous. The contruction was not loud or intrusive, in fact we wouldn't even notice it if there wasn't for the odd workman walking around. The rooms and views were spectacular, friendly and helpful staff. This location is for those who want a peaceful holiday, although the Gap is a mere 20 minute cab ride. I highly

recommend this holiday!

Read More

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2005

Overrated

The rooms and the people are nice, but service was truly abominable on all fronts. Construction during weekdays is intolerable - we had constant jackhammers. One day the water supply ran out to the entire hotel unexpectedly for most of the day. No explanations and no apologies. I can't believe their rates are so high. I usually don't put in reviews like this, but felt this is one case where people should be warned.

By Irene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2003

Beautiful Beach, but Noisier Than NYC

I am here at The Crane Christmas 2003. The location is absolutely to die for, one of the top ten most gorgeous beaches in the world, this is true. The breeze is sumptuous. Nothing wrong with this location. However, the hotel is poorly run. Construction noise everyday and will be for at least the coming year. Gorgeous, breezy rooms are ruined by daily sandblasting noise (unless you are on oceanside). Sandblasting by the pool as well. Bulldozing

the street directly in front..Yes, you can have it all...just like NYC, though noisier than my neighborhood. You pay at least $500/day for this ambience. Don't believe "newly renovated" in ads...the work will not be done for at least a year. $60(US) Prix fixe dinner was like something I could have got at a Thai place in NY for less than $20. Though I am spoiled by NY chefs, they should not charge so much for such dry, droll food. While people are wonderfully nice, service is very slow...ok if you're on vacation, but not when what you need is a fork to eat with. Most times you have to get it yourself. Present manager is trying to improve these my complaints, so wait until next year, or at least make sure the construction is over with before you come...unless you will be away or at beach from 8am to 8pm.

Read More

By Louise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2003

Give it a skip

The Crane is busy claiming that they are a high-end hotel, but they fall well short of that goal. The hotel has only one restaurant and the food was lousy. Met several people that left because of the service (no shampoo in room).

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2002

Wild Bill Hickock Knew His Hotels

The Crane Beach Hotel, established in 1888, combines elegance from the past with modern day conveniences. This is our 6th. time to stay here and we love it, without reservation. The staff at the hotel are wonderful and each year we come back we are welcomed like family. The view from the cliffs of the Crane is breathtaking. The white sand shot with pink is beautiful and the waves never disappoint. I would highly recommend this wonderful resort!

By Alice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2002

New accomodations blend perfectly with old world charm

The Crane is in the process of building elegent and luxurious apartments (studios, 1,2,3 bedrooms). Most have their own pools with breathtaking views of the Atlantic. From the traditional mahogany furniture to the well appointed kitchens to the jacuzzi tubs, every detail has been considered.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement