New Providence and Paradise Islands Sights


Parliament Square

Parliament Square Review

Nassau is the seat of the national government. The Bahamian Parliament comprises two houses—a 16-member Senate (Upper House) and a 38-member House of Assembly (Lower House)—and a ministerial cabinet headed by a prime minister. If the House is in session, sit in to watch lawmakers debate. Parliament Square's pink, colonnaded government buildings were constructed in the late 1700s and early 1800s by Loyalists who came to the Bahamas from North Carolina. The square is dominated by a statue of a slim young Queen Victoria that was erected on her birthday, May 24, in 1905. In the immediate area are a handful of magistrates' courts. Behind the House of Assembly is the Supreme Court. Its four-times-a-year opening ceremonies (held the first weeks of January, April, July, and October) recall the wigs and mace-bearing pageantry of the Houses of Parliament in London. The Royal Bahamas Police Force Band is usually on hand for the event.

    Contact Information

  • Address: Bay St., Nassau, New Providence Island | Map It
  • Phone: 242/322–2041
  • Cost: Free
  • Hours: Weekdays 10–4
  • Location: Nassau
Updated: 07-12-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Be the first to review this property


· Map of Parliament Square

Map of

News & Features
Travel Deals