Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Providence and Paradise Islands Hotels

Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort & Spa

Pros

  • No children
  • Lovely setting
  • Private offshore cay

Cons

  • No children
  • Need car or taxi to go into town
  • Convention center popular for local functions

Updated 07/12/2013

Fodor's Review

Cable Beach's most expensive spot has elegantly furnished rooms with views of the ocean, pool, or grounds replete with pillars and faux-Roman statuary as well as personal butler service for the ultimate indulgence. If the 15 acres aren't enough for you, catch the hourly ferry over to Sandals Island to really get away from it all. There's a state-of-the-art fitness club, and a multilingual concierge service that assists foreign guests. Ten restaurants offer cuisines ranging

from Caribbean to Japanese (make reservations well in advance), and nightly entertainment takes place in the resort's amphitheater.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

W. Bay St., Cable Beach, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Phone:

242-327–6400; 800-726–3257

Website: www.sandals.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 404 rooms
  • All-inclusive

Updated 07/12/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By annc999

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

FABULOUS

The water is gorgeous, the people are amazingly hospitable, the staff attended to our every need, and there were plenty of sports and activities day and night. The grounds were kept up beautifully, and the relaxation factor was a 10. HIGHLY recommend this place for couples. VERY romantic.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2011

Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort & Spa Review

Don't Even Bother going for Butler Service it's a rip off... My GF and I Booked the vacation at the Royal Bahamian using the Suite and the Private Butler Service, On the paper it look wonderful ! Private Transportation from the Airport to the hotel, Private Butler to bring your drink on the beach and reserve your chair... Suite with we can order food from anywhere... Sound Great!! Let me tell you what happened... First we got to the Sandals

Desk at the airport, they seem to have No Knowledge that we had to get private transportation, we had to wait for an hour to get the private transportation... Once we got to the Hotel , Again they seem to have no knowledge we had a reservation! So it took a nice 2 hours before we could get our room... Then To make it short "Their Private Butler Service" Consist of giving you a cell phone and you have to ring your butler ... Funny part about it, they are never available so you have to leave a message and they call you back usually 45-1hr later... So Better Think Ahead if you where thinking about getting a drink on the beach! So basically we haven't seen the butler for the entire trip... So we ended up paying a 1000$ extra a person to basically get restaurant reservation! And I Recommand to write them a review on their website! You might gonna end up with a free 2 days trip! Spend an other 5k$ to see that their supposedly improve themself and get a free 2 Days!!! (That's with talking with a manager ! If you speak with a customer service rep you probably end up with a continental breakfast for free next time you travel there....) Very disppointed of the whole Sandals... On the other side All personnel where quite nice!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2006

disappointed22

I did an informal survey after speaking to several couples about their satisfaction. There was such a discrepency of those who either loved it, or were very unsatisfied. I found that those who were staying in the Villas or Windsor section were pleased, but those who were in the larger Manor section were very upset. We were first placed in the Manor. It was supposed to be ocean front with balcony, but it was a mold ridden room, without balcony and

only ocean view. It had holes in the walls, the lock was held with a pair of vicegrips and all the liqure bottles at the room bar were open. I called the front desk and they laughed and said "they are refilled after each guest departs, sometimes with different brands." Who knows what are in those bottles. We complained about the room and they moved us to another that had worse mold, severe mold around the air vents and bathroom. They then moved us into the Windsor,very nice. We went down to the beach. Thought lets sign up for water skiing. The man laughed at us and said "we haven't had water skiing in years." The scubba diving was only at a rediculous price. We went back to our room to call home. The phone did not work! I suggested that my wife open a bottle of wine (since that was the only bottle in the room not already open). Guess what, the plastic bottle opener broke. (sounds like a comedy show)? Later that night we decided to go to the luau. All they had was chunks of pork and dry chicken to go on buns,no fruit,no tropical drinks,nothing. I have never seen so many angry people. Also, don't schedule the "candle light dinner", unless you want to sit in plastic chairs on an old pier. I could go on and on. We scheduled 7 days but could not take anymore and left after 3 days. P.S. We are well traveled and have stayed in a wide range of accomidations and HAVE NEVER COMPLAINED BEFORE!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2006

Not Sandals Best Resort

The property was beautiful. Upon our arrival our room stunk. We had an ocean view, but it was partial ocean and partial of the hotel next door (complete with bumping car stereos). Our room was missing robes and our concierge was rude about restocking anything. Although the guy who restocked the mini bar was excellent, he remembered that we like water room temperature and always left some out of the fridge for us. Not all hot tubs were heated,

only one or two pools were heated. The staff was either really rude or really friendly. The food wasn't great. We booked resturant reservations when we got in, but couldn't get anything but 6 PM or 9 PM. What the neglect to tell you on their website is that only a few resturants are open at one time so eating becomes an ordeal. We did get Padi certified while we were there, and our dive master was top notch. I was a cautious diver, and he worked very well with both of us. We were in Ocho Rios at Sandals 3 years ago, and it was amazing, so needless to say, we were disappointed.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2005

Lost the Romance

We have stayed a total of 240+ nights at Sandals hotels in the Caribbean - 14 nights at this hotel October 2003. For the first 10 days it was heaven for the last 4 days it was hell - an american conference which took up 200 rooms. The atmosphere changed from idillyc to being in hell. Queues for restaurants and the hot tub was crowded and ultra noisy all the time. Prior to the conference it was wonderful. We stayed in the Royal Windsor Suite

which was beautifully furnished. The restaurants were good, the weather was good, the staff were good but not great (cant beat the Jamaicans for good service). Overall it was good and we will return some time in the near future. One thing which puts Sandals above most other hotel groups - the Signature Club for returning guests. One week free for every 70 nights spent at any sandals hotels on any island. Register and every night spent is added up until you accummulate 70 then a free 7 nights. We are just about to select our third free week. Needless to say we love Sandals and have had many many good vacations with them. One word of warning - the management of The St Lucian Grand do not even like returning guests let alone encourage them. In a letter to me he described returning guests as very very difficult to please and too critical. The sad thing is that it was the first time we had ever had to complain about anything at sandals and Butch Steward refused to even accept that we had had a problem. If it had been the first time we ever had visited Sandals - it would have been the last.

Read More

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 14, 2004

BEWARE OF A ROOM IN "THE MANOR"!

Room accomodation was TERRIBLE-VERY STARK-IN ROOM AMENITIES COMPARABLE TO BAYMONT INN-NOT EVEN A DIGITAL SAFE FOR VALUABLES CAPABLE OF SETTING A UNIQUE COMBINATION-RATHER A LOCK BOX AS "SECURE" AS A FITNESS CENTER LOCKER! We were in the older building which is known as "the manor" at the resort-do whatever you are able to insure that you do not book a room in this buidling! YOU WILL BE EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!!! The trip to Sandals was a "gift" to

my husband from a supplier, thus we did not feel it appropriate to be too demanding-thank goodness!! For the money we would have spent otherwise, I would have felt extremely dissappointed by the return!

Read More

By Roger

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2002

Great for Cheese Lovers

Deliciously cheezy.. loved the silly greco-roman theme, mishmash of styles (English pub next to Benihana-style restaurant), elevator music piped everywhere. Sorta like a glitzy Atlantic City hotel (Taj Mahal??). Not elegant but fun and very atmospheric. Staff were friendly, food was pretty good if you stick to local ingredients and simple preparations (Baccarat, the French restaurant, is just silly). Spend your beach time on the private island, the

one fronting the property is pathetic. Rooms are clean and attractive though basic (cheaper rooms are small and gloomy, splurge for the Concierge-level in the newer Windsor block). Spa was nice but treatment people (wax, mancure) were incompetent. Biggest complaint was that the buildings on the compound were too densely packed, which lessened the tropical paradise thing and made it feel more like Disneyland.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2002

Bigotry is Not Romantic

I strongly oppose Sandals' policy of excluding gay couples in all their resorts. No amount of atmosphere and service can make up for that.

By Regina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 22, 2001

Better in the bahamas - Even better at Sandals SRB

My husband and I went back to Sandals Royal Bahamian again.Its just keeps getting better every time we go.This time it was aniversary #26.We were there for 8 days,and everyone of those days were perfect.We got an unbelivable upgrade,and were treated like family.An off duty employee took us on a personal tour of the island.What a blast,especially the Bacardi plant.You drink for free there.WOWWWW.This was our third visit in 18 months and will go back

as soon as possible.Becoming a signature guest helps save lots of $$$$$$.Anybody who goes will definatly enjoy their stay.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2001

Loved it

The only bad thing I can say about this resort, was that the beach is small. We have been to other Sandals (St. Lucia and Antigua) and this place lives up to the Sandals reputation of quality and service. All the restaurants were super with a wide range of taste and selection. The watersports crew were very patient with instructions and were very happy to help. The grounds were kept clean and neat. The private island is especially nice and quiet.

It's nice to get away from all the activity. We will definitely return.

Read More

By Kelli

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2001

Honeymoon Haven

We went to Sandals RB for our honeymoon December 2000. We had the honeymoon concierge suite, and we were automatically upgraded to have a pool and ocean view for no extra charge. Liked all the activities, people were friendly, food was awesome. Drinks even better. Little on the spendy side ($6800 incl. airfare from MN) for 7 nights 8 days but worth it for the amount we would have spent in food and drinks elsewhere. Only trouble we had was with

one particular scuba instructor who did not take our safety into concern on a dive and resulted in a few visits to the nurse. So we can rate their nurse as being very nice and friendly too.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2000

Wonderful Getaway!

We were there last Feb and have been to a few Sandals resorts and we are Sandals people all the way. The Royal Bahamian was a beautiful resort great pools and relaxing hot tubs. The private Island was so nice to get away from the crowd. We liked it so much my daughter is getting married there in May 2001. I will definatly be visiting their again after we hit all the Sandals.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement