Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Providence and Paradise Islands Hotels

A Stone's Throw Away

Pros

  • Serene
  • Secluded public-beach access
  • Friendly staff

Cons

  • In flight path
  • Long distance from anything else
  • Hotel access up a steep staircase cut out of the limestone hill

Updated 07/12/2013

Fodor's Review

Featuring seaside comfort in fashionable surroundings, this "gourmet bed-and-breakfast" is a luxurious hideaway. The three-story colonial-style inn with wraparound verandas is perched on a limestone cliff overlooking the beach, 13 mi west of Nassau. The public rooms and guest rooms have the character of a century-old manor house with pickled-wood ceilings, pine plank floors, Oriental rugs, leather plantation chairs, mahogany antiques, and a dining room that serves breakfast,

lunch, and dinner. You can read on the porch, walk to the beach, or relax by a small pool and waterfall.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Tropical Garden Rd. and W. Bay St., Gambier, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Phone:

242-327–7030

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 8 rooms, 2 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 07/12/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2007

Better than we expected

The web site does not do this place justice.

By RC

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2006

Closed

WHY does Fodor's still list this hotel as it is now closed??

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2004

Fun and Frivolity in a Casual Atmosphere

Returned from 4 days at Compass Point in April -- just what we hoped for and needed. Service was always available but not intrusive, other guests were around but quiet and keeping to themselves....food was terrific, bar was fun in the evening...we were concerned that the change of management would change our experience - it did not. Even when we caused our own dramas (locking ourselves out of our outdoor toilet!) someone was quickly available to

come to our aid! Staff was readily available with food and beverage suggestions, even if it was for off-site establishments. Would highly recommend if you like cool, quiet, laid-back (ie. not big chain resorts).

Read More

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 11, 2004

WARNING-NEW MANAGEMENT

I stayed at Compass Point in Feb. 2004.The property is no longer managed by Chris Blackwell's Island Outpost chain and it shows.The cottages are in disrepair, e.g. broken screens, no smoke detectors and stuffed toilets. The place is now operating on a skeleton staff. There are no services such as watersports equipment,gift shop or pool attendants. The restaurant is out of most items. Worst of all, the place is no longer happening, but depressing.

The new management was unapologetic and argumentative.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2003

The Antithesis of Atlantis

Are you looking for a large full-service resort with several restaurants, a casino, air conditioning, organized activities, and really obnoxious and loud guests? In other words, would you like to stay at sort of a cruise ship on land? If so, head for Atlantis on Paradise Island and stay as far away as possible from Compass Point. Compass Point is a wonderful, small resort with friendly guests and staff. It is a place for people who just want to relax

by a pool or the beach, have some cocktails at sunset, and enjoy a great dinner on the premises. It is completely "untouristy" which is a rarity on New Providence Island. Most of the rooms are not air conditioned, so be careful about visiting Compass Point in the warmer months. However, they have a lot of charm. They are essentially large, colorful cabanas. My room had a great porch on the sea wall. One of my best memories of Compass Point is sitting on that porch in the afternoon, enjoying a local beer, and watching the waves roll in. I somewhat regret writing this review because I do not want too many people to know about this secret. Definitely consider visiting this wonderful resort.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2002

Stay Somewhere Else

After reading such glowing reviews my husband and I decided to try Compass Point - and were sorry we did. Firstly, while the room on stilts was cute at first, the mass of flies in our room every night were not. For the $350/night charged, I expected something a little better than a horrible bathroom in which 1 person could barely squeeze into, and a horrendous narrow shower. The room totally lacked any amenities. Secondly, there was no nearby

beach, with only a small pool to lay by. Thirdly, there was no service around the pool, and when I ordered a pina colada, I was told they could not make one because they had run out of mix! I have travelled all over the Caribbean for years, and I must say that the Bahamas was the ugliest and most crowded of any island I've ever visited. I would never return.

Read More

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2001

If you can't relax here you CAN'T relax anywhere!

We just returned from our 3rd consecutive vacation at Compass Point. Once you walk thru the entrance way after the stress of traveling, you are entranced by the beauty and serenity. Our party of 7 which included 3 adults, 2 teens and an 8 yr. old, just loves this place! While there are occasional glitches they are usually 'minor' and with the ocean view, melodic music and the great James to assist you with whatever you need, you forget what the glitch

was until your on the plane heading back to the rat race. My advice is go and STAY at the facility. Yes there are other places to eat and see, but NONE come close to what you will experience here. You can snorkel direct from shore to a beautiful reef about 100 yards out. The food is outstanding as is the bar, ably manned by Dwayne and company! We refer to this as the "Eden" of New Providence. So go and taste their 'forbidden' fruit, my guess is you will become captivated as we have.

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2001

Fauvist Dreamscape/Honeymoon Bliss

This is THE place. It was lovely. Gorgeous. Look at their web site. We had a secluded, romantic, dreamy honeymoon. The staff was delightful and helpful. Caution: Taxis into town are $26.00. Everything else is horribly expensive, too. But who cares (see my and other's reviews of their restaurant)!!! Take a 75 cent bus ride or just put out the cash and enjoy! Need stuff to do? Ask the staff. Want to just hang out and love the atmosphere? You're in the

right place. The room was on stilts, had a king size bed, and a clean bathroom. Our balcony was right on the ocean. The sound of the waves were better than any massage....The views delight the senses. I combed the web to find the best honeymoon site for us, and I know now that I found it.

Read More

By Josh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2000

Hot place to stay for the hip crowd

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The bunaglows are situated right on the beach and you can fall asleep listening to the waves. The outside is very colorful, but inside the rooms have a rustic feel, which is quite nice actually. Service was excellent and the food was very good. I certainly recommend staying here, but I also recommend having access to a car as the property is somewhat isolated. This is the kind of place where the staff

knows each guest by name and they were wonderful. The price to stay at Compass Point has climbed a bit, but it's still a good value.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement