Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Providence and Paradise Islands Hotels

Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort

  • $$$$
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Excellent ocean views and beach access
  • Newly renovated
  • Many activities, including beach volleyball and live music on the weekends

Cons

  • Will be undergoing major renovations as part of the Baha Mar complex
  • Walls somewhat thin

Updated 07/12/2013

Fodor's Review

Situated on 7 acres of prime beachfront property, the Sheraton has a modern, grown-up feel. But the hotel caters to kids, too, with three pools and a kids' center. Almost all of the expertly decorated rooms have a pool or beach view, and all include 32-inch flat-screen TVs. The hotel is connected by a shopping arcade to the Crystal Palace Casino, and you can use amenities at the Wyndham next door.

Hotel Information

Address:

W. Bay St., Cable Beach, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Phone:

242-327–6000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 694 rooms
  • All-inclusive; Some meals

Updated 07/12/2013

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By JC01

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2009

Beware of hidden charges

The rooms are pricey but nice and comfortable and up-to-date in decor. However the rate is topped up with various charges such as 'Bellman's' fee. You pay 15% gratuity on everything, even buying a cup of coffee at the coffee shop! Plus $30 flat fee for other services ( whatever they might be!) Make sure you look at the itemised bill before you leave to ask questions about items that you don't recognise. The rooms can be noisy as the corridors echo

the sound... so you will hear everyone closing and opening their doors! Not very nice when the hotel is full of Spring Breakers!

Read More

By marcus

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2006

Head the Fodor's ratings. Do NOT stay at this hotel

If you have a family, are enticed by the experience of a short flight and a good deal to some place sunny; and have some semblance of quality, don't stay at this rat hole. If you're out to party, don't need to sleep in the rooms, are open to digging in the beach sand and pulling-up a hand-full of half-smoken cigarettes and sharing a smoke with the pack of boozers at the beach bar, then this place is for you. And maybe you'll get lucky. My advice,

if you're out to have a relaxing vacation or want to party it up, this aint the place.

Read More

By Dianna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2006

I dont know where the last reviewer stayed

We just returned. We found the Radisson staff very accommodating and professional, they could not be more helpful. Our dining experiences varied, when we ate at later hours we enjoyed our meal more,than when the dining room was full of tired children. The presentation was excellent, down to the draping of my napkin across my lap. If the staff was treated with respect they were wonderful. I did see some visiters that were out right rude, and embarassing

to the USA. Our room was very clean. The only noise we heard was the waterfall and the breeze. I also do not have acrylic nails if that makes any differance....

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2005

They Ruined My Brother's Wedding - Don't Go!

We just got back from my brother's wedding at the Radisson, and everything was a disaster. With the exception of the beautiful beach, literally everything went horribly. What made everything so upsetting was that the management made no effort to fix the problems. The best man's room was overbooked, so he had to get another hotel, check-ins took over 45 minutes, tubs backed up, rooms had no working phone, there was practically no AC in many public

areas, despite the fact that we had dinner reservations for a group of 16 they made us sit at seperate tables (and this was a wedding!), they even bumped the wedding to another time, and I could go on and on... I read some of the negative reviews prior to our trip, and I figured they were written by people who are maybe a little difficult or the type that are generally rude to a hotel staff and complain about everything. Not being that type, we figured we'd be fine. We were totally wrong, there is no regard for guests here whether you are nice or not. If you have a stay booked here cancel it, I wish we had.

Read More

By annette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2005

big rip off

We just got back from a 5 night stay at the radisson. All i can say is spend a little more money and go to a better place.This place will rip you off whenever and however they can.No a.c. in the hallways, elevators and restaurants.Dirty silverware,sticky chairs,just horrible.The rooms were smelly and old.Could not walk barefoot on the carpets.The only thing it has going for it is the beach!!

By Davie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2004

Best beach in Nassau-Stay Here for relaxation

Despite some previous reviews, This is the place for relaxation on a beautiful beach.The staff is friendly and helpful. Even the few hawkers selling on the beach are pleasant.The good points of the Radisson are the beach, the pools spread out providing areas of privacy, both beach and pool are a located on the grounds. Free parking, watersports, lounge chairs and free fitness center. The Radisson does not nickel and dime you with hidden fees like

other Bahama hotels (no energy surcharge or maid and pool fees). Its not the Atlantis so dont come here if you are looking for the Disney crowd. Entertainment is provided by the pool and at night in the bar. The crystal palace is literally connected to the hotel. I recomend for the adventerous,dont take the "all inclusive" meal plan and to rent a car and enjoy many reasonable (for the Carribean) priced restaurants a short car ride away like Compass Point(Eclectic) and in Nassau Athena(Greek) and Bahmian Kitchen.You can also visit the ultimate tacky over crowded place in Paradise Island the Atlantis.On the bad side the rooms are of the old hotel type- large but not well decorated and a small bathroom. No refrigerator but you can rent one for $10 a day. This hotel is better for older children and teens, younger kids fit into the Atlantis scene better.

Read More

By Krista

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2004

Beautiful beach, pool area, but beware-need umbrella indoors if it rains!!

The rooms are somewhat old and in need of some updates. Had a room on the 9th floor with beautiful ocean/pools view. Bad thing was, we could hear the thumping of the band in the bar 9 floors down (every night). The all inclusive includes alcohol and there were some very drunk people and several fights breaking out. The buffet for breakfast was good. The staff was very friendly. The second day it rained very hard and the roof of the hotel (through

out the entire lobby area) leaked and they had towels and buckets everywhere. The shopping mall was more like a shopping hallway. We loved the pools and the ocean (water very calm for swimming). Not a bad resort but I know there is better. Don't go expecting too much.

Read More

By Patrice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2004

Don't Go!!!

This was the worst resort we have EVER been to! Our room overlooked a construction area (view of trash bins). Several friendly requests to be moved were rudely denied. Our son got food poioning from the buffet. Our other son was celebrating his birthday and we had pre-requested a birthday cake. Nope, they forgot! No attempt was made to rectify that. It's hard to explain that to a ten year old! All of the staff were RUDE! We are very friendly

mid westerners and will never go back to the Bahamas! The only good things were the beautiful pool and the fact that the home office refunded some of our all inclusive payment.

Read More

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2004

relaxing vacation

Rooms were old, but comfortable and clean. We were on the 4th floor, it was quiet until the second night when all we heard was the pounding beat of music from the lounge. Could not fall asleep till after 2:00 am. Food was very good, service great and plenty of libation. Beach and pool area is beautiful, only complaint were the vendors, very annoying and loud. Our stay was in May of 2003. Am planning on going back this May again, but will ask for

a renovated room, and higher up and away from the sound of the lounge. Complained to Radisson Headquarters and received an upgrade, will see what that means.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2003

Fun Vacation

Just returned on Aug 2 from a week at the Radisson Cable Beach. I thought the hotel was fairly nice. Everything was clean (not sure what the previous raters were talking about!). Food was pretty good. Beach was awesome! If beach quality is high on your priority list, then I highly recommend the Radisson---It blows away the Wyndham's beach We did not go all inclusive, and looking back on it, we made the right decision. We wanted to eat out and

go into town a couple times for meals so all inclusive just did not make sense. It was not any less convenient to do so. When ordering drinks or meals at the resort, you need to show your radisson card and sign for the food/drinks regardles of whether or not you are all inclusive. If you are not all inclusive, then it just becomes a room charge---still no need to carry cash around! The nightlife was not fantastic within the resort--you may want to venture out if you are looking to really party. Radisson was popular with families, so there were lots of kids. If this is an issue, then you may want stay elsewhere. Otherwise, I'm sure you would be happy overall with this choice. If we go to Nassau again, I would likely stay at the Radisson!

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2003

Blah

When I booked this hotel the rating was somewhere around 4.5. Figures. This place was so God awful that we packed up and left for Paradise Island (heaven) after the first night. Everything at this hotel was a hassle and the service staff, especially at the bars and grills, were terribly unorganized. Ladies, beware of the never ending come-ons and gazes from male staff.

By MarthaW

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2003

no smiles, Mon

We just returned from a 3-night stay with our sons. We have traveled extensively, world-wide, including 3 cruise stops in Nassau, and never felt so unwelcome. With the exception of the bar tenders at the Radisson,the entire staff acted as if they hated their jobs and hated us. Our smiling requests and friendly attempts at conversation were met with insolence and often no response at all. I was confused and dismayed that so many people could be

so unhappy with their jobs or angry with their guests. Perhaps it is the product of the mandatory tip that is always included, but the staff in the hotel shops and the casino were just as hateful. The beach and pools were beautiful, but the rooms and hallways were beaten up and waterstained.

Read More

By Debi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2003

The Worst Ever/ATLANTIS HERE WE COME

We booked an all inclusive stay here at the Radisson at the advice of a travel agent (later found out they get a nice cut from the hotel). I told her we've stayed at the Atlantis and several other "luxury" hotels around the world, and we wanted something similar (Atlantis "hotel" was booked). She raved about Radisson. I knew we were in trouble when we pulled up. Behind the front desk the walls were peeling and the staff was very unprofessional.

We had sent the hotel a fax the night before concerning special needs we had (claimed they never got it). The rooms were filthy and old. They upgraded us to the "presidential suite" where we found FILTHY toilets, rusty tubs, DIRTY/STAINED furniture, and carpet that shouldn't be walked on barefoot. We ate at the Forge that night, where the chairs were sticky (yuck) and the menu was very limited. (The other resturants were closed that night---no choice). The next morning my husband took a cab to the Atlantis and explained our situation. They booked us a condo for $200 (YES!!) less per night. OK so we weren't all-inclusive now, but with the extra $200 and a beautiful condo complete with kitchen we had a FABULOUS TIME at no additional expense. If you've traveled ANY WHERE, stayed at a decent hotel and eaten at decent resturants, you WILL BE disappointed.

Read More

By Kristi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2002

Spectacular Beach and Gardens for a Wedding

My family and I have just returned from vacationing at the Radisson Cable Beach for my sister's wedding (11/02). The wedding was splendid despite a few minor glitches with the wedding coordinator. At our insistence, our whole group went all inclusive and it totally paid off. The drinks and evening meals (LOVED Avacados & The Forge!) were delicious, although the breakfast and lunch buffets leave a bit to be desired. The beach is in mint condition

and the pool area and gardens are gorgeous. The pools should be heated at this time of year though as they were quite chilly. Average rooms, but the hotel staff were all very friendly. We did have quite a few rainy days during our stay, and the hotel really didn't have any fun indoor activities to keep us occupied besides the casino (our tours were cancelled because of the weather). All in all, we made the most of what Radisson had to offer.

Read More

By Missy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2002

Not Much To Rave About Here!

Don't expect a smile at check-in at this place. The buffet restaurant was also filled with people who seem to hate there job. We went with the all inclusive. Out of four full service restaurants we were only able to eat at two. One was closed because of the air conditioning and the other one which serves American food had been completely booked by other guests for our entire stay so if your going to stay here make your reservations before you arrive.

At the pool side restaurant they seemed to always be out of half the things on the menu. The rooms were okay if your not big on frills. We asked to be upgraded and was told there were no suites available. I called my Mom in Illinois and told her to call reservations to see if a suite was available. She was told there was(I didn't find this out until I returned home). I was lied to by the front desk. The beach is also crawling with peddlers. They became quite annoying after while. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is the beach. Wouldn't stay here again.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 7, 2002

Excellent Value

Just came home from four spendid days at the Raddison Cable Beach Resort. The rooms were OK could have used a fresh coat of paint but for the price you can't beat this place. Beautiful beach, great drinks and nice pool. Most people at the resort were return visitors and I will be back next year.

By Val

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2002

Good enough

I attended a conference at this hotel in May 2001. Very good conference facilities. Room was adequate - very large with a separate little dressing area off the bathroom. Nice bathroom by the way, with all the amenities. Only thing, some of the rooms are quite a trot from the elevator and I found myself having to hoof it a few times to get to some of the conference sessions on time. Very lively lobby - ate at the Italian restaurant - that was okay.

Drinks at the lobby bar okay too. I would probably stay there again if the occassion arises.

Read More

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2002

BIG BANG FOR YOUR DOLLAR!!!

My fiancee and I stayed at the Radisson the week of 8/26/02. I must say we were very happy with this hotel. The room was clean and all the amentities are at your fingertips. The veiw was beautiful overlooking the ocean. The value in the Radisson is the beach and it's impressive landscape. Waterfalls, Whirlpools, Pools, and Rock formations are abundant. The food was somewhat of a let down, especially Amici's an Italian cusine which should be

could an Italian ungots. Stick with Avocados and The Forge. The drinks are amazing they only use top shelf liquor( uhhh if I could have just one more Pina Colada). When it comes to the staff most are plesant but a few are just flat out mean like they're doing you a favor. Bye the way the golf course is in splendid shape. In it's hayday you could see the Radisson was the place and even today it's still the place. YOU MUST GET THE ALL-INCLUSIVE or you lose.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2002

BEWARE !! SHARK AT FRONT DESK !!!

we stayed at the radisson the week of 6/2/02.Everything was great after we dealt with the front desk about our room.We checked in at 12 noon on 6/2,the first room they sent us to still smelled of wet paint and the carpet was covered with paint.The manager at the front desk became very nasty when we requested a room change.She made myself and my wife feel less than welcome and said we were lucky to get a room at all.Our reservations were made 2 months

prior to 6/2.The 100 % satisfaction meant nothing to this front desk manager.She claimed to have taken the freshly painted room out of service and made it no longer availble to us,only for me to discover she gave the room to a couple on thier HoneyMoon.Ms.Cotington (not sure of name spelling)was the first and last SHARK I saw at the radisson. To be fair I must say everyother employee at the hotel was great.

Read More

By Heidi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2002

Wedding Jitters be Gone!

My husband and I were married here on May 6, 2000. Being a planner, I was very nervous regarding a "package wedding". Both our Mothers, and a couple of our friends came for the wedding. Everyone was extremely happy with the facilities, and the service and wait staff could not have been more accomodating. Our wedding was spectacular and we could not have been happier. Our friends who stayed at both the Marriott and Atlantis were jealous because

overall the Radisson was not only the best deal (including the delicious food), but was also the best place to stay. We will definitely be returning. My friends have already!

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2002

Hi-test haven, tour traps

Lousy checkin. Renovations include fire alarms hanging, cloged drains and doors that might lock. Best sand beach and over done drinks. Pool areas, hot tubs are well laid out for privacy. Food was good. Watch out for activities that may or may not go that night. Staff not well informed. NO first aid on premisies, not even bandages.

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2001

Great for vacation, wouldn't honeymoon there

My fiancee and I stayed at the Radisson in September 2000, where he proposed. It was a nice property and the service was great. We were upgraded to an oceanview room free of charge. It's not honeymoon worthy though, for that I would splurge on the Atlantis. If that's not a possibility the Radisson is the next nicest resort on the island.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2000

A good choice

I just returned from the Radisson. Although the outside of the hotel is a little faded, the property is beautiful. The hotel could not be more conveniently located: the Nassau Marriott-Crystal Palace casino is connected to the Radisson, and there are at least twelve restaurants/bars within walking distance (including the popular Cafe Johnny Canoe). The ocean view rooms offer stunning views of the beautifully landscaped resort area and lovely expanse

of beach. By comparison, the Nassau Marriott next door looks like a space station and Atlantis is completely overwhelming and overrun with outside visitors. The Radisson's service staff is immense and most did a fabulous job. Our room and bathroom were spotless. Some services, notably check-in and room service, were slow, but the hospitality and friendliness of everyone connected to the resort made it an extremely pleasant experience. Those who complain about the service don't understand that this relaxed and friendly attitude is the Bahamian way, and you will find it everywhere.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2000

Service with a Frown

Bad service taken to an almost comical level. I wondered how or why the staff even bothered to show up each day. The beach and water were beautiful, but I get the impression that the hotel would have messed this up if they could. No value for the dollar.

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2000

"Yes I Can!" vs."What do you want"

This resort promotes itself as having a "yes I can" approach to service. Well they are kidding themselves. It is more like, "what do you want". The rooms are filthy, our bathroom had roaches every day as wellas ants in the tub. There is no attention to service, and serious lack of security [a fight broke out between some locals in the bar]. The furniture in the lounges is not better that a colege dorm and is falling appart. The drinks at the

bar are weak at best. The pool bar has a great view but there are only 6 chairs available when it could probally seat 60. In my opinion go to Paradise Island.

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2000

The Line Forms Here

On any given day, the Manager's desk in the lobby has a steady stream of guests with complaints. The complaints cover the gambit. From poor restaurant service, lack of air conditioning, poor security, to mildew flavored rooms. The pool area is beautiful and makes for the great brochure pictures. The truth is in the staying, it was bearly bearable. The only difference between this resort hotel complex and Motel Six is this one has a beach. Best bet

is to stay at Beaches or the Marriott next door.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement