Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Providence and Paradise Islands Hotels

Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino

  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Casino on-site
  • Great pool and beach area

Cons

  • Sprawling layout means lots of walking
  • In the midst of Baha Mar renovation site

Updated 07/12/2013

Fodor's Review

Part of the Baha Mar project, this resort's large pool area includes a twisting waterslide, and the attached casino goes all night long. There's a fully equipped fitness center with stunning beach views for guests only. High rollers can opt to stay in the Casino Tower with 30 high-end executive suites.

Hotel Information

Address:

W. Bay St., Cable Beach, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Phone:

242-327–6200; 800-222–7466

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 559 rooms and suites

Updated 07/12/2013

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2010

Wyndham Nassau Resort & Crystal Palace Casino Review

Old and worn down. Bad service. Constant attempts to sell time shares. Food was not good and over priced.-see letter to mngt below- Dear Sir or Madam: My wife and I recently stayed at the Wyndham Nassau from 2/11-10 thru 2/16-10. I felt it necessary to make your quality control personnel aware of several issues. First, we were told when we booked the reservation that the rate we were quoted included all fees but not taxes. However, upon

arrival we learned that there was a 17$ pp, per night resort fee added on. This was not addressed on the phone call during which the reservation was placed. Also, the front desk representative did not seem to understand the rate we had been given through the phone reservation system. We had been given a four night with fifth night free rate, yet she insisted upon printing off a full schedule of the charges including us paying the fifth night and wanting me to sign it. Of course I refused to do so and eventually a manager was brought over who scratched out the fifth night by hand so I would sign it. The second issue has to do with the relentless and incessant attempts at selling us a time share. There were multiple people standing outside a sales conference room located directly across from the deli and near the door to exit to the pool area for the duration of our stay. It seemed they were there all day and night, and there was loud music coming from in the room with multiple people coming in and out and milling around like used car salesmen. Each time anyone attempted to enter the deli or outside pool area they would be propositioned by these people to come to a free lunch or breakfast. They would say things like "Don’t pay $40 for the buffet that is stupid. Come eat free. No obligation". This was not subtle in any way. These sales people would bark out across the hallway from some distance away to stop people and get their attention. Obviously this is tacky, unprofessional, and completely inappropriate for a resort hotel where guests have already paid a handsome fee to be there and should be able to relax without being constantly propositioned on multiple occasions by what amounted to pan handlers who admittedly begged for business. They even pleaded with us stating "We get paid by commission and we NEED you to take the tour so that we can make a living." Additionally, there was a serious lack of service, efficiency, and quality on the part of the staff and management of the deli/restaurant known as Earl's Deli. To begin it was the only restaurant in the Wyndham without having to go to the buffet, casino, or Sheraton. As a result you are forced to eat here or leave that area of the complex. Almost every experience we had there was negative. Usually there would be 4-5 people in line and would literally take 20 minutes just to order. On two occasions I sat for 15 -20 minutes waiting for my sandwich to come up just to discover they had forgotten to make it. Then on one of those occasions the sandwich came out and it was not what I ordered. All this while charging $12-16 for a simple sandwich AND adding an automatic gratuity of 15 percent, no matter how small the order. In other words, you tip whether they earned it or not. That is not a gratuity. That is a service fee. Listing it as gratuity on the receipt is tacky and insulting. It is also not conducive to good service since there is no incentive. This on top of the ridiculously high price. It is infuriating to me to pay a $6 tip for a meal that took 45 minutes to make and was wrong when it came up. By the way, they don't come to your table and take your order or bring the food to your table. You stand in line and order and they set the food up on the front counter, and you must watch carefully for the food and go get it yourself. It is a takeout counter similar to any fast food restaurant one would enter, and therefore does not warrant gratuity. There is also the hotel's smoke friendly policy. There were people smoking everywhere. The deli was not off limits. People smoked in the deli as well as the lobby. Walking into a smoke filled lobby was my first impression, which, need I say was not a good one. I did see where the adjoining Sheraton was smoke free. I suggest the Wyndham follow their lead. The Wyndham Nassau is in need of a serious renovation. The lobby is tired and worn down. The furniture is old, dirty and out of style. The rooftop of the hotel is broken up and visible from the upper floor windows. It literally looks like there is hurricane damage that was never fixed. There is a large amount of trash on the roof as well. Beer bottles, empty buckets, garbage bags, mops, and various other junk just sitting on the roof top for all to see. The price of this hotel does not reflect in any way the poor quality of appearance, service and location. In this economy, with all the competition that your hotel faces people have a choice. My wife and I will choose never to stay here again. We also plan on posting this email to trip advisor, Frommer's, Foder's, and Bahamas.com. Thanks for your attention to this matter.

Read More

By ase1078

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2007

a perfectly inhabitable hotel

My fiance and I just returned from a long weekend here. While the decorating choices were clearly made about 25 years ago and haven't stood the test of time, our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, and the best deal we could find. The staff was also perfectly friendly. We spent most of our time on the beach or by the pool. What's especially nice about the hotel is that it is part of the Cable Beach Resort, with the neighboring Radisson and

Nassau Beach hotels, so guests of any of the hotels can use all of the facilities. The casino was hopping both nights we stopped in. Moso, their new Asian fusion restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was pretty good. You'll need a reservation for Sole Mare. We tried to go to the Angus Grille, but they were closed that night (Sunday). Even with the spring break frat kids out in full force, we managed to enjoy a quiet, relaxing, sun-drenched weekend.

Read More

By Marilyn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2005

Over Rated

Resort is a misnomer..... This is a tired looking hotel with indifferent staffing. I had to prove to the front desk that I had booked an oceanview room (good thing I had my printout) as I was assigned room after room before I received a room with the oceanfront view. The front desk staff was passive aggressive by refusing to show me a resort map but instead sent me running around from assigned room to room to get the oceanfront room (4th room was

acceptable). Poor maintenance resulting in a room where the shower diverter was inoperable, the lanai door required super human strength to open and paint spatters (from previous painting) were everywhere and furnishings were badly beatup. Requests to fix/repair the shower and lanai door problems were ignored. Room service was horribly slow and the quality was awful. The resort itself is lacking in activities. After dark, the only entertainment is the casino which has limited table games except on the weekends. As I dislike buffets, the only times I ate in the hotel were morning room service and the Black Angus Grill. The first visit to the Black Angus was superb, the second (and last) was horrific. The overall staff indifference became obvious anytime there was a problem. I believe that the automatically included 15% service gratuity fosters this attitude. The couple of exceptions to this were the bellhop who assisted us the first night of checkin and the daily maid service in our final room for which we tipped well. All in all, the property would rate a 1 and 1/2 star to 2 star rating at best. I would not recommend this hotel as a resort but only as a place to sleep. It was a long disappointing seven night stay for us. If you do go anyway, my tip would be to insist on a room in the "F" tower, from the fourth floor up, sequence would be F*08-11 (we stayed on the fourth floor in F411) for the view.

Read More

By Tiffany

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2005

Stay far away from this hotel!

Unless you prefer rude service, smelly rooms, wacky hidden charges, and over-the-top prices for food. We just returned from a three night stay and I could not wait to leave. The majority of the staff was rude, with a "could care less" attitude. We were charged $150 over the quoted nightly rate (They did reverse the charges but left us waiting at the front desk for 25 minutes while they tried to sort it out). Our non-smoking room smelled like a

nightclub and there were ciggarette burns on the bedspread and carpet. Our mini-bar contained nothing but a fruit cup left over from the room's previous guests. Hidden charges everywhere - including a daily charge for using the in-room safe (!?!). Be sure to hand on to your "towel cards" because if you don't personally hand them to the front desk, you are charged $25 per card. The food is medicore at best and definately not worth the cost; however, there is a little bar/cafe at the Nassau Beach Hotel next door that is pretty good. The casino is nothing special (I would recommend taking a cab to the Atlantis Casino). I was throughly dissapointed in our stay there and the lack of empathy when our concerns were brought to management. I suppose the majority of their business comes from Spring Breakers or newlyweds who don't know any better. We will not be back!

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2004

Beach-Bummed

My wife and I checked into the Wyndham on Apr. 24. We experienced wonderful service while going to our room. The hotel looked great. BUT, when we went to the "beach" we were greatly "let down". We were expecting a nice sandy beach with plenty of lounge chairs, and maybe a few "huts". But, instead, we found the beach to be uninhabited with no lounge chairs, and the sand was very coarse with cracked seashells mixed in; we found it very uncomfortable

to walk on barefooted. Also, it was not a very long beach. SO, we decided to relax around the lagoon. First, it was difficult to find a lounge chair; and when we did we couldn't find any that were clean, and most were in need of repair. Second, the smell of seaweed around the lagoon was not the most pleasant of things to smell. Our lunch was mediocre, at best; and the drinks were VERY expensive. We have stayed at several Wyndham properties throughout the Caribbean and have always been more-than-satisfied; but, the beach here was enough for us to check out three hours after we checked in. We are people who "live" on the beach when we travel, so this was a real let-down for us. The hotel and room appeared to be just fine - just what we would expect from a Wyndham. And the service was very pleasant. When we checked out, though, the desk attendant did not ask us what we did'nt like, nor offer us an opportunity to speak to the manager. He just processed our check-out with a smile. We did eventually contact the hotel manager and explained our situation, and he was nice enough to deduct the one-night room charge from our bill. If you looking for a hotel with a great beach, this is not the place. But, if you want a nice hotel and don't care about the beach, this would probably be a nice place to stay.

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2004

"Cocktails, Drinks, How 'bout that lunch!"

If you've been here, you've heard that phrase ad infinitum--forget about relaxing on the beach! Every 5 minutes someone walks buy (shouting) to sell you something--coconuts, drinks, jet-ski rides... Other than that, I was pleasantly surprised after reading the reviews. They got me into my room at 11:00, and the room was very clean (tower J). Food is very expensive and unfortunately you can't be guaranteed a refrigerator (we got one on our third day).

As for value and cleanliness, I was very pleased. It was a nice first experience in the Bahamas, however, after I was able to explore the islands a bit, I would not book here again. Another piece of advice: unless you are a college student, stay away during Spring Break!

Read More

By Phil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2004

Better than expected...

Read the reviews and was wary. Good for the price, great location, beautiful beach & services. Wyndham is doing extensive renovations and they're paying off. Service good, not great. Had a great time.

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2004

Pleasantly Suprised!!!

After reading all of the negative reviews I was a bit worried about heading to Wyndham. Upon arriving we were given a primo room on the top floor of F tower with catherdral ceilings at no extra cost. The food was expensive, but so is everywhere else on the island. The Buffett is good, so is the little cafe in the casino. The pool is nice the beach not so nice. But you can walk 2 min and find some nicer beach access. The staff was friendly and

always helpful, the atmosphere is very relaxing and not as hectic as other hotels. Overall it was a very pleasant experience and for the price paid, would definitely go back any time. What a great trip! We stayed there from 01/05/04 - 01/11/04

Read More

By Diana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2004

Service outweighs the decor

We just returned from this hotel. Although they still need to work on the atmosphere in the rooms, the overall atmosphere was beautiful. The employees were very friendly and courteous, especially in the casino. Unlike the Atlantis (where we've stayed before), people were eager to help you and seemed happy to be be working there. If we go to the Bahamas again, we will stay here.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2003

Stay at your own risk

Despite having been upgraded to the "C" wing the room was in poor condition, the bathroom dirty and floors wet (tub leaked). Knowing you get what you pay for we overlooked all of this. Until the roaches came. The response by their Customer Relations Manager (Mr. Newton) was probably the worst customer experience I have ever experienced. We were coninually lied to and treated very shabbily. Harrassment by the time share people on a daily basis

wore thin. I was told not to stay there, disregarded the warning and paid the price. Dont stay there, you have been warned!

Read More

By Ryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2003

Making Improvements

When Marriott bought the hotel, it was totally run-down. It was in better shape when Wyndham acquired it, and they're improving on the investments that Marriott made. I stayed in May of 2002, and have friends that stayed in January of '02 and again in 2003. The complaints about musty odors in the rooms are correct; this is a problem all over the Island, not just at this hotel. The food was very good: Sole Mare is the best on Cable beach. Rooms

were clean, well maintained, and the grounds were well-kept. It's still not quite the 4-star resort that it tries to be, but it's getting better. Some of the earlier reviews may be outdated.

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2002

This Place is Terrible!

Do not waste your money at this place. We stayed in November 2001. The smell of must and mold in the rooms was overwhelming. In the common areas of the hotel, you are constantly harrassed by people trying to sell you time shares. We checked out after only a few nights to move to the Atlantis, which was much nicer and cleaner.

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2002

Red Roof Inn at Marriott Prices

Stayed at this property in April 2002. In short, do not expect much. The hotel appears as though it has not been maintained since it was originally built. I stayed utilizing Marriott Rewards points, sent my critique about the hotel to Marriott, and was entirely reimbursed for the points I used due to the poor service and condition of the hotel. I checked out of the hotel after two days and moved to the Atlantis.

By ww

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2002

An insult to the Marriot Name!!!

I chose this hotel because I trusted the Marriot name, but what an unpleasant surprise! The room was very plain, the bathroom was the most unbelievable part, it was so dark you can hardly see when inside the shower curtain. Why would anyone paint the bathroom a dark steely grey anyway??? It was really worse than drive by motels. And the prices for food is outrageous, but that is pretty much the way Bahamas earns tourist money. You feel like you

have to pay for the air your breathe! I would stay at an all inclusive if I ever go at all again, esp. on paradise island, even though the prices are higher it is totally worth it, your bill will add up way beyond that if you stay at a normal hotel and buy your own meals and enterntainment.

Read More

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2002

Better than expected!

After reading recent comments the day before we left for our trip, I was afraid to see what we were getting into! I'm glad to say that our experience at the hotel was very good. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet, and the mattress firm. The view from our balcony was beautiful, and the beach and pool area great. The manager even called to see if everything was satisfactory. My only complaints: there is an $8/day charge to use the fitness room (I erroneously

assumed it would be included with no charge); and after the airline had lost my luggage, the hotel did not call me to tell me it had arrived until the next morning--and I had already claimed it myself the preceeding night! As an aside, I found the local people to be very pleasant and helpful, though some of the saleshelp in the shops in the hotel area acted as if they could use a break. I would definitely go back.

Read More

By Lily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2002

Bahama Mama? Not

Upon arriving from a death defying drive from the airport where our "taxi" driver was more involved with answering his cell phone than looking where we were going to the food at Johnnie Canoe's my stay there ranged in the middle. The hotel upgraded us to a suite which was nice except for the moldy ceiling in the bathroom. Also, you had no desire to use the jacuzzi tub since it didn't seem like the bathroom was clean enough. Maid service was hit

or miss and they charge you 7.50 a day extra whether you tip or not. We arrived thank God the LAST day of Spring Break and I'm so glad we did otherwise we would of ended up miserable. The one night we did have to put up with them they threw up in a hallway and were up to 4 in the morning yelling to each other on the balconies. I think the casino is better than Atlantis' but they need to enforce the 21+ age. There were way too many underage kids running around in places where there should have been adult supervision. Where are the parents? The food was too expensive and the girls who work at Phil's in the casino would rather chat than serve you. I liked the beach area and the casino and most of the hotel staff was friendly. Next time we'll stay at Atlantis or maybe a timeshare, at least until they renovate and definitely not during Spring Break.

Read More

By cj

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2002

Let's see Bill Marriott spend a night in this "Palace"

After reading the previous posts ripping this hotel apart, I was apprehensive about my upcoming early April stay - and ugh, it's all true. This hotel has the tools to be great, most rooms do face the water and all have balconies, mini-fridges and in-room safes. The pool area contains a large pool with swim up bar & grill, a big waterslide encased in a faux rock formation, and an outdoor hot tub. Decent beachfront. A sizeable casino, Nassau's only

sports book. Two shopping arcades, four in-house restaurants. The Problems: The interior is worn, probably due to the MOBS of spring-breakers that invade the place from mid Feb-mid Apr. (the staff was quick about cleaning up puke in public areas though) The room upkeep is hit-or-miss too - I had a suite with a moldy bathroom ceiling. The hotel itself is a huge tubular purple and pink temple to tacky 80's architecture, and the Casino decor pushes it even farther into 70's disco territory. If you go during spring break, you can expect all-night noise, fire alarm pulls, and general non-stop aggravation. The 21+ rule for check-in and casino access is completely unenforced, and the drinking age is 18, so double trouble. Plus, the restaurants are overpriced and underinspired, and you get gauged with hidden charges for everything. Ugh. It's a shame, b/c this place has great potential. Forget this underachiever and pay the extra $ for the Atlantis.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2002

DON'T GO DURING SPRING BREAK!!!!!!!!

Gayle's comments (4/22/01) were right on!! I had the misfortune of going during spring break and stayed here because of the Marriot name. Big mistake!!! The bad things other people said are true. My room had a king bed that was totally without support. The box springs sagged and the mattress was so bad that one could feel the inner spring right thru the surface. When I called for a replacement, they brought up a better mattress, but it was so

soft that it sagged badly. I ended up sleeping on the floor rather than hurt my back further with such outrageous bedding. As for the spring breakers, yes, don't ever go during spring break! The college kids were totally out of control, hollering across the balconies at 5am, slutty teen girls flashing their breasts like it was Mardi Gras. The Marriott management should really be concerned about this unless they enjoy being known as a "ghetto" place. In fact, on my way home, I mentioned to the taxi driver that next time I come, I'm staying at Atlantis and he said, "yes, everyone says the Marriott is a very run down property." Even tho I spent $1700 for a one week package, I tried to check into the Atlantis for my last 3 nites but they were completely booked up. I visited the Atlantis during my stay in the Bahamas and you can't go wrong staying there. The extra cost is definitely worth it. Even tho there were many college kids there too, the Atlantis management does not tolerate such low class behavior as the Marriott does. I wish my first Bahamas experience had been Atlantis and not the trashy Marriott and its trashy frat crowd that it attracted.

Read More

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2002

Do Not Spend Your Time Or Money In This Dump!

We spent the worst 2 weeks at this old beat-up, musty, mosquito-ridden, stained dump. The cruddy balconies were stuck and the locks broken, the rooms had a musty stench, the linen on the beds were filthy, the rugs were horrendous with holes & severe stains, the entertainment center had their doors missing, the toilet had bugs crawling all around it, the vanity basin had roaches hanging about, the waitstaff at their restaurants were lazy and obnoxious,

and the front desk just moves you from one skanky room to another. All of this could be yours for $250. per night with an ocean view!

Read More

By Martha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2002

What a dump!

Marriott should be ashamed of this dump of a hotel. It has an overwhelming mildew smell as soon as you enter the lobby that follows you in the elevator and hallway right to your room. Our room was in the H tower, which other reviewers have described as being recently renovated. Our room seemed to have only new carpeting, but even that didn't help abate the musty smell. We were excited about using our Marriott points to stay there for free. But we

couldn't see ruining our precious vacation time by staying there at no cost. We immediately checked out and ended up at Atlantis to have a wonderful vacation.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2001

It's Best Hotel on Cable Beach

We just got back after staying a week at the Marriott Crystal Palace. We had an absolutely wonderful time. Our room had just been renovated (H tower) and had a incredible view. The staff was extremely friendly and we had no problems during our stay. Everything was also very convenient; the casino is downstairs and it's a $0.75 bus ride to downtown. If I had to change something, the beach space is a little small compared to the neighboring hotels,

and the restaurants are a little over-priced. We ate at neigboring places which were close and very reasonable (Cafe Johnny Canoe is amazing!). While you're there, go on the Blue Lagoon trip - well worth the price. Have a good time!

Read More

By Stacy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2001

Casino convenience, hotel ok

We actually got a good deal on this hotel through Skyauction.com. We paid $400 for 7 nights, so for that value, the hotel was pretty good. But for the regular rates, I would be extremely disappointed if I had paid what they ask for what we got. The room smelled mildewy, and needed renovated. The view was nice, (in H Tower). The pool was freezing cold (we went in October, and air temp was in the 90s). The lagoon was nice and having the casino there

was good as well. The food was outrageous, $1.00 per can of soda, $6.00 for a can of American beer and $5.00 for an 8oz mixed drink. Go downtown for drinks and stock up, eat at Cafe Johnny Canoe for a good value.

Read More

By Bo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2001

Run away...run away...

The worst Mariott in the world, stay at the Radisson next door.

By danny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2001

when are they going to remodel this place?

this hotel is need of an overhaul! the pool was too cold to swim in. the casino was o.k. they tried to charge us for using our mini refrig. in our room even though we never even opened the door to it. we loved nassau though and would love to return but would probably stay somewhere else. johnny canoes rest. next door was the best for food and entertainment!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement