Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Grand Bahama Island Hotels

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

  • Churchill Dr. and Doubloon Rd. Map It
  • Clubby Atmosphere

Pros

  • Family-friendly
  • Dining variety
  • Secluded beach

Cons

  • Sequestered feel
  • Rooms are small
  • Resort bustles

Updated 07/12/2013

Fodor's Review

Popular with couples, families, and spring breakers, this secluded resort provides a casual, all-inclusive getaway where one price covers meals, drinks, tips, nonmotorized water sports, and nightly entertainment. Meals are served buffet-style in the huge, gazebolike dining pavilion or table-side at guest-only Italian La Trattoria and Asian Bambu. Amenities include a 1,200-foot secluded beach with great snorkeling reefs right offshore, an on-site PADI-licensed full-service

dive shop, and various complimentary water activities including kayaking, snorkeling, and paddleboarding. Viva Circus affords an opportunity to experience trapeze flying; professional circus people perform and give interactive lessons. Kids under age 12 stay free with adults and can take advantage of the kids' club, family shows, and children's pool. At this writing, all guest rooms were undergoing a renovation that was expected to be completed in fall 2013.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Churchill Dr. and Doubloon Rd., Lucaya, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas

Map It

Phone:

242-373–4000; 800-996–3426-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 276 rooms
  • All-inclusive

Updated 07/12/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Grand Bahama Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2012

We got a good deal

This is an all inclusive with many wonderful amenities and beautiful grounds. It does have deferred maintenance, and the bathrooms need an upgrade. However, we got a week with air from Ft. Lauderdale for about $600 each, if I remember correctly, and we felt that it was a good deal. They have one of the most amazing beaches, and we found starfish and turtles, and had a lobster dinner up the way at a quaint beach shack. There are lots of millionaires

houses up and down the beach, and if the economy was better, there might be more shopping and nightlife. However, this is more of a quiet area, and probably people with kids would benefit the most, since there are so many activities geared for kids. The trapeze stuff is amazing, and it is great if you aren't expoecting the Ritz.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2006

worst vacation

I am not stuck up or nor do I have even high expectations. So the comments on others that enjoyed there stay here are not accurate. If you can have a good time at this resort more power to you. But you do get what you pay for but this was way below any low expectation I could have ever imagined booked a vacation via a timeshare transfer. I was over charged upon arrival. The rate was to be 560.00 balance via RCI. I was charged 840.00. ~~1st day.

The phone in my room rang randomly with no answer on the other end.Someone came to fix it but it kept going. Then I was simply told that someone was new at the front desk and kept ringing it by mistake. Our room was 1111. Then the bathtub was stopped up! No one ever fixed it. ~Bathroom was disgusting. Previous guests hair in my shower. Tiles peeling and molding, mold just painted over. ~The food was appalling. NO COFFEE! Sanka instant packets. Oh come on!!! I truly can forgive alot for a good cup of coffee. ~when I requested my bathroom be recleaned one of your room attendants came after the next cleaning. (Not cleaned any better) Ever heard of a bleach pen???, her attitude was below disrespect! ButI only smiled, thanked her for the extra towels as her co-worker asked her what is wrong with you?. ~The light fixture just outside our room was fixed; the sprinkler went on at 1:00 AM and hit the new fixture sounding like a freight train! I finally called the front desk and she informed me that they were on timers and could not be changed. .I am not a bargain vacationer; I make very good money and dont mind paying. I would sincerely rate the Wyndham Fortuna no better then a Junior High summer camp! We even met with another couple that had left and rebooked at the Sheraton as well with the same distain as we found. In comparison, our experience with the Sheraton was nothing short of wonderful. Again, I dont mind paying for great service, lodging, and all that should come with that.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2006

Been There Twice, Going Back For Our Wedding!

Before our first trip to Viva we did extensive reading online to try and make sense of the vastly different opinions posted on boards such as this. End the end, we had such a great time on our first trip, we went back to check it out with our wedding in mind and I'm happy to say we've decided to have it there! Agree with the other poster on here that people need to get a sense of reality when it comes to their expectations. Yes, the food is a buffet...

but most of it is decent. you won't like everything but there's enough variety you'll be able to find something decent. Plus they have 2 other sit down restaurants that offer nice meals all included and help break up the buffet monotony. The rooms are simple but nice. We've stayed a total of 8 nights or so and never had a dirty / bug / or any other problem. I thought the drinks were great. You won't find top shelf brands but my tastes are not that refined to care and when I'm sipping a cold beverage lounging in paradise it doesn't bother me! All in all folks, just recognize that you do get what you pay for. Personally I'd rather stay longer in paradise with included food and drink than be paying $10/beer at some fancy Westin bar. Besides... I paid to go to the island, and not to spend that time in my tricked out guest room.

Read More

By Viola

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2004

Worst Vacation Ever

I agree with the others that this resort is the worse. The rooms were dirty, infested with bugs and we had to hae it sprayed everyday that we were there. Our stay was supposed to be from 7/17-7/24, however, we moved to another hotel in Port Lucaya on 7/21. Our vacation was wonderful from that day forward. I have written to Wyndham because I cannot believe that they have associated themselves with this resort. The beach and the pool were fine,

but the location is terrible, the open air restaurant is irritating having to swat flies and sweat the whole time that you are eating, and the language barrier between most of the guests was quite annoying. I would never think of returning to this resort.

Read More

By edward

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2004

DECENT STAY FOR A DECENT PRICE...

A few friends and I just returned from a four night stay at VIVA FORTUNA and feel although things could have been better, we got what we paid for. First and foremost, the beach and surrounding area were beautiful!! The resort has it's own reef about 20 yards from the beach that was teaming with beautiful and interseting marine wildlife (we even saw dolphins). All of the snorkel equipment was included, so we could snorkel anytime. No booking a tour,

getting on a boat paying $30 etc etc...(you know the drill). The grounds were pleasant and the staff was actually quite nice. HOWEVER, please do not go to VIVA FORTUNA expecting a luxury resort or gourmet food. It is an aging camp-like resort with medium quality food and iffy-caliber of amenities. BUT!! Do go if you have a young family that wants a nice get-a-way or you're a young couple that cannot afford luxury.--If you want luxury, go to The Westin or Sheraton at OUR LUCAYA. They were beautiful and well kept, but be prepared to spend MUCH more $$ !

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 4, 2004

Worst Ever

Ditto what most of the other reviewers are saying. This is the worst hotel we've ever stayed at, thank God it was only for a weekend, but it was so awful we left early to fly stand by to go home. The food is worse than camp food - complete with mystery meat and lots of flies all over the buffet as well as limited in selection. The drinks were awful again with severe limations. Are all all-inclusives like this? The service was poor, the other "restaurant"

had mediocre food and it was almost impossible to get a reservation there. The beach towel policy was bizarre and the hotel was in a huge state of disrepair. There was very little to do there a well, the main entertainment was bonding with other guests in comparing how awful the hotel was. I am shocked that this is a Wyndham property. This was my first trip to the Bahamas and its a shame, bc the hotel was so awful, I'll probably never go to the Bahamas again. I wish I had consulted this site before I booked it (it was a Christmas surprise to my husband and was the worst vacation we've ever been on)

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2004

Camp Fortuna

This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed. From a sour keg of beer which was not replaced until it was emptied, to employees using the bathrooms and not washing their hands, this place was a pit. The rooms were awful, falling apart. My friend lasted one day in this dump, we were stuck there for 15 LONG nights. Never again!

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2003

bad service, run-down rooms,waste of time

I stayed at this resort, having been used to all-inclusives like sandals and breezes. The price was right, but the stay was horrible. The beach is absolutely beautiful. If you snorkel, this might the place to bite your lip and just enjoy. The rooms are run down. There is no ice machine, you must go to the bar which could be in some cases a long distance away. Th eopen air restaurant is infested with flies. I am not exagerating. It is absolutely infested.

The food is subpar, but who has an appetite afte shooing away flies for thirty minutes. The service is non-existent. No body cared to carry luggage to the room, and when the toilet over-flowed and another room was necessary, they still wouldn't carry my luggage. The staff did not fulfill a request for extra pillows. When complaints were made, it goes to the general manager who says, "sorry" we'll try harder next time. He knows it's his butt that is responsible, so good luck trying to reach the president or owner of company, they don't respond.

Read More

By Judith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2002

Our Time at Viva Fortuna was one to remember

My boyfriend and i just returned from a quick four day vacation at Viva Fortuna. We didnt want to come home I will tell you that much! We were a bit skeptical going as no one I mentioned it to had ever HEARD of the place, but upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised. Our time there was fabulous. We also spent a lot of time diving as I became certified finally and Nick at the Dive shop as well as all the others were just great. I couldnt have asked

for a better experience and I reccommend this resort to everyone!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement