Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Aruba Hotels

Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts

  • L.G. Smith Blvd. 55B Map It
  • Design
  • Fodor's Choice
  • Bucuti Beach Resort featuring Tara Suites & Spa, Aruba

    Front entrance

  • Bucuti Beach Resort featuring Tara Suites & Spa, Aruba

    Open air antelobby

  • Bucuti Beach Resort featuring Tara Suites & Spa, Aruba

    Pool Deck

  • Bucuti Beach Resort featuring Tara Suites & Spa, Aruba

    Lounge and Restaurant

  • Bucuti Beach Resort featuring Tara Suites & Spa, Aruba

    Romantic Dining on Beach

  • Bucuti Beach Resort featuring Tara Suites & Spa, Aruba

    Tara Suite

Pros

  • Great atmosphere
  • Impeccable service
  • Luxurious without insulating guests from island life
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
  • Free use of netbooks during stay
  • No kids means a bit more peace and quiet

Cons

  • Beach can get busy, because other hotels share it
  • Little to buy at hotel
  • No room service

Updated 03/04/2014

Fodor's Review

An extraordinary beach setting, impeccably understated service, and attention to detail help this elegant Green Globe resort easily outclass anything else on the island. Hacienda-style buildings are surrounded by ecologically sensitive landscaping that suits this desertlike island. Rooms are done in cool creams and feature walnut furnishings; everything feels distinctly modern and European. The Tara Suites have unbeatable beach and sunset vistas. This 'adults only' hotel

is very popular with return visitors, so book early, as it is usually sold out in high season.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

L.G. Smith Blvd. 55B, Eagle Beach, Aruba

Map It

Phone:

297-583–1100

Website: www.bucuti.com

Hotel Details:

  • 63 rooms, 38 suites, 3 bungalows
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/04/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Aruba

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Carolsn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2008

Absolutely Wonderful!

We stayed in the Tara wing first week in March and loved everything about this resort. The beach was excellent the view from our balcony was perfect (our room was perfect), the staff were all friendly and helpful. (feather pillows would be a nice addition, my only complaint...but who goes here to sleep?!)

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 12, 2007

Perfect little getaway

Bucuti is a flawlessly keep property on beautiful Eagle Beach The friendliest most polite staff I have encountered. My wife and I stayed at the Tara Suites though a bit small for a suite the room was beautifully decorated and we had a incredible view of the Eagle beach. Bucuit offers a great alternative to the high rise hotels and we defiantly will stay there again on our next visit to Aruba I would not recommend getting the meal plan. The Pirate

Nest is fair at best but with so many great restaurants on the island it does not matter. Just get the breakfast plan. They provide a very nice continental breakfast located in the Tara Suite.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2007

Low-key and Lovely

My husband and I recently spent a week at Bucuti for our one year anniversary and loved it. We stayed in the Tara Suites - the rooms were spacious, clean and very nice. We were steps from the beach. Staff is wonderful. We especially liked how much more quiet/lowkey Bucuti was compared to the big resorts on the strip which we visited some nights. Also like the no-children policy at Tara Suites - I do think this is a draw giventhe many other family

friendly resorts. I hope Bucuti sticks with "dscouraging" guests to bring their children.

Read More

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2006

Unforgettable!

My husband and I stayed at this first class resort for our honeymoon. None of the high rise hotels can compare to this one! Tara wing is a bit pricey but worth it. I'm already planning a trip back and can't wait!

By Jackie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2006

Wonderful Resort

Our review applies to the rooms in the Tara Wing. The beach is beautiful, the staff warm and friendly, it was everything we hoped for and more.

By Ryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 4, 2006

Taradise in the Tara Wing

Absolutely fantastic! Stayed in the a Penthouse Suite in the Tara Wing for our Honeymoon and it was amazing. The room was amazing and adorned with top-of-the-line everything from granite counters to a massive Kohler soaking tub as well as a big LCD TV in the living room and a huge balcony. The kitchen was fantastic (don't be afraid to by food at the market). The beach us second to none with your own private hut. The drinks and food at the bar and

restuarant on site are great (good prices too). You go here to relax so don't expect a lot of activities planned or staff all over you, not like in Mexico or Jamaica. You can't beat the prices either, under $400/nt for a Penthouse in the offseason.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2006

If you can't relax here, You can't relax anywhere.

Exceedingly friendly, clean, great food, best beach in town, doesn't cater to little kids, friendly lizzards and birds, easy transportation to everywhere, not over crowded. Why go anyplace else? We stayed there from 2/10/06 to 2/16/06 and will be back next year. The room rate is a bit pricey at about $350.00/night and up but if your going to Aruba bite he bullet and go for it.Food was reasonable except dinner ran about $10.00/person more than in

Chicago. I would avoid the food plan or renting a car. We used the Bus ($1.25) or cabs (flat rates no meters). Spent less than the cost of a rental.The wind always blows in Aruba. Wear a hat that won't blow away.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2006

Paradise at Bucuti

The Bucuti Beach Resort is as close to paradise as you'll find anywhere! We could not have been more impressed with the overall experience - everything was perfect. During the check-in process we were treated to comfortable chairs, champagne toasts and a clear preview of the commitment to Customer service so enthusiastically demonstrated by the Bucuti staff. The property was magnificent - right on Eagle Beach, arguably, the finest stretch

of sand on the island.beautiful. We stayed in the Tara Suites, well worth the money, wonderfully decorated with outstanding ocean views and clean as a whistle. We enjoyed really good service throughout our stay - it's clear the entire staff enjoys what they are doing - everyone we encountered, from the food/beverage staff to the people in the Spa made it their personal mission to make sure we were completely satisfied. Perhaps the best indicator of Bucuti's success was the number of repeat vacationers we spoke with during our stay - many had been there for several years in a row. This place is the real deal - we WILL be back.

Read More

By Ellie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2005

Bucuti is warm and comfortable -

We stayed at the Bucuti in Nov. 2004 and it was one of the best vacations we have had in the Carribean. We have stayed at the Renaissance and Marriott before and although they were both nice, we would stay at the Bucuti if we went back again. It is located on Eagle Beach which is a much nicer beach than Palm Beach. Larger beach and not nearly as crowded as Palm Beach (where all the highrise hotels are located). The staff is friendly and efficient.

We stayed in the old wing and although the rooms are large and clean, the Tara Wing is located closer to the water and the rooms look fabulous.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2005

Beautiful Beach

The beach at Bucuti is the best feature of the hotel. It is very wide and has palm trees planted in the beach. Although they did lose 3 palm trees by the ocean when we were there because they were planted to close to the water. We rode the waves on a bogey board. The current was comparable to Ocean City, MD. Dont come here for the pool or restaurant. The weather was great We stayed here for the week of Valentine's Day 05 in the older part

of the hotel. We were able to get a king size bed, but they cant guarantee it. The room was renovated, but the bathroom was not. Some of the fixtures looked old but clean. The only thing that bothered me was the lighting. The lighting was all florescent in keeping with their environment policy. The cool lights make you look green. They do make warm florescent bulbs, but Bucuti has not bought them.

Read More

By Will

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2004

Relax with simplicity

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in June 2004 at the Bucuti. We enjoyed every minute of it. True, the rooms aren't anything special, but for the price and the simplicity we wanted, it was a great deal. We encountered no surly personnel or loud noises and were impressed by the hospitality shown to us as honeymooners. Yes, reviews are correct that say the Pirate's Nest restaurant is not very good (go to the Calypso right next door for breakfast and

dinner - reasonable price and excellent food!). If you're trying to scrimp check out the Subway (which we did more than once) or Dunkin Donuts, both less than two blocks away. For a tour of the island - book with Gemini tours. The guide, Frank, is very personable and knowledgable. You'll see everything you want to, plus get a free t-shirt! At the natural bridge be sure to get a Mango smoothie. The weather is never as bad as the forecast indicates, but do be aware of the wind. And remember to say 'hi' to the iguanas - they're all over. CAVEAT: Before coming I had read in a number of reviews problems with overbooking, so (even though it was the off season) I made sure to tell the reservationist that we did not want to be moved or bumped - she said she would make note of that. I thought it unusual that she would have to specifically make note of that.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2004

Best Beach

The rooms were okay, restaurant had to be improved-the beach was the best. The staff was very nice, the grounds were beautiful, being waited on the beach with food and drinks was the best.

By Megan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2004

A Little Piece of Paradise...

We loved Aruba and Bucuti. We have vowed to come back many times, starting with next year.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2004

Larger Beach / Great Location

Just got back from Aruba-- one week at the Bucuti. You just can't beat the price and location. The resort is located between downtown and the high rise section. Cabs are relatively cheap and plentiful. We rented a car for one day only (to get out to Natural Bridge). We did a catamaran/snooba organized trip one day. The beach where we met the boat (up in the high rise area) was incredibly crowded-- lounge chairs nearly on top of one another. The water

was also congested and full of loud children. We were incredibly thankful for our Bucuti stay. The beach is wide, white and people had enough "privacy" when laying out. Overall, very relaxing. The Sand Bar off the beach is also quite nice. They do happy hour 2x a day when drinks are half off. They opened the new part of Bucuti while we were there--it's incredibly nice. They had a welcome party for guests and locals. I highly recommend the Bucuti.

Read More

By Benson

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2004

It's NOT Tara

Awful!. First of all, Tara is not finished, and from what I had heard while In Aruba - The reason for the delay is the hotel had hired Illegal workers to construct the site and Immigration busted them. Aside from that, Bucuti's rooms were fine, not good, not horrible, fine! We were moved from one room to another twice both times we were kept out of our rooms for 3 hours. We didn't even get as much as a free drink out of it. We complained to the

drill sargeant they have as a General Manager and she pretty much told us to shut up and deal. Not a friendly place, not a good time. Don't GO!

Read More

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 4, 2004

Service at the Bucuti Top Notch

The Bucuti Beach Resort is the most relaxing place on earth. We just returned from a 5 day stay. The staff took care of our every need but were never intrusive. A very gracious group of people who were always willing to advise on where to go and what to do to get the island experience. We can't wait to return.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 11, 2004

Bucuti is not for everyone - that's why it's great for us.

This is a place for people who are independent - even loners. If you are into group activities, there are the high-rise hotels, for family groups, there are the timeshares. But if you are looking for a place to chill out with nice employees, interesting guests, a good room and a great beach - this is it. There are two reasons to go to Bucuti. First the beach - perhaps the best in the world. Second the people, both the employees and your fellow

guests. The people on Aruba, and particularly at Bucuti, are genuinely friendly. The only place I can compare it to is Ireland. They are not servile, nor are they resentful. They are people doing their job and being happy while doing it. The guests there are interesting, too. There are many European guests. There are many, many repeat guest. When we were there as first timers, it seemed as thought 5o% of the guests were repeaters. That's a good recommendation. There was a nice mix of ages, too. Newlyweds to geezers. It is not a place for kids, though.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2004

Is there any other place to stay in Aruba?

The Bucuti is unbeatable, the staff is second to none! The rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated. The pool is nothing special but with the Bucuti's PERFECT beach who needs a fancy pool. The Pirates nest has great food at reasonable prices and their happy hour with a steel drum player is great! Location: Very quiet, the Bucuti discourages childern because of the lack of activities for them, This is great! It makes for a quiet relaxing vacation.

We go back year after year and will continue to do so. To the Bucuti Staff if they read this: Hi, we'll se you very soon!

Read More

By KeyGal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2003

Pros & cons (mostly pros)

PROS: A beach that dreams are made of. Gracious, professional, helpful, & friendly staff who go out of their way to accommodate you. Oriented to adults & couples -- atmosphere is quiet, private, mature, not boisterous, not snobby, international, with guests from all over the world. Internet kiosk for guests gratis. Coffeemakers & microwaves in rooms. VERY clean and environmentally conscious in many ways. Lovely garden area, and most rooms, even non-beachfront,

face something pretty. Feels like a very special place, possibly the best atmosphere on the island. CONS: Very small pool that's getting worn out, not great for either swimming or lazing. Very small, basic gym, also worn out. Rooms, including lighting, are ordinary, outdated, and not romantic, including the suites and bungalows. Bathrooms feel almost like a motel. Partly compensated by being spacious & very clean with nice tile floors. Hardly any king beds, though new suites being built will have them. Suggestion: For best service, book directly through the resort itself, or if using a tour, contact hotel yourself before arriving. They really go out of their way to please and want you to feel part of the "family."

Read More

By abbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2003

This years trip to Paradise!

We just returned from this years trip to Bucuti yesterday. It was even more wonderful than we remembered! It is like being able to stay in Heaven for a week!! We cannot say enough good things about not only the beauty of the Hotel and The Beach! But what really makes The Bucuti stand out above all others we feel, are the people. Everyone from The owners of the hotel to the Entire staff, including everyone, are the most wonderful, friendly, helpful

and professional people. When you stay at the Bucuti you are treated like a VIP by everyone. We have stayed at a lot of Hotels through the years and we have never stayed anywhere that we loved more than this Hotel! The Pirates Nest Restaurant on site and The Sand bar are also excellent! Roberto, who was our waiter for 3 nights that we had dinner there was so great and one of the sweetest people we met while we were in Aruba. And Lionel at the Sand Bar, we feel is one of Aruba's true treasures!! Our hope is to be able to return to Aruba and The Bucuti for many many more years to come! We love you Bucuti!!!!

Read More

By C

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2003

Best vacation spot in Aruba

Little bit about this hotel.....nice! We stayed for our honeymoon back in september of 2000 and this hotel was a great value. If you are looking for personalized service, and a clean room with large tiles on the floor, this is the place for you. The staff was very helpful and the activities desk was easy to make reservations at. The city of Oranjestad was easy to get to (we rented a Jeep Wrangler that week). One word of advice is to take a jeep

tour of the island. We went exploring by ourselves and that was fun but an organized tour would make sure you would hit all the main attractions in one shot. Overall, excellent vacation, beautiful weather, and as for the Bucuti, if I had to do it all over I would go back. The Bucuti is located on one of the widest beaches in Aruba. If you are looking for a great beach, this is the place. If you must have a great pool with your hotel, look somewhere else. Our most important feature we wanted was the beach and Bucuti's got it #1.

Read More

By shelly

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2003

better the 2nd,3rd,4th time around

We have been to Bucuti every year for the past 4 years.Obviously we love it. The staff have come to know us as we know most of the by first name. Whenever we think about staying someplace else we always come back to this resort. There is a very strong legion of repeat customers;the welcome basket at every return visit is appreciated after a long flight.

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2003

It's true -- for once you can believe what you read!

After an exhaustive search of islands/places to stay in the Carrib., we decided on Bucuti, based on great reviews here and elsewhere, which promised a quiet resort with a beautiful beach and wonderful service. I'm happy to report that's it all true. The resort is lovely, quiet, no kids running around. Geckos maybe, but no kids. The staff is amazingly friendly and sincere. Clearly, they love their jobs and enjoy giving good service. The beach is beyond

belief, it is so spacious, uncrowded and GORGEOUS. We checked out many other hotels while we were there, and were still delighted with our choice. The rooms are perfectly fine, nothing to rave about but no complaints either. Try to get a room facing in toward the courtyard if you can. Bottom line, if you want non-stop action and crowds, stay in the hi-rise area, but if you want to relax on the beach in peace and quiet with your sweetie, Bucuti is the place to be (you can always take a cab down to the hi-rise area if/when you feel like a little action and adventure).

Read More

By Jenni

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2003

Romance at it's best!

My husband and I retreated without the kiddos to Aruba for what we hoped would be a romantic get-away in celebration of our 10 year anniversary-was it ever a fantastic pick!!! This was a first time trip to Aruba and we just loved the island, but if you are looking for romance, there isn't any place to be but Bucuti! The whole hotel is just precious, however we were able to stay in one of their bungalows on the beach and it had it's own little deck

which was quite nice. The beach is amazing-very quiet and tranquil! I'm from Florida so I love the beach, but my husband is not quite as fond of it, so we were both thrilled to find that Bucuti had plenty of these really great huts for him to escape under while I continued to happily bask in the sun! The highlight of romance was the dinner on the beach that we shared at Bucuti's restaurant-we were able to take off our shoes, put our feet in the warm sand and share an unbelievable five course meal together! We loved this place-everything about it was wonderful from the people and the service to the accommodations and the food! Go for it-take that romantic get-away to Bucuti Beach!!!

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2002

Bucuti is the best...(ignore the score on the last one)

My wife and I stayed at Bucuti on our honeymoon in August, 2002. This place is perfect. If you have kids, go elsewhere, but if you want a romantic, quiet resort on a perfect beach, go here. We did visit the high-rise hotels, and if you thought about staying there, save your money and go to Florida. It's just about the same thing...crowded, small beaches, cheesy corporate atmosphere, etc. Bucuti is smaller (around 60 rooms), so the service is

awesome, and you can always find a spot on the beach. And, if you want a drink or lunch on the beach, just stick a flag in the sand and your waiter comes to you! The restaurant and bar are great too.

Read More

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2002

Nice Getaway But Too Quiet For Me

Stayed here for 4 days in 9/01. It's a nice-enough place, and probably the best in the low-rise area (Eagle Beach). If you want to get away from everything, it's probably the best place in Aruba. But why go to Aruba if you're not into the party atmosphere of the island? The restaurant and bar here are below average for the island and are quite pricey. I prefer any of the nicer Palm Beach hotels (Allegro, Radisson, Hyatt).

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2002

Clean, Quiet, Great Beach, Food so-so

We went to Bucuti on our honeymoon in Sept 2001, based on the recommendations right here. The comments on this thread are accurate. The rooms are nice, simple and quite clean. We had a second floor facing the water. Great view, especially sunsets on the balcony. The mostly European staff are courteous and helpful, although not gushingly so. The beach is quiet, deep and very uncrowded--just what we wanted. If you want to windsurf, you'll have to take

a bus or cab to the Marriott. Breakfast (and every other meal) at the hotel isn't anything great, and (sigh) actually we wound up sneaking over to the nearby Dunkin Donuts and the bagel stand for breakfast most mornings!!! Overall a very good value (even free internet in a little room off the lobby), and we liked being off the beaten path of the highrises or downtown (both of which were easy enough to get to via cab or bus). We were on our honeymoon on Sept 11, and the staff (and entire island!) were very gracious and caring to us Americans, making constant adjustments and with a lot of grace considering the emotional chaos unfolding among the U.S. citizens trapped there. Kudos for their care and professionalism.

Read More

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2002

Spectacular Property

I have seen almost every hotel in Aruba and this is a great property. The beach is the nicest stretch I saw on Aruba, the staff is the friendliest, the grounds are nice. This is the ultimate quiet hideaway. The bungalows are definately my choice.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2001

No better beach

a huge beach which is very clean and nearly deserted - the only problem is that the water is a long way from the hotel because of the wide expanse of sand. the rooms are rather ordinary but clean and well kept. good dining nearby at the Pirate's Nest or the steakhouse in the Best Western next door. no water sports close but if you are looking for a beautiful beach all to yourself this is hard to beat.

By Jessica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2001

Beach Bungalow is Honeymooner's Heaven

My husband and visited Bucuti in September 2000 for our 20th "honeymoon". We were absolutely enchanted. The beach truly is one of the most beautiful I've ever seen. We started each day with an early morning cup of coffee on the porch of our bungalow entertained by a couple of inqusitive and friendly iguanas. We learned quickly to always bring back bacon from the breakfast buffet for their treat. The bungalows were adorable and wonderfully private,

even though it was only steps to the beach and the Pirate's Nest restaurant. Can't wait to go back!

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2001

Bucuti Beach Resort excellent honeymoon destination

My husband and I honeymooned at Bucuti in November of 2000. It was wonderful! The rooms were nice, clean and roomy with a balcony to overlook the well-kept grounds. The iguanas, which were all over the property, seemed to know that they also had the best digs in Aruba. The beach and surf were way better than anything we saw at the high rise end. Not crowded and never had a problem getting a chair. Bucuti had an international flair that at least

made you feel like you left the country instead of feeling like you only went to Florida with the sameness of the big chain resorts at the high rise end. The concierge desk was very helpful and lined up our rental car, dinner reservations and snorkeling. The only thing that was a little lacking was the restaurant service ("caribbean time" I've heard it called). It was a little slow but we got over it by the second bloody mary. Not a place for kids, nothing really for them to do. Casino is right accross the parking lot. Wonderful, wonderful place, stay there if you want a change from your chain-hotel scene! Did I mention this was way cheaper than the big hotels too?

Read More

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2001

Best beach in Aruba

Bicuti is a quiet low rise without the flash and dash of "hotel row" on Aruba's Palm Beach. Bicuti sits on wide and uncrowded Eagle Beach. My wife and I stayed there in 1999 and may go gack this year.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2000

Bucuti is the Best!

We recently spent 11 days at the Bucuti and found the people and the accommodations wonderful. Their business center is a gift to their guests,and everyone was just lovely. The rooms are clean, and contain a coffee machine (free)and well-stocked refrigerator. The beach and grounds are very well kept. We are looking forward to going back again next year. We've been going to Aruba for 24 years, and the Bucuti really is outstanding for a low rise

hotel. Give it a shot!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement