Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Antigua and Barbuda Hotels

Blue Waters Hotel

  • Atlantic Ave. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Pomp without pretension
  • Exquisite setting
  • Huge savings on week-long packages

Cons

  • Small beachfront
  • Little steps along the hillside make it less accessible for the physically challenged
  • Difficult to obtain reservations at Bartley's at peak times

Updated 02/27/2014

Fodor's Review

A well-heeled Brit crowd goes barefoot at this swank yet understated seaside retreat. The lobby strikes an immediate note of class, with cast-iron columns, mosaic lamps, towering earthenware urns, fountains, and a central mini-jungle. The twin beaches are minuscule, but sundecks and gazebos strategically dot the lush hillside for optimum privacy. Rooms are continually refurbished, with flat-screen TVs and rain showers complementing appealingly old-fashioned vellum prints,

intricately carved furnishings, and classic Italian tile work. Rooms 104 to 116 lack direct beachfront access, but their sizable balconies practically jut over the water. Low-numbered units in the 200 through 600 blocks feature similarly splendid views. The elegant, enormous (850 square feet) Cove Suites and newer, even larger Cove Penthouses comprise an independent enclave on 5 lavishly landscaped acres with four infinity pools. The three Rock Cottage villas (butler and chef available) define seclusion. The executive chef lightened and brightened the menus, emphasizing healthful preparations at the waterfront Palm restaurant and comely, neocolonial Bartley's à la carte restaurant. A breakfast-only plan is available for those who don't want the all-inclusive (afternoon tea and nonmotorized water sports are complimentary).

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Boon Point, Atlantic Ave., Soldier's Bay, Antigua

Map It

Phone:

268-462–0290; 800-557–6536-reservations only

Hotel Details:

  • Closed Sept.
  • 67 rooms, 32 suites, 3 villas, 4 penthouses
  • All-inclusive; Breakfast

Updated 02/27/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Antigua and Barbuda

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 23, 2004

WE GAVE IN

We spent the first week of December at the Blue Waters and it was a marvelous stroke of luck that we found this gem of a resort. After several days of do the tourist things we gave in to the refined relaxation offered at Blue Waters through immaculate comfortable rooms, outstanding friendly service and good dining. Try Sheer restaurant at Cocobay Resort for a five star meal. We loved Antigua and Blue Waters and we hope to be back soon.

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2004

Unnecessary & Overcharging Property

Excessive overcharging for food and my wife & I were charged for items on our bill that were not purchased at the resort along with loss of A/C for the entire night with no compensation as promised by management. Brochure denotes one price for services and after services issued, additional charges were logged on your bill. Will not return & I will issue a bad report to every travel agent & internet web site that honors an honest report to BEWARE

of this type of fraud while out of the country.

Read More

By Darrell

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2004

Fantastic, Beautiful, Wonderful and Amazing

Blue Waters  Small, un-crowed, very sophisticated but at the same time extremely relaxing. Very much service orientated. From the Guest Services and Reception Desks to the Restaurant managers, waitress and waiters to the Pool and Pelican bartenders to the maids and the grounds keepers. Every single employee at Blue Waters deserves their own 5 star rating. The place is in every since of the word Marvelous. Just guessing, the overall nationality

ratio at Blue Waters would seem to be about 95 percent British or UK, 3 percent other and 2 percent American. All very congenial to each other exchanging pleasantries and such. Blue Waters is worlds apart in difference compared to places such Sandals and the much larger resorts that feed on the crowds and party types.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2002

No one is blue at Blue Waters !

We spent a wonderful week here in May 2001 & renewed our wedding vows. Everything was perfect , having been recently refurbished & the staff were friendly & helpful. The beach may not be huge but it was always clean & never crowded & you were not bothered by vendors. Recommend it to anyone & we have travelled extensively in the Caribbean.

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2002

Secluded Tropical Paradise

Stayed a week at this hotel in early May '02 and loved it. Blue Waters is a small, tranquil resort on the North Coast of Antigua, away from the bustle of other resorts with as close to a private beach as you'll get. Definately a British feel to the place, but by no means did we feel anything but welcome by the friendly staff and management. Advantages: Excellent food. Lush and beautifully-maintained grounds. Helpful staff. Private (if you're on the

second floor) balconies with great views of the Carribean Sea & sunsets. Very clean rooms with A/C and a few satellite TV channels. An ideal resort for couples, even though it's not advertised as such. Disadvantages: Smaller (though uncrowded) beaches and pools. The main deck area and most of the stairways on the property are made of smooth tile, and are very slippery when wet. Not a great place if you're bringing children, or looking for nightlife. We will definately return.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement