Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Antigua and Barbuda Hotels

St. James's Club

Pros

  • Splendid remote location
  • Beautiful beaches and landscaping
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas and Royal Suites
  • Plentiful activities
  • Additional adult pools offer more privacy

Cons

  • Remote location makes a car a necessity for non-all-inclusive guests
  • Tour groups can overrun the resort
  • Uneven food and service
  • Sprawling hilly layout not ideal for physically challenged

Updated 02/27/2014

Fodor's Review

Management has diligently smartened the public spaces and exquisite landscaping here, taking full advantage of the peerless location straddling 100 acres on Mamora Bay. Regularly refurbished rooms are commodious and vibrantly decorated (the Royal Suite, Premium, and Beachfront units are worth the extra cost, the former with iPod docking stations, DVD players, and elegantly enhanced bathrooms). Activities galore satisfy the most jaded travelers; in inclement weather you

can enjoy movies in the screening room, treatments at Spa Tranquility, and trivia contests or dance classes in the Jacaranda Lounge. Teens can party at their own beachside retreat. The newly renovated, self-catering two-bedroom villas cascading down the hillside can represent value for large families. Though the restaurants are spectacularly situated over the water, especially Coco's, the Docksider and Piccolo Mondo, food is variable. The sometimes harried staff and occasional invasion of younger, rowdy Brits on package deals further diminish deluxe pretensions, but this hotel remains a favorite with many travelers who return year after year.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Dockyard Dr., Mamora Bay, Antigua

Map It

Phone:

268-460–5000; 800-858–4618-Reservations only; 866-237–2071

Hotel Details:

  • 215 rooms, 72 villas (usually 40 in rental pool)
  • All-inclusive

Updated 02/27/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Antigua and Barbuda

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2008

Also, the beds

Room not ready upon arrive. After sweating an hour only complaining resulted in any action. The "upgraded" room: Blankets are thin itchy wool. Two tiny pillows (hardly "heavenly" like Westins have). Beds can "move" while sitting - not connected to the wall . Old wicker furniture, (renovated: newly painted walls). Food up to the "standards" of the British (e.g. crap). Lobby and restaurants are "open" air so if it's hot and humid, be

ready to sweat.

Read More

By Nikki

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2006

Loved My Stay!

I need to defend St. James's Club seeing the above comments. My husband and I stayed there in the villa's in April for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been more pleased. Our deck and patio overlooked the private beach and it was an amazing trip. We loved it and will go back every year for our anniversary!

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2006

Not Happy Guests ...

We stayed in a villa, which we were told was more luxurious ...it wasn't! Overall appearance was not at all well maintained, and we had a mouse staying with us the entire visit! Food was lousy in all restaurants. We did not enjoy our stay here and do not recommend!!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2003

A few too many tatoos on the guests

The location and facilities are good. we were unsure about the all-inclusive element, but food and drink standards were high, and staff were OK. Other guests had a large tatoo quota, which slightly spoilt the overall impression left by the hotel.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2003

Very Relaxing Vacation

I would definitely recommend the St. James' Club for a relaxing and laid back vacation! My boyfriend and I just returned from 6 days at the St. James' Club and I wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was a premium room with an ocean view, deck, a/c, hair dryer, huge bathroom, US cable tv, king size bed and great maid service. Both beaches were very nice. All of the pools were great. The breeze was very refreshing when lying out in 85-90

degree heat. We had absolutely no problem with the service. All staff was very polite and responsive. Even though we were on the all-inclusive plan, we tipped our servers and all were extremely appreciative. The food is decent, we definitely like Docksiders the best. We both had massages at the Sanctuary at Coco's and they were excellent. The tennis courts are in nice shape and well lit. The Scuba staff (John, Caroline and Frank) were outstanding. We had the best time on our dive with them.

Read More

By C

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 6, 2003

Survivor Training!

This resort can not get any worse!Entire resort is unkept and in need of renovations. Food is awful! Management is not at all interested in guests or improving resort!

By Stuart

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2002

There's no pleasing some people

I have recently come back from St James's Club with my family and could not have been more pleased with our stay particularly after having read some of the reviews before going. The oceanside beach is often breezy ( is that a surprise?) but in the heat such a breeze is often welcome. The lagoon beach just 100 yards away is well sheltered. We had 2 rooms both of which were excellent and the maid service was first class. We found the staff very friendly

and accomodating but you must accept that Caribbean people have much healthier relaxed approach to life and never rush. The food was very good if not quite up to gourmet standards.We went to St James's Club for a relaxing holiday and that is exactly what we got. We have already arranged to go back next year. We talked to several other guests during our stay and apart from some feeling it was a little quiet for them, all were delighted. I did witness two compliants that quite frnkly amazed me. The first was a woman complaining at reception that there was a fridge in her room that she did not want! One other person commented that the beach drinks cart did not come around frequently enough. Most people seemed quite content to walk to the nearest bar. From no point on either beach need you walk more than 100 yards to a bar.

Read More

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2002

Do not waste your money!!!

My husband and I love the caribbean and were excited to try the "wonderful, luxurious" St. James Club. We checked out a day after we got there and switched resorts. I have never stayed in a hotel that has SUCH BAD service. YOu would think they would have their act together. Food is gross, we thought the quality of food in Antigua was poor, little did we know it's great, they just don't have any at St. James. THe beach is not that nice. I do

not recommend this resort at all, we were very disappointed. They could learn a lot about service from bigger resorts.

Read More

By Debi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2002

Completely horrible!!

We were thoroughly disappointed with the resort. As one other person stated, the ocean side was extremely windy and we found numerous jelly fish lying on the beach. The wait staff were extremely slow with both the food and drink. We were on the all-inclusive plan and felt that we did not get our monies worth, mainly because it would take them 1/2 hour to bring a drink. If there is any bad weather just expect to side around because the resort does

not provide any other option. Plus, when we complained about the experience we were told that no one else had problems and it was pretty much just our problem. The least they could have done is acknowledge the problems and say they will look into the concerns. Thankfully we were at the St. Thomas Wyndam Sugar Bay and had a wonderful time so our honeymoon wasn't totally ruined.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement