Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Anguilla Hotels

Cap Juluca

  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Architecture at Cap Juluca

  • Blue at Cap Juluca

  • Dining on the Beach at Cap Juluca

  • Cap Juluca Activities

  • Cap Juluca Beach and Exterior

  • Jonquil Suite Bathroom

  • Spice Restaurant

  • Jonquil Suite Pool

  • Villa Bedroom at Cap Juluca

  • Jonquil Suite at Cap Juluca

  • Main House at Cap Juluca

  • Beach at Cap Juluca

Pros

  • Lots of space to stretch out on miles of talcum-soft sand
  • Warm service
  • Romantic atmosphere

Cons

  • Ongoing renovations, comparatively high rates, some of the units are currently closed

Updated 03/03/2014

Fodor's Review

Strung along 179-acres of breathtaking Maundays Bay, the romantic, domed, Moorish-style villas have been an Anguilla favorite for 25 years, thanks to caring staff, great sports facilities, and plenty of room for privacy and comfort. The original owners of CJ are back and overseeing major renovations; at this writing all the public spaces, and 69 of the airy units, have been attractively refurbished in a blue and white South Sea style: batiks, rattan, and woven woods. There

are new beds, improved air-conditioning, Frette linens, big flat-screen TVs, resort-wide Wi-Fi, and new outdoor furniture on the private patios and the beach. Plans are underway for even more luxe updates. Flexible multi-bedroom private villas with beachfront infinity pools can accommodate groups or families. The romantic atmosphere makes this resort popular for honeymoons and destination weddings. Facilities include a small fitness center, and an extensive water-sports pavilion (all on-site water sports are included in the rates). Spa services can be provided in the privacy of your own accommodations, and a daily schedule of activities like beach fitness or nature walks tempts you to leave your beach chaise. Complimentary afternoon tea is served under the dome. Second-floor rooms have the best views.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Maundays Bay, Anguilla

Phone:

264-497–6779; 888-858–5822-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • 69 rooms, 7 patio suites, 6 pool villas
  • Some meals

Updated 03/03/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Anguilla

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2006

Beautiful beach, rooms on decline

The staff and location are top notch. There is no doubt that this is one of the best beach vacation sites in the Carribean. The 3:45pm serving of fresh sorbet on the beach was fabulous. The restaurants were very good and fairly priced for the quality and location. Unfortunately the place is around 25 years old and the rooms are showing that their days are numbered. Our $590/night junior suite had no hot water in the sink or shower on arrival. When

we told the management, they seemed to be unconcerned. The next day we insisted on a room change, and they moved us to another where the refrigerator did not work. They eventually replaced the 'fridge . They did not repair the hot water problem in our original room for one more day, and immediately put another incoming couple into our old place without hot water being repaired. This is not acceptable for $590/night (plus 20% taxes). The mattresses were poorly padded and very hard. The A/C was drafty. We stayed at the Cuisinart our first night on Anguilla and felt that it had almost as nice a beach location and flawless physical condition.The service and food were very good. It was a better value at $545/night.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2005

Far Surpassed Our High Expectations!

We just returned from our honeymoon at Cap Juluca in July 2005. We had read varying reviews and approached the date with slight trepidation, hoping for the best but prepared for anything. Well, our jaws hit the floor when we arrived at stunning Cap Juluca! From minute one we were greeted with smiles by enthusiastic employees eager to show off their property and our junior suite. Our every comfort was considered. Our room was spotless, well kept,

beautifully furnished and our request for a rooftop terrace room had been accommodated. The twice daily maid service was efficient and friendly. Our breakfast server took note of our preferences and made sure we were happy. To dine on your own terrace overlooking the water and St. Martin was such an indulgence. The bathrooms at Cap Juluca are perfect. No water pressure problems whatsoever, no leaks. Plenty of amenities throughout the suite and property. We always found a set of beach chairs, umbrella and raft outside our villa. A perfect place to enjoy afternoon sorbet, complimentary. Pimms, Georges and Kemia were perfect for the evenings we elected not to explore Anguilla's wide assortment of world-class eateries. The concierge staff arranged several special treats for us- trips, cars, terrace dinners, all with smiles and always remembering our names. We visited Malliouhana and Cuisinart to compare, then we hurried back to Cap Juluca pleased wit our choice to stay there. Anguilla was an easy island to explore with nominal traffic and easy to follow roads. We'll return, having thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2005

Complete Privacy... Honeymoon Paradise!

Stayed here for my honeymoon in June and was totally satisfied with this hotel. Everything moves just a little slower on the islands (even the typically annoying New Yorkers seemed to appreciate this fact at Cap). The room was fantastic and the service was great. Hit Blanchards for an awesome meal away from the resort. And definitely hit Shoal Bay beach for some island music!

By tony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2004

It's about the beach

Just got back (november 2004). It's quite possibly one of the nicest beach resort settings you'll find. No need to upgrade rooms - the standard is large and oceanfront. You may want to request where your room is - reading the other reviews makes it obvious that it is a personal choice. I see that some recommend getting a second floor room - we had a first floor room and loved the easy access to our beach chairs and running in and out of the room

all day for drinks, camera, reading, etc. Also, we were near the end (building 18) - we liked the privacy and that the water was closer to our room - some did not prefer this. Cap Jaluca is a place to chill out and not worry about getting around to the rest of the island (there's not much to see or do). We came over from St. Barth's, which is much more sophisticated. However, Cap Jaluca is a wonderful place to spend a few days. We will try to get back.

Read More

By Gina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2004

Wonderful Island, Hotel disappointment

We went for our honeymoon in Dec 2003. We have made a hobby of visiting top notch hotels in the Caribbean and we had high expections for Cap given all the hype about this place. Its grounds are beautiful, beach is stunning, food was great, we had the same taxi driver all week who was awesome..but...there was no special acknowledgement that this was our honeymoon (flowers, wine, etc) and up to the day we checked out, we were never referred to as Mr

& Mrs - small item but nonetheless important to me. There must have been bad rains in Nov. because there was a terrible mosquito problem when we were there. Being allergic to mosquitos, this presented a real problem for me. The hotel sprayed the grounds twice during our stay but had no effect. In addition, bug spray and bug repellant were complimentary with the room. We didnt understand why when we arrived but by the 2nd day, we became accutely aware of the "bug" problem. We would spray the room before we would leave for dinner, and by the time we got back, our little friends had come out to expire. For myself - including my husband, this was pretty terrible. We understood anywhere there is standing water, insects will follow (as we found out at the 5 star Pimms, with our uninvited guest), but this was supposed to be the #1 resort in the caribbean. We were paying top dollar to be there during the holidays. When we told the clerk at check out about our experiences, she took notes and we thought sure enough we would receive a letter, phone call, something - nothing. Anguilla is the most beautiful island in the caribbean, and I absolutely will go back again, maybe I will try Cuisinart next time.

Read More

By Lou

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2004

Too bad, it could have been good

My wife and I travel alot including the Carribean. We have been to St John, St Thomas, Bermuda, St Lucia, Martinique, St Lucia, Tortola, Cancun, Anguilla, Aruba, etc. Cap Juluca is overpriced and under services. Our room had a old water leak as evident by the rust on the tile floor. It rained 70% of oiur stay and the floor proved the leak was active. Our meals always had an issue. Cold meat, missing vegetables, entrees with changes that we were not

notified about, no lobster available for days (yet we are on an island surrounded by water), items on our dinner bill we did not order, poor room service, etc. The meal plan was a joke and food prices are the equivalent to eating gold by the ounce. The place is not worth the price. At this price, you should go to Hawaii. They seem to be living on their legacy

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2004

Was a good place that now cuts corners

We came five years ago and the food and service was far better. The prices also have jumped considerably, the weather during May is always cloudy and sunshine is rare. It seems that management could care less. The place has become centered on making money from it's trappped guests.

By Chad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2004

Poor Value in Paradise

We stayed for 7 nights in March 2004 in a Jr. Suite. Nice beach and very good dining, however save your money for true 5-star resorts elsewhere. Service was very poor and the rooms, although large, were showing significant signs of age; walls must have been made of paper as we could hear plenty of noise from other rooms and outside. Given the price we paid, it would have been cheaper to fly to Asia / Mexico / Europe and stay at a proper 5-star

resort. The other reviewers ratings are far too high and indicate that they have not stayed in other luxury resorts elsewhere in the world (e.g. Amanresorts, Four Seasons, Al-Maha, Las Ventanas, etc.)

Read More

By helen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2003

unadulterated bliss

i was there in june, 2003 with my boyfriend. wow. it was a wonderful, wonderful time. the staff is amazingly friendly - the croquet lessons are definitely worth doing - very fun. The horticultural tour, also very cool. The food is good, but it's definitely worth checking out other places around. the rooms are amazing, and thoughtfully laid out - the bathroom was huge and very open to the sun. The beach had powdery sand and lovely fish, but

when we were there there were teeny stingy jellyfish in the water for a couple of days, which was unpleasant.

Read More

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2003

Gorgeous Resort - Indifferent Service

My husband and I stayed at Cap Juluca 5 days as part of our honeymoon in April 2003 - the next week was spent in St. Barts. We had a beautiful junior suite with the tub for 2 - the look is that minimal - Caribbean style with lots of white and dark wood plantation shutters. Gorgeous beach straight out of the pictures. Loved sleeping to the sound of the waves. We were on the package with all meals included, and I thought the food was excellent.

Bad news was that it started storming our second day and kept it up the rest of our time there, making it impossible for us to take advantage of the activities included in the package - sunset cruise and snorkeling trip were cancelled. Nothing was offered to us instead. We found the service outside of the restaurants (which were great) to be surprisingly indifferent. The snack plate in our room when we checked in (included in the package) was swarming with ants. My husband called to notify staff at the front desk, but no apology was made and no replacement was brought. At the rates Cap Juluca charges it was surprising that so little attention was paid to details like this. We likewise found the staff at check-in and check-out to be indifferent - a vast contrast to the warm welcome and send-off we received at the Hotel Christopher in St. Barts. Experience at check-out was much like checking out of a Comfort Inn. Inside and out, Cap Juluca is one of the most gorgeous places I have ever seen, and for that I am giving it 4 stars. I am disappointed that the service came nowhere close to doing this beautiful resort justice. Maybe honeymooners are so common there that the staff sees no need to make any extra effort, but we expected more. The worst part is that my husband was even more disappointed than I was - so it will be very difficult to convince him to ever take me back to this beautiful place!

Read More

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2002

Oh- the views, the service, the beach

Excellent resort. Quiet, clean, peaceful, pampering and the views.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2002

Paradise Has Been Located

Just got back from one week in Paradise. Hotel atmosphere is superb. Treatment of guests is top notch. Great restaurants in immediate vicinity. Perfect for that special vacation. Don't miss it.

By Kerry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 4, 2002

Well worth every penny (and there will be many!)

My husband and I spent our honeymoon there and absolutely loved it!! We can't wait to return for an anniversary celebration sometime soon.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2002

Nothing Better on a Beach

Five days were not enough. I'll be back soon for a couple of weeks.

By Lanny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2002

It doesn't get better than this

Spent my Honeymoon here and a renewal rendezvous, too. We couldn't have made a better choice; in fact, I'm convinced there IS no better choice if one is wanting beach and sun and beautiful clear water and seamless service.

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2001

Honeymoon and Anniversary heaven

Just visited for our 10th wedding anniversary and it was our best vacation ever. Cap has beautiful beaches, service, and restaurants. We fell in love with the island. It is expensive but so worth it. The people really make the difference - friendly and sincere. Restaurants on the island are amazing. Recommend Scilly Cay for lunch, Blanchards, Trattoria Tramont, Hibernia. You must also fo to Dune Preserve and check out Bankie Banx, cool guy

with great music.

Read More

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2001

~One of the BEST in the Caribbean!~

We went to Cap Juluca for our 20th wedding aniversary. It was so romantic. It is very expensive, but the pampering is well worth it. The bay/beach is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Baby powder white, fine sand, turqoise blue water. Relax on the beach and put up your flag on your umbrella, a waiter will be there soon to take that order for one of their frosty Pina Coladas. The mosquitos can be rough on a windless night.

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2001

Captivated by the view...

I have to say this was the most disappointing resort I have ever visited. Don't get me wrong that the setting and view are positively to die for, neither compensate for the extraordinarily poor service and rooms that are in definite need of renovation. Service throughout the resort was dismal but highlighted by the water-sports coordinator who, half of the days we were there, was too lazy to pull out the Hobie Cats. Arguably, Cappy J sits on one

of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Perhaps management would wish to pay a visit to a Roswewood Resort for lessons on customer service!

Read More

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2001

Most relaxing resort I've seen

Best beach I've ever seen and have been to many. Room was only average but was offset by incredible bathroom and view of beach. Service was was good but uneven and they handled some special requests extremely well and were always exceedingly friendly. Great place to just relax and unwind. Will definitley come back.

By Sher

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2001

You'll squ'EEL with delight

One of the most beautiful resorts in the islands, and we've been to 26 islands. Very relaxed, elegant atmostphere. Rooms are romantic, bathrooms are gorgeous, and the view is spectacular. Service impeccable. Food is fabulous. Anguilla is a very arid island so don't expect a dense tropical setting. Smell of the salt ponds on the ride to Cap Juluca is quite offensive, but you'll get over it quickly once you see the beach!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement