Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Melbourne Restaurants

Flower Drum

Updated 01/15/2014

Fodor's Review

Superb Cantonese cuisine is the hallmark of one of Australia's truly great Chinese restaurants, which is still receiving awards after opening in 1975. The restrained elegance of the decor, deftness of the service, and intelligence of the wine list puts most other restaurants to shame. Those in the know don't order from the menu at all but simply ask the waiter to bring the specials, which often changes between lunch and dinner with the arrival of produce fresh from suppliers;

the Cantonese roast duck is one of the highlights. A delicious finish to the meal is the sweetened double-boiled almond soup.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

17 Market La., Melbourne, Victoria, 3000, Australia

Map It

Phone:

03-9662–3655

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Sun.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 01/15/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Melbourne

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Labbit

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2008

World Class Resturtant!

I haven't been to another restaurant with such attentive, detailed service. The food is safe, traditional and done well.

By Twei

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2007

Sadly dissapointing

It was with much anticipation that I entered Flower Drum. The food was good but not great for the price you pay. Unfortunately for Flower Drum fabulous Cantonese cuisine can now be found all around Melbourne at an exceptionally high standard, but without the Flower Drum price tag. The service also was dissapointing, I found it to be stifling borderering on neurotic and not at all elegant. I won't be back.

By Sasha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2005

The Best Service in The World!

Flower Drum's food is good but not great when ordering A La Carte... but when you leave the food to the waiters it is sublime, best in the world. The service is way better than alot of restaurants I've ever been to. But it is really expensive.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2005

Superb.

Without doubt Melbourne's finest restaurant. The honey prawns are sublime. 2.8 Pina? As John McEnroe said "You cannot be serious!"

By Pina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2004

Overated

I agree with Elizabeth's comments. The service is over the top, every time I had a sip of my drink a waiter came over to refill. I think this is far to excessive and I also found it intrusive. The food is overated. Yes it is good, but for the money you are paying it should be excellent. My prawns were bland. If you do go try the banquet it is much better value than chosing individual dishes. Silks at Crown has much better service, better food and

slightly cheaper.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2002

An amazing experience...but not the best!

This restaurant is a special place. I have never been anywhere like it. Everyone should visit at least once. The service is amazing, however I felt, a little intrusive. The food was good, however my main was pretty average. I would suggest Silks at Crown, cheaper, more food & better quality. If you want to impress, take your someone special there.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2001

Phenomenal

If you've ever wondered if Chinese food could be presented in the same way as you might get French food at a starred Michelin restaurant in France, wonder no more. This place is unbelieveably good. Getting a table here for dinner, especially on short notice, is very difficult. In order to avoid disappointment I suggest you book a few weeks in advance, perhaps before you leave on your journey to Melbourne. Best Chinese food I've ever had, including

multiple meals in Hong Kong (where I was taken by locals to the supposedly best places).

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement