The United States established a naval station on the main island of Tutuila in 1899, the year before American Samoa was officially pronounced a U.S. Territory. The naval station began life as a coaling station for trans-Pacific ships, and on January 11, 1942, saw action when a Japanese submarine fired on it before making a hasty escape. At the height of its activity, the naval station (which closed in 1951) had more than 100 buildings. Today visitors can take a 2-mile
walking tour of the townships of Fagatogo and Utulei (which hug Pago Pago Harbor), visiting some 14 of the station's remaining structures and other prominent buildings connected with American Samoa's recent history. The trail winds past the Maota fona (the American Samoa Legislature building), the Old Bake Shop, the Old Samoan Jail, the Commissary Store (now the Jean P. Haydon Museum), the Governor's House (also a museum), and the Fagatogo Malae, or parade ground. Maps are available from the office of the American Samoa Historic Preservation Office (ASHOP) in the village of Nuu'uli (about 3 miles southwest of Pago Pago) and on ASHOP's website.