Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bangkok Restaurants

Le Dalat

  • 57 Soi Prasarnmitr Map It
  • $$
  • Vietnamese

Updated 05/29/2013

Fodor's Review

This classy restaurant, a favorite with Bangkok residents, consists of several intimate dining rooms in what was once a private home. Don't pass up the naem neuang, a garlicky grilled meatball you garnish with bits of garlic, ginger, hot chili, star apple, and mango before wrapping it in a lettuce leaf and popping it in your mouth. Seafood dishes—which are among the pricier options—include cha ca thang long, Hanoi-style fried fish with dill.

Restaurant Information

Address:

57 Soi Prasarnmitr, Sukhumvit, Soi 23, Bangkok, 10110, Thailand

Map It

Phone:

02-259–9593

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/29/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Bangkok

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By JBJE

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2009

Le Dalat Review

I'm so amazed at the review by the person from Cape Town that I feel I have to respond. Since June 2002 I have dined here about 15-16 times on 14 separate trips. I've been here for early and late lunches and dinners, for no special occasion and for New Year's. I've come in a hurry, and I've visited when I had time to order a few drinks in the restaurant lounge, Le Lotus Bleu (presumably named after George Prosper "Herge" Remi's 1934 Les Aventures

de Tintin: Le Lotus Bleu), which BTW is an excellent respite from the craziness of Soi 23 further south. The staff, from the male maître d', to his female assistant in the evenings, the waiters and waitresses, and the boy who fetches the drinks, are all excellent; I'm particularly fond of the demure lady in her mid-forties who serves lunch. The food is quite good, reminiscent of the many French colonial Vietnamese restaurants that still dotted Saigon during the American occupation. Vietnam Vets will know what I mean and should saunter on up to the gent's on the second floor to examine the etchings...

Read More

By Kirpan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2008

Sept 5 / 2008

Went to Le Dalat for lunch. A shabby place and sour faces of the staff. No comparison with all the friendly Thai places. Staff dress definitely shabby. Ordered a bottle of wine and appetizers. The wine we got. After half an hour some sort of bouncer asked us if we had been served? Well what were the others doing? Anyhow our order was never passed to the kitchen. We aid for the wine and left convinced that there are better Vietnamese places in Bangkok

Kirpan

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2002

Great Atmosphere!

We enjoyed Le Delat immensely. Nice dining experience in a traditional home. Wine list was a little pricey. BTW - make certain to check the washrooms if possible. Not like anything I have seen before!

By Terence

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2002

Overall, a great restaurant

The French colonial atmosphere of this restaurant was fantastic and so was the food. I would recommend anyone that comes here to have a drink at the bar as this is a very charming area overlooking the garden with floor to ceiling windows.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2001

Overated !

For the first time Fodor Choice was not up to expectation ! Over priced. This can't be Vietnamese food !

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement