Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bangkok Hotels

Shangri-La Hotel

  • Charoen Krung (New Rd.) Map It
  • $$$$
  • Grande Dame
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Breathtaking lobby
  • Gorgeous pool and terrace
  • Private balconies available

Cons

  • Older wing not as nice
  • Slightly impersonal feel
  • Buffet breakfast costs extra

Updated 05/29/2013

Fodor's Review

Utterly cutting-edge, yet with an extraordinary sense of calm, the Shangri-La has emerged as one of Bangkok's very best hotels, rivaling the more famous Oriental. The palatial marble lobby is illuminated by crystal chandeliers; the adjacent lounge offers a marvelous view of the Chao Phraya River through floor-to-ceiling windows. The peace of the gardens is interrupted only by the puttering of passing boats. The pool with its own mini-island is real showpiece. In the luxurious

Krungthep Wing, a separate tower across the garden, the rooms are larger and quieter, with balconies overlooking the river—a rare treat in Bangkok. Enjoy a drink at the elegant Long Bar and make sure to pay a visit to the fine chocolate confectionary.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Charoen Krung (New Rd.), 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, Bangkok, 10500, Thailand

Map It

Phone:

02-236–7777

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 802 rooms, 52 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/29/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Bangkok

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By rhkkmk

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2009

convenient lux

firstly i consider the location to be riverside rather than silom. this huge hotel is pure lux which you quickly realize from its sweeping driveway and its marble lobby areas. but best of all the hotel is located directly next to the skytrain at taskim station. their riverside location is lovely with several outside dining venues. the italian restaurant is one of the best in bangkok...the hotel has two wings....the shangri-la wing and the more

lux and sedate krungthrup wing. rooms are comfortable and large. most rooms have partial or full river views...in the lux wing many rooms have balconies. the breakfast buffet is the most complete and best i have had in bkk, and in fact the world.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2009

Sweet Dreams ... (perhaps, with a loved one)

This hotel is easily one of my all-time favourite business (and occasional pleasure) travel locales. (And please note my overall rating of 'sub-5' is simply due to my belief the hotel is two rather distinct properties: the larger, busier 'Main Wing', and the somewhat quieter and most discreet 'Krungthep Wing'.) ... For some years, the Krungthep side has been my cherished Shangri-La Bangkok home, with my 'special room', which the KW staff knows 'by

heart'. The KW staff: 'family', in the best sense. ... My normal SL arrival is late-night, flying TG from Hong Kong, TG or UA from Narita, and if all is going particularly well, SQ from Singapore, with those sensational Singapore Girls. Upon arriving at the KW front door, I'm presented with a lovely 'hand garland' and a staff member will 'bang a gong' in my honour. Welcome back to the City of Angels, indeed. ... Most efficient in-room check-in, then, if so desired, the hotel's on-site Health Club offers 24-hour, in-room massage treatments with some of the most accommodating and joyous masseuses. ... (And, not a problem arranging for masseuses from outside agencies to venture over to your softly lit room.) ... The KW's fine 'personal butlers' are a delight and have always anticipated my various preferences. To the entire KW staff: thank you for years of service and joy. ... Savour your special Shangri-La times, perhaps, with a special someone, watching the river flow...

Read More

By charli

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2006

Great hotel and location

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this lovely hotel overlooking the Chao Praya River. Room was very comfortable, atmosphere of the public rooms and restaurants very nice - as was the food. Service excellent, great spa you knew was clean and sanitary. Location can't be beat. Traffic is awful, lots to walk to and skytrain close by.

By T

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2005

Fantastic Hotel

It's not surprising that this hotel is frequently rated as one of the best in the world. We have stayed here several times and, even if we stay elsewhere in Bangkok (it is a bit expensive although excellent value for money), always visit the Shangri-La to eat and just to experience the atmosphere. You start to relax the instant you enter the hotel and sitting in the lobby lounge enjoying afternoon tea or a cocktail or liquer coffee in the evening

is a wonderful holiday experience.

Read More

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2004

The Perfect Hotel

This hotel was the highlight of our trip, and part of the Bangkok experience. We stayed in the Krungthep Wing, and everything about it was perfection. The rooms and hotel are beautiful, the gardens are perfect, and the experience of eating at the hotel's Thai restaurant Salathip is NOT to be missed by anyone going to Bangkok, whether or not they are lucky enough to stay at the hotel! Don't miss this place!

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2003

The Shangri-La makes the Oriental Look like your father's Oldsmobile

I travel all over the world and this is by far is the finest hotel I've stayed at (including the tired and pretensious Oriental). The hotel is modern, service is outstanding and the amenities and true value associated with the Horizon Club are unmatched (best service and wonderful food - Ms. Tarry was one of the finest and most gracious hostessses). The rooms are nicely and tastefully appointed with beautiful views of the river (Shangri-La Towre),

the on-site restuarants are excellent and the concierge services great. If I were to have any suggestions it would be to upgrade the health club, which is adequate but not great. The hotel is in the process of adding a new spa. Honestly, I am amazed and frankly confused how anyone under 80 years of age could prefer the Oriental over this wonderful hotel!

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2001

Krungthep makes all the difference

I stayed here twice over a two-week period, and it was like two different hotels. The first visit was marvelous - a 1200-sq ft deluxe suite in the Krungthep wing, a bathroom larger than my New York apt, wonderful service, etc. The second time I stayed was in the ordinary hotel, and was quite blah. Not actively bad, but nothing to cheer about.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2001

Slipping a bit

Stayed here twice now (1999 and 2001), both times in the luxury Krungthep wing. Last month we spent 3 nights in the Oriental and one night in the Shangri La. While still a really nice hotel, we detected a distinct shift in quality of service. Our visit came on the heels of stops at the Regent Chiang Mae, the Amanpuri and the Banyan Tree Phuket, so maybe we were a little spoiled by the time we arrived. However, people just seemed a little less

attentive than during our last stay. Further, the main lobby is closed due to refurbishment and as a result the fantastic afternoon tea buffet has been scaled back to Sundays only. The rooms are quite nice and the fitness center and Thai riverside restaurant Salathip definitely top Sala Rim and the gym at the Oriental. But for the best hotel experience in Bangkok I'd have to recommend a garden wing room at the Oriental.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement