Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bangkok Hotels

Dusit Thani Bangkok

  • 946 Rama IV Rd. Map It
  • Trusted Brand

Pros

  • Relaxing retreat
  • Delicious restaurant
  • A stone's throw from subway and Skytrain stations

Cons

  • Small pool
  • Feels past its prime

Updated 05/29/2013

Fodor's Review

This high-rise hotel has a distinctive pyramid shape that makes it immediately identifiable. The reception area, where a sunken lounge overlooks a small garden and waterfall, is one floor up. Rooms are spacious, especially the high-price suites. The Dusit's proximity to the Skytrain and subway stations makes it a convenient base for exploring the city. It's also across the street from Lumphini Park, Bangkok's best public park. The pool is in a central courtyard filled

with trees, making it a peaceful oasis from the heat and humidity. The Devarana Spa offers an impressive menu of treatments, from herbal steam baths to body scrubs with unusual ingredients. The hotel's popular Chinese restaurant, Mayflower, is worth a visit even if you don't stay here.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

946 Rama IV Rd., Bangkok, 10500, Thailand

Map It

Phone:

02-200–9000

Website: www.dusit.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 517 rooms, 30 suites

Updated 05/29/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Bangkok

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2005

All the things there is good except......

The hotel is far located away to the BTS. You need to walk at least 15 minutes from the nearest station. Also, most of the taxi driver don't know how to go to there, really frustrated. To conclude, everything in hotel is good, everything outside the hotel is suck.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2004

Classy Hotel, Great Spa

Service was impeccable, courteous and didn't feel disrupted at all. Room is nice and the tea time there is fantastic. Didn't try the restaurants but the spa is a great antidote for the wearied traveler.

By Ian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2004

2004 Major Work going on

We have just returned from a 6 day stay at the Dusit Thani staying in the Landmark suites. Firstly be warned that there is major internal work going on of which we were NOT notified and drills and hammers started at around 0800 until at least 18.00 sometimes later. This, coupled with work on an adjoining building, spoiled an otherwise pleasant stay. The management didn't seem to see the problem and thought that by telling us on our arrival that there

would be noise, that was it! The Landmark rooms were rather dowdy and quite dusty so refurbishment is definitely neccessary. This hotel loudly proclaims to be "One of the Leading Hotels of The World." Whoever offered them membership of this elite hasn't been back for some time.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 19, 2003

Spacious, Clean and Conveniently-located

When I was first arrived at this hotel on my first visit to Bangkok few years ago, I was quite scared as I approched this downtown hotel. From the outside, this hotel looks pretty ugly. But, inside, the hotel is a totally different world. The spa, in parcitular, is probably the city's best. The Dusit also has at least eight restaurants. Some of them are just fine, but the Japanese Shogun is top-notch. Rooms are spacious and clean although the

bathrooms are a little bit small. I know for the fact that the subway is opening in April 2004, making this hotel probably the most conveniently-located five-star hotel in Bangkok. (It is both connected to the subway and the BTS skytrain.)

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2002

Why pay for a stay at the Otriental?

I have been to Bangkok many times and the Dusit Thani is still my favorite hotel. Although it is not on the river, it is the most convenient of all five-star hotel. (Both the skytrain and the subway stop there.) The rooms are very nice and the lobby actually looks better than the Oriental's. Moreover, the spa is paradise-like!

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2002

Nice

The hotel was very nice and the location served my purposes well

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2001

Excellent hotel at a great value!

My Husband and I stayed here last year while on our Honeymoon and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The staff were impeccable. The Landmark Suite was nicely decorated and quite elegant. And at such a value! When we wanted to go out on the town, the hotel provided a personal, English-speaking chauffer at a very reasonable price. Best of all was the sirloin steak we had at Hamilton's - it was the most delicious steak I've ever had, hands

down. We also stayed at the Mandarin Oriental while in Bangkok but it did not even come close to the Dusit Thani - and was DOUBLE the price!!

Read More

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2001

Landing in a Landmark Suite

This hotel ranks as one of the best we have stayed at in our worldly travels. The personel at the front desk were courteous, informative, well traveled and most importantly, efficient. I was hesitant about the age of the Land Mark Suites since the last rennovation, and a staff member excorted me to the room for inspection prior to acceptance...all without my requesting it. Needless to say, my fears were unfounded. The room was remarkable, with a bit

of older charm. Two TVs inside amoires, a well stocked minibar, ELsafe, great lighting/lamps, clean carpet, instant floor attendant and much more. The concierge was resplendant in tail coat and striped pants, and did his utmost to fulfill our several requests. The breakfast buffet in the lower restaurant was wonderful. They had a German theeme lunch-buffet that was out of this world (Thai selections also). If you can't stay there, at least try one of the several great restaurants, or have a drink in the suncken lobby from 1800 to 2100 accompanied by a classical piano quartet. The location is on Rama IV road and you can easily walk to the BMT train stop. If it gets a bit hot and sticky, just duck into the many A/C drinking places nearby.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement