This was one of the few structures left standing in Sendai after World War II. Built in Yonezawa in 1527, the shrine pleased local daimyo Date Masamune so much that he had it brought to Sendai in 1607. Nestled among trees, it is indeed an elegant structure, with bright-metal ornamentation over subdued black lacquer. The main building has been designated a National Treasure. It's in the northwest section of the city, about 43 minutes from the station by the Loople
and 30 minutes from the Zuihoden area.