Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Shanghai Restaurants

1221 (Yīèrèryī cāntīng)

Updated 05/28/2013

Fodor's Review

This stylish but casual eatery is a favorite with expatriates. The streamlined dining room is very chic, its crisp white tablecloths contrasting with the warm golden walls. Shanghainese food is the mainstay, with a few Sichuan dishes thrown in for good measure. From the extensive 26-page menu (in English, pinyin, and Chinese), you can order dishes like sliced you tiao (fried bread sticks) with shredded beef, a whole chicken in a green-onion soy sauce, and shaguo

shizi tou (pork meatballs).

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1221 Yanan Xi Lu, Shanghai, 200050, China

Map It

Phone:

021-6213–6585; 021-6213–2441

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/28/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Shanghai

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 11, 2010

1221 Review

We ate at 1221 which is at Yan'an Xi Lu 1221 which was fantastic! The service was amazing. We arrived one minute before our reservation and our table was not yet ready so we were treated to a drink on the house and our table was ready within 90 seconds. We sat down and were immediatly greeted and served tea. Our server made great recommendations all of which we ordered and he offered to get us half servings due to the number of dishes we ordered which

was very helpful. The food was outstanding! and the service continued to be excellent. They had a cab waiting for us at the end of our meal and the prices were very reasonable. The best place we ate in China!

Read More

By ddsclub

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2007

A perfect party

It's great for large groups for parties and the food is not oily. The menu is in English and it's almost all foreigners. The place is clean and so is the bathrooms.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2007

Worth trying

As it's not easy to find this restaurant, you have to bring its address to show your driver. Several dishes were delicious but my Chinese teacher said she prefers to eat some dishes at the other local restaurants since they're cheaper and more delicious.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 12, 2006

must stop eating...

I recommend this restaurant to everyone who visits Shanghai... the prices are excellent, the food very good, and, best of all, the menu is extremely easy to order from even for the most shy of diners. Though if you want spicy be sure to insist that it be spicy -- they may have become a little complacent with such a "white bread" clientele and tend to tone down most spicy dishes.

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2006

Deep fried and desert

In a recent travel to Shanghai in Nov 2005 I had the opportunity to eat dinner here. This was the only resturant that served desert and it was delicious. The deep fried spare ribs were to die for, I recommend them to anyone who loves ribs!

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2005

Hard to Find/Worth the Trouble

Great Food/Menu Really nice staff English spoken!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement