Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Hong Kong Hotels

Island Shangri-La

  • Supreme Court Rd. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • Grand lobby
  • Beautiful pool deck with a great close-up view of the skyline
  • Elevator access to Pacific Place Mall

Cons

  • No real spa

Updated 02/22/2013

Fodor's Review

A city icon towering above Pacific Place drips with old-world charm and offers spacious and luxurious accommodations with an Asian twist, along with fine dining and impeccable service. The Great Motherland of China, the world's largest Chinese silk painting, graces the glass atrium, and the misty mainland mountains are part of the backdrop viewed through the gleaming tower's floor-to-ceiling windows. World-class restaurants Petrus and Nadaman serve French and Japanese

cuisine respectively, and a delightful daily buffet is laid on at the humbler Too café. Business travelers can enjoy the Horizon Club, with free snacks, drinks, and evening champagne and cocktails.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Pacific Place, Supreme Court Rd., Admiralty, Hong Kong, Hong Kong–China

Map It

Phone:

/2877–3838

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 565 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 02/22/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Hong Kong

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2012

Island Shangri-La Review

This fine property - and superb staff and special friends - remains a truly pleasing Hong Kong business travel delight. (I last reviewed this hotel for Fodor's in 2010. This current review reflects a two-night stay for meetings in March, 2012.) My corporate rate booking included access to the hotel's always enjoyable Horizon Club Lounge and round-trip limousine service. The limo transfers were seamless, both for my early arrival (via the forever

special Singapore Airlines flight #1 from SFO) and evening departure with Thai Airways. And, my current Jade level status with the Shangri-La's Golden Circle programme - I've also stayed at the Shangri-La, Bangkok for work - provided for an upgrade to a Deluxe Harbour View room on Floor 4_ and late check-out. The latter greatly beneficial this round, as this particular HK business trip concluded with the evening Thai Airways 607 flight to Bangkok for more meetings. (Great Thai air and ground service by the way; used miles to fly first class for free on a B747 and upon arrival at Bangkok, that special TG 'meet and greet' had me through passport control in no time and on the way to my current and primary BKK business travel hotel, the St. Regis -- and a much appreciated late-night, in-room massage.) A special Hong Kong hotel that has never disappointed for work. Looking forward to returning for meetings in ~ two months, if not sooner. Many thanks, fine hotel staff and friends. Savour your Hong Kong times.

Read More

By Ryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2005

Fantastic hotel with superb views and great pool!

Spent 3 nights here in August before going to Europe. The service, staff, amenities and location were unbeatable. Couldn't come more highly recommended. Is the only hotel I will stay at, in HK. The Island is the place to be.

By Yves

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2005

Truly exceptional

Everything, without exception, was absolutely perfect at the Island Shangri-la. I cannot imagine a hotel doing better!

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2004

Outstanding Service and Fabulous Breakfast Buffet

I stayed at Island Shangri-La, Conrad International and the Grand Hyatt during a 2-week trip in Hong Kong in August 2004. I had a mountain view room at the Island Shangri-La. The room size is large for Hong Kong. The bathroom has a combined shower and tub. The hotel is undergoing renovations which I was told by hotel staff will be suspended from October to the end of year because of peak demand. I stayed during the weekend and did not experience

any construction noise. However, I was told that the hotel did receive guest complaints from time to time. This hotels service level and attentiveness are, in my opinion, legendary compared to all the five-star hotels I have stayed at. I had a renovated room which was nicely done. For example, the work desk has a hidden power strip with an offering of voltages and plug shapes that can accommodate most international travelers. There is also an in-room fax machine. The room has a wall of glass with a good view of the mountain. The breakfast buffet is truly spectacular with 3 cook-to-order stations, and high quality choices from western to Chinese cuisines and a few breakfast items in the Japanese style. Compared to the Conrad and Grand Hyatt, this hotel clearly takes the prize in the breakfast buffet. The waiting staff is extremely attentive and friendly. As is the case with the two other 5-star hotels above Pacific Place (J.W. Marriott and Conrad), the location is fabulous. You can walk to the Mall, the subway (known as MTR), and adjoining buildings without being exposed to the elements (which is a big plus in August.) The food market at the basement level of the Mall (called Great or grEAT) is absolutely fabulous and I highly recommend it (though it is somewhat pricey.) For everyday items, walk across the covered walkway to United Centre where there is a supermarket called Park N Shop where the locals shop. Overall, if you can afford it, this hotel is my top choice.

Read More

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2002

Overall incredible hotel and servie

Just stayed last month there on a business trip and overall I was impressed by this hotel, the only critique I have is that rooms may need a renovation in the future to keep up with other hotels, nevertheless there is nothing to criticize about the rooms, for me the highlight of the hotel is the normal hotel restaurant (the cafe) where they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets, these are best buffets I have ever seen in a hotel, everything is

very fresh, very, very good price value

Read More

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2000

Great Service

Comfortable, non-imposing service. Feels like home. Great room service from Summer Palace.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement