Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Hong Kong Restaurants

Café Deco Bar & Grill

  • 118 Peak Rd. Map It
  • $$
  • Eclectic

Updated 02/19/2013

Fodor's Review

As is often the case where there's a captive audience, dining up at the Peak Galleria mall can be unpredictable—and this huge eatery is no exception. You'll come mostly for the views, though the menu is eclectic enough to keep everyone happy. Menu options traverse five or six continents and there is also a dessert station. Oysters are good, and the pizzas and pastas are okay, but you should avoid the insipid Southeast Asian fare and overpriced steaks. When you book (and

you must), be sure to request a table with a view, as many tables in the place have none, which defeats the purpose of coming here.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1st fl., Peak Galleria, 118 Peak Rd., The Peak, Hong Kong, Hong Kong–China

Map It

Phone:

/2849–5111

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/19/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Hong Kong

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2010

Café Deco Bar & Grill Review

Made a reservation yesterday (April 30th) around 5 pm for a table for 2 at the window, 7.15pm the same night. The young man on the phone confirmed that it wouldnt be a problem but only lower floor at the window would be available - which was fine. Upon arrival at 7.10 pm we learned from a very unfriendly person at the door that no reservation was made and with a tone that gave me and my friend the impression that she didnt belive us she said that

reservations are made weeks in advance. I have very little understanding for this. Obviously communication between stuff doesnt work that well at cafe deco and even though reservation was made we made the trip to the peak for nothing. My VIP membership card has made its way into the rubbish bin of course....

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2009

The food was worth two trips!

Were there over the holidays and happened on the place just as it opened, the Saturday after Christmas. We stuck to the Asian and middle-eastern foods, and all of it was delicious. Returned on January 1 with another couple; good food again! OK wine list; the Twinwoods chardonnay was a nice find. And the view -- the setting is singularly spectacular. I agree that the restaurant seems to try to serve too many different types of food, but we

can vouch for the Asian and middle eastern dishes.

Read More

By Gordon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2005

Don't miss this !

We booked a window table about 4 weeks in advance - it was well worth it as the view at night over the city really is amazing. The food was terrific (expensive of course), but excellent variety and quality. We particularly enjoyed the lobster thermidor. Service very attentive and polite. A meal at Cafe Deco really is a must-see experience for anyone visiting Hong Kong.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 14, 2005

Perfect

It was several years ago (Jan 98) but my meal still rates as one of the best I've ever had in my life.

By Nat

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2003

One of the best dining views in Hong Kong

I moved to Hong Kong and plan to bring my special guests here. It has a wonderful variety of food including Cantonese, Shanghainese, Indian, Japanese, American and many others. Reserve a window table to get the best view.

By Joanna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2003

arh... ok la..

The place is great in general. But the food, I would say, is pretty bad. I would never go there again. For the money I pay, I think 90% went to the view.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2003

Local favourite as well!

This is as much a restaurant for tourist as it is for locals. Wide variety of food is served from oysters, american to indian. The quality is also very good since the restaurant is very large over two floors and can support serving a wide variety of fresh food. The view is unbeatable and aside from the noise, one of the most romantic places. I'd think of this is a cheaper alternative to Petrus.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2002

It's primarily the View

Please note this place is huge and when crowded,very noisy. Yes the views are spectacular and worth going here alone for that. But the food is also very good (good variety and the Indian food was surprisingly good) and service very attentive. I would agree about reserving a window table and also request the upper level - a tad smaller and live jazz band on the 2nd floor.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2001

Deco-rated for excellence

We have made this a regular haunt on our visits to Hong Kong. The international flavour of the menu is ideal for our various dining preferences - there are few establishments where I may tuck into an Indian kebab whilst my wife chooses pizza. Service in this busy restaurant tends to be on the slow side and, for some reason, there is a lack of comprehension of the term "side salad". Even when requested to do so, the waiters resist serving a salad

other than as an appetiser. However, these are minor blemishes on an otherwise excellent place to dine with family or friends. Make sure you book!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement