Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Hong Kong Restaurants

Yung Kee

  • 32–40 Wellington St Map It
  • $$
  • Chinese

Updated 02/19/2013

Fodor's Review

Close to Hong Kong's famous nightlife and dining district of Lan Kwai Fong, Yung Kee has become a local institution since it first opened shop as a street-food stall in 1942. The food is authentic Cantonese, served amid riotous decor and writhing gold dragons. Locals come here for roast goose with beautifully crisp skin and tender meat, as well as dim sum. Other excellent dishes include the "cloudy tea" smoked pork, which needs to be reserved a day in advance, and deep-fried

prawns with mini crab roe. More adventurous palates may wish to check out the thousand-year-old preserved eggs.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

32–40 Wellington St, Hong Kong, Hong Kong–China

Map It

Phone:

/2522–1624

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 02/19/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Hong Kong

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2009

Disappointing

My last few visits to Yung Kee have not been so rewarding and my last visit was disappointing to say the least. The food including the Roast Goose was average and I would rate only the Century Egg as good. The prices are ridiculous for the quality and poor service. I may venture to try the 4th floor or the Club but for now Yung Kee is off my list.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2006

Goose was great!

The Goose was wonderful. The eggs were very, very odd. Waiter was less that wonderful.

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2006

Great goose

the roasted meats (goose, pork) are by most measures, excellent. i tried 2 of their double boiled soups and they were very good. service was fast and decent

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2005

Authentic Cantonese food and restaurant

A busy and noisy restaurant where service was just about OK.We went for the signature dish roast goose which was cutup bones and all and was a bit greasy for our Western tastes although i have no doubt it was the authentic dish.The prawn and chicken dishes we also chose were excellent

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2003

The Key is not going to Yung Kee

Chosen simply on Fodor's pick we were disappointed. I ordered the half Chicken which was over-cooked and somebody took a cleaver to it just before they served it and chopped it into about 50, bony, dry pieces. I know this is done to accomodate the chopsticks, but a massacre way not called for. The blackened eggs were great. The service was the worst in our trip. Please take it off your picks list.

By fiona

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2002

and this is a fodors recommendation?!

what a big disappointment.

By gerry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2002

why did we bother?

I really felt that they just weren't interested in serving us. Food was the worst we had in 3 weeks and 4 different destinations.

By Yvette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2000

It was just OK

The roast goose was delicious, the rest was just OK. Not a great value.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement