Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Hong Kong Hotels

Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong

  • 5 Connaught Rd. Map It
  • Grande Dame
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Spacious, open, and beautifully designed rooms
  • Old-world ambience at its finest
  • Exquisite spa

Cons

  • In-room Wi-Fi isn't free

Updated 02/22/2013

Fodor's Review

Hong Kong's most famous hotel has lost none of its opulence, colonial charm, and shine over the past 50 years and is still known for spacious and luxurious accommodation and impeccable service. Day beds tucked under the huge windows take in the harbor and city views; TV screens are set next to bathroom sinks; and each room has a closet cubby hole where your daily paper, newly shined shoes, and room-service meal will magically appear. The Clipper Lounge and Chinnery pub

(serving the best fish and chips in Hong Kong) ooze colonial flavor, as do such touches as the barber shop complete with super-comfy welcome lounge and cocktails.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2011

Hotel Information

Address:

5 Connaught Rd., Hong Kong, Hong Kong–China

Map It

Phone:

/2522–0111

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 501 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 02/22/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Hong Kong

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2014

Impeccable HK Business (and Joyous) Travel Stay

Rather recently (week of 9 March, 2014), enjoyed a truly productive - and even rejuvenating - Hong Kong business travel stay at this magnificent property. (Over the years, have also had the privilege of staying at Mandarin Oriental properties for work and occasional holiday in Bangkok, London and Kuala Lumpur; in the case of the BKK MO, going back ~ half-century as 'youth', with my beloved parents and siblings. Special hotels, all.) [Arrival

at the MO Hong Kong was Sunday morning, via my primary business travel carrier, Singapore Airlines, flight SQ1 J. That evening flight out of SFO (San Francisco) marked the end to another week of meetings and checking on the secondary residence. (Will say, so love flying SQ1 for work; over time, have found my favourite rows and seats in business class. Invariably, numerous hours of uninterrupted sleep; my special transpacific business travel 'hotel' at ~ 36,000 feet with such fine SQ cabin crew and friends. This particular flight quite special and unique, with the loved one being able to coordinate her personal work/flying schedule for the flight.] Check-in at the MO HK could not have been more personal and accommodating. They were aware of my (our) early SQ1 arrival and, perhaps not too surprisingly, my numerous stays over the years with her aforementioned sisters. So love that Mandarin Oriental personal style; quality operation. Our lodging entailed a gratefully accepted upgrade to an Oriental Suite. (Management/staff knew of my ongoing preferences for corner locations.) The suite was perfect, with such lovely views. With the Sunday morning arrival, we took advantage of the MO's rather extensive exercise, swim, spa, massage options. And, in a full-on splurge, we booked one of the MO's private "couples' suites", complete with shower, steam, tub... highly recommend for those lifelong romantics. Sweet dreams that evening. The following few days were not quite so joyous (the mrs. was obliged to fly back to our home port of Singapore on Monday) and rather busy with meetings, but did have the chance for some afterwork libations in the hotel's M Bar, as well as some memorable business dining at the MO's Pierre, Man Wah, and Mandarin Grill and Bar. All three worthy of more extensive reviews - and visits. Lovely business - and briefly, so joyous - stay at a special Hong Kong property. (Over the years, have also stayed at the Island Shangri-La for work, as well as some sweet weekend holidays at the HK Peninsula. Of the three, will give my current nod to the MO HK - but all are special to me.) Reluctant MO HK departure for brief meetings in Kuala Lumpur, staying once again at the MO. (This particular business trip segment did entail, and necessitate, back-to-back stays at the MO's HK and KL properties.) Business class departure ex-HKG to KUL was via Malaysia Airlines, flight MH449. As expected, a rather somber, reflective, MH flight. As I write this MO HK review from Kuala Lumpur - before flying home to SIN via SQ - prayers and thoughts to those souls with MH370. Savour your Hong Kong times at a timeless Mandarin Oriental property.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2007

Close to perfect

I stayed there after they have renovated the rooms and now it is really back at the top again. Rooms are modern but with an old time style and very elegant. Only the electronic messaging system in the room is hopelessly complicated. Service is impeccable. It is now neck on neck with other landmark names like the Four Seasons again.

By flo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2005

Flo from New York Manhattan

It is a perfect hotel. You can never doubt about the service there. The location is convenient to everywhere. The hotel is a bit old but the services compensate all the shortcomings. Food at Vong is great. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed. It is not a resort hotel, remember.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2005

Feel Like an Old Style Taipan

This is my favourite hotel in HongKong. The location is super in the heart of Central. You're right off the main civic square; a 10-15 minute walk to the Lan Kwai Fong bar area. The Central station is right there where you can get to anywhere (subway, ferry, or Airport Express). I always have them pick me up in a Mercedes at the airport just for a bit of old world romance even through the Airport Express is faster and cheaper. This hotel is owned

by the Jardine empire who were the original Taipans that helped bring us the Opium War and the seizure of HongKong Island in 1841 or so. Get a copy of Clavell's Noble House or Taipan and read it in the Chinnery Bar. The rooms have a great view on the harbour side; are very nice, though not ultra modern. The water pressure in the shower is at firehose strength (very nice). The breakfast buffet is quite well done. Overall service is top notch. It's pricey though for an older 5 star but you're paying for a bit of old-style class. Margaret Thatcher stayed here during the handover in '97 and signed their copy of the Union Jack which was then taken down forever. Jardine's stock tanked after the handover on fears that the PRC would take revenge for the Opium War but they didn't and it's back up there because they still own a lot of the land around this area.

Read More

By Jessica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2004

Ungraceful and insular

Overrated. Cleaning service would throw away my cosmetics and fail to clean up empty bottles. Refreshments were replenshed irregularly. Only hotel managers spoke any english. Horrible crusty place with oily business men and cheap hookers.

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2001

the best ever!

I've never been made to feel so welcome at a hotel. I reserved a room at a promotional rate and still got a great room with a harbor view. The service is beyond perfect. The concierge saved me from two near food tragedies. I phoned the concierge when the restaurant I picked myself was full - he found another one nearby, called to reserve and gave us step by step instructions so that I could walk to. Also found the perfect place for someone dining

alone to eat dim sum and not feel shunned! The fitness facilities are excellent.

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2001

Simply perfect!!

Exceeded our expectations in every way. The service was impeccable, the rooms were large and comfortable, and the food was fabulous. Everything was perfect!

By Meg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2000

Loved it!

Our room had a balcony overlooking the harbor. It was incredibly comfortable. We spent our first morning in HK staying in - room service, massages, pedicure, etc. just to pamper ourselves. No hotel we've stayed in anywhere has made us want to give up some of our city time to just relax as we felt compelled to do here. It was wonderful.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement