Tours

Advertisement

Tours

Special-Interest Tours

Biking

The Adventure Center has two cycling packages to China, one of which follows the route of the Great Wall. You can hire bikes from them, or take your own. Bike China Adventures organizes trips of varying length and difficulty all over China.

Contacts

Adventure Center (800/228–8747. www.adventurecenter.com.)

Bike China Adventures (800/818–1778. www.bikechina.com.)

Cycle China (12 Jingshan Dong Jie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, 100009. 139/1188–6524 or 010/6402 5653. www.cyclechina.com.)

Culture

Local guides are often creative when it comes to showing you history and culture, so having an expert with you can make a big difference. Learning is the focus of Smithsonian Journeys' small-group tours, which are led by university professors. China experts also lead National Geographic's trips, but all that knowledge doesn't come cheap. Wild China is a local company with unusual trips: one of their cultural trips explores China's little-known Jewish history. The China Culture Center is a wonderful resource for tours, classes, lectures, and other events in Beijing.

Contacts

Smithsonian Journeys (855/330-1542. www.smithsonianjourneys.org.)

National Geographic Expeditions (888/966-8687. www.nationalgeographicexpeditions.com.)

WildChina (Room 803, Oriental Place, No. 9 Dongfang Donglu, Dongsanhuan Beilu, Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100027. 888/902–8808 US Toll-Free; 010/6465-6602. . www.wildchina.com.)

China Culture Center (Rm 4916, Liangma Antique Market, 27 Liangmaqiao Rd., Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100125. 010/6432–9341; 010/8420-0671 Weekend number. www.chinaculturecenter.org.)

Culinary

Intrepid Travel is an Australian company offering a China Gourmet Traveler tour with market visits, cooking demonstrations, and plenty of good eats. Imperial Tours Culinary Tour combines sightseeing with cooking lectures and demonstrations, and lots of five-star dining.

Contacts

Imperial Tours (888/888–1970. www.imperialtours.net.)

Intrepid Travel (800/970-7299. www.intrepidtravel.com.)

Hiking

The Adventure Center's Walking the Great Wall is an eight-day hiking tour along the wall itself.

Contacts

The Adventure Center (800/228–8747. www.adventurecenter.com.)

Beijing Hikers (Suite 4012, Building A, 10 Jiuxianqiao Zhong Lu, 100015. 010/6432–2786. www.beijinghikers.com/.)

More travel tips

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Beijing

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional