Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Beijing Hotels

Peninsula Beijing (Wángfǔ Bàndǎo jiǔdiàn)

  • Hall

  • Reception

  • Lobby entry

  • One view of the fantastic breakfast buffet in the restaurant Jing.

  • Marble staircase and horses in the lobby entry.

Pros

  • Close to sightseeing, restaurants, and shopping
  • Rooms are impeccable
  • Near the Forbidden City

Cons

  • Lobby is squeezed by the surrounding luxury shopping mall
  • Hectic
  • Rooms could be bigger

Updated 08/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Guests at the Peninsula Beijing enjoy an impressive combination of modern facilities and traditional luxury here—the guest rooms are a little small for this sort of hotel, but are superlatively well-appointed, with teak and rosewood flooring, colorful rugs, and high-tech touches like custom bedside control panels that let you adjust lighting, temperature, and the flat-screen TVs; the service is excellent, as is the spa. Yun Bar, on the roof, is a lovely spot for sundowner cocktails in clear weather, while Huang Ting, the better of the hotel's two restaurants, provides a beautiful hutong-inspired setting for some of Beijing's tastiest dim sum. Work off the meals in the fully equipped gym or swimming pool—or take the 10-minute walk to the Forbidden City.

Hotel Information

Address:

8 Jinyu Hutong, Wangfujing, Beijing, 100006, China

Map It

Phone:

010-8516–2888

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 525 rooms, 59 suites
  • No meals

Updated 08/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Beijing

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 12, 2006

Perfection

Just returned from a 6 nt stay here. Got a Beijing Suite for approx $450 USD/nt. Can't think of a single criticism of this hotel. Great location, fabulous service, beautiful well-appointed room, well-equipped gym (better than 90% of US hotels I have stayed in). Didn't want to leave, extended our stay twice.

By Maggie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2005

Ultra-Luxe Yet Modern Palace Set Amid Western Influences in Capital City

As a first-time visitor to the capital city, I had pre-conceived expectations to suit a westerner, remaining open-minded: it is a property among the "Peninsula" family, so expectations were HIGH. Room: 5 - Our non-smoking, (must request in advance) Beijing Suite on the 10th floor with access to their Club Lounge - similar to the Ritz-Carlton Club level, where buffet breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktails are served daily and offered to guests staying

on floors 8-14 is approx. 1200 sq. ft., accessed through double entry doors leading to a small hallway. Round dining table w/4 chairs and buffet share space with a mini-office/desk equipped with fax machine, data/modem line, etc. A powder room off the dining area and living room with 2 large couches, a chair and their signature LG 42" Plasma TV complete this living space. You find an expanded stereo/CD/DVD/AM/FM system, mini-bar, ice, hot water unit, wine glasses, tea cups as part of the living room. Best convenience: center console which controls curtains, TV, AC, telephone, alarm, privacy sign, etc next to bed, both sides - ideal for the truly lazy! Atmosphere: "4" As wary travelers, we seek peace, privacy and anonimity, so if you need to be incognito, we believe their massive lobby is NOT for everyone- a place to "be seen within the 'scene." Otherwise, staff is aware of who you are and sincerely offers their help. Service: "5" Staff helped prepare a birthday surprise and had little trouble communicating; On emergency we needed our souvenirs shipped; Club Business Lounge managed this on short-notice task and had our BIG box of Chinese goods shipped via DHL to NY in 2 days at cost. Great Service. 5star Value: "5+" Compared to its sister properties like HK or NY, rates are relatively a bargain as of this review. Yuan is gaining value.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2005

By Far The Best

This hotel is amazing. Opt for the rates that include breakfast in Jing, one of Beijing's best restaurants! The service, location and amenities were all amazing, especially the pool/workout area.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2004

I'd return in a heartbeat

This was the first of three top notch hotels we stayed in during our 2-week trip to China, and we enjoyed it thoroughly. Our room was lovely; we enjoyed the breakfast buffet ... and the wonderful (though pricey) dinners. The pool is great ... and the attendant helpful. We had some strange requests for the concierge (like, a kid's violin ... and the staff came through each time.

By Rose

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 21, 2003

Great Hotel in Great Location

We chose this hotel based on the comments I read here on RANTS AND RAVES. Everything was great - save for one small detail about the room and hallway - a slight lingering chemical smell as if renovation or wall painting was recently done. However, the windows were securely sealed!

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2001

The attention to detail was amazing. We had a wonderful time

Our stay at the Palace Hotel from start to finish was superb. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I will definitely be staying there again when I return to Beijing!

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2001

An Oasis in Bustling Beijing

This was a great hotel overall. Service wasn't the greatest, mainly because the staff didn't speak/understand as much English as I expected. However, the elegant facilities by far make up for any lack in service. The rooms are nice and the bathrooms are gorgeous. The gym and pool are some of the best I have ever seen in a hotel. Sure the designer shops are expensive, but for window shopping, where else can you find such a collection of designer

botiques all in one area?! The food at the much hyped Cantoneese restaurant isn't the greatest and many of the restaurants are closed for renovations.

Read More

By Harold

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2001

Mostly managed by the People's Liberation Army

Very disappointing hotel. The only thing upscale about this place are the boutiques in the lobby. Plumbing problems and lack-luster decor make many of Beijing's inexpensive hotels a far better option. Would be good value at $60 a night. Don't think you are getting a world class property even if it has managed to weasle its way onto the Leading Hotels roster. Peninsula should be ashamed.

By Shelley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2000

Calling All Concierge - Learn Your Craft From This Gracious Man!

Sleeping rooms seem a little '80s, but in fine condition. Elegant lobby areas, but those super-chic lower level shops were a little off-putting. The Head Concierge was simply fabulous - anticipated needs, amazing memory, great attention to detail, attentive to correctness and accuracy! He made the trip (we were there 8 days) especially when our outbound flight back to US was cancelled less than 4 hours before departure! I'd go back!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement