Air Travel

Advertisement

Air Travel

Most travelers arrive in Tanzania through Dar es Salaam airport. Many airlines fly directly to Dar es Salaam from Europe, but there are no direct flights from the United States.

KLM offers a daily flight to Dar es Salaam from Amsterdam's Schipol airport. Other airlines that fly here frequently are Air Tanzania, British Airways, Emirates, Ethiopian Airlines, Kenya Airways, South African Airways, and Swiss Air. British Airways has one flight daily from Dar es Salaam to London. Turkish Airlines flies from Istanbul to Dar es Salaam and Kilimanjaro. Oman Air flies to Dar es Salaam via Muscat and then on to Zanzibar. Qatar Airways flies to Dar es Salaam and Zanzibar via Doha. Air Tanzania has daily flights to Dar es Salaam from destinations within East Africa. Air Tanzania has several daily flights to Zanzibar.

Airlines

Air Tanzania (022/211–8411. www.airtanzania.co.tz.)

British Airways (022/211–3820. www.britishairways.com.)

Emirates (022/211–6100. www.emirates.com.)

Ethiopian Airlines (022/211–7063. www.ethiopianairlines.com.)

Kenya Airways (022/216–3917. www.kenya-airways.com.)

KLM (022/216–3917. www.klm.com.)

Oman Air (022/212–4742. www.omanair.com.)

Qatar Airways (022/219–8300. www.qatarairways.com/tz.)

South Africa Airways (022/211–7044. www.flysaa.com.)

Swiss Air (022/211–8870. www.swiss.com.)

Turkish Airlines (022/200–0016. www.turkishairlines.com.)

Airports and Transfers

Julius Nyerere International Airport, formerly Dar es Salaam International Airport, is about 13 km (8 miles) from the city center. Plenty of white-color taxis are available at the airport and will cost you about Tsh 20,000 (US$12) to the city center. This can usually be negotiated. Most hotels will send drivers to meet your plane, if arranged in advance, although this will cost more. Taxis to Msasani Peninsula, a bay to the north of the city where many of the hotels listed in this guide are located, cost about Tsh 50,000 (US$30).

Airport Contacts

Arusha Airport (027/741–530 or 027/744–317. www.taa.go.tz.)

Julius Nyerere International Airport (022/284–4371. www.taa.go.tz.)

Kilimanjaro International Airport (027/255–4252. www.kilimanjaroairport.co.tz.)

Zanzibar Airport (024/223–3979. www.zanzibar-airport.com.)

Charter Flights

The major charter companies run daily shuttles from Dar es Salaam to popular tourism destinations, such as Serengeti. Keep in mind that you probably won't get to choose the charter company you fly with. The aircraft you get depends on the number of passengers flying and can vary from very small (you'll sit in the co-pilot's seat) to a much more comfortable commuter plane. Those with a severe fear of small planes might consider road travel instead.

Due to the limited space and size of the aircraft, charter carriers observe strict luggage regulations: luggage must be soft sided and weigh no more than 44 pounds (20 kg).

Contacts

Coastal Air (Stone Town. 222/842–700. www.coastal.cc.)

Flightlink (Dar es Salaam. 782/354–448. www.flightlinkaircharters.com.)

Precision Air (022/212–1718. www.precisionairtz.com.)

Tanzanair (Dar es Salaam. 022/284–3131 or 022/211–3151. www.tanzanair.com.)

More Travel Tips

Advertisement

Trip Finder
Store
Guidebooks

Fodor's The Complete Guide to African Safaris

View Details
Travel Deals
Forums