Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cape Town Hotels

Cape Grace

  • Room with a view !!!

  • First day in South Africa

  • Corridor

  • View from Second Floor Room

  • Picnic

Pros

  • Mountain and harbor views from all rooms
  • Fabulous spa
  • Great breakfast
  • Family friendly, personlized service

Cons

  • Unconventional decor may not suit all tastes

Updated 11/20/2012

Fodor's Review

Decor at this storied hotel reflects a mélange of indigenous and foreign influences that have come to epitomize the Cape: hand-painted fabrics embellished with proteas, antiques like old cane fishing rods and Dutch china, and nautical murals make up the eclectic theme. From its stellar location in the working harbor section of the Waterfront, Cape Grace continues to charm with its library where guests can take afternoon tea, enjoy views of the ships, or cozy up by a fire.

Hotel Information

Address:

West Quay Rd., Cape Town, 8001, South Africa

Map It

Phone:

021-410–7100

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 120 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/20/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2013

The Cape Graceful

Ask anyone that knows Cape Town and they will certainly know of the Cape Grace. Located at the popular Victoria and Alfred Harbor, it is simply brilliant. On one side, you have the working waterfront itself and, on the other, a Marina in the foreground with Table Mountain and Signal Hill behind. The location and views are exceptional. Inside the hotel you will notice the murals, all hand painted by African Sketchbook, that reflect an African / nautical

theme. The hotel’s silk curtains are also hand painted with the names of old Dutch ships. All the iron work, chairs and lamps we are done by artist Conrad Hicks. I stayed in room 134 (a Table Mountain Luxury Room) which had a view of the marina and Table Mountain / Signal Hill. My bathroom had a large free standing tub and separate shower. No two rooms are decorated in the exact same way and each floor of the hotel has a color theme. Breakfast at Signal, the hotel’s restaurant, should be taken in the sunroom next to the pool. The Bascule is probably the largest and most unique whiskey bar I have ever seen, boasting 460 different types of whiskey. On the 4th floor, you will find a gym and the spa with sauna, steam rooms, and array of other complimentary amenities. Guests can of course book a wide selection of treatments as well. The location, view, posh elegance, and service is wonderful. However, this is not a good fit for the budget minded traveler. Overall a lovely 5 star property at the VA Waterfront – a great base for exploring on foot.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2007

excellent

Front desk even provided us w/ gourmet picnic backpack to climb Table Mountain!

By Trisha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2004

Simply perfection

We stayed four nights at the Cape Grace and the location is perfect for sightseeing within the V and A waterfront and for a trip to Robben Island. For other areas, a BMW took us and picked us up. The food, the room, the staff are so delightful and the view from our window watching the dragon boats was fascinating. Best of all are the staff. They are so welcoming and really want to make you feel at home. The food is superb and you almost never

want to leave. We shall return.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2003

THIS PLACE IS THE SHIZZNAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Cape grace is the best hotel I have ever stayed at!!!!!! The service is beyond belief and the food is superb!!!!!!!!!!! I love this hotel!!!

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2003

Did not want to leave

Funny how people can have such different experiences at a hotel. This is hands down my favorite hotel I've ever stayed at. It doesn't have a stuffy feel as many 5-star hotels have. We just spent 4 nights there. We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor, where they have different food and drink available in the lounge all day. The staff was so friendly and helpful that you felt like they really cared about you and wanted you to enjoy Cape Town. They

have chauffered BMWs to take you whereever you want to go, and the drivers were so nice and helpful. Breakfast was amazing, all meals at the restaurant were excellent. It was the perfect hotel experience, cannot wait to go back.

Read More

By Gavin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2003

NOT SO GRACEFUL

My girlfriend and I stayed for 5 nights in mid December. Whilst I had no obvious complaints, the hotel did not justify its 'star' rating in our opinion. The pool area was small and we found ourselves unable to get loungers one afternoon. Location is great, the staff we're pleasant and helpful,breakfast buffet was excellent rooms were comfortable and I doubt whether there is a better place to stay in Cape Town. However its not comparable to other great

hotels of the world and I wouldn't rush to go back.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2001

Think it...and they are ready to deliver it!

The service was amazing! Just wish the hotel had a view of the ocean!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement