Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Kenya Hotels

The Majlis

  • The Majlis, Lamu

    The Majlis

  • The Majlis, Lamu

    The Majlis

  • The Majlis, Lamu

    The Majlis

  • The Majlis, Lamu

    The Majlis

Pros

  • Unforgettable dhow sunset cruises
  • An excellent beach
  • Rooms have air-conditioning

Cons

  • Trips to Lamu aren't included
  • Alcohol isn't included in the full-board option

Updated 11/26/2012

Fodor's Review

The rooms in this spectacular hotel are in three villas, and as each has a sitting room with white couches, antique Swahili furniture, and African paintings and sculptures, you'll feel as though you're staying in an ultrastylish private beach house. Two of the villas have swimming pools in front, and all look out onto the beach. Rooms are large with spacious en-suite bathrooms, and the Royal Suite has magnificent views and antiques. The whole property suggests a designer with a gifted eye for detail. The food is excellent, with a focus on seafood, and because the owner is Italian, there's always a pasta course. Nonguests can book for lunch or dinner, and it's worth making the short trip here from Lamu just to immerse yourself in the surroundings.

Hotel Award Winner | 2011

Hotel Information

Phone:

020-261–7496; 0718-195–499

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 25 rooms
  • All meals

Updated 11/26/2012

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Kenya

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2012

The Majlis Review

We spent 1 week at the Majlis Resort during October, and had a memorable stay. The food was excellent, and the staff was so helping and friendly that we felt like royalty. The variety of programs offered for children were also good. The swimming pool was clean and beautiful. Other highlights of the luxury resort that impressed are its cultural excursions and tastefully designed villas which offer panoramic views of gardens and pools.

By Cathy_M

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2011

The Majlis Review

I am a British living in France. I stumbled upon this article by ‘Hotel and Lodge’ magazine which featured the Majlis resort. It looked quite exotic and nice so I decided to buy two tickets to surprise my girl friend. She totally loved the place and I have to admit, it is surreal. Must visit!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 19, 2011

The Majlis Review

Looking for peaceful and refreshing break from you daily routine? Visit the Majlis Resorts. From comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, sumptuous food, they offer everything that one can expect for a relaxing holiday.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2011

The Majlis Review

The Majlis resort is located on the “French Riviera” of the Kenyan coast. It is breathtakingly beautiful and authentic. One can easily get the most out of nature and Africa during their stay at the resort. The Majlis offers all the luxuries and is highly hygienic and safe. The food is quite delicious as well.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 7, 2011

The Majlis Review

During our travel in Kenya, we visited Lamu and stayed at The Majlis Resort. What an extra ordinary and comfortable place to stay. I must say it had a great view, a very friendly staff and extraordinarily delicious cuisine. Me and my group enjoyed our stay at the resort to the best.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 5, 2011

The Majlis Review

This was my first holiday to Lamu Island and it was simply brilliant. The staff of the Majlis hotel is no doubt the friendliest I have ever come across. I also went on a safari to Lake Kenyatta and had an amazing time.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2011

The Majlis Review

I was looking for the French Riviera on the Kenyan coast when I came across Majlis. I had never seen hotels at the most exquisite locations in Kenya. It has everything one needs- from spectacularly beautiful and clean rooms with air conditioning to the most awesome food. They also have super luxurious pools for their visitors. I give them 5 stars!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2011

The Majlis Review

I read The Majlis Resort’s reviews on ‘Hotel & Lodge’ August edition. The moment I saw the resort on the cover page, I knew this is where my wife and I are going to vacation next. The moment we landed in Lamu and stepped on to the softest of sands, it all felt so surreal. We stayed in a room which was very spacious and clean, and offered a great view. The food was amazing and they served us with excellent homemade pizzas which can give a competition

to any excellent pizza joint back home in New York. I highly recommend staying at the resort and experience one of the best times and see the most beautiful African beaches along with luxury and amazing people.

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Nov 21, 2011

The Majlis Review

Just returned from an amazing holiday at the Majlis Resorts. The hotel has an extremely friendly staff, and I could not find any fault during my stay. Overall, it was a wonderful holiday experience.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Nov 17, 2011

The Majlis Review

An amazing resort with the most delicious food I have ever eaten. It is a beautiful hotel, with clean and spacious rooms, restaurant, terrace bars, pools and a kid’s club. We stayed there for three nights and enjoyed every bit of it.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Nov 11, 2011

The Majlis Review

I stayed at the Majlis hotel for three weeks at the end of September with my husband and our 4-year old son. It is an awesome place for family holiday. The staff was so helpful that we instantly felt at home.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Nov 10, 2011

The Majlis Review

The Majlis Resort was very clean and well maintained. The food was exceptionally good, with a wide range to select from. I had an amazing time there, and I’d definitely come back.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement