Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cairo Hotels

Cairo Marriott

  • 16 Shar'a Saray al-Gezira Map It

Pros

  • The gardens of the hotel make a peaceful retreat from the city
  • The restaurants at the Marriott attract lots of Cairenes and expats, so it's a great place to feel the authentic atmosphere of the modern city

Cons

  • It's the biggest hotel in Cairo, so not for those who want more personal service

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

The centerpiece of this large hotel is a breathtaking palace built by Khedive Isma'il to give French Empress Eugénie a suitable place to stay on her visit for the opening of the Suez Canal in 1869. Unfortunately, you can't stay in the palace itself, because the Marriott's bright but comparatively indistinctive rooms are in two adjoining modern blocks. Room decor is rich but conservative, with dark woods complemented by deep blues and golds, and the same styling carries

on through the public areas.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

16 Shar'a Saray al-Gezira, Cairo, 11211, Egypt

Map It

Phone:

02-2728–3000

Website: www.marriott.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 977 rooms, 111 suites
  • No meals

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jahlie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2011

Cairo Marriott Review

Loved the Marriott. The ambience of the old palace is gorgeous and really made me feel I was in Egypt - the Egypt of my dreams. The garden and breakfast restaurants are lovely but we ate dinners out all the time. There are a number of good restaurants in the area and Drinkies just across the street (for beer and wine at 1/4 the price of the hotel). One thing I didn't like was that the banks in the hotel are stingy with small bills and coins. Except

for that, I'd stay here again

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2010

Cairo Marriott Review

The Cairo Marriott is a gigantic hotel located in Zamalek, and it is extremely luxurious. We had an executive room for 3 nights and it was fantastic! We had a balcony with two chairs with a view of the pool, courtyard, restaurants, and the Nile River. The room was just as any other room you would find in in an American Marriott. The decor throughout the hotel was classy and showed a rich, Egyptian culture. The restaurants we went to (the Bakery and

Egyptian Nights) were phenomenal- the food was fresh and had great flavor! And, for those who are homesick, there is a restaurant for any nationality (American, British, Japanese, Italian, etc.). In addition, the hotel is within walking distance of other good restaurants such as Maison Thomas and Abou El Sid. Overall, it was a great experience and if I am in Cairo again, that is where I will go.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2010

Cairo Marriott Review

I expected to like this hotel more than I actually did. Traffic was unbelievable on the way to the hotel from the airport. It was about 10 pm, but it took us well over an hour to reach the hotel. It was Valentine’s Day, so there were lots of locals out walking, driving, and celebrating, which definitely added to the traffic. (While the traffic is bad in Cairo, it’s not insane like it is in Delhi.) There is extensive security at the Marriott,

including bomb-sniffing dogs when you first arrive at the property and then a metal detector later. This hotel is a self-contained oasis, with many shops, restaurants, banks (24-hours, three ATM machines), etc. We upgraded to an executive suite, which wasn’t really up to 5 star standards. There was a separate bedroom, but only one bathroom, and that didn’t even have a separate tub and shower set up as I expected. There was no wet bar, either. The room description said it included a dining table, which it did not, and also a large balcony. It actually had two small balconies, neither of which was viewable or connected to the other; just an odd setup. I expected lounge chairs out there, and each one just had a tiny table and two chairs. Neither of the balcony lights worked on our first night, although maintenance fixed them the next day. The toiletries were below 5-star standards; just ordinary products you would find in a Fairfield Inn in the US. The lounge was worthwhile, though. Internet access is NOT free. We stayed at the Marriott for three nights. We had some trouble with our pre-arranged airport/hotel transfer. We went to the Marriott desk (the JW Marriott shares with the Cairo Marriott) in the arrivals area, but there was no employee present as we had been told to expect. We did see a man in a suit with a Marriott nametag, who told us that the $30 Lancer car that we had arranged through the hotel and asked to have added to our bill would take a very long time to get there. He instead offered us another car service for the same price, but we had to pay cash. It was hard to know if he was scamming us or not, but things turned out fine.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2009

Cairo Marriott Review

On our recent trip to Egypt, we ranked the Marriott Cairo third overall in terms of our experience (#1 was the Hilton Luxor, #2 Mena House in Cairo; #4 was the Sheraton El Gouna and a distant #5 was the Moevenpick in Aswan). At the Marriott, service at the front desk was a little more impersonal than our experiences at Mena House, the Hilton Luxor and the Sheraton El Gouna but still very efficient and pleasant. We were given a complimentary upgrade

and access to the Concierge Lounge (because I have Gold status). Staff in the lounge were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. I saw one of the waiters at one point make special arrangements for one of the guests to prepare special servings of the foods offered in the buffet because the guest had a gluten allergy; he apologized for the fact that it would take 15 minutes. The hotel was conveniently located and has lovely grounds. Food in the lounge (complimentary breakfast and then snacks through the day was good, and the concierge staff made reservations at local restaurants for us. Our room was what you would expect of a high-end Marriott: medium-large; new-looking furnishings, bedding and bath fixtures; very comfortable bed, etc. Once in our room, however, we could have been anywhere in the world - but that's ok, it was what I was expecting. Be sure to take a copy of the hotel's notepaper, with the hotel name and address written in Arabic, with you. (The Marriott Cairo has special notepads at the concierge desk for just this purpose, where they also write directions for where you want to go.) We had expected that since the Cairo Marriott is very well known, most taxi drivers would be able to find it, but we encountered one who didn't.

Read More

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2006

Most Pleasant Hotel in Cairo

I travel to Cairo for business four times a year and once again, I chose to stay at the Marriott in January. While there are hotels with more luxurious rooms, the views from the upper floors are wonderful. The rooms are comfortable and of a nice size. Nothing beats sitting in the garden enjoying a pipe and a lemonade in the evening. The staff is friendly. This is the place to stay in Cairo.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2003

We Called It Home

We have stayed at this hotel on 2 seperate occassions. The first time in the bungalow type rooms and the 2nd time in a suite. I found the rooms superb and service marvelous. Dining downstairs in the cafeteria style restaurant where the meals changed daily 3 times a day was wonderful also. I will go back

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2002

Dirty and unacceptable

The room at the Marriott was DIRTY. The health club at the Marriott was DIRTY. The first room they gave me was totally unacceptable and I demanded to move. The next room had drapes so dirty that I would only open them with a kleenex. I demanded the drapes be cleaned and they were. I also had the bedspread washed. The hotel is beautiful, but I think all the attention and focus goes to public areas and not to the bedrooms. Also, the food at Marriott's

Country Kitchen was uneatable. I was going to write a letter of complaint, but then figured they don't pay me to do quality control for that hotel. They have eyes just like I do and can see the dirt just as clearly as I did. If the choose not to notice, so be it. I have no stock in that company.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement