Europe: Know which currency you’ll be using

Posted by Fodor's Editors on October 28, 2010 at 2:00:00 AM EDT | Post a Comment

Denmark, Great Britain, Sweden, and Switzerland, although part of the European Union, are not part of the monetary union, and therefore each uses its local currency.

Posted in Travel Tips Tagged: Sweden, Switzerland

Member Comments (3)  Post a Comment

  • cdob on Oct 28, 10 at 07:21 PM

    This article is going to come as a shock to anyone currently holding Swiss francs, like, say, the Swiss.

  • luxliving on Oct 28, 10 at 11:36 AM

    With the Euro, it's now much easier to travel across Europe and not worry about all the different currencies. Yes, the above countries still do require an exchange.

  • henare on Oct 28, 10 at 04:59 AM

    when did switzerland join the european union?