Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

Trip Report: Tanzania & Nairobi (December 2007)

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 26th, 2007, 08:39 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Someone posted that the two parts should be together to make it easier to find, so here they are again.

Part I:

Old Dec 26th, 2007, 08:40 AM
Original Poster

Part I:

I’ve never written a trip report before, but I spent so much time lurking on this board when planning/preparing for our once in a lifetime safari and I received so many helpful responses when I finally worked up the nerve to start posting myself questions myself, that I wanted to return the favor.

My husband and I just returned from an 8-day safari in Tanzania with a day trip in Nairobi before TZ and an afternoon in Nairobi on the way back. When I started planning our trip, the questions uppermost in my mind were which tour operator to use, which parks to go to, and which hotels/lodges/tented camps to stay at, so those are the questions I’ll try to address here.

A little background: I just turned 40 (I still can’t wrap my head around that one!) and my husband is 46. We both like to travel, but I’m definitely not a “roughing it” person. I firmly believe one’s experience of the great outdoors is enhanced, not diminished, by being able to end the day with a hot shower and a comfortable bed. If you’re one of those people who likes “roughing it” then stop reading now. You’re going to hate this trip report. If the idea of being able to take a bubble bath with a view or blow dry your hair in the middle of the Serengeti appeals to you, then read on.

It looks like this trip report is going to be very long and I don’t want to bore anyone, so I’m putting in headings so you can just skip down to the parts that interest you. Now that I’ve gotten the disclaimers out of the way, here goes . . .