Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

What do you think of the Montparnasse are?

Old Jan 23rd, 2009, 03:27 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been to Paris many times and know the city quite well. I usually stay in the the 7th but for my upcoming trip I'm considering a different area due to hotel prices. I've found a hotel in the 14th called Hotel des Bains. There isn't much about the hotel on the forum but it has great reviews on Trip Advisor and w/Fodors. Does anyone know the hotel and...your thoughts about staying in Montparnasse? I don't know this area well except the train station and the hotel is a few quieter blocks away.
Old Jan 23rd, 2009, 03:52 PM

I lived on Rue du Texel, a stone's throw from the Gare, when I was a student on my first trip to Europe. I really like the XIV, because it's more like a little village than an urban neighborhood. Lodging values tend to be better than down by the river, but it's still an easy walk to Invalides, St. Germain, and the Latin Quarter. If you're a Métro fan, you'll find there are four lines plus RER B to whisk you away to almost anywhere in Paris.
Old Jan 23rd, 2009, 04:03 PM

I like the way Robespierre described it - the 14th feels a lot different from the central part of Paris - it's a regular neighborhood.

I've stayed there twice & liked it. It's definitely less expensive. It's easy to take the RER to CDG.

Sorry, don't know anything about the hotel.
Old Jan 23rd, 2009, 04:06 PM
yk

I'm a Montparnasse convert. It's a great neighborhood with more affordable restaurants, and the best part is the ease of transportation. There are tons of bus lines from Montparnasse that go everywhere in Paris, and that's not including all the different metro lines.
Old Jan 23rd, 2009, 04:51 PM