Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

What do you do for a living & how much vacation/holiday time do you get?

Old May 7th, 2001, 12:52 PM
Danny

I have been a quiet observer for the most part on this board for a few months now..., however, after reading many of the posts it seems like many of the people here travel more than once or twice a year. I work in marketing and make what I thought was good money. However, I get two weeks vacation per year. I get the basic U.S. holidays off, and I have a week of sick time. It is frowned upon to take your sick time as vacation time. And most of the time I have too much work to even think about getting away for two weeks at once.

What do everyone here do for a living, and how much vacation/holiday time do you get?

Old May 7th, 2001, 01:23 PM
Marie

52 weeks a year -- ah, the joys of retirement. Only problem is, our travel budget is a bit limited.

Old May 7th, 2001, 01:44 PM
Rachel

17 days off, and I usually take a few more unpaid. I'm an accountant (luckily no longer a public accountant, so I can actually take those all of my vacation). I'm taking a month off for my next vacation.

Old May 7th, 2001, 02:03 PM
Beth

Secretary/personal assistant - four weeks (been here 10 years) and have more accrued from years I didn't take it all. Headed for Paris and surroundings in late July!

Old May 7th, 2001, 02:09 PM
Steve