Back To Line

MSC Cruises: MSC Divina

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By John_CR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2017

Eastern Caribbean

My wife and I scheduled a cruise in December of 2016. Our previous experience with cruises were quite different, in that they, unlike MSC, apparently did concern themselves with customer satisfaction. It began with an absolute disaster of an embarkation process. Rather than assigning arrivals to group boarding, thus enabling them to remain seated and comfortable in the interim, MSC opted for the cutthroat approach; everyone gets in line

and stays there. We arrived at 11:30 and did not actually make it onto the ship until after 5PM. Additionally, we were told that the reason the boarding process was so long, was an extreme vetting routine performed by the Customs for all egressing passengers. That was a lie. We spoke to departing passengers who mentioned nothing of this at all, but instead regaled us with tales of disoriented and uncoordinated egress routines form the line which, as we discovered, is absolutely the truth. Apparently, those boarding after us were told the same lie, so we rectified it by informing as many as we could of the truth. When we finally did board, we eventually found our room despite the incorrect information on the provided maps. My guess is, the Divina was retrofitted, and they never bothered to update the paper maps. That fact speaks volumes for this cruise line. (editor's note: the Divina is a fairly new ship and has not been retrofitted) We finally reached the room, to find out luggage had not yet made it. Odd, considering in less time on other lines, our bags were waiting for us. (editor's note: it is rare for luggage to be delivered immediately upon passenger boarding on mass market cruise lines), and the room steward paraded the halls introducing himself and memorizing customer names. On the Divina, the bags were missing, no steward to be found. We finally did meet ours, though only saw her once. I didn't bother to mention since it was days later, that upon our arrival the bathroom was dingy, and there were hairs in the sink. Remarkable attention to detail is another trait lacking across the board with MSC. We had not eaten since breakfast that morning, so we sought something to tide us until dinner. The buffet (an accurate term if one is merely describing a function that presents copious quantities of food-like substances) was open, so we placed a few items onto plates and looked for a beverage station. The coffee bar was open (or so we thought) and my wife merely asked where one might get a beverage. The attendant rolled his eyes, and appeared impatient that his reverie was disturbed. We were astounded and disgusted by this person's lack of even the most basic of manners and discarded our food trays, having now lost our appetite. Rest assured, she nor I are prima donnas, expecting the employees to act as servants to our every whim, but likewise, we don't expect rude behavior as a response for a simple query when a simple direction would have sufficed. It is interesting to note that on a different occasion, my wife wanted a real coffee (the free stuff at the buffet is watery nonsense) and was willing to pay. She requested a cappuccino and with another disgusted look by the barista and a dismissive wave of the hand, he informed here the free coffee is over there. My wife is a smoker (vapor, to be fair) and after the stresses of the day thus far, needed a release. Following the false map once again led us to an area that at one time allowed smoking, but no longer did. Her inquiries to bartenders and wait staff alike again resulted in rude, curt, and abrupt responses, also with no direction, but merely resolution that this was 'not the area, go somewhere else'. About that time, a garbled announcement started all passengers were required to obtain the life vest from their cabins and attend the safety meeting. We had experienced this previously on other lines, as a coordinated effort, broken out into small manageable groups, each that would be assigned a particular life boat. The address in these previous trips had been clear, short, and to the point. Not so with MSC. A large group formed in one of the wrap-around dining areas. Where we sat, we could neither see, nor hear the briefing. We sat immobilized, unsure of what to do, when some folks started to try on their life jackets. Most just sat there and waited. No one heard or understood what was being said, if anything, but we did waste 45 minutes doing it. At some point, people just started to filter out. The comforting thing was, we realized after the fact we could have merely checked in with our key card, and walked away. (editor's note: from personal experience I can attest that the emergency drills on MSC Divina are not conducted to the rigor they ought to be) We finally acquired some food (we had late seating for dinner and could not wait), we decided to look into the cigar room, as I am an avid cigar enthusiast. I noticed several things about this so called well appointed cigar lounge; it was not a lounge, at least not until a certain time, it was remarkably warm (as was the entire ship which makes for fun formal nights), and there lacked any smoke removal process within that small area. During my week-long detainment in this gulag of a ship, I noticed that by the time the bar opened (around 5:30) the smoke was so thick, most people could not breathe in there, and your clothes reeked of stale cigar smoke and sweat. Side note, Alex the bartender and his sole waitress were the singular high points of the entire trip. Apparently, they left port with a single half bottle of Macallan scotch on board, with no means or stock to refresh it. Well planned, MSC. Alex took it upon himself to scour the other bars on the ship and find me the remnants of other areas to restock his bar for me. As I said, he's a winner. Our first dinner in the dining room. I was anticipating this, as previous cruises meant wonderful vistas (ocean through the windows), clean and appropriately defined tables, excellent food, and superior customer service. I still recall the head waite's name and his three kids from our first cruise, he left such a good impression. "Jeff" on this cruise left an impression as well, but not a positive one. The food was disgusting. Ossobuco that was 95% bone, 4% fat, and 1% edible. I literally had one and a half bites. Alfredo that was overcooked pasta and a teaspoon of some sauce that was not alfredo. I lived in Italy for a time, I know what it's supposed to taste like. I have pictures. The table 'decoration' was a single, fake orchid that was stained with the food particulate from previous guests and falling apart. The sad nature of our table decoration conveyed what our experience in dining would be the entire trip. Lackluster, miniscule, and disappointing. For an additional fee, they will feed you edible food; how comforting. We never saw the maître d; I guess he doesn't visit second seating. Other in first seating saw him, and told him of the same woes. They were given coupons for the Eataly restaurant and found it to be devoid of value and were glad they didn't pay. Not only was most of the food inedible, the portion sizes were ridiculously small. Even the ladies at our table were asking for second appetizers, only to be met with consternation and disapproval from the waiter. Oh, no views either, and it was hot as hades in there. As for 'Jeff' the waiter. Our first night, we had no idea you only get water or bad coffee with dinner, so my wife asked for iced tea. The waiter rolled his eyes (a common theme) put his hand in my wife's face, and said "you'll just have to wait a minute" and walked away without taking our order. I leapt from my chair asking if there was a problem, as I didn't appreciate his putting his hand in my wife's face. He said there was no problem, and walked off. No matter what we or the other diners at our table asked for, if it was out of the ordinary in Jeff's mind, it was a clear problem. At the coffee/gelato bar near the cigar room, I attempted to garner my own cup of cappuccino, as noted previously, no one ever serviced the cigar lounge and the bar was closed all day. I was at first ignored by the barista, then pointed toward the waitress also just standing there at the counter, who reluctantly helped me by repeating what I had just ordered (as though the barista did not comprehend it (yes she also spoke English). Our first night, the door which separates the balconies from the rooms (which I assume opens in the base of multi-room suites for families) was not secured, and banged all night. I attempted to call the service desk, several times, with no response. The next morning, after getting no sleep because of it, I went to the desk, explained the problem, and they informed me someone would fix it. No apologies, no empathy, just a conditional response. We met many others, in fact everyone we spoke to across the internment agreed to the horrible conditions on this ship and the poor customer service. We honestly considered leaving the ship and flying home at the first port. One man was provided free cruises (2) for MSC including air travel from a casino in Las Vegas. He intends to throw away the other, he was so disappointed. Departure day came, much to our excitement, only to find we were forced to evacuate our rooms by 7 AM, but not allowed to leave the ship until after 10:30 AM. The only offer of advice during the entire trip from the staff was to “not evaluate the whole ship based upon single episodes (plural) of disappointment”. That indicates they are aware of the malaise on the part of the crew and the impact to customers, and yet, still do not care. I sent a typed letter to several key individuals at MSC, including the CEO and to the parent company's CEO Diego Aponte in Geneva. The lackadaisical response is one I should have anticipated, given the state of their employees. It truly flows downhill, and the employees act as the management team. I clearly stated each of my concerns and in every circumstance, I was offered false condolences followed by pathetic excuses. In fact, the Mr. Richard Sasso, chairman of MSC Cruises immediately negated my entire argument right from the start by stating that he receives many complimentary letters; an indication that I must be somehow responsible, or overly sensitive. Most of my comments were ignored, and presented with some canned response that does not even remotely address my concerns and the entire letter is dismissive – so much like their staff. In the end, he offered me a $200 per person cruise credit, should I opt to try them again. As I explained, I would not take another cruise if they gave me one. I am less concerned with the wasted money (but I would have accepted a partial refund in principle) as I am with the wasted time. That was the most significant loss, and not something that is replaceable. I would avoid MSC altogether, unless you thrive on constant disappointment.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2016

Bahamas

We have been on seven cruise lines, we wanted to try a different line we saw the advertisement for MSC cruise line for seven days. Our first dinner was not good, we picked sirloin steak it was so small we thought it was a pork chop. The next night we got prime rib, and it was so small we thought it was a small steak. The third night we got clams and mussels the shell was an inch and the clam was ½ inch and onlygave one each. This went on for

the whole cruise, the food was terrible and the service was even worse. We would order eggs after we were finished we would get toast. We had lobster with no dipping butter. What we would order never came and would go to the next coarse. All eight hot tubs were full of kids and they were snorkeling, one hot tub had nine children in it. The pool bars were very small they were run with only three bartenders (1 man) would make drinks for the people (2nd man) would make smoothie for the kids, (3rd man) made drinks for the waitress. Fights broke out every day and yelling at the one bartender. About 300 people waiting for (1) man to fix drinks. The food court was like a feeding frenzy. The children were piling their plates up and then spilling it all over the food court and the hallway plus the elevators. The shows were awful except one show was over the top GREAT. The other shows were operas and ballet not Broadway style. The ship was always late leaving the dock because they would wait for the rude people to come aboard. The other cruise lines blow there horns 3 times and then leave. When you had tours, the tour guide off the ship held a small number and you had to run to find him; a lot of people lost their tour had to go back on the ship. The club had 10 year olds sitting at the bar at 1:00 in the morning; my husband and I stayed just to watch what was going on. The dance floor was all teens, and we saw older young men buying drinks for these 15 year olds. It was one big teen dance with no regulations of crew members to stop children from entering the club. The bowling alley looked like a teen dance could not even get in the door, children running everywhere. There were 30 children walking with the ships babysitting service and we saw only two crew members with all these children. The early debarkation was CRAZY they had a line of people getting off the ship from the theater thru the casino up the hallway seems like 200 hundred people were overcrowding the deck. We were the last to get off the ship at 11:00 because they had so many people getting off at once, we were delayed for hours. In closing I will say it was the cleanest cruise line we have every been on. The employees were cleaning non stop, the walls and rugs and disinfecting the whole ship everywhere. We guess because all of the children spilling food and drinks everywhere. This ship was too big too many people and not enough staff, no supervision or standards of children from the management. Our first dinner was not good, we picked sirloin steak it was so small we thought it was a pork chop. The next night we got prime rib, and it was so small we thought it was a small steak. The third night we got clams and mussels the shell was an inch and the clam was ½ inch and only gave one each. This went on for the whole cruise, the food was terrible and the service was even worse. We would order eggs after we were finished we would get toast. We had lobster with no dipping butter. What we would order never came and would go to the next coarse. Nice size cabin and the bathroom was big The shows were awful except one show was over the top GREAT. The other shows were operas and ballet not Broadway style Pay for the excursions off ship they are half price and most of them are cab companies (safe) they will wait for you to finish tour.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2016

Bahamas St Martin San Juan

I have been on several cruises and this was the worst I have ever had. Service was not on their top ten list or even top 100 list. Food was awful. Would never take another cruise with them again. Staff was at times rude unless you were traveling in the Yacht Club area. Not at all up to any other lines food. We were looking forward to some good Italian food but it was not to be found with this cruise line. Balcony room was nice.

Balcony area was on the small side Stateroom service was very poor. Most days it was mid afternoon before serviced. One night we had to look for steward to make up sofa bed for granddaughter at 10:30 P.M. Well below other cruise line standards. Evening shows were good. Pool deck activities were lacking Wish I had taken another cruise line. Sorry I wasted money with MSC

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2016

sadly disappointed

We went to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and needless to say there were only 4 good things about this cruise. Embarkation took less than 30 minutes, weather was awesome, debarkation took less than 30 minutes, and it was good to get away. With the exception of our room steward, who was amazing and friendly everything else was terrible. We ate in the dining room 3 times (breakfast, lunch, dinner - 3 different days) and everything was cold!

So we went to the buffet, again cold. Didn't matter if we were one of the 1st in line, middle or end, food was still cold. We basically ate salads, fruit, cereal the entire crew until be got on land in ports. Value was way more than what we have paid on cruise lines. Decor was OK. Nothing to rave about. I think this is the 1st ship we have ever been on where there was not 1 deck you could walk around the entire ship (unless we didn't find it). This was our 1st cruise on an MSC line and we will not be back!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2016

Bermuda

We have cruised many times on Carnival and Royal Caribbean. We decided to try something new, and MSC looked like pretty ships so we gave the MSC Divina a try. This cruise was the absolute worst we have ever been on. We will NEVER choose MSC again. The employees, by large, were not friendly or helpful. They would walk by in groups of 2 or 3 only speaking to each other and not even acknowledging guests. The Maitre D' was rude with us and

many other guests around us while dealing with dinner seating problems. The service staff in the dining room was terrible. The waiter never introduced himself, and we still aren't sure which one he was. Our dinner order was incomplete, my dinner was cold, and no one even came by to refill drinks ar check on our meals. I ordered fettuccine Alfredo that was not even as good as Olive Garden's (as an Italian ship that is pathetic). After that travesty we often had meals in the main buffet, with one again cold food, and disgraceful options. My husband pre-ordered internet minutes for work. The service was awful. He continually got dropped from the internet, and then their program would continue to dock him minutes, so we ended up having to spend more money just to get a little work done. Out of the 200 minutes used total, he only could connect for about 40 minutes. The first 2 very long days at sea were cold and windy. Obviously MSC cannot be blamed for the weather, however, there were hardly any activities. We are used to Carnival and RC ships that always have something fun going on, and several items at the same time. It's usually fun in the a.m. after breakfast before afternoon sun, but on this cruise ship there were no such activities. Their activities director should most definitely be ashamed of himself. We also pre-ordered a picture package. That was also a mess, no one would answer our questions as far as which sizes and which pictures were included. The staff just kept repeating "Oh, we'll deal with that on the last day." Well, the last day came and all of the pictures we wanted were conveniently not included. We had to submit an order to reprint the photos in a smaller size. We were told to come back after 9pm. I set an alert on my phone and waited in line, then the same man that told me after 9pm said "no, I told you 9:30". No sir, you did not. I had to wait another 30 minutes to pick them up. All in all a pretty miserable week for $2,000. NEVER again!

Read More
  • New

Apr 11, 2016

Above and Beyond

A week ago we came back from our trip and I am still recovering from all the fun. So I am writing this email to say THANK YOU! We had an amazing time, our experience with MSC was fantastic and I truly cannot say enough good things about the ship, the crew members, the food, the shows, the spa, the pool, the kids club, and everything else we got to enjoy, but to be honest, I think this great experience started with you, so I wanted to say THANK YOU!

I have been telling everyone about our experience and I hope they can get to enjoy an MSC cruise as much as we did. There were some specific crew members that went above and beyond to make our group of 23 people have an amazing experience. I cannot remember the last name of 1 of them, but please see below: • Black Crab Restaurant – Mahendra, he is from Bali. He was our server during dinner time and he took such good care of our 11 kids. Very patient, polite, and gentle with them. • Bar waiter – Nickel Bowen – Amazing attitude, always smiling and checking in on us. Such great character and disposition to help. • Entertainment team – Carlos Ekrem Palace - Again, super helpful, funny, motivating and always taking good care of us. • Kids Club staff – Our kids loved every single one of them. Kudos to all.

Read More
  • New

Apr 7, 2016

WOW

In our Yacht Club area....the men were in grey stripe trousers and black coat with tails. We also had our own Butler, in this dress. Our gorgeous lounge of 180 degrees at the bow of the ship on the 15th deck with these dressed men was fabulous. On special occasions they wore white gloves. This lounge was our livingroom for 64 cabins. Buffet area had all food items displayed on long black platters. #1 Breakfast time had Salmon lox on baguette

slices. Etc etc. big spread. Sweet items, almond paste etc. with crust from springform pan. Fruit etc. It was a special presentation. #2 Then all taken away and replaced with lunch apps. Variety of nuts presentation ...tuna with olives creamed on bread etc etc. sandwiches of mini croissants with ham and cheese Some sweets etc,,BIG variety again..... #3 Then cocktail time apps arrive with 4 kinds of olives, or the same of onions, some marinated, apps of BIG variety. And all this changed to different items each day. I saw and ate items I never have seen before !! Each change of food time had Variety Galore !! #4 After dinner and the stage show.....Sweets, nuts, chocolate everything you can imagine, desserts galore in small servings. (Thank god) Now for what to drink.... ANYTHING YOU WANTED !!!!!!! AT ANYTIME !! All day and night long. Their decaf coffee latte, or cappuccino etc. etc. was wonderful. Huge variety of teas. We learned of a new drink.....Aperol Spritz . It is a sweet and sour, Italian drink. We are going to have a bottle at each house.....!! AND it didn't seem to have a lot of alcohol ..... I think proseco was in it too. Now for the room. Ultra suede on the walls. Beautiful fabrics !! A MIRROR was the back wall of the tub. Glass for half of the wall to hold the water in. Marble in apricot and grey veining made the floor, front of the tub and counter with same marble molded into a sink. Mirrors everywhere. One had a huge frame and as wide as the bed and floor to ceiling. Bedding was so wonderful. Sleeping pillows had a flat fringe around the whole thing and felt wonderful.! Balcony had 2 chairs and table. Champagne on ice with fruit as we arrived..... Fruit changed every day....strawberries with chocolate arrived and waiting when we asked for ice for the champagne the next night. They didn't miss a beat anywhere. We were so IMPRESSED with everything. They out did themselves with surprises for us at every turn. Getting off the ship, we were escorted all the way....... Oh, our own piano music, sometimes a violinist, every night starting at cocktail hour in the gorgeous lounge. The stage shows and singers and dancers were fantastic, the best I have seen. 5 exceptional singers We would go down to the main ship and the regular passengers..... Easter vacation had all the kids etc. and noise. We could hardly wait to get back to our sanctuary !! Using the secret sliding door to our area had us in A/C and quiet. Thank god. We had our own pool and 2 spas with more apps and drinks ...of anything.... Even breakfast up there on the 18 deck with all the private sun bathing, on the top of the ship. We used the lounge as other people, as our living room. Gaawd !!! What a trip !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Of luxury .......... Our private dining room...was fabulous. I'm going to send you a picture of that with both of us. matre'd Was Italian from my grandfathers town. He greeted everyone with joy. What a special Italian man. I even told him so in front of his boss. He warmed up EVERYONE AND MADE ALL OF US FEEL SPECIAL. He deserved a HUGE compliment, and I did so !! Wine and champagne flowed freely the whole time in there. Food was special too. John had lamb and lox salmon until it almost came out his ears...... Gawd,,,,what a special food trip this was in elegance !!! We want to do it again.........!!!!! They have 4 ships that have the Yacht Club built in. WOW. What a cruise !!! I suggest you book a cruise with the Yacht Club on it with MSC Cruise Line.

Read More
  • New

Mar 13, 2016

Eastern Carribean

My wife and I went on a cruise on the MSC Divina. We had read bad reviews on the ship but wanted to go with a group call the Holistice Holiday for the purpose of hearing various health related lectures. We thought, how could it be that bad for only a week. The lectures were excellent but the cruise wasn't. We will never be so foolish again. The issues: 1. We were among the first at the gate. After waiting where all indications

were that we were supposed to be, we found they were letting late comers board at a different location. 2. Our group had vegan meals planned in a dining room. The dining room was very crowded, the service was SLOW and the food pretty bad (wilted greens, etc.). We're used to vegan food so it was the preparaton thereof and not a fault of the food per se. 3. Some of the food in the buffet area was OK but the cantelope and honeydew mellon wasn't ripe. The watermelon, kiwi, bananas and pineapple were good. Some of the vegetables were OK but for unknown reasons they fried their hash browns in lard (yuck). 4. We didn't buy a drink package. The drinks available in the buffet area were watery and in general terrible. In addition, the uhwash horde brought in their water bottles to fill and so in the process contaminating the drink dispensers with their germs. 5. A couple of dispensers were available for those wishing to use Purell but not many availed themselves of them. In other words, hygiene was pretty abysmal. Who knows what went on in the kitchen where we couldn't look. 6. For a tall person (I'd say 6 feet 5 inches and up). the signs in the buffet area are treacherous. I managed to hit one with my head putting a gash in it that bled profusely. I was taken to the on board clinic where the immediate concern seem to be how I was going to pay for treatment. I ended up not needing stitches and didn't pay anything which is good because if I had been, I would have explored a law suit with my attorney. 7. Our cabin appeared not to have been cleaned. There were smears on the phone, stuff caked on a table, crumbs on the floor and someone's dirty underwear and a swiming suit on a shelf. 8. Thursday I started getting a cough. Friday I was in bed most of the day with a fever up to 102 degrees F even with Tylenol on board. Saturday I was better and managed to drag myself off the ship. I didn't feel like doing much for several more days pretty much spoiling the rest of my vacation. The moral of the story, DON'T take lack of hygiene casually. 9. The theater on deck 6 is TREACHEROUS. Read that again. During one 1.5 hour lecture, three people fell hard right by use and another one or two fell on the other side of the theater. In fact during the lectures I attended, there was at least one fall or near fall each time. If they had tried to design a room to make people fall, I don't think they could have done a better job. 10. The crew we dealt with in general had a limited command of English. Perhaps if you were used to living in Italy you would be happier on this ship. The Holistice Holiday lectures were excellent (no thanks to the MSC Divina since they weren't responsible for them). We didn't go on excursions.

Read More
  • New

Jan 20, 2016

Caribbean

It was o.k., I wasn't expecting the pushing and shoving that went on everyday. I felt as though most of the passengers were foreigners, and they were very rude. I was very, very disturbed that the entire ship was taken over by kids, that's not what I want on my vacations. There was not one area where adults could go and not have kids running around. There was an area on the ship where the kids used the pool for a toilet and the entire area smelled

like urine. The food was good, they served a variety of different foods daily. My room was great, it was roomy with a nice balcony that seated at least three people. The bathroom was spacious and easy to move around in, I was not expecting that. The ship was full of beautiful lounging area (very up to date), but they were empty. The entertainment that was chosen for these areas was lacking amusement. I was not inclined to see any of the entertainment, except for the shows in the theater. Every American that I met on the ship expressed their disappointment and frustration regarding the rudeness of the foreigners. Some of the staff was rude as well. The ship is not responsible for the passengers behavior, so I think I'll let the foreigners have this cruise line.

Read More

By Tina86

  • New

Aug 27, 2015

A wonderful experience!

I was in the Caribbean with msc, Puertorico, Bahamas and S.Marteen from port of miami. The ship it's amazing, elegant and chic, the staff very friendly and the food the best thing!!! Variety of dishes and all very tasty!My room is clean, spacious and comfortable...I love it!

  • New

Apr 21, 2015

Bahamas

This was my fourth cruise. We sailed from Miami to private island then to Nassau, Bahamas which is not a normal itinerary for MSC. This was a Monsters of Rock chartered cruise so it it is not indicative of their typical cruise. That said I feel we were treated like we were not welcome at all. This was primarily adults, ages varied but most were 30-50 years old as this was a gathering of 80's music fans. The cruise line apparently "scaled back" on

service, food and beverages. Bar staff was borderline rude, they gave warm bottles of water and beer, they were understaffed, never once was there a waitress or waiter found on the decks taking orders. There was no soap in out rooms as you normally find, no washcloths, the public restrooms were running out of toilet paper and hand soap by day four.There was absolutely no assistance offered to passengers in general. On disembarkation day, there was much confusion about where to go, no announcements made about the process. I realize this was a group that could be seen as "wild" but there was none of that on the ship. Just listening to music/watching bands until late in the night. I feel MSC has missed an opportunity to capture devoted cruise goers because of their lack of attention and this poor representation of their cruise line. I, for one, would not book another cruise with them. The food on this cruise was bearable day one but by the end of the cruise, was awful. The buffet, which on this cruise was our main source of food as there was a tight band schedule with few long breaks for sit down meal, was so limited it was unbelievable. Every night the same food was offered. Pizza, hamburgers, hotdogs, French fries. There was a night on the second day when some Mexican food, burritos, nachos, etc was offered after midnight. There was fruit and salad. No carving station. Two or three areas of the buffet were closed and this was a sold out cruise, not one cabin empty. The lines were very busy. Morning food was exactly the same every day, premade ham and cheese omelettes with no ham or cheese, dry cinnamon rolls, oatmeal, bacon, etc. Food was cold, drinks (water,beer) was warm. By the end of this cruise I was so excited to eat something different! We had four in our stateroom which was a balcony room. The shower did not drain well, filled with 3-4 inches of water each shower. The shower door leaked so water pooled on the bathroom floor. In all fairness, I never had time to tell them about these issues. The room was decent size as cabins go. The lighting sucks for putting on make up but that's personal preference I guess. The only other complaint was there was only one outlet in the room to recharge phones/cameras. That was a little difficult with four adults with phones. Our cabin steward was nice and friendly. Nothing exceptional but made us feel welcome. The onboard actives were not typical as it was a chartered cruise. The itinerary was not my favorite but MSC may not have any say in this. I had a great time with friends, loved the entertainment, but the overall experience of this cruise left a lot to be desired. We paid quite a bit to attend this, more than a typical cruise, so I was expecting a better cruise experience. MSC really missed an opportunity to entice travelers to sail with them. There were so many complaints about the food and service, I feel many of my fellow mates, who came from all over the world, would agree they would not cruise with MSC again. I truly hope that Monsters of Rock takes their business to another cruise line in the future.

Read More
  • New

Apr 19, 2015

Disappointed

We chose this cruise based on advertisement of 3 days/2 nights in Bermuda. Instead we were notified the week of the cruise of a change in itinerary to 1/1/2 days and 1 night in port. For this we received $25 per person for our "inconvenience". This was more than an inconvenience. This felt very much like a "bait and switch".

  • New

Apr 16, 2015

eastern caribean

We went on the Easter week with a big group with all different age we all have fun and have a good time. Divina have the best shown at sea. they been rating #1 show at sea for 2014. I love to see their show they are the best.. compared to my 10 times cruise. The food in the buffet is very good lot of choice, and the qualities is good . lots of fruit and desert are very good. I love the chicken and fish they made are the best., dining room food

Is above average. the coffee bar is the best coffee at sea try the frozen coffee they are better then Starbuck. buy the coffee voucher they are very cheap and save lot of money. with drink voucher too. Good sized cabin and very clean the bed is very comfortable. the steward is very friendly and worked hard Lots of activities on the ship and lot of dance lesson and lot of music and bar you don't get bored if you are an active person will keep you busy. The entertainmers work all day and night and they are very friendly I go on my own with my group so we did not took any excursions This trip was one of among my best cruises. I enjoyed every moment on the ship. and I would come back on Divina again.

Read More

By Vera_CR

  • New

Mar 23, 2015

miami - caribbean

First of all I really do recommend a cruise with MSC Divina. We just returned from our cruise starting at Miami to the Caribbean for 1 week. We really enjoyed the trip but unfortunately I recognize some improvements to be done as I am working also in hospitality since 9 years. You have the possibility to eat at the buffet restaurant which was always quite crowded but for a quick lunch it`s totally fine and you can have pizza, salads & co.

At the evening we went always to the restaurant with service where you have always a seat reserved. The waiters there are great! They make jokes and after the second day they already know what kind of wine you prefer. We had the second table time at 8.45 pm which was in my opinion quite late and we had to wait a few times till the first group had finished and the waiter had prepared everything for us. We had a table with 6 people sitting, but it was quite nice as you can have small talk with them. so don`t expect that you get a table just for the 2 of you. We booked a balcony room which was very spacious and you had a nice view to the destinations you are heading to. Our steward was great! He changed the towels 2 times a day (which was not really necessary) and they also provide sun towels extra to take off the cruise when doing some excursions. We nearly didn't consume the on-board activities as we just wanted to relax. At the pool it was quite loud with all the music entertainment, plays, people doing aerobics etc..... but you can also find some nice sundecks at the end of the ship to have some time to relax. The only thing I want to mention are the shows at the theater in the evening - they were great - great songs, great performances, great costumes. We really enjoyed them every night. We just booked our excursions on our own as it was quite cheaper as via MSC. At the beginning I was quite nervous but if you went outside for your trips many tour operators are already waiting and offer you all kind of trips. Just be careful that you take a tour which doesn't take too long. As already mentioned really nice cruise, with good organization, good entertainment and very clean. But I just want to mention a few improvements - for a few of you important for the others no reason to explain. - We booked the all inclusive premium drink package (really recommend - you dont need to think if you have included the drinks or not and also minibar and room service was included - without package you have to pay 15 % additional to all drinks) We went normally to the same bar on deck but the waiters there were quite rude. It seems that they thought - how many cocktails are they drinking and I am running just for nuts to get the drinks for them. Sorry - we are paying 47 € per day and per person for the drinks so I can drink also 2 cocktails after dinner. - Please ask before booking if a vegan group is travelling on this cruise. with us 600 vegan people travelled with us. The bar at the reception desk you couldn`t sit because they had their bookstore the whole week there. It was not that important to us as you have also about 10 other bars to have a drink. Quite annoying was the restricted area for them. (extra buffet and seating area for them) After dinner they had some stands with ice cream at the pool area and you can imagine when 600 people are chatting there so we mostly avoid the area there in the evening. If the vegan business is a lucrative business I would recommend to offer a cruise just for them as other people don`t have to suffer. - Embarkation was quite a chaos. We had to wait for 5 hours for our luggage to the room (also not a big problem for us as we had our essential things in the hand baggage but those who not know....) and the porter told us the amount he want to get tipped . That was quite brazen. I always give tip but the amount worth it. We also booked a private trip in Falmouth but we just got an information short before dinner that due to windy conditions we are going to Ocho Rios. Well these are weather conditions nobody can change but the information was just in french and when I was going to reception regarding my booked trip they just told me that it is my problem and I have to cancel the trip on my own (6 USD for 5 minutes internet!) On the other side disembarkation was perfectly organized and we got our luggage within 15 minutes.

Read More
  • New

May 16, 2014

Western

In short. The ship is beautiful, the staff seem non-existent (most of them are eating in buffet). activities left something to be desired, the rooms were beautiful, the public restrooms always smelled unclean and soiled. The shows were fantastic. I felt the cruise director wasn't as big of presence as he should/could have been. This was my first MSC cruise and will likely be my last (nothing against the cruise line just doesn't jive with my cruising

style) I'll start off by saying that this is one of the largest and best laid out buffets on any cruise ship that i have been on. The first day the food looked tremendous and there seemed to be an okay spread in the buffet, however, the deserts and pastas (majority of the buffet) were usually the same each day. Breakfast was the same each day no changes in feature dishes. We got sick of the food after a while. Another pet peeve was that the buffet only served unsweetened iced tea and water after lunch, so for dinner there were no juices available. Pina coladas and daiquiri's were the worst i have ever had on any ship, they are pre-made in a slushy type machine rather than freshly blended. In the dining room the food was cold and sub par and i dont consider myself to be picky Self serve ice cream machine is only open 2 hours a day. Overall i would say the food on this ship was quite poor We had a balcony stateroom on floor 9. Let me start by saying the corridors are very tight and many turns (not your typical straight mile long tunnel). The rooms were large and nicely decorated in their European style the room steward was great, and the standard tv channels were great. We even had a family movie night in room and purchased a movie for $8 which i felt was reasonable. There were very minimal activities throughout this cruise. The bingo was boring, the shuffle board was right in the middle of the tanning deck and you had to walk cross the entire ship to get ping pong paddles. I found there to e almost no room to tan or lie down, as the deck was always full, i have never encountered this on other cruises as there was always enough space. One more thing... the staff were just not friendly at all on this ship. When leaving the islands or scanning back in, they were never smiling, never went out of their way to greet you or welcome you back. It just ever felt like i was on vacation because there was no crew there who made it feel like i was on vacation (other then my room steward felix)

Read More
  • New

Feb 17, 2014

Miami to Rio

PLEASE DONT BOOK MSC DIVINA WORLD CUP CRUISE 2014 We have booked the MSC WORLD CUP CRUISE 2014 from Miami to Rio de Janeiro. Initially the cruise suppose to depart Miami on 24th of May 2014 and arrive on 11th June, now they changed the cruise dates. Now departing 19th May 2014 and arriving on 6th June. Keep in mind the world cup opening ceremony is on 12th June. We have already booked the flight tickets as well. Now we have to rebook to

flights to Miami which will cost me around $500 plus we reach Rio 5 days before the world cup even starts. Because its season time extra 5 dates accommodation in Rio is going to cost us $2000 on top of it another $1000 for food and other expenses. MSC CALLS IT WORLD CUP CRUISE. ITS REACHING RIO 5 DAYS BEFORE WORLD CUP. WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO IN RIO FOR 5 DAYS, PLAY SOCCER IN STREETS. We are trapped by booking MSC DIVINA. Because by booking the return flight tickets from Brazil, we cannot change those return dates now, all the return tickets are full because of world cup. Which means first planned 4 weeks holiday become 5 weeks. Even if we cancel the trip now, we won't get any refund. And we have to leave 1 week before than we planned means extra one off work and pay. This is our first ever cruise. We thought it will be great experience. Funny thing is that all this inconvenience started even before the cruise. MSC not just change the dates they even changed many port which they first told.

Read More
  • New

Jan 26, 2014

Western Caribean

reading several negative reviews shortly before we left, I felt a little anxious. I should have not read them. We had booked the Yacht Club, and we loved every minute of our cruise. Service was perfect, everyone was really great and spoiled us. The ship is beautiful, and I was sad when our cruise came to an end. Food was great. We never had anything we didn't like! Very pretty cabin, but a little too small, not enough closet space, the

bathroom is too small. The nightly entertainment was first class, lots of activities offered. I wish they wouldn't charge extra for some fitness classes like Yoga We did the Mayan ruins ourselves, and we do wish we would have booked the guided tour. After listening to other guests, I believe we missed some interesting points From start to finish, everything was well organized, smooth, and enjoyable.

Read More
  • New

May 6, 2013

Mediterranean

This was our first cruise ever and having read some negative reviews about MSC after booking we were a little apprehensive. We shouldn't have worried. The ship is magnificent, spotlessly clean and the crew are cleaning something every time you see them. Speaking of crew, they are so service minded and helpful, it was a pleasure to deal with them, The food was excellent. The buffet had heaps of variety and if you felt after a time that

there was a sameness to the buffet food, you could always eat in one of the main dining rooms and get an a la carte menu for three meals a day. The Tex Mex was not expensive and we spent an enjoyable evening there. If there was a criticism it would only be that the food could have been hotter. But you are feeding over 3000 people. Easy solved - eat the yummy salads. Our Stateroom was a Balcony one and it was huge. There was plenty of storage space, a great balcony and couch to sit on. WE didn't participate in any of these, as we don't enjoy being organised. We went on the first excursion to Messina and felt that it was overpriced and that it wasn't well planned. After that we got a taxi at each port which cost half the price of the tour for two people and went to the same places but with much more ease. We never found it a problem to find an English speaking taxi driver. We went around the bottom of Italy with a stop in Malta - oh Malta , how gorgeous. Then we went up to Venice with stops in Greece, Montenegro and Sicily. We were 2 of very few English speaking passengers, although as the crew is mostly Balinese, they spoke English well and like Australians. We took the Allegrissimo package as we had read that drinks were very expensive. I would not do that again. Cocktails were around $6, stubbies of beer about $5.00 and wine about $6.00 a glass. You nee da lot of drinks at those prices to drink $57.00 a day each. On the last day and disembarking in Venice was very badly organised and we stood in line for about three hours waiting for our passports and then when they arrived passengers were grabbing them. The crew were too inexperienced to handle it and requests for security fell on deaf ears. This was my only criticism of the cruise. I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Read More
  • New

Oct 31, 2012

Mediterranean

Beautiful cruise but poor service. Excellent food! Room was nice & new. Fantastic evening show. Just too many kids. One thing I learned: Never go on a cruise where kids travel free! Too family friendly! We organized most of our tours ourselves. You only need to be on board on time. The cruise we were on was very nice. A great ship. We enjoyed it very much. However, there were two issues that left a bad taste in our mouth.

1. Coming off the ship in Venice was kind of a disaster. Everyone on the ship had to somehow get to Venice where all the transport is. Getting there was a nightmare. There were only 2 buses (50 people each) for so many people. The taxi drivers (after seeing what was going on) tried to rip everyone off by trying to charge 20Euro for the 500m to the commuter train. So everyone started walking. When getting to the commuter station to get to Venice everyone had to buy a ticket from one of the 3 (three) pay stations. Just imagine how 3500 passengers try to buy a ticket from the machines. Anyway, we had wished MSC had organized this in a better way. 2. PLEASE BE CAREFUL: DO NOT USE ANY OF THEIR DRY CLEANING SERVICES!!!!! All our clothes were smaller and one pair of trousers was totally ruined. They DID NOT TAKE UP RESPONSIBILITY and we were told to send our complaint to customercare@msccrociere.it , which we did but they never got back to us. Nobody on the ship told us anything about any claim form or whatsoever. Back home we asked again about the issue and this is what our travel agent received: "We received reply from our Italy office overnight unfortunately without the actual proof of purchase or the MSC damage form they issue on board has not been provided they are unable to offer any compensation for the clients pants. If they happen to find anything from the ship that may have been provided to them regarding the damage please let us know and we can review this situation for your clients." SO AGAIN: DO NOT USE THEIR DRY CLEANING SERVICE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES! The main issue here is not about the damage of the pants but how poorly MSC handled this situation. In short: A horrible experience after a beautiful cruise. Conclusion: Would we do it again? Not so sure...

Read More
  • New

Sep 15, 2012

Med

First try with MSC- very impressed. The Yacht Club was and excellent value being all inclusive. All of the YC areas are very nice and the ship itself is beautiful having only been in the water since May 2012 Excellent- we ate only in the Yacht Club venues where everything was cooked to order We had a YC deluxe suite- it was on the small side for a suite but beautifully decorated. The bed was the best I have ever had on land or sea- similar

to a memory foam bed. It was a very port intensive cruise we did not participate in many activities The Sassi in Matera is amazing! Skip Bari and go there. Istanbul was also a huge highlight. MSC Divina review- Departure date 08/11/2012- Cabin type Yacht Club De Luxe Suite - YC1 This was my first experience with MSC and I came away very impressed. I had not considered the line in the past but the combination of a brand new ship and the itinerary that went to both Izmir and Istanbul was enough to sway me. I am glad we took the risk and sailed with MSC, I feel we got a lot of value for our investment. The Divina is a gorgeous vessel. The attention to detail in the art and architecture is amazing. Obviously the designers wanted to create a place of beauty and one can tell a lot of expense went into items such as the crystal staircases (on which each step is filled with cut crystals that look like diamonds) lovely sculptures and paintings. The Yacht Club complex is done in rich earth tones and feels more like a boutique hotel than a cruise ship. The cabin was a bit on the small side given what I am used to (I would say more like a mini suite) but the quality of the materials used were very luxurious. The bed was similar to a temperpedic and by far the most comfortable I have ever slept on outside of my home on land or sea. The pillow menu was extensive including two different types of memory foam pillows. Our butler did not bat an eye when I asked for six pillows. (I have fibromyalgia and need to support my limbs when sleeping). The linens were very high quality and the carpet passed my white sock test with flying colors. (I always put on a pair of white socks and drag my feet in the room whenever I am checking out a new ship or location- if the socks stay white you know they take cleaning seriously- believe it or not they have turned dark brown in some places that are considered 5 star). A lot of planning went into the lighting, of which there are many options, including hidden in the headboard and along the walk in closet hanger rail. A huge mirror is in front of the bed which I am certain some people might find as an extra perk lol. The bathroom and balcony are also both on the small side. The bathroom has a tub shower combination with a glass wall that covers half the tub and works like a shower curtain or door. There was plenty of storage in the bath and main cabin. The amenities were pretty standard, lotion, shower cap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner and a facial soap. It would have been nice to see some extra items that I have become accustomed to like q-tips, bath salts, linen spray etc. but each line is different. The lack of specialty toiletries would not affect my interest in rebooking. In fact I already booked the YC on the Preziosa for next year. The YC is insulated very well from the rest of the ship and it is quite possible to never leave the complex except for when heading to La Muse the YC restaurant. The food is very good in La Muse as is the service. We had a beautiful view of the "infinity pool" and some sculptures. (It is a stretch to call that pool an infinity pool- it is a nice pool with balcony type glass to look out at the ocean but really is not the same as a true infinity pool) The all inclusive drinks package that comes with the YC is a very nice perk! We loved the itinerary especially Istanbul which was an amazing day. Although we spent most of our time up in the Yacht Club while on the ship I did tour the other areas on the sea day and did not encounter any of the issues people had expressed concern about such as overcrowding and smokers. It did not appear any different than any other large ship, there appeared to be plenty of loungers and with multiple pools and hot tubs there appeared to be room for everyone. I saw activities for all ages including a water slide, bowling, a 4D movie theater and a Formula One race car simulator that looked very popular. We only walked through the Casino once but I did not smell any smoke and I am quite sensitive to it.

Read More

Cruise Forums

Have a cruising question? Ask our Fodorite community.

Cruise News

Read our latest news about cruises.

Store

Shop our travel guides on European, Caribbean, and Alaskan cruises.

Back To Top