Back To Line

Celebrity Cruises: Solstice

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • New

Mar 13, 2017

New Zealand

We have cruised with Celebrity before and always found them first class recommending them to all family and friends after our recent experience we will not be recommending them to anyone and we will not be sailing with them again. Solstice was reported to have had a referbishment before this Australian season but the ship is tired and scruffy it is impossible to see where any money was spent. The food on the cruise was not up to standard on

previous cruises it has been 5star this time 2star at the most. The cabin was scruffy looking the furnishings faded and grubby curtains had small holes in them On board activities were very poor the staff just did not seem interested We did not take any of the ships excursions as they are always far to expensive we were able to do the same things by arranging it ourselves much cheaper This cruise was around New Zealand then to Tasmania ending up in Sydney.We flew from Sydney to Auckland on a flight arranged by Celebrity in Auckland we were keep sitting on a bus for over and hour because the meet and greet people lost 2 passengers when we finally arrived at the ship we were rushed through the boarding as the ship was waiting to sail not our fault we were late.From then on it was all down hill the food was awfull the staff not interested and the ship not up to standard

Read More
  • New

Mar 1, 2017

New Calendonia

Do NOT book a Guarantee GTY cabin. I booked 2 balcony rooms as linked reservations, and these idiots have allocated us room on different floors, on opposite sides of the ship, AND on different levels. Pretty much as far apart as you can literally be. They advertise that Guarantee GTY means the location on the ship could be anywhere, which is fine, but not when 2 rooms on linked bookings are miles apart! Clearly no brain or common sense between

anyone on their reservations team. Their customer service is shocking. My mother, who is in the other room, phoned to speak with them yesterday and the rude man she got was extremely condescending and lied, claiming the ship is now fully booked, which is BS because both yesterday and right now they still have multiple rooms available on their website for sale. I will never book another cruise with Celebrity again.

Read More
  • New

Feb 1, 2017

Review of Celebrity Solstice

doreen Age: 76 Occupation:retired Number of Cruises: 7 Cruise Line: Celebrity Ship: Celebrity Solstice Sailing Date: 2017-03-14 Itinerary: New Zealand We have cruised with Celebrity before and always found them first class recommending them to all family and friends after our recent experience we will not be recommending them to anyone and we will not be sailing with them again. Solstice was reported to have had a referbishment before this Australian

season but the ship is tired and scruffy it is impossible to see where any money was spent. The food on the cruise was not up to standard on previous cruises it has been 5star this time 2star at the most. The cabin was scruffy looking the furnishings faded and grubby curtains had small holes in them On board activities were very poor the staff just did not seem interested We did not take any of the ships excursions as they are always far to expensive we were able to do the same things by arranging it ourselves much cheaper This cruise was around New Zealand then to Tasmania ending up in Sydney.We flew from Sydney to Auckland on a flight arranged by Celebrity in Auckland we were keep sitting on a bus for over and hour because the meet and greet people lost 2 passengers when we finally arrived at the ship we were rushed through the boarding as the ship was waiting to sail not our fault we were late.From then on it was all down hill the food was awfull the staff not interested and the ship not up to standard

Read More
  • New

Dec 15, 2015

Alaska inside passage

Beautiful ship, great staff, disappointing cruise. The food in the main dining room was quite good. Excellent variety. The food in the buffet was good. We did not care for any of the baked desserts. The red velvet cake was standing in a pool of water after sitting on the plate. The lemon meringue pie contained a very thin layer of what appeared to be cake between the lemon and the meringue. It gave it a grainy texture. Same

for the strawberry pie. The little tartlets at the coffee bar didn't have that and were much better. Other pies and cakes tasted as if they had been frozen. We didn't find a single piece of soft bread on board. All breads and rolls were hard crusted breads, rolls or ciabatta style. Actual breakfast delivered to the cabins was great! Good arrangement for the cabin. Good bath space for this size cabin. Veranda view is definitely obstructed. Life boat is always visible. The entertainment was good. There were drawings in the casino that I never really figured out how/where to sign up for. It seemed disorganized. Nice pools and Jacuzzis. It was nice to have access to all public areas of the ship. Our first excursion at our first port (Ketchikan) was cancelled by the operator. The 3 guys went fishing and caught very little. Disappointing day for all of us. The excursion exits and return to the ship were well managed and painless. We had several disappointments during this cruise. Some Celebrity had control of and some they did not. Our first disappointment was re our cabins. We booked 3 cabins in Oct 2014 for travel in Aug 2015. We could not get adjoining cabins on the side of the ship that we wanted. We were told by our travel agent and Celebrity that if the adjoining cabin between 2 of ours became available that 1 of our cabins would be changed to that adjoining cabin and we would have 3 cabins in a row. More importantly, we would have 3 verandas in a row. Over the months I spoke many times w/Celebrity and our agent and this was always confirmed. Shortly before our cruise I inquired again and was told that the note was in place but that Celebrity would not contact the owner of the cabin in question to ask about trading accommodations. If this were owned by a private individual I completely understand. If a travel agent has the cabin I don't see the problem. When we arrive on board, early, we visited the adjoining cabin to inquire if they would be willing to trade. The man said yes. We went to customer relations, waited, and asked about what needed to be done, waited, and then returned to the adjoining cabin. In the interim, he had decided to decline to trade. I apologized for asking at this late date and explained that we had requested a change earlier. He was confused and said that he had only recently purchased the cabin in the last couple of weeks. And he had purchased it directly from Celebrity. Clearly Celebrity had done absolutely nothing to honor our repeated request. 6 adults on a single veranda is not workable. That meant we spent very little time on the verandas that we had upgraded to. Major disappointment in Celebrity. As we approached Skagway the weather turned quite bad. The ship was rocking and rolling. Eventually the decision was made to remove Skagway from the itinerary and head toward Victoria BC and spend more time there. This cruise is sold as an "inside passage" cruise. Changing the itinerary changed the time frame in which we would travel through the passage. We were not advised when this time frame was after the change. By the time I realized that and inquired I was told that an answer would be provided to our cabin. No answer ever came. I think we had already passed through the passage. Staff scrambled to re-accommodate people onto Victoria excursions. The excursion we had previously booked left at an earlier time. It seems someone forgot to inquire as to how many other tours would be at that venue at the same time. There were several tour buses at the "castle" at the same time. You couldn't see the displays nor read the information. We didn't see many animals from the ship. 3 or 4 whales. A few eagles. 1 or 2 bears. Not sure if that is the time of year or not. 1 of our couples was celebrating their anniversary. I wanted to send a special gift to their cabin for that. The selection was very limited. A nice non-alcoholic breakfast option would have been good. We did have a lot of advance problems w/the website trying to check-in and place orders. In the end, we enjoyed our time w/family but went home feeling like we hadn't really seen anything of Alaska.

Read More
  • New

Jul 18, 2015

Alaska

First cruise ever and I loved it!! The crew of the Solstice were amazing! Everyone was friendly and helpful and kind. The meet and greet with the ship's officers made us feel welcome as though they were genuinely happy to have us on board. I loved my trip and the Solstice and would recommend it to anyone who asked! I will cruise Celebrity again if I get the chance.

  • New

Jul 1, 2014

Alaska

Have not been on a cruise for years....now I remember why Mixed dining room was terrible, buffet better State room was adequate The activities were mostly boring or designed for income Book all you own excursions and check trip advisor before doing so. I just cannot imagine why anyone does this more than once. I take that back, if you are interested in third rate entertainment, second rate restaurants, wal- mart style

selling, paying extra for just about everything , watching very large people in rascals maneuver around the buffet like the killer whales we came to see, then this is for you. Did I mention that the towns you will stop in are like the Jersey shore with fur. T - shirts, jewelry, bars, followed by more T shirts- bars, and jewelry. As you pass the shops, the Indian, Asian, and other obvious non- Alaskans hawk their wares, " come on in" free gift for just looking. If that's not enough, the " classy" Solstice has one of those machines found on cheap boardwalks where you drop in quarters to try and create a waterfall of other change falling into a chute, very chic! How about the bingo? 29 dollars gets you some bingo cards, isn't Bingo punishment enough when it's free? Or lines 1 hour long for the " free pull" on a slot machine, " Grand Prize" fifty dollars!!! That will get you a couple of drinks at the pay extra bars. How about some nice hot chocolate while on deck? Brr. It's cold out here! 11 dollars please, with your free one dollar Celebrity mug! Don't miss the art auction, the watch sale, the t shirt sale, the jewelry sale, the made in China trinket sale, don't pass up the two good restaurants just 45 dollars extra please. When the trip is over make sure to take the shuttle to the airport, just get on, wait one hour, the head to the airport, no air conditioning on the bus, hey it's a cruise adventure, chill out. At least I got to see a very nice picture of a killer whale , while watching TV in my room. Thank God for Shark Week

Read More
  • New

May 11, 2013

Hawaii

We are RCI People but we thought we would try a Celebrity cruise because RCI owns them but what a BIG Mistake the norovirus hit the ship two day before we got on the ship the crew treated the virus like it was the first time they had this happen it was 9 days into our cruise before we saw salt and pepper and sugar on the tables I would think twice before booking a Celebrity cruise they are nothing like RCI and Celebrity was to be a step up back to

RCI and only RCI !!!! The food was just ok!! The stateroom was the best part of the cruise room was nice and big!! Not good nothing to do!! Excursions were good!! I would give it a 5 out of 10 Hawaii was beautiful!!

Read More

By Eva_CR

  • New

Aug 26, 2012

Barcelona

Overall, the food, roomservice and most staff are very friendly. But the Guest Relation office brought a serial numbers of trouble to me. Good, thought the food at buffet are always the same everyday. Clean and good service Mostly very boring, but the Hot Glass Show is excellent! The staff at the excursion office are very nice. The service from some staff of Guest Office brought lots of trouble to me and the manager

of the office was very arrogant. After the cruise I submitted a letter to their Customer Relation headquarter and the letter was referred to the Guest Relation manager. I have got a reply email from headquarter and they also attached the manager's reply. In the manager's letter, he told the headquarter that I had strong emotion against them because I was not able to get on board and kept on complaining on board. If this manager and certain individual staff in Gust Relation office represent Celebrity Cruise, I believe they are helping the cruise line to drive away their guests in the future. Here I am writing my true experience on Celebrity. I don't think I am a demanding guest, but I do expect the cruise can be better. I just wonder why the service of the whole cruise is very good, except the Guest office which had so messy management. After I read the reply from it's manager to my case, I know the reason now. Because of the Visa problem, mother and I missed the cruise at the beginning on June 16. We got on board on June 20 early morning, the same day the cruise arrive Venice. I happily said "Nice to meet you again" to a lady who was in charge of the visa problem from Guest Relation office, but she just looked at me without any smile or words. Then she asked for our passports and gave us two boarding cards without explaining anything else to us. After we settled down and left the cruise for excursion, we were reminded by a staff outside the cruise that we need to bring our passports. Then I realized that our passport had been taken by someone. Our group had to go back to the cruise and to the Guest Relation office. At first no one knew where were our passports, so we waited there for quite a long time and then our passports were returned to us. After the excursion on the day, I complain to Guest Relation office manager Tom about Janet. At 6am on the day we arrived the next port, Kotor, totally 4 cabins of our group were called and everyone was woke up! We were told by someone from Guest Relation office that they needed my mother's passport. They explained (This was the first time) to me they needed all the passports with Visa to report to the port authority. I could understand, but I just wondered why they didn't call us or tried to contact us the day before rather than so so early in the morning? We like the relaxing life style on the cruise. Who likes to wake up so early during a cruise trip? According to my past experience with cruise trips, if the cruise had some important message for me and failed to contact with me through phone, they would have sent a letter to my cabin! My mother's passport had been kept at Guest Relation office since that day because we was told that her US residential card was ok for port authority. Again at 6am on the day we arrive Rome, I was woken up again by Guest Relation office asking for my mother's passport. I told them my mother's passport was in their office and they insisted that they don't have it! That made us very panic after experienced so much before and after my mother and I got on board! I check ourselves carefully and were very certain that the passport was not on our hand with a passport receipt. Then we called the Guest Relation office again and they search for my mother's passport in their office. They found it at last!

Read More
  • New

Mar 1, 2012

West Carribean

The customer service overall was good, but BEWARE! Not bad, but mostly the same options in the buffet over and over again. Got sick of lack of options very fast. Get the balcony Veranda, great! Same venues over and over again, little night activities. Do not miss scuba on Roatan! All cruise excursions are super expensive, so try to book yourself while you are on-shore. The worst part of the cruise was that we missed

the Costa Maya Port because of high winds and waves. We were were fully booked for the onshore excursion but was told that the port was closed temporarily. I would have thought that a large cruise line like Celebrity would have made some good decisions to add value to their guests, like find an alternative port to dock near by, or have a holding pattern close by Costa Maya to wait for the waves to die down (which it did in 2 hours on a nice sunny day, one cruise ship was already docked), or have had back-up activities on-board for their guests who are now stuck as sea for another day. Instead, it was decided that the last (and worst) option was to make a very slow return trip back to F Lauderdale as the staff scrambled to duct-tape some activities together. Minimal activities and not even free internet service for the guests stuck on board. Terrible. A call to their post-sailing customer service failed to give any explanation and also refused follow up with me on their decision-making process. I will have to think twice about ever going to Celebrity again. Poor decision making, no backup plans, and horrible customer service follow up.

Read More
  • New

Feb 4, 2012

Western Caribbean

A very good experienceon this ship. Note that we are not demanding travelers, and as such enjoy good service but do not need to have the staff at our bekon call. The staff was very friendly and were more than willing to do what it takes to make us happy. At the pools there were enough people to serve drinks so we did'nt have to wait very long at any time. Embarkation was efficient. Ship was appealing in both the public areas and the stateroom.

Pleasantly surprised at the size of the balcony. Outdoor pool area was lively. had enough activities and music to make it a good meeting place to meet people. The Solarium pool was for those eho were less "exuberant". The art for sale on the ship was questionable, given the prices. The cruise caters to a lot of older, less active travelers, which meant that the late nightlife and events were not as good as on other lines. There were early P.M. activities for the seniors which featured a lot of dated music. Would have liked to see more lively activities for those of us older people who are still active.. Need to see more younger travelers to liven up the cruise. Food was generally good,although a little too salty. The Oceanview Cafe was buffet style which had a varied and tasty menu. There was a good variety of items to choose from, both traditional and for who prefer more health related foods. Staff was quick to clean the tables too. Pizza bar had decent food. Ice cream bar was also good. There also was a hamburger and hotdog bar near the pool, which was nice to go to. It also had good fties. Epernay Restaurant (Main Dining Room) was very nice. food was ample and varied, though still slightly salty. Wine was overpriced given the quality. Portions wre satisfying, not leaving one stuffed. Deserts were creative and tasty, even the ones that had no sugar. Staff was attentive,never smothering. Did not have to wait long for anything. Too many utensils on the table for me,I prefer less formal dining. Formal nights should be eliminated, they are unnecessary given todays more informal lifestyle. Had a balcony. Very nicely decorated with a larger than expected balcony area. Cabin attendants were always available and willling to help with all requests.. TV was good for information on the ship. Bathroom was surprisingly large for a cruise ship. Clean and well appointed. Had the usual soap and shampoo. Closet was a little cramped and put in a place where it was like an afterthought, though not a nuisance. Found the bed to be more comfortable than expected' Not a real active nightlife due to a large population of elderly(not just senior) guests. Lack of younger guests meant the late night activities lacked excitment. Good amount of late afternoon activities for older travelers, featuring dated music for them. Karaoke was fairly dead based on lack of participation. Theatre show had a Cirque de Soleil type performance. It was decent if you like that sort of thing. Magician/Comedian had pretty good show. The featured Pianist/Singer had a nice voice but as an entertainer she could not make a connection to the audience. The production shows had good singers and dancers. They were a bit boring and corny for me. Needed more edgy type performances. Stand up comic a big hit. Put into too small a venue but still very funny. Divers need to dive the Kittywake. Grand Cayman wes a great dive experience. Roataan was also a great dive. Had a great trip. The staff was very good. The Officers including the Captain) S andenior staff interacted with the guests on several occasions.They participated in pool activities and also in somr evening pregrams. Passengers really enjoyed that. The Captain played guitar and sang at two shows. He was quite good too. Loved the ports and the cruise. It was relaxing and a basically carefree cruise. I have nothing major to complain about. Just a very satisfying cruise on a very nice ship. Only disapointment was a lack of young travelers

Read More
  • New

Mar 16, 2011

Eastern carib

First I want to say that this trip on Celebrity Solstice was one of the worst cruises out of 140 that I have taken. Celebrity cruise lines has treated me unfairly by selling me a trip advertised as spa at sea on AQ Aqua class. I did not sleep for the 7 nights that I was on the ship. Still suffering several weeks later from sleep deprivation im going to give a shorter review because I'm just tired and over it now. I'm in my 40's married, take

care of my elderly father full time who is very ill, (my husband stayed home to care for him..) Traveled with my 23 year old daughter who lives overseas now . Booked Aqua class cabin 1507 at an online travel site a month in advance. The cabin was sold to me as being in the bow of the ship near to the spa and relaxation areas. Included added amenities such as a robe & slippers, fruit, flowers, unlimited access to the persian gardens and dinner at Blu. When booking the cabin i checked what was above me on celebritys webite and the space was "Blank" figured it was office space or something. This was an AQ veranda cabin. Also limit of two passengers per cabin in this area. Peace..quiet..zen? Keep reading. We get on the ship and its very nice, beautiful cabin , bathroom was ingenious for a ship. Nice , though not great public areas left something to be desired for me but all I had planned for the week was rest, reading, eating and napping..maybe a show or two, and the spa of course. Living in NYC its easy to get overwhelmed by people all over the place and crowds everywhere as well as burn out. So rest was high on my list. Wasn't even going to get off in ports. First night was great, we went to dinner in Blu and walked around, used the spa facility which by the way I rate a 5 out of a 1-10 rating due to the fact that all it was were 8 heated tile beds and a shower, a steam room and sauna. Not much else. I'm going to compare this to princess cruises because its similar except for the fact that princess is much much much better in general. Here is where the problems start. Went to bed around 2 am , was watching a movie on the nice 32" TV in the room . Figured I would sleep till 10. Would of been nice since I don't get much sleep at home. So im out like a light and the beds are very cozy, and all of a sudden there is this banging from overhead. Sounding like someone was throwing weights on the floor above. Figured it would stop. Then music blasting ..figured it would stop. Put the pillow over my head and ear plugs in, hoping that there would be no ship emergency with ear plugs. But then the whole cabin was shaking. So...i put on the robe and walked to the pursers desk asking them what the heck was going on here. They said they would find out and sure enough they called later to say it was coming from the gym and the music would stop. Which it did. However, at 7 am they were doing aerobics directly above my cabin, with weights..everyday this went on. All cabins full ship at 100% that week. By day 4 I could not take it anymore and really just wanted to leave but couldn't. Went back down to complain for the 5th time and got assistant hotel Christian. He investigated it and yes after coming down and hearing it for himself..knew there was a problem. More like a flaw in the design of the ship id say. Nothing anyone could do, my week ruined basically. No napping or sleeping past 7 any day. Other then that, Blu was ok. Pretty basic food. Great breads and bread sticks. Fresh, nice service if not a bit too fussy, i liked the nursing home purees that were served on everything and i guess since the average age on this ship is between 70-90 they are on the right track. We ate one time at the crepe place had ok paninis but the crepes lacked much flavor at all. The buffer upstairs was quite good. Had Indian food that was some of the tastiest food on the ship. Also the ice cream was all homemade and awesome. Too bad you couldn't get anything to eat after 9 30 but room service. I did not eat in the MDR. However on our last night we ate at the french restaurant "Murano" and that was exceptional in every way. The foie gras was out of this world and the service ..wow. Was the highlight of the trip or shall I say the saving grace. If this place was in NYC it would have at least 1 Michelin star. That being said the rest of the cruise consisted of walking around like a zombie and sleeping in the cellar masters wine bar since no one was in there most of the time. The shows were not very interesting . The cirque one was the better of them and the comedian was spot on funny but the rest were just blah. The theatre group was worked to death by celebrity in every show. Costumes and props not up to par with any cruise line but maybe Costa. But hey I didn't come here for the show. I came here to relax at the spa and rest remember? Getting back to Aqua Class. If you book it you will be wasting your money, pure and simple not worth the money. Aqua class to me was more like steerage class after the way I was treated by this staff. What did Celebrity offer me for the banging all week? 100$. Yep. For that I will say you will lose all future business of myself and my family and friends. ..and we do take a lot of cruises. Also the cabin walls themselves are like paper. Someone farts in the next room and you can hear it. But the slamming of the drawers and flushing of toilets you hear all the time. Not nice if you did want to rest forget it here. Well that's all I have to say, take it or leave it my impression of celebrity is that its boring, very old crowds (which I don't mind because they are quiet..) everything closes at 9 30, bars are empty most times, staff tired and over worked. I've got several posts up on you tube if your interested my user there is campo84748 there and you can hear for yourself the noise in the cabin and you decide if you want to risk this type of noise in your one week of supposed peace also if i can i will post it here under member videos, look for it under scampy1 . I've been on RCCL, NCL, Princess, Costa, Carnival, Windjammer, and others. No matter what ive always found ways to have the fun even though everything might not be great all the time. But when I tell you that the audacity and rudeness of this cruise line was something that none of the other cruise lines (well maybe carnival..) had. I wont be coming back and all who are reading this, do yourself a big favor and book princess. Its the same price and far superior in every way, shape and form. Overall it was very good Too noisy to sleep Little or nothing going on at those prices no thanks read above

Read More
  • New

Mar 8, 2011

Eastern Caribbean

Solstice is a clean, decent cruise ship. We have cruised many times on other lines, and this cruise had some ups and some downs. The ship and the entertainment on it, it mainly suited for seniors and folks who go to sleep at 8pm. Very good service, and nice people...just a little boring to us. The food was very good, but not for those who are meat an potato types. They try very hard to make dishes that are out of the ordinary, but sometimes

that meant trying something you had no idea about. I suppose that is part of the cruise experience, but some nights it was a little too "gourmet" for our tastes.. To each his own though, and the food was prepared well throughout the ship. We ate in the dining room each night, no specialty restaurants. The wait staff and maitre d were all really good. There were no theme nights, nothing special going on in the dining room. The brunches were outstanding, so don't miss them or you will miss the only ice sculpture and fancy food displays you will see all week. We stayed in Aqua class, which has the rainforest shower head, nice big towels, and 2 bottles of water each day. The room is no bigger than any other though. In rough seas, the door creaked with a steady staccato..like someone was tapping on the door all night long. I guess that is typical of all ships though, but it was a bother on one night for sure. The room has little precious storage, so if you brought a lot, better be ok keeping some in the luggage. We adapted and it was ok. Water pressure was really good, a real bonus on board ship, and the hot water was HOT. Nice sized shower also. The TV was a widescreen that had fox news and a couple other decent things to fall asleep to other than watching the typical cruise ship tv nonsense. Activities were the downside of this cruise. Not much to do day or night for anyone under 65. Their were activities all right, but if you are not a fan of lectures, glass blowing, string quartets, lawn bocce, or many other yawners they had, this is not the cruise for you. We felt there needed to be earlier music at the pool, even if not live music. The band at the pool was really good, especially the lead female singer....The shows in the evening were decent, but quite repetitive with the dancers. They are really talented, but the emphasis was on broadway and dancing. Not really our cuppa tea, but it was the only game in town. After the shows, there was NOTHING to do unless you gamble, and the slots onboard have a very poor win payout percent, so dont waste your money...better off throwing it overboard.. After the main show, the ship became a ghost town. No piano bars, sing along type spots..nothing....We are not late night party people, or even drinkers, but there was nothing to do. Princess ships generally have a comedian in a lounge right after the main shows, and it is nice to go from one thing to another. Not on this ship. Even nightly karaoke (groan) would have been better than nothing....They had one night of it after people asked for it......The decor onboard was another problem for us, as we like to take photos of ourselves in front of nice staircases, lobbies, etc. This ship is very plain, and no backdrop suitable for photos. The ship is done in a college library type of decor. Nothing elaborate or showy. This was a disappointment, but not a deal breaker. We simply expected a little more from Celebrity. Princess and Royal ships are much nicer looking inside. Even the wacky decor Carnival Freedom has better photo op places on board. Did not take any excursions. Nice ports of call, and a decent cruise, but not up to our expectations. If you book and Aqua class room, make sure you are ready to eat in a health food restaurant (called Blu) specifically for Aqua class passengers. We did not know that was expected of you, and had some difficulty making the staff understand we wanted to eat in the main dining room. They looked at us like we were taking their puppy, and called during the week to try to get us to come up to the Blu restaurant. We chose not to...again, just not our cup of tea. The cruise is fine for seniors.

Read More
  • New

Feb 1, 2011

Eastern Caribbean

NOROVIRUS, the ship was very sick with this virus. My family got it and it is a very violent virus. You will have projectile vomiting and diarrhea. The cabin stewart had to clean our room last and we did not have the room cleaned until after 3 pm so if someone got sick during the evening the vomit and etc stayed in the room for many many hours. The ships crew does not know how to handle this epidemic and people continued to get sick up to the

last day. They had the staff serve us at the end of the cruise because everyone was getting sick and they would hand people their food in the buffet and people were sticking their hands in the food. The 7, 9, 10, and 11th floors smelled like an infirmary and my room smelled of chlorine bleach it was disgusting. They do not care about the passengers and blamed the passengers for coming on board with it. I feel it is far more likely the crew members who are always on the boats brought this on board from another boat. I had no idea that the boat sprayed my luggage with disinfectant. Shouldn't the boat let people know what they are doing to their luggage. The infirmary on the boat was full all week long. It was like living in a puppy mill or chicken coop. DO NOT TAKE THIS BOAT!!!!!!! YOU WILL BE SORRY!!!!!! Only had the buffet, it was OK Digusting, like an infirmary, smelled of chlorine bleach, gave us NOROVIRUS. We paid extra for Concierge and were treated like we were riding a subway. Great, we enjoyed some activities late in the week

Read More
  • New

Jan 16, 2011

eastern caribbean

It was less than I expected service overall was poor except for the restaurant. The staff was not at all people friendly I actually bumped into a worker coming out of my room and they did not even acknowledge me. Our family won this cruise and if it was meant to be for advetising I would not reccomend this ship for anyone. The dinners in the eperny were very good buffet was fair Stateroom was a nice size we had 3 people in a room and it

was very comfortable I did not think there was enough onboard activities considering how many days we were at sea Did our own excursions All in all it was very relaxing not much to do during day especially for my children who were 26,23, and 19. Seems to be a very old crowd on ship. Found it very hard to get a drink from anyone or even a good morning. I would not cruise on this ship again.

Read More
  • New

Jan 15, 2011

Eastern Caribbean

All of our previous cruises have been on RCCL, so we decided to try Celebrity since it is supposed to be a "step-up". We did a "back-to-back" Easter/Western Caribbean. First week was fine. Only complaint was food in dining room was so-so. "Table for 2" really was only 6 inches away from tables on either side so wait staff had to literally turn sideways to get between tables. Being so close to other tables of 4 caused awkwardness...you felt had

to talk to people so close but no one really seemed to know if you were part of their table or not...I expect this in NYC restaurants where you will never again see the people at the next table...but when you are seeing them every night...just awkward. Kind of like "make believe tables for 2". Our first week the room stewards were right on top of their game but the second week was another story. The main room steward left and a new one came on the ship...we never did meet him, nor did we ever find out his name. Normally, at the beginning of the cruise, you receive all the paperwork (schedule for first day, etc.). we received absolutely nothing at the beginning of the second cruise...not even our dining room table number...we had to go to Guest Relations to find out. Robes & sheets were never changed. Either the assistant was over-worked or just figured he could skip us since we supposedly knew what was going on. We had booked our excursions months earlier online but the tickets for the second week didn't get delivered on the second week. We went down to the Excursions Desk and they "reprinted" them for us, giving us instructions to return them if the others turned up...turned up? Well, the night before our excursion in St. Thomas, we got a phone call at 11:35 PM from guests 2 cabins away who had received our tickets. These are PREPAID with our name and cabin number on them. Getting a phone call at 11:35 pm with someone asking for you by name, startled us....first thing you think of is a family emergency at home... The instructions on the excursions ticket had us meeting on the dock at 8:15 am. We were the 4th & 5th people off the ship. No one in sight holding up a sign for our excursion...so we asked one of the Celebrity staff standing around...she pointed to a man talking to someone on a walkie-talkie who then walked past us. There was a group of us looking around at each other asking if anyone knew where we were to meet for the Ferry to St. John. The man who had walked past us made announcements facing the other direction, so none of us could hear him....he wasn't holding up any of the usual excursion signs. We went over to him and another woman who was standing in front of him said, 'Could you please repeat what you just said so we can all hear it?" His answer was, "I don't bother doing that because no one listens anyway." What???!!! So everyone in the crowd starting holding up their tickets for him to direct them where to go (maybe this makes him feel important). When i held mine up he said, 'I am not going to take you." What does that mean?? I had another woman in our group try again and he finally just pointed to the farthest end of the pier. When we got to the end of the pier, we waited on line to board the ferry. Some people were given boarding passes by the man who wouldn't give us directions. so here we were standing on a line that we weren't even sure was the right line. When we got on, they took our excursion ticket. So we all board the ferry and proceeded to sit in the hot sun until 9:20...why did we have to be on the pier at 8:15? When we got to St. John we again had to wait sitting on the ferry until they called each group to disembark. When we got off we had to ask which "truck" to get on...the answer was the red truck...there were 3 red trucks and they weren't all going to the same place. We again sat and waited because it seemed some people had gotten on the wrong red truck. Our guide then explained to us that he would stop at various points and "to pay attention because he spoke very quickly"...yes, he actually told us that he spoke quickly so we would have to listen closely! He told us that the ferry was going to leave at 12:15, so we have to be back by then. He then started to drive down a road that WE could all see was blocked off...so he backed up several times explaining, " Down the blocked road were the bathrooms we were going to stop at, but now you will have to wait for the next bathroom stop." Say what ?? We stopped 3 times for photos, one of which was a bathroom stop- 10 minutes to use the bathroom and walk down to see the beach. Most of the group didn't get to see anything but the bathroom. To say that this was a hurried, quick excursion is being polite. We were dropped back by the ferry at 11:20...so let's see- we spent $58 each to spend 1 hour and 20 min ride in a truck, listening to someone who we didn't understand (who would speak to someone on his cell phone at every stop) and didn't get to see much of anything. We spent a total of 2 hours (of our 4 hour excursion) waiting. Do not waste your money on any of the ferry trips to St. John! We are Elite Captain's Club Members which sounds like you are going to be treated special...well, you are in as much as they can treat about 500 Elite Members special. I know when we first started cruising on RCCL, there were many more perks for the repeat cruisers. Now the perks are things like "Priority Embarkation"...(where available)...I guess it wasn't available because we were herded on en mass. There are laundry and dry cleaning discounts but when you are on a 7 night cruise and you can't use the offer 3 days prior to arrival...most of the coupons they give you are useless- Except for the free internet time...the internet on the ship is ridiculously slow-it takes over 2 minutes to log-on and at $0.65 per minute...you can rack up high usage rather quickly. We usually book our future cruises while on the ship so we can get the on board credit. This time, the cruise we wanted to book didn't have prices showing on the computer, so the staff member told us she would do some research and contact us. After not hearing from her for 3 days, we went back to her office...of course there was a huge waiting list for appointments with her. although she had directed us to not wait on line and just walk in, I felt uncomfortable pushing my way in front. She was still unable to make us any reservations, so we did a generic future booking so we will get the credit on whatever cruise we choose. To be honest...I don't know if I want to book on Celebrity or go back to RCCL...you get treated like cattle on both. The exceptional service was in Murano and Tuscan Grille...food was excellent and service was impeccable...but of course you can rack up hefty bills if you frequent them several times. I do feel the lack of concern by the room steward is because of the guaranteed tips...they know they are going to get a tip regardless so their is no incentive to give superior service. Breakfast & lunch buffet were excellent. The normal dining was okay...one prime rib had some odd sauce on it that was being used to mask the flavor of the meat...maybe it wasn't so fresh? I couldn't eat it. The dinner rolls were always interesting and fresh. Food at Murano & Tuscan Grille were excellent. First week, iI had to ask them to clean the bathroom because there were plastic containers & sequins on the floor from previous guests and no garbage liner in bathroom. Second week left a lot to be desired. Shows on board were excellent. Only complaint is that the chairs in theater are the most uncomfortable seats...seems that so many big people have been sitting in them that they are tilted down and you slide out of them...it killed my back every night. All the seating in the dining rooms (except the buffet) were much too long in the seat, so unless you were 6'8", you had to lean forward so your feet would touch the floor. This was also the case in the casual chairs that are scattered about the decks. I could never pull the dining chair close enough to the table so I could lean back & relax. Don't do the Ferry to St. John Not so sure we wll rebook on Celebrity for our next cruises. I noticed they called after the first cruise survey but didn't call to speak to us about the second cruise which I had complaints about...maybe they don't REALLY want to know.

Read More

By Alex_CR

  • New

May 30, 2010

Carribean

Overall, our cruise experience was quite positive. We had a group of 11 and all of us had an enjoyable time on the Celebrity Solstice. Staff were friendly and worked diligently for everyone on the cruise. The ship is elegant and is well upkept. Our cruise was sold out but the ship never felt really crowded. Food staff kept the lines moving at a good pace, wherever you were eating. A job well done by the crew of the Solstice! For 6 dinners

we were in the main dining hall. This included 2 formal nights. There is a menu that stays the same each night and another menu that changes every night. Most of us ordered from the menu that changes nightly. Either way, the food was of good quality. Do not expect it to be equivalent to fine dining level because it is not and not meant to be of that standard. Main dining hall food had good quality and variety. We had a chance to try one of the specialty restaurants - the Murano. At $35 per person it was the most expensive of all the specialty restaurants and it was worth it. From the moment you step into the place to the service and food received, everything is of high quality and fine dining. Some dishes are cooked and served tableside. Staff are attentive. Lobster tail is recommended and can be ordered in three ways - thermidor, broiled, steamed. The buffet cafe is well run as staff keep all food stations well stocked and the facilities are kept clean at all times. Food is fresh however, if you are looking for a late night bite, this area only serves sandwiches (mini-subs), pizza, fruit salad and various mixed salads. If you are hungry and hankering for something more your alternative is room service. For late night craving, order from the TV as the menu there has a few more items compared to the printed menu in your cabin. Suggest the spaghetti bolognaise, chicken wings, shrimp cocktail, chocolate ganache, solstice burger,cookies and milk. Expect up to a 40 minute delivery time (we had room service 4 nights and averaged about 25-30 minutes with one time 40 minutes). One last note - most of the food is made fresh from scratch. From the breads to the ice cream and desserts, this approach taken by Celebrity shows how committed they are to providing you a high quality and variety of food products. We were treated to fresh products everyday of our cruise - bread sticks, creme brulee, chocolate mousse and frozen yogourt just to name a few. We had a veranda stateroom. It had ample space for 2 adults with a sitting area. You can stow away your luggage under the bed and there are plenty of drawers to store everything. The bathroom is large with a nice shower area with sliding doors - not curtains. Beds were very comfortable. The veranda is small but had 2 lounge chairs with a small table - enough for two to enjoy a small meal. We had a concierge level stateroom which allowed you some nice little extras. Early embarkation and disembarkation. Welcome bottle of wine and fruit plate. Daily canapes. Use of umbrellas and binoculars. Expanded breakfast room service to include hot foods like cooked eggs. Nightly turn down service. A good amount of niceties for the extra money you pay for this level of service. Solstice staff provide a wide variety of activities. There is a program for all age levels 19 years and younger however, due to the lack of people at most age levels it was basically kids under 10 that had a full program running during our 7 days. The teens group had some programs cancelled due to lack of numbers. Generally, there are activities for kids and teens however there are not many older kids and teens on the cruise. For adults, there is a good variety of daily offerings - education speakers, hot glass blowing, fitness, spa, scrapbooking, wine/spirit tastings, golf putting and even lawn bowling. Of note the nightly shows in the theatre are of good quality. We had the Soltice singers and dancers - they did an very good job of entertaining us with song and dance each time they performed. There was a magic show that was enjoyable. There was also a comedian however if you have kids under 12 this may not be appropriate for them. Overall, many things to do onboard and many things of good quality. The cruise had 4 ports of call and I we had a chance to do a few land excursions. Some were good. Others were experiences that were not positive. Comments and complaints to excursion staff were met with some indifference and this was disappointing. Georgetown, Grand Cayman Islands. We had an island highlights tour and were lucky to have all 11 of us in our own minibus. The tour guide was very informative and not only gave us historical information but also gave us insights into local tax rates, education and business. Cozumel, Mexico. Some of us took a taxi to the downtown area where there was a map with recommended shops and places to go to. Not a bad excursion with safe places that are tourist filled and not off the beaten path. Some of us took the Discover Mexico Park excursion - a short taxi ride from the pier and about 2 hours long. A nice little place for you to learn about Mexican history. They also have 75 to 1 scale miniatures of the ruins and other landmarks of Mexico. Costa Maya, Mexico. We took the 4 hour exursion to the Chacchoben ruins. Our guide was very informative and entertaining. He made sure that despite the fact that we were the 3rd bus out of the pier to the ruins, we arrived 2nd and were the first group to go through the ruins. This fast pace had it's advantages however, it also meant that we ended back on the ship 35 minutes earlier. We thought that the excursion itself was like a "must see" thing to do but the tour itself should have been closer to the 4 hour advertised time. Roatan, Honduras. I will start off by saying that the two excursions that our group booked were negative experiences. The tour guide is a very important part of any excursion and the one for our island highlights tour was not very good. Our guide was young and the English was not good. It was almost as if all information given was from memory. Not much was told about history and the few questions asked about local information were not answered fully (for example education and weather). Part of this tour went to a small 3 storey mall that only had half the shops open as there was evident construction being done to a few shops. Also, we had a stop at a private home that operated as a small day spa. This American couple built a nice, large (by Honduran standards) home on top of a hill that gave us a great photographic opportunity. However the small souvenier stand and refreshment counter were bascially tourist traps. We felt this was a waste of time - half of our group engaged the owners in small talk and bought some liquid refreshments. We did not feel that this excursion was worth the time and did not offer much value. One excursion to avoid is the resort and lobster lunch. Some of us went to a resort beach and had a lobster lunch. The resort and beach itself was not very big. If the advertising made the place look high end, it is not. Some people got back on the bus and demanded to be brought back to the ship (they were brought back). The restaurant across the street from the beach is where you will have your lunch. It is not a buffet and the food is not even cooked at the restaurant. A person brings up your lunch in styrofoam boxes - luke warm. Many people that enjoyed the small beach area had sand flea bites - not a pleasant experience. Generally, 3 out of 4 ports of call will offer you interesting excurisions and good experiences. From what our group experienced in Roatan, Honduras we would not recommend any land excursions here. The ship excursion staff basically told us the standards at this port of call are lower than the other ports of call. This might be a nicer way of saying that Honduras is a poorer country compared to Mexico and Grand Cayman Islands. Still, if the cruise company is advertising these land excursions they have some responsibility in making sure that some standards are kept - especially in the area of delivering what you are advertising. Most defintely we will recommended the Solstice. It is a fabulous ship. Everything is well run, very clean and well upkept. An upscale, higher end ship. Again, the only negative experience that we had was with the excursions in the last port of call. This did not deter us from an otherwise good time on the Celebrity Solstice. We tried a bit of everything the ship had to offer and the only areas that we missed were the dance places, the Sky Lounge, the internet area and the place where you play cards. Compared to other ships, you will pay a bit more for the Solstice but it's worth it!

Read More
  • New

Feb 3, 2010

Eastern Caribbean

My husband, daughter and I sailed on the inaugural sailing of the Solstice. It was our first time sailing Celebrity so we were really looking forward to it. First off, let me say it is an absolutely gorgeous ship! If the designers were striving for sophistication and elegance, they were successful. It is truly beautiful. It's also bigger than you might think. There was a section of the ship where the specialty restaurants are located that some

guests never knew were there! We never went to the specialty restaurants because the main dining room was so beautiful. Also, their show, "Solstice" is phenomenal! It is a Circus de Soleil type show and very impressive. However, as beautiful as the ship is, and as wonderful as "Solstice" was to see, we were somewhat disappointed in our cruise experience. I didn't find the staff (especially in the spa) particularly pleasant. Also, because there is such an emphasis on fine dining, there is very little selection in the buffet for dinner or late night snacking. Finally, in that it was the inaugural sailing, I thought there would be more to it. There really wasn't. It was a little bit of a let down. Food was somewhat disappointing especially in that I've always read Celebrity has the best food/dining experience. Plus food was very slow coming out of the kitchen. However, it was the inaugural sailing so I can somewhat understand that. Also, their evening buffet leaves a lot to be desired. There is very little selection there - pizza, pasta, and cold cuts. While I understand their desire to have everyone dine in the main dining room and/or specialty restaurants, sometimes, guests just want to grab something from the buffet. So, this was disappointing. We had a balcony stateroom. It was very nice but not very efficient. Also, I got a little tired of all the neutral tones throughout both the staterooms and the ship.

Read More
  • New

Dec 23, 2009

Carribbean

A beautiful ship, well kept and very clean. We were in the Aqua class which afforded us certain amenities included in the pricing but were generally disappointed with this decision as I will explain. As we were in Aqua class, we had our main dining in the Blu restaurant. This restaurant seats approximately 150 people and it had table set ups for reserved tables of two, which we prefer. The tables, however, were close enough to the next 2-table

so that you could engage in conversation if you wanted to. We were lucky to have met two other couples with whom we connected very well and had a great time at dinner. The food, however, we found lacking-in fact, we would review the menu during the day and found ourselves eating in the Oceanview Cafe 3 nights out of 7. The menu in Blue lacked variety. The best thing I ate was the scallop appetizer. I asked for fillet mignon on the last night as the NY strip was like leather. The wait staff was very accommodating though. The Oceanview Cafe food was really good though. There was lots to choose from, food that had a taste to it and of course many dessert choices. The coffee was also good on this ship. But I expected more from Blu as we paid for the "better class" food. We were disappointed w/ Blu. Also, on the last night, the maitre'd advised us that they were changing the Blu restaurant to "open seating" which will take away the relationship building that guests make with their servers as well as with other guests. Blu and the Aqua Spa really left a "bad taste" in our mouths... The stateroom was nice, however it was on the small size. We had a decent sized balcony with nice chairs. The bathroom was good-clean with a really nice shower head system. Lots of storage space above the bed and a small-ish closet. Our stateroom attendants were good; the room was always made up and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the TV was really nice. They had many free movies as well as pay-per-view. In contrast to some other reviews I read prior to taking this cruise, we did NOT hear our neighbors snoring or conversations! Perhaps that was an amenity on deck 3. The hot glass show was interesting but be prepared to stand. Many people like this. The grass area was nice but I really didn't see the "wow" factor in it after 5 minutes. However, they did have Bingo which we like to play. But I did not like the fact that they kept selling cards even after the games had started! (We had to catch up and didn't appreciate it). And, of course, the machine broke once. But they don't over-do Bingo which I liked. They played one set of games per day till the end when the pot had to go. Also, we were not constantly reminded of ship activities over the PA system - they had faith that we could actually read the daily ship briefs! The captain was wonderful! He was so entertaining he should have his own "show"! We took excursions in San Juan and St Kitts visiting the forts and walking the streets. In St Maarten we stayed on-board as we have been there many times before and had a spa day taking massages and relaxing. If I take this cruise again, I would NOT take the Aqua Class. It is not worth the extra expense. Originally, I was told this class had exclusive entrance to the Persian Gardens, which has great heated lounge chairs and a steam and sauna. Anyone NOT in Aqua class had to pay to use it so they said. This, they say, is $100 for the week extra. Well, the staff in the Aqua Spa allowed EVERYONE IN and needless to say I have already complained about this. When we asked the spa manager, she said "Well, the doors are broken so anyone can get in". Well, why didn't they card people at the door? We feel ripped off for $200 on something which really made a difference in our cruise. Aqua Class with it's Blu restaurant with tasteless food and the exclusivity of the Persian Garden "for everyone" is not worth the money. Get a standard cabin with a balcony and bring some of your own scented soap and oils and save your money.

Read More
  • New

Jun 1, 2009

Trans-Atlantic

As always, Celebrity has it's act together. All the staff are well trained and very helpful. As far as the ship is concerned, I was a little disappointed. I had heard so many good things about the ship that I think I might have been expecting too much. The Ocean Side Cafe was beautiful, but there were never enough seats and a table had to be found before you could even think about food. Unless you got there very early or very late, it was like that

every day. Over all the ship was beautiful, but was mostly designed for beauty and not practicality. There was grass on the top deck which I thought was very innovative and different, but actually was wasted space. The ship seemed to have too many passengers at all times even though it was not booked to capacity. I prefer the Constellation class of ships from Celebrity. They seem just as large and not nearly as crowded. Again, I am not a gourmand, but I thought the food was very good for this class of line. The stateroom was the best of any ship that I have been on. The shower had an actual glass door and was the roomiest of any ship that I have sailed. The entertainment system in each room was a cut above with the ability to pause a movie that you might be watching and restart it at that point for up to 48 hours. If there was a negative in the room, it is the hanging closet which was about 2/3 the size of most and was located in an awkward location next to the bed. We learned to live with that minor inconvenience, however. Generally we don't partake of the ship board activities, but this ship had the usual ones and a few added that did interest us on the days at sea. We generally plan private tours when possible as much of the time spent on the ships tours involves loading and unloading from the bus with 50 people. We did take one tour on Ponta Delgada on the Azores that was quite reasonable and we found that the excursion prices on this cruise were fairly reasonable. In the past, if we were docked some distance from the town, a free shuttle was provided. This is no longer the case as there is now a $10.00 fee to ride the shuttle bus. I guess this is the way of the world today, but I would rather have a few dollars added to the price of the cruise and not be nickled and dimmed along the way. Over all, the trip was wonderful. We had a beautiful ship, good friends, good food, and got to visit ports in Portugal, Spain, France, and Italy. What's not to like!

Read More
  • New

Nov 30, -0001

Eastern Caribbean

My husband, neice and nephew and I recently sailed on the Celebrity Solostice. We truly enjoyed the service, food and beautiful ship. We have been on Celebrity before, and this trip, with a few concerns about the quality of the entertainment available was fun and relaxing. I highly recommend the Aqua Spa class. Checking in was smooth and the extra amenities worth it. We were in Aqua Class and had access to Blu. The food was elegantly served,

but overall wasn't as good as we had anticipated. Small portions, spicy food and not many choices. The specialty restaurants, the Tuscan Grill and Murano's shouldn't be missed. The food was excellent. Best to reserve before your cruise date as they fill up fast. The buffet lunch and breakfast were also very good. Many choices and because the ship had many stations, the flow was smooth. By the spa pool area, they also have a really nice healthy grill for light lunches. We didn't use room service except on day for early morning coffee and juice-they came on time and no problems. We had an aqua class stateroom. The space was well utilized, so we had plenty of storage, even above the bed. The luggage fit nicely under the bed. - The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a special shower panel and had nice amenities. The closet was a little tight- but typical of most cruise ships balcony cabins. The balcony was nice and we did go out on it occasionally. Our cabin attendant was also very good. She kept our cabin clean and we always had plenty of supplies. We found the shows disappointing. The entertainment was fair to poor. The ship did have a good troupe - but they really only had two good shows. Should really beef up the entertainment. We enjoyed the midnight comedy show, but the same show was performed every night - would be great if the comedian had a different routine nightly, or if the ship had other comedians nightly. We really like the no announcement policy. The loud speaker advertising activities wasn't intrusive. We read our daily newsletter to get information regarding special activities. We did attend the glass show - very unusual. However we had to sit on very hard benches and left early, as my back hurt. I would assume that Celebrity will install more comfortable seating in the future. Also, not enough seating for the people, some had to stand over one hour and a half. We aren't interested in bingo or any art shows and didn't go to any. Since we have traveled many times to the Caribbean, we only took a couple of excursions. One in St. Marteen to a beach and brief tour of the Frenchside. The lunch provided was poor and the beach lacked enough chairs and umbrellas for guests. The beach itself was also not up to typical shore excursions standards. We will go on our own next time as we have been to nicer beaches on the island previously. We had never been to St. Kitts, so we decided to take a train around the island. The train experienced mechanical difficulty, so we were advised on the pier that the tour would be cancelled, or we could wait around and perhaps the train would be fixed. Decided not to wait around in the heat - walked around the shops at the pier then back onto the ship to relax. We also went to Puerto Rico. Since we had been to that destination many times, we just walked around old San Juan and then back to the ship. We had a really nice time. The ship was beautiful and the staff aimed to please. The shops on board had nice things, but I assume since this is a new ship they didn't have adequate stock of items like toothpaste and other toiletries guest might have forgotten. We also used the gym everyday and would have liked to have a TV on the bikes and tread mills. I had my hair done at the spa twice and I found the operators not as good on other ships I have sailed on. We really enjoyed the adult pool area. Very comfortable lounge chairs and towels were placed for you on your chair. Unlike some ships that will only give you one towel, many clean towels were available. I am confident that Celebrity will revamp the entertainment schedule and performances during future cruises, as it really wasn't up to other cruise ships were have sailed on and should be spectacular. The martini bar is not to be missed. The bartenders really put on a great show making and serving the drinks. We spent many hours enjoying the great Martini's and floor show. Overall, we really enjoyed our trip.

Read More
  • New

Nov 30, -0001

Caribbean

We always enjoy Celebrity Cruises; The Crew is friendly and accommodating - Cabin was on Sky Deck in the rear --- right over the wake. We loved the view from the balcony, but it was a long walk to the cabin when you forgot something. Little disappointed in the size of the balcony --- a little tight for us. We would not sail without a balcony; it is the best. This was our first cabin in the rear (usually they are booked) and I did enjoy more

sunshine than on the side decks. There was a minor soot problem - but he crew cleaned the balcony floor every day. They seem to know that there was a problem - probably in the design. Ports were great - but predictable. We always reserve a table for two and always check first thing. Usually they have it right, but this time, they had us down at a table for 10 in the wrong sitting. It was corrected and we got a great table right behind the captain's table, in the center of the lower dinng room. My husband will not sit at one of those tables where you have another table four inches away. There are many of those on the ship. Food was great. Very few disappointments. Menus were varied, lobster and shrimp were terrific and larger than usual. We did not use the special restaurants, although we looked at them and considered going to the Tuscan Grill. They always seemed to be booked at the times we wanted (even though I tried to reserve, on the Internet, before we left). Very well organized --- liked having the bed near the balcony. Plenty of room for clothes. Bed was extremely comfortable and linens great. Bathroom spacious and easy to organize. Cabin stewart came too often, walking in quickly, so I started double locking the door when I was there alone. Be sure and use your privacy sign. We didn't participate too much - happy reading my big book, but they did have some special events for elite members and they were better than average - a great officer's party with terrific and plentiful appetizers and as many drinks as you wanted. Also had a great wine tasting event and an elegant Tea in the Tuscan Grill. All were beautifully done. Coming from New York area, we are used to great shows, so I am always disappointed. Didn't do exursions --- just a little shopping and swimming. Went one day early because of winter weather, stayed at the Hilton Grande in Ft. Lauderdale and took the taxi-boat all day. It is a great way to spend the day and really see Ft. Lauderdale. You can hop on/hop off and do shopping, lunch and dinner and see all the mansions of the CEO's. Only $13 per person for the day. We had a tower room at the hotel with breakfast (which was fantastic). A great start.

Read More

Cruise Forums

Have a cruising question? Ask our Fodorite community.

Cruise News

Read our latest news about cruises.

Store

Shop our travel guides on European, Caribbean, and Alaskan cruises.

Back To Top