Back To Line

Carnival Cruise Lines: Carnival Sunshine

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • New

Jun 18, 2017

Ridiculous service

We chose this cruise for the location, time and price. That was a mistake. Customer service shouldn't be in their vocabulary bc they have zero. We had no ac in our stateroom for 3 full days after saying something to the attendant within several minutes of boarding. My husband has medical issues and had we not brought a fan from home, it would have been miserable. I fell on the pool deck in a huge puddle of water 20 feet from the pool, and they had

the nerve to tell me they wouldn't charge me for my visit to the medical bay. My feet flew out from under me, I was not drinking, fully dressed. My doctor told me I pulled every muscle in my back, sprained my ankle and bruise my elbow. I'm on steroids and muscle relaxers now. Had I not gone to the medical bay, there would have been no incident report noted. I ordered cranberry juice at dinner and was charged $2.69 for it and it was watered down. Guest services did nothing but take off $45 in charges for all our complaints and said they couldn't do more. There was no in room refrigerator, the smoking area is on the same deck and side as entrance to camp carnival. There's an up charge for everything, from food, to activities, to juice apparently. The force gratuity on drinks with alcohol content. The slides hurt your back bc you can feel every seam. The hot tubs were full of kids under 13 talking and behaving inappropriately. The Dr. Seuss stuff was forced into an hour and half on one day, trivia, parade, story time. Then no more characters until the uncharged breakfast which was one of the best meals I had all 5 days. My husband sent several dinners back and he never does that on royal Caribbean. Captains night included zero filet or lobster tail unless you paid an extra $20, not on royal Caribbean, its included on that line. After calling customer service after my doctor visit, I was told she couldn't do anything but pass the info along and I have to wait 24-72 hours for someone who can to call me back, they had better hope I don't have to call back. I will never cruise with them again!!! I could continue but it's not worth my time and effort. Will always choose Royal Caribbean from here forward.

Read More
  • New

Feb 25, 2016

st maarten st kitts san juan grand turk

Extremely disappointing. It was ok nothing special. Very small cabin. No band during the day a dj played for an hour in afternoon on deck. My family and I have cruised for the past 4 years on Carnival but never on the Sunshine. It was a totally different experience than the other ships we've sailed on before. The ship was totally overbooked! We had 2 staterooms booked 3 in each, my father and my teenage sons (all

of whom are about six feet tall) in one and my husband and I and out 4 year old special needs Grand daughter in the other. In both rooms they had 2 twin beds and a cot. The size of the cot is about a crib mattress size, fine for the 4 year old not so much for a kid that's six feet tall!! We were told that the ship was sold out and there were no other staterooms available! Oh and did I mention that both staterooms were located directly under a bar, so we heard the bass and drums every night until midnight! We also had anytime dining, which apparently means wait on deck 5 on a line to give you a beeper and you might get a table in about 45 minutes. (some waited hours) then go down to deck 3 and wait on that line until your table is ready. Needless to say our 4 year old was "done" before dinner even started. There also wasn't enough chairs on deck there was seating for 900 but there were over 3,000 people on board. So there wasn't enough room in the comedy shop or the theater for live shows. The elevators took an average of 20 minutes where my stateroom was, so if you had a wheel chair or stroller you spent A LOT of time waiting to go anywhere. I was extremely disappointed in the way the special needs passengers were treated, no special time to get on and off the ship when in port. And the lines getting back on ship were horrific too, one port it took over an hour to get back on board! Whatever we did one of us had to run ahead to make sure we got a seat whether it be a table in the buffet or chairs to watch a show. Totally overcrowded, not fun and extremely stressful. The opposite of what a vacation should be. I had to give it a star to post this review.

Read More
  • New

Feb 25, 2016

st maarten st kitts san juan grand turk

Extremely disappointing. It was ok nothing special. Very small cabin. No band during the day a dj played for an hour in afternoon on deck. My family and I have cruised for the past 4 years on Carnival but never on the Sunshine. It was a totally different experience than the other ships we've sailed on before. The ship was totally overbooked! We had 2 staterooms booked 3 in each, my father and my teenage sons (all

of whom are about six feet tall) in one and my husband and I and out 4 year old special needs Grand daughter in the other. In both rooms they had 2 twin beds and a cot. The size of the cot is about a crib mattress size, fine for the 4 year old not so much for a kid that's six feet tall!! We were told that the ship was sold out and there were no other staterooms available! Oh and did I mention that both staterooms were located directly under a bar, so we heard the bass and drums every night until midnight! We also had anytime dining, which apparently means wait on deck 5 on a line to give you a beeper and you might get a table in about 45 minutes. (some waited hours) then go down to deck 3 and wait on that line until your table is ready. Needless to say our 4 year old was "done" before dinner even started. There also wasn't enough chairs on deck there was seating for 900 but there were over 3,000 people on board. So there wasn't enough room in the comedy shop or the theater for live shows. The elevators took an average of 20 minutes where my stateroom was, so if you had a wheel chair or stroller you spent A LOT of time waiting to go anywhere. I was extremely disappointed in the way the special needs passengers were treated, no special time to get on and off the ship when in port. And the lines getting back on ship were horrific too, one port it took over an hour to get back on board! Whatever we did one of us had to run ahead to make sure we got a seat whether it be a table in the buffet or chairs to watch a show. Totally overcrowded, not fun and extremely stressful. The opposite of what a vacation should be. I had to give it a star to post this review.

Read More
  • New

Feb 22, 2016

eastern

The carnival sunshine is a ship to stay away from!! The food in the dining room was good, but the buffet needs some help. With some of the food you just wanted to ask do you have anybody tasting this crap before you serve it. great except it had an odor of stale cigarette smell mostly the same activities as on all the other Carnival ships his ship use to be the "Destiny" but in 2013 it was transformed to the "Sunshine."

Let me say that Carnival had only profit in mind and not the customer. With the transformation came additional state rooms now the ship holds about 500 more passengers. This sailing had more than 3600 passengers! This meant that we stood along with about 40 other people that could not get a seat, for 3 comedy shows and the comedians were mediocre at best. The buffet was okay not great but after standing in line and fixing our plate there was no where to sit. The any time dining ran 1-2 hour wait times unless you went at 5:30. To get a lounger anywhere on the ship you had to go put your stuff on one by 8:00 am on sea days particularly on the "Serenity Deck." There were passengers laying out on the floor of the Serenity deck due to no loungers. 500 more passengers may be good for Carnival's bottom line, but it is not good for paying customers! I called Carnival and complained. I was told they were in the business to make money! They gave me a $50 OBC on our next sailing. I will NEVER go on the Sunshine again, more state rooms just means more lines and more crowded. Common areas not designed to hold 3600 passengers!

Read More
  • New

Feb 22, 2016

eastern

The carnival sunshine is a ship to stay away from!! The food in the dining room was good, but the buffet needs some help. With some of the food you just wanted to ask do you have anybody tasting this crap before you serve it. great except it had an odor of stale cigarette smell mostly the same activities as on all the other Carnival ships his ship use to be the "Destiny" but in 2013 it was transformed to the "Sunshine."

Let me say that Carnival had only profit in mind and not the customer. With the transformation came additional state rooms now the ship holds about 500 more passengers. This sailing had more than 3600 passengers! This meant that we stood along with about 40 other people that could not get a seat, for 3 comedy shows and the comedians were mediocre at best. The buffet was okay not great but after standing in line and fixing our plate there was no where to sit. The any time dining ran 1-2 hour wait times unless you went at 5:30. To get a lounger anywhere on the ship you had to go put your stuff on one by 8:00 am on sea days particularly on the "Serenity Deck." There were passengers laying out on the floor of the Serenity deck due to no loungers. 500 more passengers may be good for Carnival's bottom line, but it is not good for paying customers! I called Carnival and complained. I was told they were in the business to make money! They gave me a $50 OBC on our next sailing. I will NEVER go on the Sunshine again, more state rooms just means more lines and more crowded. Common areas not designed to hold 3600 passengers!

Read More
  • New

Feb 1, 2015

To Bahamas

My fiance and I purchased and took the 3-day cruise to Nassau Bahamas on the Carnival Sensation from January 22nd to the 25th, 2015. This cruise was a horrible experience due to the following 10 issues we experienced during our cruise. 1) Paid extra for a cabin with a window that was so dirty, we could not see out of it. For example, when you rent a car, you don't want to be in a dirty car where you can't see out of the windows. The cruise

cabin view was like being in that dirty car. I demanded compensation for providing a such a poor product. Guest Services on the ship said that I had to write a letter to Carnival to request compensation. All they said was that they were sorry. 2) My fiance and I waited two hours to be served our dinner on formal night. My fiance was so mad and tired, she returned to her room without dinner. The manager apologized, and should have at least offered a drink while patiently waiting. They know they were providing bad service. The next evening we received better service, but still does not make up for the dinner experience we expect on Carnival. I feel l did not get my monies worth with this type of experience. 3) The house keeping did not service room while at dinner. We placed sign on door for service too. This shock us. Every cruise we been on in the past, the room is cleaned with the cute animal towel. Apparently, not this cruise. We did not receive anything. We let Guess Services know, and their response was that they would clean it now. However, it was 10 pm when we returned to cabin. We just wanted to go to sleep and not stand in the hall waiting for the room to be cleaned while stewing and asking ourselves why in the hell wasn't room cleaned. 4) Called Steward for ice and he hung up on me. Never following up to see what I wanted. How unprofessional? We never got ice that night. 5) The next night it was again difficult to get ice. The Steward did not pick up the phone and I was transferred to room service (this was Saturday). The phone was rang for at least 10 minutes and room service never picked up. I then called Guest Services and they told me to call room service. I said no! Then I explained how room service was not picking up. So Guest Services said they would bring us ice. Then an hour went by and no ice. I called Guest Services again and they said the ice was on its way. I think they forgot. Anyway after waiting an 1 hour and 15 minutes, we finally received our ice. That is just bad service. 6) We pulled into Nassau few hours later than scheduled. We planned to go snorkeling, but because the ship was late, we had to cancel our plans. We were only left a couple hours of day light. We did not get to enjoy the island at all. This is one of these reason went on the cruise. We definitely felt cheated. I mean come on.... Ironically we seemed to arrive back at the port right on time. hmmm.... 7) We were charged for drinks that should of went on the Cheers card. However, the Beverage manager corrected the error. We still had to take time out of so-called cruising experience to straighten a matter that shouldn't never of happened. 8) The $12 yoga class was a joke. It was just stretching and not yoga posses. If going to charge for yoga, have a real instructor. 9) The man who runs the waterslide ask if my fiance was pregnant. She was in tears for hours because she is not pregnant, but a little over weight. 10) Finally, when trying to locate events around the ship, we received the wrong information all the time. The crew members are not well informed. We real feel that Carnival Cruise Lines failed in providing a quality and memorable cruise experience. We would likely never go on a Carnival cruise from this experience. There are better cruise ships (e.g., Royal Caribbean) to choose from in the future. We have been sharing this story with friends and relatives and they were shocked and some were not about the poor service. They all agreed that I should receive a refund. They said that they would be very hesitant to go on a Carnival Cruise in the future. Carnival Cruise Lines response was an offer for 15% off carnival cruise for the next two years. Food was good. Dirty window and poor service from steward. The activities were fun.

Read More

By Jess_CR

  • New

Dec 10, 2014

San Juan grand Turk st Thomas st marten

I am writing in regards to the Honeymoon cruise that my husband and I took on the Carnival Sunshine from October 17th-October 25th. This cruise did not even come close to meeting our expectations or my past experience on Carnival. Several aspects of the cruise were great but many more were not. This is not a ship that we would ever go on again and it makes us reluctant to ever cruise with Carnival again. We were expecting a cruise that was lots

of fun with a sense of polish. We got a cruise that was very rough around the edges. The word that comes to mind when I think back to our trip is "frustrating." This is certainly not a word that one would want to attribute to their honeymoon memories. The aspects that were great are as follows 1) Musical talent Kimberly Sunstrum was incredible. She is extremely talented and personable, someone that we would pay to see in concert. 2) Comedy act Dean Gaines was awesome. Again someone would pay to see in real life. 3) Our dinner waiter Joseph Battalla and the team in the dining room were fantastic. They went above and beyond to try to make us happy. On our first day we went to customer service to inquire about onboard credits that were a gift, as well as some credits that were Discover Card Rewards. There were clearly not enough people working as we waited in line for 2 hours. The people that were working at guest services were anything but helpful. They let us know that these credits were not on our account. I contacted our Travel Agent and she assured us that they would show up by the 3rd day. Several days later we waited in line for another full hour to try to get some answers. Again we had no luck and the staff was not at all helpful. The gift credits did appear however the $80 Discover card credits never showed up. In addition to the onboard credits that we received as a wedding gift we also received a Honeymoon cake and our room was decorated. The Cake arrived on the evening of the 3rd day while we were at dinner. We had already eaten dessert and the following day we were in port until 9pm. By the time we were able to eat the cake it was rotten. They had used a true cream frosting on a ship where almost no rooms have refrigerators. Making this impossible to keep cool. There was also no label on the cake recommending refrigeration or immediate consumption. Our Cabin was nice enough and the beds were already made to be a king size as requested. However there were dirty pool towels in the room from the previous guests. In addition it seemed as though surfaces in the room hadn't been cleaned in quite a while (in particular the metal tray that held the water bottles was disgusting). We were never able to get our cabin cool enough to sleep well. We had the air on the coolest setting and it still felt very warm. We constantly heard doors slamming in the hallways and loud voices. I would recommend doors that are a bit more soundproof for future ship designs. The Ship seemed extremely unstable even when seas were calm. We felt rocking the entire week. The Cruise Director was absolutely awful!! He was definitely not cut out for the job of a Cruise Director. We found him very offensive and over the top as did many other guests on the ship. I am very understanding of the need for safety and preparedness however the Muster drill on the first day took over an hour and a half. This was difficult for many of the elderly passengers as there was nowhere to sit and it was extremely hot. For my husband and I, we felt frustrated that we had to stand there for such a long time without anyone communicating what was happening. We felt that the Sunshine was very poorly laid out. We heard many people on our trip saying, "They ruined the Destiny!" We were made aware that in the 2.0 renovations where the Sunshine was born, many more cabins were created but the common spaces were not adjusted accordingly. We felt a lack of space on the ship constantly. Also the layout toward the aft of the ship was horrible. Particularly levels 3, 4 and 5. First of all you had to walk through the VERY smoky casino to get anywhere. Our dinner seating was on Level 4 but we had to go up to 5 or down to 3 to get there. The Comedy Club blocked what would be a passageway to our dining area. We could only go directly on Level 4 when there wasn't a performance. Those who had anytime dining had to go to level 5 to get a pager to then head to Level 3. In the area of the dining rooms there was an area with 4 elevators and nowhere else to stand while you waited for the dining room to open. This made things uncomfortable and extremely claustrophobic for everyone involved. In general on the ship we felt like there was never enough staff for the tasks at hand. We always had to wait in line. Especially at the "shake spot" where guests would buy shakes and coffee drinks, the line was always at least 20 minutes as there was only 1 person working. Tables at all locations during lunchtime excluding the main dining rooms were almost always dirty and full of used plates. Elevators were always dirty inside and out (cups, trash and spots on the floor as well as smudge marks on the doors and buttons). Railings throughout the ship always seemed dirty as well. The Liquid Lounge always looked messy. The rows of freestanding chairs were in constant disarray and the brass railings looked like they had never been polished. The deck near the Guys Burger Joint was always slippery and we saw quite a few people fall. The Serenity Pool and corresponding decks are a great concept however located much too close to the beach pool to be serene. It was always loud from the beach pool and events happening below. In addition the water was generally murky and dirty from sunscreen and body oils. When getting out of the pool you actually had a film on your body. This pool needs a better filtration system or perhaps refilled more often. It was also very slippery from the filth. We watched several guests slip in the pool. One gentleman actually required medical attention. When this man slipped another guest asked a bartender on the serenity deck to get some medical help and he replied, That's not my job and walked away. Once a pool guest called for help it took at least 5 minutes for someone on the medical team to arrive. Throughout the entire trip we smelled a very strong sewage odor on deck 5. This smell was in the area of the casino, the shake spot and the Alchemy bar. Several of the public restrooms on the ship had a terrible layout. The stalls were so small and the stall door opened inward making it almost impossible to go in and shut the door. In addition, there were metal toilet paper houses that protruded and were very sharp. I actually cut my leg open on one occasion just trying to get into the bathroom stall. Many walkways were too narrow for the amount of traffic that passed through these areas. On Deck 9 the pass-through beside Guys Burger Joint and the Burrito bar were much too narrow. When people were waiting in line for food there was almost no room for people to walk by in either direction. In addition there were many guests in motorized wheelchairs and getting through this area was almost impossible for them. If you made it this far you are now at the most poorly designed buffet I have ever experienced. There were people coming at you from all directions and absolutely no sense of flow. The buffet was the same on both sides but on the end was only one location for several items (including the bacon and we know EVERYONE loves bacon). This setup caused a bottleneck, confusion and some small confrontations. With the exception of the Burrito Bar and the Guys Burger Joint, we felt the food on the ship was just OK. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't great (i.e. salty soups, rubbery chicken breast, undercooked salmon). This is not the dining experience that I recall from my previous Carnival Cruise. Just as a side note, the Yellow sunshine in the Beach pool is very funny. From afar it looks like the pool is full of urine. Not a wise design choice for a kid's pool if you ask me.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2014

Vacation

I have been on several cruises with Carnival (A Gold Status Member) and I have taken my parents as a yearly vacation on these cruises, and this year my mother took sick a week before we cruise and is not going to be able to go on this cruise. We'll I called Carnival because we always take a group of family members, and some haven't book their rooms yet and I wanted to just let the other group members take over the room that I have paid for in full,

and carnival said they cannot honor that, so I tend to lose $1700.00 and the other group members will still have to book their cruise and pay the same amount for the cruise. We'll after this cruise at the end of June 20, 2014, this will be my last cruise with Carnival Cruise lines. It's been fun but in the event of unexpected events, it just doesn't seem fair. So, long Carnival.

Read More

Cruise Forums

Have a cruising question? Ask our Fodorite community.

Cruise News

Read our latest news about cruises.

Store

Shop our travel guides on European, Caribbean, and Alaskan cruises.

Back To Top