United States Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

Advice for our one month "Sample the USA" Itinerary

Jump to last reply

Hi all,

So the wife and I are finally getting the opportunity to be hitting the USA this December-January. I've thrown together a sample itinerary, and would very much welcome other forumites' thoughts on it (be it longer somewhere, or swapping out locations).

By way of background: We're both 28, and from Sydney, Australia. We're of average fitness, and are interested in everything from nature, to history, culture, food, activities, and good old fashioned fun!

Day Date Day Location
1 17-Dec Sat Depart
2 17-Dec Sat New York
3 18-Dec Sun "
4 19-Dec Mon "
5 20-Dec Tue "
6 21-Dec Wed Philadelphia (drive from NYC)
7 22-Dec Thu Washington (drive from Philly)
8 23-Dec Fri "
9 24-Dec Sat Orlando
10 25-Dec Sun "
11 26-Dec Mon "
12 27-Dec Tue New Orleans
13 28-Dec Wed "
14 29-Dec Thu Aspen (Ski)
15 30-Dec Fri "
16 31-Dec Sat "
17 1-Jan Sun Los Vegas (including Death Valley)
18 2-Jan Mon "
19 3-Jan Tue "
20 4-Jan Wed Grand Canyon
21 5-Jan Thu "
22 6-Jan Fri Los Angeles
23 7-Jan Sat "
24 8-Jan Sun "
25 9-Jan Mon "
26 10-Jan Tue Hawaii (Big Island)
27 11-Jan Wed "
28 12-Jan Thu "
29 13-Jan Fri Depart Hawaii
30 14-Jan Sat Sydney
31 15-Jan Sun Spare day to slot in somewhere?

Based on the above, I estimate that we'd have about 1 day left over, so wasn't sure quite where to put that. Looks like we're missing some of the heartland, but really wasn't sure what a "must-see experience" through those regions would be.

Any thoughts, tips and other input would be very much appreciated.

Kesh

39 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

  • Announcements:
  • Writers Needed for Georgia Coast
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Jul 18, 14 at 03:12 PM
  • Writers Needed for Rwanda and Uganda
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Jul 18, 14 at 03:12 PM
  • Writers Needed for Zimbabwe, Zambia and Tanzania
    by Emily_D Fodor's Editor | Posted on Jul 18, 14 at 03:11 PM
View all United States activity »
  1. 1 San Fran to Crater Lake? round trip one week
  2. 2 Big Island Fans - will we like Maui?
  3. 3 Victoria Clipper to Friday Harbor/San Juan Islands
  4. 4 Looking for One night commutable to NYC (Solo)
  5. 5 Road Trip From Dallas to RMNP through CO Springs.
  6. 6 December Break Need Recommendations for Southern Travel
  7. 7 Santa Fe-Best Time of Year to Visit
  8. 8 Texas and Deep South Road Trip - with Limited Time!
  9. 9 2 day in Adirondack park
  10. 10 Bienville Hotel or Le Marais in New Orleans French Quarter
  11. 11 A specific safety issue in Area Hell's Kitchen, 43th West Street
  12. 12 Question about a private tour in Florence from Livorno port
  13. 13 Easiest US airports to get to/from with public transportation
  14. 14 Itinerary suggestion needed for DC
  15. 15 Re-Visit DC
  16. 16 Flights from Bay Area to Orlando, Florida
  17. 17 ONP-San Juan Islds or Victoria-Seattle - what's best itinerary for 8 days?
  18. 18 Places to stay in DC
  19. 19 Seeking thoughtful advice on Yellowstone/Tetons trip!
  20. 20 Finger Lakes Itinerary Help
  21. 21 Looking For Something New Around The Bay Area!
  22. 22 Please help me with my Minnesota itinerary
  23. 23 Seattle, Portland, and day trips all around
  24. 24 Trip Report Another Californian Odyssey (June/July 2014)
  25. 25 Staying in Hollywood or Santa Monica area?
View next 25 » Back to the top